$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darby
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 13, 2013

Great stay at the Ambar

It was a great stay, the buffets were your typical all inclusive as were the drinks the a la carte restaurants were good, the Italian was the best and Don Pablo although was good is definitely over rated. The beach was beautiful the staff was friendly and always willing to help and their is free wi fi in the hotel lobby, where there is also a nice bar with top shelf liquor. Taste the mamajuana!! The pool was nice big swim up bar always chairs available at pool and beach. Go you'll have a great time. The resort is huge so be prepared and there are no elevators but it's only 3 stories no big deal. Also they had a beach party that was so much fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancyb3281
Business
New york
Nov 6, 2013

The best place!

This was by far the most beautiful place! The staff was Outstanding, hard working, friendly and all around wonderful! The beach was gorgeous and spotless! Pool was spotless, pool bar awesome, plenty of space! Tons of food, great variety and food was pretty good! Nothing was an issue, staff can't do enough to make you happy! Highly recommend this place...best of all.. No kids, no babies no parents who don't watch their kids! Don't look any further, book this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All good

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
philzz
Business
Monroe Township, NJ, USA
Nov 18, 2013

6th hotel --delightful

on our 6th trip to punta cana over 6 years, we hit our best hotel. We don't have any complaints and can't conceive of ever asking for more value, than we experienced. THANKS FOR A GREAT VACATION

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chandler and Family
Business
Virginia
Jun 8, 2014

Pleasant experience

Everything looked great. Whether it was food, room service, pools, beach, music, activities or train experience and check-in/check-out experience. All the employees but especially female employees went out of way to please. They were so kind, helpful which made this trip as PLEASANT EXPERIENCE. One point I wish to make that if some outside tour or site-seeing of one day etc would be included in ALL INCLUSIVE, would be more better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So much to chose and of excellent quality.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
La Sexy Mama
Business
New York
Aug 28, 2010

Wonderful Place in Paradise

This vacation was the perfect one. I enjoy everything I enjoy going to eat at the buffet because the staff is wonderful and super friendly. My room was nice and comfortable super clean, the bed great I slept like a baby every single night. It has beautiful gardens the scenery is wonderful. In conclusion there is nothing bad to say about my experience at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar. I recommended to everybody, you have to go and see in order for you to experience the magic of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Airdrie,Alberta Canada
Aug 28, 2010

Great Resort

My husband and I went to the Ambar for our anniversary. So what we were looking for was a quiet,relaxing,adult only experience and that is exacly what we got. This resort was absolutly gorgeous, well manicured and the rooms were spotless. I would not complain about a single thing, however we did find the food to be a little disappointing but regardless we always found something to eat, the presentation of the food was amazing the taste was a little boring but not a big deal. We found the staff to be wonderful and very efficient. Overall we found this side of the resort to be a very relaxing atmosphere. Money well spent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lulu g
Business
montreal
Nov 28, 2010

The best quality for your money

This is our 4th time at this location.....we travel quite a bit and honestly this is by far one of our top 5 hotels/destination. The food is great, the service is irreprochable, the cleanliness is unbelievable, the friendliness of the employees is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your restaurants the minute you check in because they are so great they go very fast

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calabasas, CA
Dec 14, 2010

10 nights at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar

My wife and I loved it all. The food and restorants were very acomedating with good food. The looby, pool and beach was very well orgnized and clean. The room and service was on time and friendly. I would go back and recomend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you reserve each night for dining when you arive. Pick a diffrent restorant each night. Even it all they have open is a late reservation. We had few very late reservation and they took us in early...

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east coast
Aug 29, 2010

rest and relax

did nothing for 8 days and it was great. been there once before and intend to go back for next vacation, loved meeting people from all over the globe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 11, 2010

Not a bad thing to say

Overall, the value of this hotel can not be beat. We spent less per day on accommodations, dining, cocktails, and entertainment than we usually do going out for dinner and drinks in Chicago. We were celebrating an anniversary, and upon arrival, found our room decorated with ribbons. There was also a nice surprise from our butler on our last night but I won't disclose what it was; don't want to ruin the surprise!The Gran Bahia Prinicpe resort (including all other hotels) is HUGE. There are shuttles provided to get you from point a to b quickly. The run often so you never have to wait long and run from I believe 6 am to 3 am. Ambar is smaller and you can walk anywhere you need to go.The staff are hardworking and friendly. They are willing to help you in any way possible. Tips are included as part of the all-inclusive package, but we tipped our butler for special requests, housekeeping ($3-4/day), bartenders, and servers at dinner ($3-4) each day. The beach is very large and accommodates the other Bahia Principe Resorts on property. That said, there were sometimes children near us on the beach. We didn't mind too much, but if you want complete adults only, the Ambar pool is the place to be. There are two bars and a restaurant pool side. We spent the majority of our time on the beach, but noticed the lounge chairs at the pool filled up quickly. Get there early to get a spot (before 9 am). The Bavaro resort on property is where the nighttime entertainment is. We saw the Michael Jackson show, which was entertaining. Don't expect Broadway performances, but the nightly events at the theater are fun! There's also a casino, sports/karaoke bar, and a "disco" (night club open from 12-2 am). We had a blast at all places!We were there for 6 days/5 nights but didn't even come close to doing everything we thought we'd be able to do. There are daily activities in all the resorts throughout the day, for example dance lessons and yoga on the beach. With all there is to do on property, we mostly took advantage of the water and relaxing on the beach. There are several tour operators on property. We met with Luis from Coco Tours; through [...] we booked airport to hotel transportation and they have several island tours available. We opted for the ziplining tour which was a first for both of us and amazing! For paying with cash over credit card, we got a $10 discount per person. The trek up the mountains was an hour and a half (we were told it was 45 min) but it wasn't too bad because we got to see the island so it was like a bonus tour.I read negative reviews prior to our trip about the food, but didn't let that phase me. You can't expect to be eating at James Beard award winning restaurants in the DR, but the food is good and everyone, even the pickiest of eaters (my boyfriend included), should be able to find something they like. We ate at the buffet for breakfast each day. There are so many options; you're sure to find something you like. There's a "Diet Corner" at the buffet which offers health choices (egg whites, grilled veggies, fresh fruit) which I appreciated. The best restaurant we ate at was Japanese restaurant Maiko at Bavaro. We sat around the Habachi grill and the food was the best we had all week. The grilled lobster at Don Pablo (Ambar) was my second favorite. Ladies, bring your own shampoo/conditioner/body wash/lotion. They provide shampoo, bath gel, and lotion but they are all very watery and didn't really do the trick. There's a blow dryer, but if you have hard-to-manage hair, I recommend bringing your own. They also provide cotton balls, q-tips, nail files, a comb, mini toothbrush/paste (still bring your own), shower cap, and flat loofah. The mini bar in room comes stocked daily with water, club soda, tonic, 7-up, Pepsi, Pepsi light, Orange pop, bag of chips, and flights of vodka, rum, and whiskey. We only drink diet soda so requested that we receive only Pepsi Light; the fulfilled that request immediately and kept it up all...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Email your restaurant reservations to the hotel a week in advance to ensure you get the restaurants you want in the time slots you want. We got to eat at all the restaurants we selected and at preferable times. Others we met who made their reservations upon arrival did not.

Back to menu Return to top