$342 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
301 reviews
Great vacation spot!

This was my first all inclusive vacation with my girlfriend and we had a wonderful time. The... See full review

  • minieod
  • Dec 10, 2014
good stay

If you like the beach and food, great place. Check list: 1. Make your speciality restaurant... See full review

  • lifeisgood123
  • Nov 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.
El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Aug 18, 2010

This place sucks!!!!!!!!!!!

I'll give you guys a quick rundown so your not bored with my story -50% of the staff were A-HOLES if you didn't speak spanish -The reservations for dinner were a nightmare!!! -LIttle to none on authentic Dominican food -The buffets sucked really bad, overall the food wasn't good -Cheap liquor, stick to the beer Good parts to the Hotel -Awesome pool -Close walk to the beach -Beautiful resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Julian W.
Business
Waynesboro
Dec 16, 2014

Not a good trip

My wife and I have visited Punta Cana over 10 times staying at various resorts. This trip was the worse one by far. We upgraded to the Ambar section in hopes of experiencing the upgraded treatment we usually get from other resorts. When we arrived there was a line at the check in desk and we had to wait. We upgrade to avoid this. We were advised to reserve dinner at the restaurants via the customer service section which entailed another long wait in line. We decided to eat at the main buffet the first night. We were in the lobby bar (very small) for a few before dinner drinks. I noticed a crowd gathering at the buffet entrance prior to the time it opened. Once the doors were open the crowd rushed in which seemed strange. Once inside the buffet I learned why. The buffet is very small and the serving line area the smallest of any I have seen in Punta Cana. It was almost a fight to get to the food. To bypass this scene at our next meal we decided to go an hour into the service. We were greeted with less people but no food. Almost all the servicing trays were empty and I waited over 15 minutes for them to be re filled which did not happen. I then realized why everyone rushed the door and fought for food the time the doors open. The staff seemed to be trying to rush you to finish your meal and leave as soon as possible. Other than the staff at the buffet the other employees tried to make our stay a pleasant one. The web site and a publication furnished us upon our arrival indicated there was a casino located at the Ambar. This information turned out to be false. There was a Casino located about a mile away that served all of the motels located in the compound (around 4 or 5 resorts) and was not large enough to accomplish this task. To sum things up I did not feel special at this resort despite paying for an upgrade. That was the bad, now for some good. The Brazilian restaurant experience was fun and I suggest you eat there at least once. We were there for my birthday and the staff prepared me a cake which was a nice treat. The housekeeper assigned to our room was great and did her best for us. The wait staff on the beach were very good although overworked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jchicago
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Nice place, a little overpriced

The room was nice, the food was just OK... I expected the restaurants that you needed reservations at to be better... just a small improvement from the buffet at the Ambar. The food at the Ambar was better than the other hotels. We had a leak in ceiling of our bathroom (right over the toilet). We called the front desk at 11am, 2pm, 4pm and went to the desk at 5pm, 8pm and 11pm... finally at 11pm they offer to let us change rooms. Each time we talked to them they said that they would send some one up right away... a maintenance guy showed up one time and said he would be back in 20 minutes... never came back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

any of the tours are about $90pp... we did the zipline and it was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hoosier Fanatic
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jan 3, 2012

Resort is Huge!

The resort itself was beautiful. The grounds, pool areas, restaurants, etc. were all very clean and well prepared. There aren't any rooms with ocean views and the resort is huge! The biggest I have ever stayed in. There are 5 resorts all together. The beach was nice, a lot of palm trees and shade with little umbrellas canopies all over. The most disappointing aspect of the resort was the food. It was at best just average. Some dinner restaurants were better than others, but they just didn't impress me or my girlfriend. The best restaurant by far was the Japanese. The service at the bars was excellent, but the service at the restaurants was not as good. Often times our waiter forgot our drinks and we had to ask for them several times. Also, our appetizer's never made it to us on one occasion. If you are a picky eater, I would suggesting finding a resort known for its quality menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RicardoJQ
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Jast "good"

We fill out a formal complain letter at front desk, The jakuzzi never work on our room, Restaurant (El Olivo) food was served on bad condition, Restaurant ( El Pescador ) didn't have Rose wine, Hotel Bahia Pricipe Ambar didn't have lemon for two days on any restaurant or bar. Not a very good experience for the Price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
not a good option
Business
Hummelstown, PA
Oct 2, 2012

we were disappointed

The food was not good at all. There were no a la carte restaurants available the day we arrived and we were only able to reserve one at the sister hotel for the next day. None of this made any sense. All restaurants were nearly empty when we dined yet this one day they could not sit 4 people at a table for 4 (that they sat us at) on our reservation for 2. Some staff members were nice but most of them were not or had not finesse. We are not going back there or to any of there chain hotels in other destinations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L Mike
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 3, 2012

