$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 25, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
292 reviews
Great All Around

My Wife and I went for our honeymoon and had a great time. Ambar is the way to go for adults,... See full review

  • Rossko
  • Jul 28, 2014
great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive)... See full review

  • Princess Agata
  • Jul 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (292)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ryan 6 times in dr
Business
georgia
Oct 3, 2013

great place

the food was good expect that when you go you pretty much need to make reservations for the whole week in advance or you wont get into the restaurants. The restaurants even though you need a reservation are never even half full. El olivo was the best one if you like steak get the churasco its amazing. The scuba and boat rental guys were rudel every day and some days wanted a deposit on equipment and other days they didn't it was weird. the front desk staff was amazing, yanjira I think was her name, also pool bar elvis was awesome and at the lobby bar murphy is one of the best drink makers ive ever been around. The express service was amazing and express stuff gut there within a hour or two. all in all mostly great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

get your reservations at check in it sucks because you may not want to eat at the scheduled times that you get but its the only way to get some of the food even though the restaurant may only be open one day a week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Russ4
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Nov 11, 2013

Adult Getaway

Loved the hotel and service provided on the property. As an all inclusive resort, we considered it a very good value. However, day trips away from the hotel were limited and did not rate with the best we have experienced in the Caribbean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Supamom
Business
Rhode Island
Jul 23, 2010

Worth the $, but not five star

1st time to DR,(weather is perfect in July by the way...we went from July 16th to 20th, 2010) Ambar was very nice and relaxing, pool just right and the beach is very nice, not private of course, but nice. The rooms are good and clean and spacious...request room#60308 (if possible)this is the ONLY room that would be unbelievable for ocean view AND pool view-ideal!! We would return to Ambar if a great price comes up...otherwise we will try another adult only resort the next time. Not what we consider five star at all, but 3-4 would be ok. The bartenders were pretty miserable for the most part-that needs improvement...as does the alcohol they use-especially for what you pay. One beer only: presidente. Food at buffet was actually pretty good (dinner wise)...if you make ala cart reservations (Don Pablo is truly horrible...we actually left after not being able to chew our filet mignon!? yuck!)go to the buffet as well as your ala cart (most people do for the variety)...all in all though, it was relaxing, fun, memorable for sure and worth what we paid. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach vendor to the right on the beach (from Ambar)...always bargain WAY LOW, you will always get a good deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trini121
Business
teaneck, nj
Jul 5, 2010

Very nice accomodations.

This was a rest and relaxation trip. The resort was impeccably kept. Staff was attrentive for the most part. Great beach, many chairs with umbrellas, many dining choices, plenty activities. Great choice when traveling with a senior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 5, 2010

Great Hotel, bad food

This is our honeymoon place and the experience is good. Since my wife is pregnant, we didn't do a lot of activities. We just stay at the hotel and relax. The hotel in general is beautiful. Our room is very clean. The staffs are extra friendly and great service. The pool is big and not crowed. The only disappointment from this hotel is the food. The food is bad period. Overall, this is a very nice place to relax if food quality isn't your main concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Quebec
Aug 30, 2010

Great Couples Vacation Resort

We just got back and had excellent service during our stay (so much so that I am dumbfounded by previous poster). SERVICE: Took advantage of the room service to order special pillows one night (options include chamomile or apple scented pillows, goose-down, etc) and after my pillows were delivered, room service called and asked if I'd like to have a butler come and draw me a bubble-bath sometime in our jacuzzi-jet tub. I booked a time and he came promptly, and I had an amazing bath filled with oils and rose petals; all free services. FOOD: Better than expected. I ate shrimp every day, whether at lunch or dinner (sometimes both), had lobster, filet mignon, etc. We recommend the A la Carte restaurants. You can go to as many as you'd like, including those in the sister resorts. The Pescadore had especially good seafood (we recommend the mixed grilled sea food plate; best lobster we've had in a long time, with generous portion of salmon, other fish, shrimp, etc). Garden Grill has tasty steaks (beef tenderloin and rib-eye were big hits with us. Don Pablo's filet mignon came with a piece of foie gras (delicious), scalloped potatoes,etc. We also had an amazing chocolate dessert there and waitor was extremely generous with champagne (again free, served with smiles and jokes, and had our glasses topped up more times than we can remember -- we lost track after 6 glasses each!) We are English speaking and made an effort to speak a little bit of broken Spanish whenever we could, and that seemed to go a long way. It wasn't a chore either -- the staff actually helps teach you the words for things which was fun for us. Drinks were EXCELLENT at this resort. Generous with the rum, but a lot of daily-special drinks were so fruity and delicious they didn't even taste alcoholic sometimes. Pool bar service also excellent -- friendly staff and quick service. CLEANLINESS: Maid was amazing. We tipped $2/day and got amazing service. Had swans in towels, bedsheets, etc. and/or flower petals decorating room almost every day. Maid scrubs down room very well, changes sheets all the time, even did double-turn down service so if we napped in afternoon she re-made the bed by the time we came home from dinner. LOCATION: Ambar guests have their own pool (never full when we were there; nice and roomy) with swim-up bar. Our own section of beach, too. Nice quiet resort. Ages included young couples like ourselves (mid 20s to 30s), a few middle aged groups and a couple of elderly couples. No loud partyers during our stay (a blessing!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When ordering steak, know that it will not come rare, no matter how you ask. Always came medium rare to medium. I suspect the grill is not hot enough for them to sear a real rare, but meat quality and season is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ Romantic
Business
Piscataway, NJ
Jul 24, 2009

