$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
289 reviews
Great All Around

My Wife and I went for our honeymoon and had a great time. Ambar is the way to go for adults,... See full review

  • Rossko
  • Jul 28, 2014
great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive)... See full review

  • Princess Agata
  • Jul 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (289)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
289 out of 289
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tajayson
Denver, CO
Dec 22, 2013

Beautiful atmosphere, terrible food

While the location and grounds of this resort are stunning, the food almost ruined our vacation. I suppose the resort tries to cater to many different nationalities, but does this mean the food has to be flavorless? The quality of the meat and produce was terrible and the food is mostly unhealthy, fatty and greasy. My boyfriend and I were sick for 7 straight days and he was even sick in bed for 24 hours after eating bad sushi. Fortunately it wasn't longer than that and he was able to enjoy the rest of our stay. I was also hoping for more activities at the resort. Yoga on the beach was a joke and the water aerobics class was full of 60+ year old guests. That's fine, but just not the kind of resort we were hoping for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 14, 2010

Average stay

The staff didn't speak any english, which was bad when it came to specific details such as catching a cab, exchanging money, getting more towels. The cleaning staff would remove towels in the room but then forget to put new ones in. We had to keep calling the office to bring new towels but that was a language barrier as well. Also they forgot to refill our mini fridge. I also didn't like how the pool closed at 6pm. Bring bug spray because we partied at night and ended up with so many mosquito bites. Also the front desk lobby workers had an attitude whenever you asked them a question as if we should know everythign about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop along the beach. We got the best prices on pictures and I was able to get my pictures wrapped for my flight home for $3 in the lobby of the hotel. The prices at the hotel market were way to high. If you talk them down though and walk away and come back you can get the mamajuana (drink of the domincan republic) for $5 per bottle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelPro198
Tequesta, Florida
Jun 27, 2011

Gran Bahia Ambar - Two Thumbs Down

We arrived in the near 100 degree heat & humidity of the day to discover that the air conditioning system throughout the entire resort complex was broken and would not be repaired for atleast 24 hours! While our suite was beautifully appointed including a ceiling fan to allow for atleast some air movement, we couldn't even leave the door to our patio open for added ventilation as the screen was torn away and it would have been impossible to keep the insects out! There were no other rooms to move us to, nor were there any replacement screens available. Not such a great first impression! We were unable to sleep in the heat that first night and at sunrise, ended up going down by the pool and beach in-search of some relief from the oppressive weather, only to find that most of the lounge chairs had already been reserved by fellow guests...the "towel game" was in full-force inspite of their posted policy to the contrary. It wasn't until near sunset on our second day that the air conditioning was restored to the guest rooms. It had yet to be fully restored to the public areas and restaurants when we departed some 7 days later! The food throughout the resort was mediocre in all the buffets and their a la carte restaurants with the exception of their Don Pablo and El Olivo restaurants, where both service and food quality were above-average! There is literally nothing to do at the Ambar after sunset. If you want to see the nightly show in the outdoor theater or go to the casino or disco you need to either take the resort tram system or walk 10-12 minutes to the Bavaro property. The beachfront that this resort complex has is among the worst we've ever seen or experienced in our previous 5 trips to other resorts in the Punta Cana area! It is narrow to begin with and when you crowd it with hundreds and hundreds of chaise lounges and guests, it is almost impassable! Now add mounds and mounds of seaweed that continuously washes ashore and the conditions are deplorable inspite of resort's best-efforts to maintain the area. The grounds are indeed beautiful and the building architecture picturesque. The staff is constantly cleaning the public areas. Reminiscent of being on a cruise, management is quite cautious about norovirus prevention, and at the entrance to every restaurant, hand-sanitizer is dispensed by the hostess to every guest who enters. We applaude this practice and suggest that other resorts follow-suit! Would we ever return to this resort complex? Simply put, no. While we enjoyed being away and on vacation, there are far-superior resort destinations in the region. And at far-less cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a straw market on the beach just an easy 4 kilometer walk south of the resort where every imaginable item can be bargained for. If you wait to buy your souveniers at the duty-free shops at the airport, you will pay twice the price if not more!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L Mike
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 3, 2012