An average vacation

The hotel is very big and when filled to capacity, a lot of 'good' becomes 'average' at best. There is not personnel to provide an adequate serverice: some days the room would not get cleaned until 6:00 PM, you could wait for the long time to get service in the main buffet and in the resturants. The pool would be so crouded it looked like the pool on cruis ship. The stuff is very friendly and tries it's best. Grounds are well maintained. Food in the buffet is average. In specialty restarants food in not good and takes really 'forever' to eat there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Needed to Release Stress
Business
NJ all the way
Jan 27, 2013

Overbooked nightmare

I was looking forward to this vacation until we arrived and were notified that there was no room available for us at the property. We were promised $200 compensation $100 each night that we had to stay at the sister property. This compensation was nowhere near the hassle of this inconvenience. It felt like the staff is so used to doing this that they weren't sympathetic to the inconvenience. We did get a gorgeous room right by the pool at the sister hotel but we paid to be at the adults only and were surrounded by screaming children at the pool. We weren't able to get a dinner reservation for the first night we were there and were forced to eat at one of the buffets where the food was just plain gross. We had to check out of the other property at 12 and couldn't get into our room at our property until 1 so for an hour we didn't even had to room and had to leave our bags unattended in a luggage room leaving me with an uneasy feeling all day. When we tried to get our $200 compensation, we were greeted with a $200 voucher to the hotel shops. This is where I finally lost my temper and my boyfriend and I raised heck ending up in the Hotel general managers office. Although he didn't seem genuinely sympathetic, he did go above and beyond to get us the $200 cash and included a free hotel transfer upon our demand. I have to say he was the only one who actually righted the wrong and I commend him for that. I just don't think overbooking hotels is ever okay for anyone who works hard for their money and needs a stress free vacation. I also did not like how every single staff member or person on the street is so pushy in looking for tips and any way they can get your money. I would definitely not return to punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations before you even arrive via email to the hotel so you don't get screwed with 9:00 reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fish boy
Business
Tyler, TX, USA
Jan 29, 2013

Hassle Factor Was Too High

The good.... Price was good enough, location nice enough, and grounds, beach, and pool area were quite nice. Since we were there only three nights, we did not get a chance to eat at any of the restaurants but ate at the buffet, which was quite good. The bad.... First night they did not have us a room in the adult only "Ambar" section. So next day, had to check out of the first room, take luggage to Ambar, then wait till afternoon to check in to another Ambar room. Was told we would get a resort voucher for our troubles. Turns out the voucher was supposed to be tied to a timeshare sales pitch, but I got loud and irate enough they decided to give me the voucher anyway. Second nite my wife used the jacuzzi tub, and it emitted a burning electrical smell. They knocked on the door at 1 am and I could not tell if the knock was on our door or someone else so I dismissed it, then they simply opened the door. Said that the bottom floor folks had complained about the smell. Although I am glad they took the initiative to check it out, it was quite unpleasant for the door to open at that time of morning when you are in bed asleep. The next day, over an hour and half was "wasted" simply trying to find the "tour operator" so that I could get the shuttle arrangements back to the airport. I am reasonably well traveled, and don't consider myself to be nitpicky. But this trip simply had a little too much hassle factor for my liking. Three nights was not quite enough time to justify the trip. By the time we got things reasonably figured out, it was time to leave. I will try to make any similar trips in the future a minimum of four nights if I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
island hoppa
Business
Fairfax, VA, USA
May 3, 2013

Just ok not great

It's a nice resort but the only thing making it adult only is an invisible line from posted signs. Multiple resorts on the same property so plenty of options but the lack of wifi outside of the main lobby was a bit annoying. To get connected in the room it was a pay service. Food was best in the buffet as well as the serving staff, Ana was great. Victor at the lobby bar is always smiling and will flip some bottles to keep things lively. The beach was just ok as most days caution flags were out. The view was nice on the beach, no views from the room mostly garden except one building with pool views. The room was ok but a little hard to cool. No elevators so if you don't like steps stick to the 1st or 2nd floor. Also be careful on the bathroom floors they use a polished marble and it's slippery when wet so get a couple extra towels to put down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top