$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 25, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
292 reviews
Great All Around

My Wife and I went for our honeymoon and had a great time. Ambar is the way to go for adults,... See full review

  • Rossko
  • Jul 28, 2014
great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive)... See full review

  • Princess Agata
  • Jul 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (292)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Married MarLaur
Business
Minersville, Pennsylvania
Jun 19, 2012

Not a good honeymoon place for sure!!!

Well our experience was not that great!!! We called about a week before saying it was our honeymoon and nothing special was done for us. They put us in a room with two double beds when asked for a King honeymoon room when we called ahead. They finally moved us into a king but had to wait a night til that happened. Once we were into the king suite the A/C did not work at all. I called numerous times down to the front desk and all times said they would send maintenance. It took almost ten hours for a guy to come look and when he did come he thought we meant the television didnt work. It was absurd, and nothing still was done about it until about 11 pm at night when they finally switched us to yet our third room. So not sure what you have to do to get special honeymoon treatment or at least something special but we got nothing!!! Not recommended to others for honeymoon at least!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations for mexican and italian... food was awesome!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Drjones80
Business
Ridgfield park,nj
Sep 11, 2012

Not a good resort

Food was not good.cheap staff.liquiors cheap brands.. Only one kind of beer,tast horrible . Food not a lot variety.. U need to book resturants in advance,when we tried to do that in the first day we came..the reception told us that we don't have options because they all occupied Beach and pool are good. Rooms are old and all employees are waiting for gratuity to do anything .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Suze2012
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Dec 13, 2012

Good from Far, far from good.

I don't know if my expectations for a 4 star resort is high or this place just really is average. I don't if I am the correct demo but I just felt that this was an average hotel nothing special. I typically stay in Westin's or W. I didn't feel that the staff was too helpful to make us happy. We checked in and after 24 complained that we didn't like our room as it was completely dark since it faced the jungle and got no day light. It was hard to get any type of restaurants and when we did get a reservation the place was half empty. We didnt even know till our 4th day in that there is butler service to make sure you are happy. Butler service we still never saw it. The food was not good, once again I dont know if my standard is high and this just didn't meet it but I felt that it as poor quality maybe because the resort if 5 in one and there are so many people that is just poor. I would almost preferred to eat 100% dominican because then it would have been amazing! But every thing was just a weird take on something. We did love Muphi at the lobby bar he was definitely dedicated to making quality drinks and making us laugh!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BKAS
Business
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2013

OK

This was your typical Caribbean resort. Wished the staff were more knowledgeable about the hotel itself. Great pool and beach area. Food is solid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tajayson
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 22, 2013

Beautiful atmosphere, terrible food

While the location and grounds of this resort are stunning, the food almost ruined our vacation. I suppose the resort tries to cater to many different nationalities, but does this mean the food has to be flavorless? The quality of the meat and produce was terrible and the food is mostly unhealthy, fatty and greasy. My boyfriend and I were sick for 7 straight days and he was even sick in bed for 24 hours after eating bad sushi. Fortunately it wasn't longer than that and he was able to enjoy the rest of our stay. I was also hoping for more activities at the resort. Yoga on the beach was a joke and the water aerobics class was full of 60+ year old guests. That's fine, but just not the kind of resort we were hoping for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Suestew
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Dec 17, 2010

Ambar Fails to Deliver

We stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar, all adults section of this hotel. The grounds are beautiful & the beach is lovely. The Michael Jackson show was entertaining & the trams ran consistently to all parts of the resort. That being said, the rest of the resort needs some serious attention. The staff, as a whole, made us feel like we were bothering them when we asked for things. The exceptions to that were the pool bartenders & the maids. The more "prestigious" the restaurant, the snootier the staff got. The biggest disappointment was the food, especially at Don Pablo's "gourmet" restaurant. We ate here at 9:30 PM on Weds. There was an a la carte menu and a tasting menu. We were denied ordering the tasting menu unless the whole table wanted it. They also attempted to charge for the house wine at this restaurant only. We were required to get reservations for everything but the buffets. There was no ability to just walk in and wait for an open table. NONE of the restaurants were full when we ate at them. Changing our assigned reservations was difficult and we were forced to eat later than we preferred (after 8:30) every night. The replenishing of the mini bar was inconsistent at best. Sometimes we got things (beer, chips, sodas) and sometimes we didn't. The "butler" service was basically non-existent. Never did meet ours...in fact we weren't even told about the service upon checkin. Our friends who we travelled with knew about it because of reading reviews online. The miniature golf course was fun. There was definitely the "towel" game at the pool and the chairs closet to the water at the beach. The alcoholic drinks at the pool were weak and "rot gut" type liquor (Normandy brand to be exact). Really sweet and syrupy. The lobby bar had name brands but only some were included. Jack Danials, Finlandia, etc. had an extra charge. There was free wi-fi in the lobby but it was next to impossible to connect because it was so slow. Breakfast buffets were exactly the same every morning...no variety at all. The best lunch buffet was at the main pool in the Bavaro section as the hamburgers were made on the spot. Every place else the food sat in chafing dishes and got cold quickly. Women can go topless at the beach only. This was our 4th all inclusive vacation in as many years - 1 in Cancun, 1 in Playa del Carmen, 1 in La Romana, Dominican Republic, and this one in Punta Cana. It would rank last in my opinion. The Sunscape Casa Del Mar in La Romana (I think it is now a Dreams) and the Valentin Imperial Maya in Playa would be our favorites (4 1/2 stars). The other resort we've been to is the Royal Caribe in Cancun. I'd give that a 3 star. The drive to the airport is about 30 minutes. I won't return to this resort and wouldn't recommend it when there are so many others that provide better service and food (ie. Excellence, Paradisus, Majestic...just to name a few). Hope this review helps you make a choice about where to go in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Upon checkin ask who your butler is and contact them immediately. They should be able to help with restaurant reservations, spa appointments, pillow menu selections, etc. You only receive 3 reservations for a 7 night vacation on checkin so if you want to eat at some of the other a la carte restaurants you have to make reservations as soon as you arrive for the best selection.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grumpy B
Business
Red Bank, NJ
Oct 20, 2009