An average vacation

The hotel is very big and when filled to capacity, a lot of 'good' becomes 'average' at best. There is not personnel to provide an adequate serverice: some days the room would not get cleaned until 6:00 PM, you could wait for the long time to get service in the main buffet and in the resturants. The pool would be so crouded it looked like the pool on cruis ship. The stuff is very friendly and tries it's best. Grounds are well maintained. Food in the buffet is average. In specialty restarants food in not good and takes really 'forever' to eat there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
pa.
Apr 14, 2010

pa. travelor

area too small for resort size

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emp9
ill
Jul 9, 2014

Dont go to punta cana at least here if american

Starting our trip D.R airport coming in is a joke , they took husband pass port didn't tell why whole airport cleared our before giving it back no reason given, Lost our luggage , no one helped at getting it back I had to do it & follow up Not to many spoke English to use on check in wasn't friendly no idea what to do Room was very nice house keeping was great . Beach was very nice, I did get a feeling esp after talking to others that americans are not liked there They have 2 japennies rest was told wrong location over & over by several staff, the staff at that rest. said it wasn't there but no help to locate where it was at because they didnt' speek English The pool closed early, resturants are not open all the time, Did have good room service I would not go back here. Leaving was much better driver picked up & did help at air port it was much smoother leaving

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MrBois
Washington DC
Jul 28, 2013

It looked Great!!

The people are great, the rooms are nice, the pools are nice and the beach is great. The food was the only down side and to explain it the best way I can would be that there was plenty plenty plenty of food but none of it was prepared well. To me most of it was like they tried to cook for the first time and the dishes were not converted well. I know this is hard to understand. So, I will list off some examples. Also, please understand that when I list some items I went back and tried them again to make sure someone did not make a mistake when preparing the item. The cheesecake was made with the wrong kind of cheese and some birthday cake batter was used. most of their fish was grilled and then put in a butter sauce until the fish sort of broke/ fell apart and tasted very rubbery. A salad is completely foreign to them because they had plenty of self serving items on the buffet to add like beans, carrots, etc. But for the 9 days I was there could ever find lettuce or anything green and leafy. I think you get the drift... Lastly their primo night for the buffet that you have to make a reservation for was supposed to be lobster night which it was. But I have never had a lobster taste like this, and by this I am saying it was over cooked and tasted starchy almost like it was imitation but you knew it wasn't because they took the lobster and cut it in halves. So when you got your portion you got the left or right of the lobster head and all. Besides the food it was a great place to go and visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat the typical Dominican Food! Great! Hands down if I could get it in the US, I would eat it all the time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois USA
Feb 17, 2010

First time to Punta Cana

beautiful beach, but muust get towel on chase by 6 am or not enough seating, no beach waitors to bring drinks very nice room, housekeeping was excellent, grounds were very well kept.buffet was ok but fine dining was terrible (compared to couples and sandals resorts)staff friendly but did not speak much english, there were a lot of rude Europeons and Canadians

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

golf at nearby (Nick Price design)course was not worth the $145

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mcmeowmac
Kentucky
Dec 24, 2013

beautiful location, average comfort

The location is wonderful. Beach views from the Rooms would have been better. The grounds are fabulous. Shopping is a joke. It's very obvious that tourists are taken advantage of. What is a $2 bracelet on eBay, everyone will try and sell for $300...No joke. Sickening. You can get them to $5. I say don't shop. The food is average. I expected better. The presentation of it is wonderful. Looks better than it is. The room are pretty. The beds are not good at all. Firm and painful to the point of soreness. The pillows bite too...badly. I over paid for what was a great massage. It being a poverished country, $95 was way too much. $50 would be fair. A beach massage would have been nice. Drinks a plenty but inconsistent concoctions. They are absolutely watering down alcohol. There is only one beer available, and had we have known that, we'd of gone elsewhere. It's a clean place. Maids all over. Refreshing. I appreciated that. Make nachos from the cafe. Queso with salsa and chili and jalapenos combined. They will save you...lol. The beach is comfortable and wonderful. Great little shack bar. All you need. That's it! I'd go back to the island but would aim for a higher reviewed place. All in all...not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in the hotel is way too high. Shopping out is possible to bargain with. $200-300 will be the joke off an asking price. $5 is what you should pay. Good luck with that. Avoid shopping unless you have money to burn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas,NV
Apr 24, 2010

Lovely propery, but too impersonal

The propery was very clean and well maintained. But, the staff spoke very little or no English at all. Very hard to communicate with staff,even management.Room service was limited and the bar was stocked in your room one a day, if you were lucky. I was missed three days out of a week stay! In order to get a spot on the beach you literally had to go to the beach NO later than 5:30 am to save a chair. I called it the "Breakfast Club"...way too much stress for a beach vacation :((

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search