$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
324 out of 324
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LaLa22
Business
New York, NY
Jun 29, 2010

They thought of everything.

The Ambar section of the resort was incredible. The layout was really manageable and it was nice and quiet during the off season. It rained a little bit (June in the tropics), and the resort even provided a large umbrella in every room for guests. We made reservations for dinner in advance, as suggested by other reviews, and got a la carte reservations for every night that we were there. The food at the a la carte restaurants was top notch. The staff were SO kind and eager to go out of their way to make our entire stay perfect. A butler even came to our door with a "pillow menu" and gave us complementary aromatherapy scented pillows for our last night. The entire vacation was like a fantasy. And the architecture and grounds are beautiful too. The only issues I saw were that other guests who did not make reservations in advance for the a la carte restaurants had to do a few nights at the buffet, but even the food and service there were wonderful. Also, I could see that it might get crowded during the popular tourist season, but this wasn't really an issue for us as it was off-season. And the price could not be beat! I can't believe they could even afford to run the resort for that little per person, and certainly not with the superior level of quality that they did! We would ABSOLUTELY stay here again, and would reccommend it to anyone. We were so impressed with the value and luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a la carte dinner reservations when you book your stay- don't wait until you arrive. These higher-end restaurants book quickly. But we had reservations in advance and every meal was great. Especially recommend the Don Pablo Restaurant. Fantastic, rivaled many upscale NYC restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 5, 2010

Really a 5 star hotel

Great service the five stars really do serve its justice. Friendly staff, well kept and delicious food. You get so much for the price you pay you won't believe it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 8, 2010

Great Escape

This place is awesome, I would definitely go back. You can travel between all the resorts and enjoy all the food and entertainment. The staff is very friendly and the service is great. There is a language barrier with some of the staff but remember you are in another country, try to pick up a few words in spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Food was excelent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma Phyl
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jun 9, 2009

Paradise personified!

The Gran Bahia Principe Ambar was a perfect place for adults to stay. While we had our own pool with bar, we had use of all the facilities at the resort. A special thanks to the most friendly staff, especially the waitresses. Our favorite was [...]. What beautiful people the Dominicans are. Everyone was happy and helpful. The food at the buffets was very good and we especially liked the Don Pablo Restaurant, where once again, the service was impecable and so was the food. Make sure to bring enough casual clothing (long pants for men, anything but shorts for women) as the restaurants all require this attire. We thought we'd be in shorts all week, but usually spent all day in bathing suit and then dressed up for dinner and other activities. The El Olivo restaurant was okay, but we would probably not go back to it. If you go, you must take some excursions to see the native countyside. We booked ours through Coco Tours but believe that if you go to the beach you can get better deals. Just make sure the vendor is associated with the resort. Take the tour that lets you swim with the nurse sharks and rays. It was the most fun. Be sure to bring plenty of $1 bills. A few small tips gives you exceptional service, but it is not required. The people seem genuinely happy to be serving you. Would have liked for the resort to communicate their activities better. We had trouble finding out what was going on at the resort. I can't recommend this resort enough. I will definitely be going back sometime. It would be helpful to have some conversational skills in Spanish since much of the staff and others only speak a little English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the tram to the Pueblo Principe for night time entertainment. Also attend the shows put on at the Punta Cana.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
odriskel
Business
dallas, TX
Jul 3, 2010

GREAT

q

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ninamelie
Business
Chandler, AZ
May 26, 2011

Great AI!

Great hotel! Grounds are beautiful, service is exceptional. We did not have any issues with staff not speaking English. We were able to communicate all of our needs. Food was delicious. Hotel grounds are beautiful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only negative would be that the room was very dark due to hotel using energy efficient bulbs. It might sound silly, but we brought some 100W bulbs with us after reading previous guests reviews. It made a big difference. This hotel has one of the best beaches in Punta Cana since huts are placed close to the water front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Easton MA
Feb 8, 2010

Relaxing vacation

The beach is the most beautiful at this hotel. It is well maintained , plenty of frontage, soft clean sand. You needed to get there early for chairs, we did it the early in the morning when we came back from the disco/casino 1-2am no problem . The Ambar was the placed to stay less crowded close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WASHINGTON, NJ
Jun 8, 2009

GREAT PLACE FOR COUPLES

we joined my sister from Alabama for an adult vacation. It was her first experience in Punta Cana and she and her husband loved it. We have been to other resorts before, but would certainly comeback here as our first choice. The staff was extremely friendly and the service exceptional. We are also recommending it to our son and his family because the Punta Cana section and the Bavaro area of the resort were also very lovely and suited to families with children. A-1

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Don Pablo restaurant was our favorite. First class fine dining. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milton, Ont
Apr 1, 2010

Great Place

This was our first holiday without our kids. It was very relaxing. The staff was very friendly and the location was beautiful. No matter where your room is located, you are not far away from anything. (Pool,beach, restaurants and stores) It was nice to take the trolley over to Bavaro resort at night to enjoy the great shows and other entertainment. We walked the beach a few days and it is very nice in this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely try the snorkeling and swimming with the sharks and sting ray. It is worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis MO
Apr 20, 2010

Great adult getaway

The hotel was great, the service was fantastic and everyone was helpful. The food in the buffet was very good and the al carte resturants was also very good. Enjoyed the adult beach at the Gran Bahia Principe - Ambar, alot of open beach and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top