$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
296 reviews
Great vacation spot!

This was my first all inclusive vacation with my girlfriend and we had a wonderful time. The... See full review

  • minieod
  • Dec 10, 2014
good stay

If you like the beach and food, great place. Check list: 1. Make your speciality restaurant... See full review

  • lifeisgood123
  • Nov 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (296)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.J
Business
Wellington, Florida
Jun 7, 2014

Class act all-inclusive

Extraordinary personal. Very clean. Great food. These people get it when it comes to service. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Absolutely fabulous food and beverages

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chandler and Family
Business
Virginia
Jun 8, 2014

Pleasant experience

Everything looked great. Whether it was food, room service, pools, beach, music, activities or train experience and check-in/check-out experience. All the employees but especially female employees went out of way to please. They were so kind, helpful which made this trip as PLEASANT EXPERIENCE. One point I wish to make that if some outside tour or site-seeing of one day etc would be included in ALL INCLUSIVE, would be more better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So much to chose and of excellent quality.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LaLa22
Business
New York, NY
Jun 29, 2010

They thought of everything.

The Ambar section of the resort was incredible. The layout was really manageable and it was nice and quiet during the off season. It rained a little bit (June in the tropics), and the resort even provided a large umbrella in every room for guests. We made reservations for dinner in advance, as suggested by other reviews, and got a la carte reservations for every night that we were there. The food at the a la carte restaurants was top notch. The staff were SO kind and eager to go out of their way to make our entire stay perfect. A butler even came to our door with a "pillow menu" and gave us complementary aromatherapy scented pillows for our last night. The entire vacation was like a fantasy. And the architecture and grounds are beautiful too. The only issues I saw were that other guests who did not make reservations in advance for the a la carte restaurants had to do a few nights at the buffet, but even the food and service there were wonderful. Also, I could see that it might get crowded during the popular tourist season, but this wasn't really an issue for us as it was off-season. And the price could not be beat! I can't believe they could even afford to run the resort for that little per person, and certainly not with the superior level of quality that they did! We would ABSOLUTELY stay here again, and would reccommend it to anyone. We were so impressed with the value and luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a la carte dinner reservations when you book your stay- don't wait until you arrive. These higher-end restaurants book quickly. But we had reservations in advance and every meal was great. Especially recommend the Don Pablo Restaurant. Fantastic, rivaled many upscale NYC restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 11, 2010

Not a bad thing to say

Overall, the value of this hotel can not be beat. We spent less per day on accommodations, dining, cocktails, and entertainment than we usually do going out for dinner and drinks in Chicago. We were celebrating an anniversary, and upon arrival, found our room decorated with ribbons. There was also a nice surprise from our butler on our last night but I won't disclose what it was; don't want to ruin the surprise!The Gran Bahia Prinicpe resort (including all other hotels) is HUGE. There are shuttles provided to get you from point a to b quickly. The run often so you never have to wait long and run from I believe 6 am to 3 am. Ambar is smaller and you can walk anywhere you need to go.The staff are hardworking and friendly. They are willing to help you in any way possible. Tips are included as part of the all-inclusive package, but we tipped our butler for special requests, housekeeping ($3-4/day), bartenders, and servers at dinner ($3-4) each day. The beach is very large and accommodates the other Bahia Principe Resorts on property. That said, there were sometimes children near us on the beach. We didn't mind too much, but if you want complete adults only, the Ambar pool is the place to be. There are two bars and a restaurant pool side. We spent the majority of our time on the beach, but noticed the lounge chairs at the pool filled up quickly. Get there early to get a spot (before 9 am). The Bavaro resort on property is where the nighttime entertainment is. We saw the Michael Jackson show, which was entertaining. Don't expect Broadway performances, but the nightly events at the theater are fun! There's also a casino, sports/karaoke bar, and a "disco" (night club open from 12-2 am). We had a blast at all places!We were there for 6 days/5 nights but didn't even come close to doing everything we thought we'd be able to do. There are daily activities in all the resorts throughout the day, for example dance lessons and yoga on the beach. With all there is to do on property, we mostly took advantage of the water and relaxing on the beach. There are several tour operators on property. We met with Luis from Coco Tours; through [...] we booked airport to hotel transportation and they have several island tours available. We opted for the ziplining tour which was a first for both of us and amazing! For paying with cash over credit card, we got a $10 discount per person. The trek up the mountains was an hour and a half (we were told it was 45 min) but it wasn't too bad because we got to see the island so it was like a bonus tour.I read negative reviews prior to our trip about the food, but didn't let that phase me. You can't expect to be eating at James Beard award winning restaurants in the DR, but the food is good and everyone, even the pickiest of eaters (my boyfriend included), should be able to find something they like. We ate at the buffet for breakfast each day. There are so many options; you're sure to find something you like. There's a "Diet Corner" at the buffet which offers health choices (egg whites, grilled veggies, fresh fruit) which I appreciated. The best restaurant we ate at was Japanese restaurant Maiko at Bavaro. We sat around the Habachi grill and the food was the best we had all week. The grilled lobster at Don Pablo (Ambar) was my second favorite. Ladies, bring your own shampoo/conditioner/body wash/lotion. They provide shampoo, bath gel, and lotion but they are all very watery and didn't really do the trick. There's a blow dryer, but if you have hard-to-manage hair, I recommend bringing your own. They also provide cotton balls, q-tips, nail files, a comb, mini toothbrush/paste (still bring your own), shower cap, and flat loofah. The mini bar in room comes stocked daily with water, club soda, tonic, 7-up, Pepsi, Pepsi light, Orange pop, bag of chips, and flights of vodka, rum, and whiskey. We only drink diet soda so requested that we receive only Pepsi Light; the fulfilled that request immediately and kept it up all...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Email your restaurant reservations to the hotel a week in advance to ensure you get the restaurants you want in the time slots you want. We got to eat at all the restaurants we selected and at preferable times. Others we met who made their reservations upon arrival did not.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma Phyl
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jun 9, 2009