Speciality Restaurants

Staff members were very professional and courteous. Golf was great. Have been to Dominican Republic five times and this was the worse food ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 1, 2010

Unpleasant Experience

Our experience was quite unpleasant as we experienced a theft in our room the first day. The hotel was very unapologetic and did not seem to care that we no longer felt safe. The staff was very indifferent. My previous travels to Punta Cana have been completely opposite with excellent service and safety. The food was mediocre to poor but this is to be expected when traveling outside the country. The room was decent but nothing terrible or fantastic. I typically take these reviews with a grain of salt but I have to say this experience has left me and my fiance troubled about leaving the country. I'm sure this will pass but I would not recommend any hotel in the Bahia Complex as we were able to use all 5 areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Our big mistake was letting our maid in our room as we were leaving. Due to this, she did not have to swipe her key. This made it difficult to prove that she took $220 out of my wallet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 12, 2009

Would not go back

The resort itself was beautiful but the all the people that worked there and all the people we encountered at the airport and on the way to the resort were rude! I guess it is just the culture there? The trip to the resort was a little scary, the towns you go through are completely trashy with hundreds of people (scary people) walking around and sitting on the side of the road. 10 times worse than in mexico, we were actually concerned for our safety. The casino was a joke, twice the size of my living room with 4 or 5 gaming tables and about 15 slot machines. The food was horrible and both of us ended up getting sick our last day there. Reading previuos reviews, some people loved it and some hated it, unfortunately I hated it. Like I said the resort was beautiful, but no more so than Playa Del Carmen, I would not come back here, not even to try another resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nikemikey
Business
Mount Pleasant Pennsylvania
Jul 5, 2011

Not what i planned for...

Went for a honeymoon trip on the adults section and wasn't too pleased when we arrived. First off they dropped us off in a neutral lobby that we didnt know about, we were lost because no one gave us any direction. After a few min passed, someone took our bags and said get on this little bus. We arrived at OUR lobby which was pretty nice. Once we made it to our room they had 2 double beds...which they then had to change rooms for us. The new rooms card reader didnt work %100 of the time so when we shut the door we had to slam it to make it latch. ALL of the restaurants required reservations...which EVERYTHING was BOOKED.. and the only 2 we were able to reserve was the BBQ and the Santa Fe. The BBQ turned out to be a crazy *darn* buffet near the beach at which TONS of little kids were swarming around and people straight off the beach were walking up...The Santa Fe was Mexican and we get our seats to find out that yet again ANOTHER buffet..So we help ourselves and sit back down and someone woman approches us and asked if we recieved Menu's. Then when we said NO she gave us this horrible look like we were idiots...So I tried to order some chicken thing from the menu and God forbid if she could understand me or speak any English, she just kept saying "No finished" and i just kept waving her to leave. When the food came out some busboy dropped it off and placed shrimp infront of me, a burito infront of my wife and some chicken covered in brown stuff inbewteen us. We also were told that the Don Pablo was the best place, so when we tried to see about reservation they told us that was the only place that requred men to wear long pants...which of course i didnt bring any because its over 100 degrees there every day. (Don Pablo is a French restaurant there not mexican like back home) The next day they had the "Flea Market" vendors arrive so we kindly asked the concierge what area it was located.. He then got on his cell phone and we waited about 10 min for him to bring up someone on a golf cart to take us personally to his "friend" vendor. Which the vendor wouldnt give us any prices until the end. We picked out a few items that were just colored rocks, cheap gifts to take home for friends and family, and he pulled us aside in one of the bus shuttle drop off areas to total the prices. Shows us a calculator and it says 220...i said whats that mean and he said $220! I told him he was out of his mind, he handed me the calculator and told me to give him a fair price....i said maybe $22 and he whipped out a lighter and started to burn the jewlery to prove that it was real...i told him i didnt care, i wasnt paying that much money for rocks! My wife an I were very uncomfortable and got up and walked away Last thing was they gave me some welcome paper to see someone in guest services the day after we arrived. I asked the front desk and they said meet him in our lobby and he can help us plan out activities. We waited for 20 min that morning and he never showed...turns out we had to meet that guy in his office in the Neutral lobby. We met with him and didnt want to use him to plan anything, and also told us to report to him 24 hours before checkout...which we missed because we were enjoying our vacation. Find out later that he HAD to call to make sure a shuttle would be there to pick us up on our day to checkout. So my advice would be NOT to go through CoCo tours for a ride. I would just skip this Gran Bahia all together unless you want to spend a great deal of money for a vacation you can take your kids on because thats all you see if you leave your small section of the adults only area. PS: bring your own shampoo and conditioner because they give you terrible watered down stuff and you have to buy conditioner in the gift shop. Oh and the room service we ordered once never showed up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top