$240 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
346 out of 346
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crit
Business
New Brunswick
Mar 4, 2012

Time for Mom & Dad

This resort is excellent. The service was great. The food was very good. The only thing I did not like was the 'musty' smell in the room. We stayed at the Grand Bahia last year also, but in the Punta Cana section (not Ambar) and the room did not smell like this...it smelled good (fresh). But besides that everything was impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nizzzzz
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Overall Great Place

Ambar was a great place because its adults only exclusive. So you get all the privacy you want away from the rowdier crowds of the other resorts while still being able to access them whenever you want without them being able to have access to your resort. It is a little more pricey than the others but very much worth it. Food is great and room service is great as well. The beach is right there for your use and all activities are available at the beach and others can be booked through there reception. overall an awesome experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you make all your weeks worth of dinner reservations before hand so you dont have to fight for them later.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunlove
Business
Ct usa
Mar 31, 2012

Fun getaway

Hotel was beautiful,staff friendly....we did have a problem with door key that took about 5 hours to fix

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WEEE
Business
Buffalo
Apr 12, 2012

Presidential Punta Cana Treatment

Service was great Stay on the resort -( avoid off shore excursions unless you want to witness how most people in the DR live - shot guns on every corner. Kids begging for money. But never felt unsafe). Get to the beach early for a chair Must get to the pool by 7am for a chair - can't leave towel, pool security will take your towels Don't spend too much time on reservations - always empty tables at every restaurant. Don Pablo was the best restaurant - recommend the lobster Bring lots of singles for tipping - not necessary, but very appreciated. These people work their butts off! 11 days on and 3 days off. Spend some time studying the map. The resort is huge and easy to get lost/turned around. The pool, beach and hotel were clean, beautiful and the staff was very, very friendly. They made it easy to make friends with other guests. Not necessary to bring a bottle of liquor with you - top shelf is available if you just ask for it. Never had a problem catching a buzz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

No reservation necessary - go when you want and ask for a table.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TMVP
Business
Scranton, PA, USA
May 2, 2012

Had a Great Time, would recommend to Others

I could not say Anything Bad about this place. Rooms are Very Clean, Grounds are beautiful there is always someone working inside and outside cleaning etc.. People were very nice, guest service, Bartender in the lobby, front desk always willing to answer questions and help. Everyone was very Nice and helpful. Food was Very Good, if you could not find something you like..there is something wrong with you.. they have 4 other resorts in walking distance you can use at anytime..This is also One of the closest resorts to airport..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy American
Business
Portland, OR, USA
May 23, 2012

adults only

very nice and relaxing. if you just want to drink then go to 4 stars. This place is great for adults that like to be pampered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to the buffet. It's awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amzing10s
Business
Danbury, CT
Jun 4, 2012

Happy Camper

This is a mega resort. I'm real glad I stayed in the Ambar-adult only section. By staying in that section, we got access to the entire resort and were close to the ocean. Some parts of the resort are relatively far from the main pool and ocean and there are tram type things to shuttle you from one end to the other. Plus more higher end drinks are included in your all inclusive (ex. Johnny Black label). Food wasn't amazing, but wasn't bad either. Overall, very satisfied and would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Make sure your room isn't on the shuttle route. There are no real ocean view room, so just make sure it's not near that shuttle, so it's nice a quite. BOOK your restaurant reservation ASAP.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe's Happy Wife
Business
Queens, NY
Jul 10, 2012

Excellent, peaceful experience!

We just got back from our first (excellent) trip to Punta Cana. Thrilled to say that our stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar (Adults Only hotel) was - bar none - the best place ever. Our intention was to go for some deeply needed R&R. This place was perfect. As an adults-only, it was very quiet. The Ambar part of the complex of hotels is all about the quiet and the peacefulness. If you're looking for a more party atmosphere, this isn't for you. And if you're traveling with little ones, try the Bavaro or other family-friendly places. I was sad to be spending my first July 4th out of America, but then my husband and I encountered a buffet with a huge American flag cake and tons of decor and food exclusively for the holiday!! It made my day! No offense to anyone who has ever reviewed this place negatively, but our experience was flawless. You encounter an amazing, happy staff (usually caught singing while they worked!) who work hard to make sure your vacation is the best. You arrive and they welcome you with a beverage and a cold towel in the lobby. We felt like royalty! Not only was our room spotless and visually stunning, but everyone from the concierge, to the room service folks, to the housekeeping staff made your needs their priority. The grounds are beautifully kept as well as the pool and common areas. On the beach, you just need to watch for pushy hair braiders - get them done at the Bahia Spa, it's cheaper! Speaking of...we got massages at the spa and it was great! The spa services are not included and are charged to your room, so you don't need to carry a lot of cash, just lots of singles for extra tipping to great people. We thought the food was fantastic and so diverse. The reservation-only restaurants were OK. We ate at Santa Fe and Portofino. Santa Fe was better! However, the buffet places, like the Palmyers at Ambar or Los Corrales by the pool, were excellent! You never felt iffy about the foods and everything was quickly replenished.Good to note: Bring some nicer clothes for the reservation places - Men can't even get into Don Pablo with sleeveless shirts, flip flops or shorts! Also, if you want to go dancing, people seemed to go all out. My only complaints - and I use the term lightly - is that all the buildings are identical and you can get lost - especially at night - trying to find your room. However, the tram service is pretty reliable and fun, so if you can, use that to get around. Also, when you go shopping at the village at Bavaro, be wary of the extremely pushy open-air vendors. They nearly tackle you for business and their stuff is cheaply made and overpriced. My expensive ring and earring set fell apart before we left the island! Patronize the nice air-conditioned stores. They're less expensive and not at all pushy. Also, to everyone who suggested bringing our own insulated cups to DR - GREAT IDEA! We used ours all the time. The places are most happy to fill your cups and you don't have to keep returning for refills on their tiny plastic ones. We will definitely consider going back to this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the reservation places, such as Don Pablo, have a dress code. Gentlemen, please bring nice shirts and long pants, or you can't get in!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cynsation
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 17, 2012

Wonderful Expereience. I would stay at this resort again.

The service at the resort was wonderful, people were very pleasant and accomodating. The grounds were inpeccable. I have stay at plenty of resorts and this is one of the best. By only complaint is the pool area closed much to early, at 6pm and the room service menu was very limited. The shows at trhe resort were good, but the Michael Jackson Show brought tears to my eyes as it was absoultely excellent, It was as though Michael Jackson was still alive and I was there inthe audience. This was an execellent experience, since I will never be able to see him perform alive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Was limited.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rantseries
Business
Michigan
Aug 29, 2012

perfect honeymoon

We had the best time at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar. The beach was beautiful and is where we spent most of our time. There is some seaweed but literally they are out there with tractors and rakes cleaning it up everyday. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were very clean. The resort was huge because you have access to the other 3 properties at all times. The Japanese restaurant was our favorite of the themed restaurants. The mexican was a close second. The food does get old at the buffets after awhile because they tend to have the same stuff for breakfast and lunch. Also the drinks seem to be pretty watered down (the alchohol that is) The "mama juana" drink they specialize in is good. Overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top