$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nikemikey
Business
Mount Pleasant Pennsylvania
Jul 5, 2011

Not what i planned for...

Went for a honeymoon trip on the adults section and wasn't too pleased when we arrived. First off they dropped us off in a neutral lobby that we didnt know about, we were lost because no one gave us any direction. After a few min passed, someone took our bags and said get on this little bus. We arrived at OUR lobby which was pretty nice. Once we made it to our room they had 2 double beds...which they then had to change rooms for us. The new rooms card reader didnt work %100 of the time so when we shut the door we had to slam it to make it latch. ALL of the restaurants required reservations...which EVERYTHING was BOOKED.. and the only 2 we were able to reserve was the BBQ and the Santa Fe. The BBQ turned out to be a crazy *darn* buffet near the beach at which TONS of little kids were swarming around and people straight off the beach were walking up...The Santa Fe was Mexican and we get our seats to find out that yet again ANOTHER buffet..So we help ourselves and sit back down and someone woman approches us and asked if we recieved Menu's. Then when we said NO she gave us this horrible look like we were idiots...So I tried to order some chicken thing from the menu and God forbid if she could understand me or speak any English, she just kept saying "No finished" and i just kept waving her to leave. When the food came out some busboy dropped it off and placed shrimp infront of me, a burito infront of my wife and some chicken covered in brown stuff inbewteen us. We also were told that the Don Pablo was the best place, so when we tried to see about reservation they told us that was the only place that requred men to wear long pants...which of course i didnt bring any because its over 100 degrees there every day. (Don Pablo is a French restaurant there not mexican like back home) The next day they had the "Flea Market" vendors arrive so we kindly asked the concierge what area it was located.. He then got on his cell phone and we waited about 10 min for him to bring up someone on a golf cart to take us personally to his "friend" vendor. Which the vendor wouldnt give us any prices until the end. We picked out a few items that were just colored rocks, cheap gifts to take home for friends and family, and he pulled us aside in one of the bus shuttle drop off areas to total the prices. Shows us a calculator and it says 220...i said whats that mean and he said $220! I told him he was out of his mind, he handed me the calculator and told me to give him a fair price....i said maybe $22 and he whipped out a lighter and started to burn the jewlery to prove that it was real...i told him i didnt care, i wasnt paying that much money for rocks! My wife an I were very uncomfortable and got up and walked away Last thing was they gave me some welcome paper to see someone in guest services the day after we arrived. I asked the front desk and they said meet him in our lobby and he can help us plan out activities. We waited for 20 min that morning and he never showed...turns out we had to meet that guy in his office in the Neutral lobby. We met with him and didnt want to use him to plan anything, and also told us to report to him 24 hours before checkout...which we missed because we were enjoying our vacation. Find out later that he HAD to call to make sure a shuttle would be there to pick us up on our day to checkout. So my advice would be NOT to go through CoCo tours for a ride. I would just skip this Gran Bahia all together unless you want to spend a great deal of money for a vacation you can take your kids on because thats all you see if you leave your small section of the adults only area. PS: bring your own shampoo and conditioner because they give you terrible watered down stuff and you have to buy conditioner in the gift shop. Oh and the room service we ordered once never showed up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Aug 18, 2010

This place sucks!!!!!!!!!!!

I'll give you guys a quick rundown so your not bored with my story -50% of the staff were A-HOLES if you didn't speak spanish -The reservations for dinner were a nightmare!!! -LIttle to none on authentic Dominican food -The buffets sucked really bad, overall the food wasn't good -Cheap liquor, stick to the beer Good parts to the Hotel -Awesome pool -Close walk to the beach -Beautiful resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Julian W.
Business
Waynesboro
Dec 16, 2014

Not a good trip

My wife and I have visited Punta Cana over 10 times staying at various resorts. This trip was the worse one by far. We upgraded to the Ambar section in hopes of experiencing the upgraded treatment we usually get from other resorts. When we arrived there was a line at the check in desk and we had to wait. We upgrade to avoid this. We were advised to reserve dinner at the restaurants via the customer service section which entailed another long wait in line. We decided to eat at the main buffet the first night. We were in the lobby bar (very small) for a few before dinner drinks. I noticed a crowd gathering at the buffet entrance prior to the time it opened. Once the doors were open the crowd rushed in which seemed strange. Once inside the buffet I learned why. The buffet is very small and the serving line area the smallest of any I have seen in Punta Cana. It was almost a fight to get to the food. To bypass this scene at our next meal we decided to go an hour into the service. We were greeted with less people but no food. Almost all the servicing trays were empty and I waited over 15 minutes for them to be re filled which did not happen. I then realized why everyone rushed the door and fought for food the time the doors open. The staff seemed to be trying to rush you to finish your meal and leave as soon as possible. Other than the staff at the buffet the other employees tried to make our stay a pleasant one. The web site and a publication furnished us upon our arrival indicated there was a casino located at the Ambar. This information turned out to be false. There was a Casino located about a mile away that served all of the motels located in the compound (around 4 or 5 resorts) and was not large enough to accomplish this task. To sum things up I did not feel special at this resort despite paying for an upgrade. That was the bad, now for some good. The Brazilian restaurant experience was fun and I suggest you eat there at least once. We were there for my birthday and the staff prepared me a cake which was a nice treat. The housekeeper assigned to our room was great and did her best for us. The wait staff on the beach were very good although overworked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Julian W.
Business
Waynesboro
Dec 29, 2014

