$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
400 reviews
Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and... See full review

  • Cornel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Pleasant experience

Everything looked great. Whether it was food, room service, pools, beach, music, activities or... See full review

  • Chandler and Family
  • Jun 8, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
400 out of 400
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan, USA
Jul 6, 2011

awesome

The beach is huge - probably 75 yards from the ocean to the hotel pool. Lots of cabanas and chairs to lay out in. Drinks were good - they were using Normandy liquors for almost everything. The ocean is calm and cool. There are kayaks and little sailboats to take out for free. When we were there, the beach had a lot of seaweed that kept getting washed up every night, but they did their best to clean it up on a daily basis, they just couldn't keep up with how much there was - it didn't interfere with our swimming in the ocean. The resort is a lot bigger than I had imagined. There's an outdoor theater that sits 3000 people... so there is quite a bit to do. We did the ziplines - beautiful and in the mountains. We recommend it. We also did the dolphin explorer where you swim with a sea lion/sting rays/sharks/dolphins if you pay extra. Then they take you out snorkeling, we didn't see a lot of fish, but the coral was cool. Then they take you to a 'natural pool' (just a bay that is chest deep) where a bunch of other boats hang out and party for an hour. It was a decent excursion for the money. We recommend this one too. Lots of places to eat. If you are staying in the Ambar you get unlimited restaurant reservations. The english isn't the greatest, but we didn't have any problems. There are people from all over when we were there - Europe, Australia, South America.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Use your unlimited dinner reservations.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regulator33
Colorado
Apr 12, 2014

Vacation - No kids

We had a great time. Everything was great. We expected the food to be a bit better, but it was still pretty good. Everything else was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VACATIONDIVA
NEW JERSEY
Jun 12, 2009

GREAT STAY

VERY CONSIDERATE, CONSCIOUS STAFF, READILY NOTICED I WAS TRAVELING WITH 2 SENIORS OVER 80 YEARS. WE WERE PUT ON THE FIRST LEVEL OF VILLA 60 CLOSE TO THE POOL AND BEACH. TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE MANY PILLOWS OFFERED. THE MAJOR COMPLAINT WAS THE BLAND FOOD IN SOME RESTAURANTS BUT THATS CULTURAL. DID NOT PARTICULARLY CARE FOR THE DON PABLO SEAFOOD BUT EL PESCADOR WAS GREAT. NEED TO CENTRALIZE TOUR OPERATORS. BAR CLOSES TOO EARLY FOR AN ADULT SETTING ALTHOUGH YOU CAN TRAVEL TO BAVARA BY TRAM OR WALK BUT TOO MANY YOUNGER PEOPLE. LOBBY BAR HOURS COULD BE EXTENDED TO 1AM. THE AMBAR SECTION COULD OFFER MORE NIGHT LIFE FOR THE OVER 40 CROWD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

RESERVATIONS CAN BE EASILY CHANGED AT GUEST SERVICES WITH A 1-2 DAY NOTICE. EL PESCADOR IS GREAT FOR SEAFOOD AND OFFERS BUFFET STYLE SEAFOOD FOLLOWED BY THE ENTREE. FILLET MIGNON AT DON PABLO WAS GREAT WHEREAS THE FAMOUS LOBSTER WAS DRY AND TASTELESS. OVERALL THE BETTER RESTAURANTS WHERE IN BAVARO RATHER THAN AMBAR

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Classic 50s
Miami, FL
Aug 16, 2010