Paradise personified!

The Gran Bahia Principe Ambar was a perfect place for adults to stay. While we had our own pool with bar, we had use of all the facilities at the resort. A special thanks to the most friendly staff, especially the waitresses. Our favorite was [...]. What beautiful people the Dominicans are. Everyone was happy and helpful. The food at the buffets was very good and we especially liked the Don Pablo Restaurant, where once again, the service was impecable and so was the food. Make sure to bring enough casual clothing (long pants for men, anything but shorts for women) as the restaurants all require this attire. We thought we'd be in shorts all week, but usually spent all day in bathing suit and then dressed up for dinner and other activities. The El Olivo restaurant was okay, but we would probably not go back to it. If you go, you must take some excursions to see the native countyside. We booked ours through Coco Tours but believe that if you go to the beach you can get better deals. Just make sure the vendor is associated with the resort. Take the tour that lets you swim with the nurse sharks and rays. It was the most fun. Be sure to bring plenty of $1 bills. A few small tips gives you exceptional service, but it is not required. The people seem genuinely happy to be serving you. Would have liked for the resort to communicate their activities better. We had trouble finding out what was going on at the resort. I can't recommend this resort enough. I will definitely be going back sometime. It would be helpful to have some conversational skills in Spanish since much of the staff and others only speak a little English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the tram to the Pueblo Principe for night time entertainment. Also attend the shows put on at the Punta Cana.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
odriskel
Business
dallas, TX
Jul 3, 2010

GREAT

q

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ninamelie
Business
Chandler, AZ
May 26, 2011

Great AI!

Great hotel! Grounds are beautiful, service is exceptional. We did not have any issues with staff not speaking English. We were able to communicate all of our needs. Food was delicious. Hotel grounds are beautiful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only negative would be that the room was very dark due to hotel using energy efficient bulbs. It might sound silly, but we brought some 100W bulbs with us after reading previous guests reviews. It made a big difference. This hotel has one of the best beaches in Punta Cana since huts are placed close to the water front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Easton MA
Feb 8, 2010

Relaxing vacation

The beach is the most beautiful at this hotel. It is well maintained , plenty of frontage, soft clean sand. You needed to get there early for chairs, we did it the early in the morning when we came back from the disco/casino 1-2am no problem . The Ambar was the placed to stay less crowded close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx N.Y.
Aug 22, 2010

Fantastic vacation

The hotel was in a beautiful location. The suite was big and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal (Laval), Canada
Nov 28, 2010

Wow! Great hotel. Highly recommended.

Great trip from start to finish. The entire place is clean and a real sight for the eyes. Even the beach is cleaned every morning, which is not the case for the other hotels. The food is excellent and can even be compared to what can be found on cruise ships. The staff is friendly and does everything to make your trip one to remember. The only negative comment I have is about the quality of the house wine. If you can, bring your own since you can do so in all of the hotel restaurants and buffets. Very highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The house wine is not really good so bring your own for those special dining moments. You can pick up your wine at the duty free shops in your departure airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top