Excellent vacation

We spent most of our days between the incredible beaches and the pools. We certainly got the R7R we came for. We went to see some shows at the other resort. The Michael Jackson show was incredible. All through our visit, the staff that took care of us (Florence and the others) made our romantic vacation great, with all the little touches they provided - romantic jacuzzi set-ups in our room etc. I give this vacation two thumbs all the way up! I would certainly return again and again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat in the resort. The choices meals are vast and you can easily tailor your meals to your taste. We particulary enjoyed eating in both the Mediterrenean restaurant and french Don Pablo restaurants. Recommend eating all of your breakfasts at the main hotel (Amber) buffet, the other resort hotels were a little too noisy for us. The vast choices of food types, friendly staff and quiet ambience in Ambar starts the day very nicely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MARYLAND
Jul 15, 2009

Best value for the money in Caribbean

GREAT VALUE FOR THE COST. MODERN, CLEAN FACILITIES. ATTENTIVE AND COURTEOUS STAFF. NO CHILDREN BUT NOT WHACKED OUT ADULTS. RELAX, CHILL AT THE BEACH, HAVE DRINKS, JUST A GREAT QUIET ATMOSPHERS. SECOND VISIT & WASNT DISSAPOINTED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, USA
Jul 6, 2011

awesome

The beach is huge - probably 75 yards from the ocean to the hotel pool. Lots of cabanas and chairs to lay out in. Drinks were good - they were using Normandy liquors for almost everything. The ocean is calm and cool. There are kayaks and little sailboats to take out for free. When we were there, the beach had a lot of seaweed that kept getting washed up every night, but they did their best to clean it up on a daily basis, they just couldn't keep up with how much there was - it didn't interfere with our swimming in the ocean. The resort is a lot bigger than I had imagined. There's an outdoor theater that sits 3000 people... so there is quite a bit to do. We did the ziplines - beautiful and in the mountains. We recommend it. We also did the dolphin explorer where you swim with a sea lion/sting rays/sharks/dolphins if you pay extra. Then they take you out snorkeling, we didn't see a lot of fish, but the coral was cool. Then they take you to a 'natural pool' (just a bay that is chest deep) where a bunch of other boats hang out and party for an hour. It was a decent excursion for the money. We recommend this one too. Lots of places to eat. If you are staying in the Ambar you get unlimited restaurant reservations. The english isn't the greatest, but we didn't have any problems. There are people from all over when we were there - Europe, Australia, South America.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Use your unlimited dinner reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angelbuffs
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 23, 2010

Great resort for the price!

The resort was beautifully landscaped and made you feel as if you were in fact on an island of your own. This resort is great because you have so many options/things to do because of the number of resorts (5-6) all in one. The Ambar is a great choice for adults who want to get away from the families with crying children or from teenagers getting into trouble. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. The pool and pool bar employees are the best! Guest services employees left a lot to be desired. Room service took forever and was actually only correct once out of the seven times I ordered it. The a La Carte restaurants were mediocre while the buffets were a better choice (most of the time because of the hassle we had to go thru to make reservations). The entertainment that we got to see was great. However, since our dinner reservations tended to be later, we missed most of the shows. I would recommend if choosing to dine at the a la carte restaurants, to make your reservations early and for early times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service took forever and was actually only correct once out of the seven times I ordered it. The a La Carte restaurants were mediocre while the buffets were a better choice (most of the time because of the hassle we had to go thru to make reservations). Also, in terms of dining and entertainment, be sure to make reservations early enough so that you will be able to make the evening entertainment shows if desired.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top