Great Experience

We celebrated my parents 50th wedding anniversary (total of 7 in the family) by taking them to the Ambar. I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews, but please read on as I will relate our experience.1. Check-in: smooth. We arrived at 4PM and were greeted with a cold guava drink; and immediate attention by [...]. Not once did we have to go to the front desk for information or check-in. We sat at the lobby bar and [...] came to us with all our room keys, hotel package information and restaurant reservation confirmations. I brought a bag full of decorations for my parent's room and when I told him I wanted to go to my parent's room first to decorate, he immediately offered to decorate the room himself. My family and I enjoyed a drink in the lobby and he came back 15 minutes later, announced our rooms were ready. My parent's room was decorated beautifully!2. Rooms: very clean. In fact the entire resort is impeccably clean and the staff is constantly cleaning the common areas, and tending to the landscaping. We reserved 3 rooms for our party; my room was a bit musty, however, none of the other rooms were musty. DR is a very humid, hot country. The hotel has a system to conserve energy, i.e., as you leave your room, you take out a card which turns off electricity (air and lights). After the first day, our room was not musty (we never took the card out).3. Food: some of the reviews we read said that the food was not great or it was OK considering it was all inclusive. We found the food to be very good. We didn't like everything, but we tried many restaurants and we always found something to enjoy. El Meson was our favorite. Funny, no one in our family liked Don Pablo.4. Information/organization: upon check-in, everyone is given a packet with their room keys, a map of the resort AND information regarding activities, restaurants, show times, etc. People who did not know what to do or where to go probably didn't open their packet.5. Beach/Pool: two very different things. The beach is big and beautiful. It is also accessible to all. I didn't see much exclusivity in the Ambar beach. however, the water was cool, clear and beautiful (we know a little something about beaches living in Miami). The Ambar pool is large, there are always chairs available (at any time of the day - even in late morning and early afternoon). The water is warm, but there are plenty of cold drinks available at the swim up bar. The pool is cleaned daily and we never experienced anything slimy.6. Staff: all staff spoke Spanish, and enough English and French in order to make the guests feel welcomed and accommodated. The pool attendants spoke Creole, some staff in the restaurants spoke German. Reviewers who complained about staff not speaking their language might have been expecting a full length conversation in Klingon. EVERY employee said hello with a smile as you passed them (ground crew, cleaning staff, restaurant staff, managers, and drivers). Staff could not have been more helpful and friendly! Please know, that DR is a tropical island and the people run on island time, so you won't get your "mama juana" in 8 seconds (by the way, you have to try this drink-if for no other reason than to say you did-make sure it is ice cold). Leave your watch at home...remember, you ARE on vacation.7. Other vacationers: mostly Canadians, French, Brits, Russians and Spaniards. We met a few Americans (mostly mid-westerners). Lots of honeymooners and anniversary types. Very nice, classy people.We spent 1 week at the Principe Ambar and had a great experience. Hope the negative reviews don't dissuade you from your vacation here. It's better than just "good for the money"; it's a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Read your guest package given at the beginning of your stay. All activities and schedules are there.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
butler,pa
Jul 31, 2011

our honeymoon

this was our honeymoon...it was great. We enjoyed everything they had to offer...the beach, food, drinks, pool bar. The entire resort was very clean, even the gym...although it did not offer a lot. In a resort this size, I feel they should offer more at the gym. We didn't go on any excursions because we just wanted to relax and not have to be anywhere at any specific time. We had our pics done by a professional photographer offered at Ambar...they were absolutely amazing!! We stayed at Ambar, but went to Bavaro to eat everyday and hang out in their lobby every evening. The food variety and the nightly entertainment was much, much better...which I found odd because the Ambar was adult only, where as the Bavaro allowed children. One would think that the entertainment would be better for the adults only hotel. The Ambar buffet was not very impressive at all...the Bavaro, on the other hand, was great. Our room was nice, but our phone was broke, we had to request wash cloths everyday, and the shower leaked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ Dancing Queen
New Jersey
Dec 18, 2012

the best vacation

Elegant and sophisticated place with excellent staff making all your worries go away upon the arrival. Good food and comfortable rooms. Nightlife could be enhanced by having better variety of music and quality music equipment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourguild
Rutland il
Feb 20, 2013

Relaxing vacation

The room was very nice and clean.The food and drinks were top shelf. The beach was beautiful but was annoyed by people saving chairs all day to use them an hour in the afternoon .the staff was friendly but hard to communicate with.If you plan to eat at the ala carte restaurants make reservations as soon as possible.They fill up fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like cigars most of the agency's have agreement with the factory's . They take you there for free have nice gift shops and good cigars.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msbeasley74
chicago, il
Jun 13, 2014

I would go back

The hotel staff were really nice and made you feel welcome. The grounds is beautiful and the food taste good. My main problem was the buffet was the exact same food everyday for breakfast and lunch if the hotel would switch up the food it would be a huge and major improvement. I had a problem with my bathroom ceiling leaking water called service 3 times to fix and they never did. I stayed at the same hotel chain in Jamaica and the Punta Cana location was a step up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you go go to Don Pablo and stay away from the BBQ buffet restaurant.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RWAX
Charlotte, NC
Dec 17, 2012

Beautiful Place

We had a great time here. The staff was really great. The buffet's were top knotch as well. The restaurants were OK but not the "Experience" we expected. (5 stars on the Buffet and 3.5 stars on the restaurants). Beaches were very nice and maintained as well as the pools. We were in the Kid-Free zone so it was also peaceful. The only real negative things about the whole resort were the pushy time share salesment that were relentless in the lobby area and the vendors in the plaza that would'nt let you casually look over their wares, but instead were very pushy toward things I wasn't interested in. The bartenders make excellent drinks that are on their list. Make sure they know what you want if you order a chocolate martini, for instance. YOu may get gin,vermouth and chocholate. Overal it was a good time onceI set the realtors straight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the gift shops every day. The prices seem to change daily depending on who is working. I bought some shirts that were quoted on day at 35 dollars but 10 dollars on my last day. I eventually bought them for 8

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 27, 2010

First time on adult-only property

Hotel management very attentive. Had many perks in the adult-only section

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

All four lobbies had live entertainment every night beginning at 7:30 PM

Back to menu Return to top