Not a good trip

My wife and I have visited Punta Cana over 10 times staying at various resorts. This trip was the worse one by far. We upgraded to the Ambar section in hopes of experiencing the upgraded treatment we usually get from other resorts. When we arrived there was a line at the check in desk and we had to wait. We upgrade to avoid this. We were advised to reserve dinner at the restaurants via the customer service section which entailed another long wait in line. We decided to eat at the main buffet the first night. We were in the lobby bar (very small) for a few before dinner drinks. I noticed a crowd gathering at the buffet entrance prior to the time it opened. Once the doors were open the crowd rushed in which seemed strange. Once inside the buffet I learned why. The buffet is very small and the serving line area the smallest of any I have seen in Punta Cana. It was almost a fight to get to the food. To bypass this scene at our next meal we decided to go an hour into the service. We were greeted with less people but no food. Almost all the servicing trays were empty and I waited over 15 minutes for them to be re filled which did not happen. I then realized why everyone rushed the door and fought for food the time the doors open. The staff seemed to be trying to rush you to finish your meal and leave as soon as possible. Other than the staff at the buffet the other employees tried to make our stay a pleasant one. The web site and a publication furnished us upon our arrival indicated there was a casino located at the Ambar. This information turned out to be false. There was a Casino located about a mile away that served all of the motels located in the compound (around 4 or 5 resorts) and was not large enough to accomplish this task. To sum things up I did not feel special at this resort despite paying for an upgrade. That was the bad, now for some good. The Brazilian restaurant experience was fun and I suggest you eat there at least once. We were there for my birthday and the staff prepared me a cake which was a nice treat. The housekeeper assigned to our room was great and did her best for us. The wait staff on the beach were very good although overworked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Save your money and don't book the Ambar because you will still be treated like cattle despite the upgrade.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jchicago
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Nice place, a little overpriced

The room was nice, the food was just OK... I expected the restaurants that you needed reservations at to be better... just a small improvement from the buffet at the Ambar. The food at the Ambar was better than the other hotels. We had a leak in ceiling of our bathroom (right over the toilet). We called the front desk at 11am, 2pm, 4pm and went to the desk at 5pm, 8pm and 11pm... finally at 11pm they offer to let us change rooms. Each time we talked to them they said that they would send some one up right away... a maintenance guy showed up one time and said he would be back in 20 minutes... never came back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

any of the tours are about $90pp... we did the zipline and it was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hoosier Fanatic
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jan 3, 2012

Resort is Huge!

The resort itself was beautiful. The grounds, pool areas, restaurants, etc. were all very clean and well prepared. There aren't any rooms with ocean views and the resort is huge! The biggest I have ever stayed in. There are 5 resorts all together. The beach was nice, a lot of palm trees and shade with little umbrellas canopies all over. The most disappointing aspect of the resort was the food. It was at best just average. Some dinner restaurants were better than others, but they just didn't impress me or my girlfriend. The best restaurant by far was the Japanese. The service at the bars was excellent, but the service at the restaurants was not as good. Often times our waiter forgot our drinks and we had to ask for them several times. Also, our appetizer's never made it to us on one occasion. If you are a picky eater, I would suggesting finding a resort known for its quality menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RicardoJQ
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Jast "good"

We fill out a formal complain letter at front desk, The jakuzzi never work on our room, Restaurant (El Olivo) food was served on bad condition, Restaurant ( El Pescador ) didn't have Rose wine, Hotel Bahia Pricipe Ambar didn't have lemon for two days on any restaurant or bar. Not a very good experience for the Price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
not a good option
Business
Hummelstown, PA
Oct 2, 2012

we were disappointed

The food was not good at all. There were no a la carte restaurants available the day we arrived and we were only able to reserve one at the sister hotel for the next day. None of this made any sense. All restaurants were nearly empty when we dined yet this one day they could not sit 4 people at a table for 4 (that they sat us at) on our reservation for 2. Some staff members were nice but most of them were not or had not finesse. We are not going back there or to any of there chain hotels in other destinations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L Mike
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 3, 2012

An average vacation

The hotel is very big and when filled to capacity, a lot of 'good' becomes 'average' at best. There is not personnel to provide an adequate serverice: some days the room would not get cleaned until 6:00 PM, you could wait for the long time to get service in the main buffet and in the resturants. The pool would be so crouded it looked like the pool on cruis ship. The stuff is very friendly and tries it's best. Grounds are well maintained. Food in the buffet is average. In specialty restarants food in not good and takes really 'forever' to eat there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Needed to Release Stress
Business
NJ all the way
Jan 27, 2013

Overbooked nightmare

I was looking forward to this vacation until we arrived and were notified that there was no room available for us at the property. We were promised $200 compensation $100 each night that we had to stay at the sister property. This compensation was nowhere near the hassle of this inconvenience. It felt like the staff is so used to doing this that they weren't sympathetic to the inconvenience. We did get a gorgeous room right by the pool at the sister hotel but we paid to be at the adults only and were surrounded by screaming children at the pool. We weren't able to get a dinner reservation for the first night we were there and were forced to eat at one of the buffets where the food was just plain gross. We had to check out of the other property at 12 and couldn't get into our room at our property until 1 so for an hour we didn't even had to room and had to leave our bags unattended in a luggage room leaving me with an uneasy feeling all day. When we tried to get our $200 compensation, we were greeted with a $200 voucher to the hotel shops. This is where I finally lost my temper and my boyfriend and I raised heck ending up in the Hotel general managers office. Although he didn't seem genuinely sympathetic, he did go above and beyond to get us the $200 cash and included a free hotel transfer upon our demand. I have to say he was the only one who actually righted the wrong and I commend him for that. I just don't think overbooking hotels is ever okay for anyone who works hard for their money and needs a stress free vacation. I also did not like how every single staff member or person on the street is so pushy in looking for tips and any way they can get your money. I would definitely not return to punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations before you even arrive via email to the hotel so you don't get screwed with 9:00 reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top