$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RWAX
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 17, 2012

Beautiful Place

We had a great time here. The staff was really great. The buffet's were top knotch as well. The restaurants were OK but not the "Experience" we expected. (5 stars on the Buffet and 3.5 stars on the restaurants). Beaches were very nice and maintained as well as the pools. We were in the Kid-Free zone so it was also peaceful. The only real negative things about the whole resort were the pushy time share salesment that were relentless in the lobby area and the vendors in the plaza that would'nt let you casually look over their wares, but instead were very pushy toward things I wasn't interested in. The bartenders make excellent drinks that are on their list. Make sure they know what you want if you order a chocolate martini, for instance. YOu may get gin,vermouth and chocholate. Overal it was a good time onceI set the realtors straight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the gift shops every day. The prices seem to change daily depending on who is working. I bought some shirts that were quoted on day at 35 dollars but 10 dollars on my last day. I eventually bought them for 8

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ Dancing Queen
Business
New Jersey
Dec 18, 2012

the best vacation

Elegant and sophisticated place with excellent staff making all your worries go away upon the arrival. Good food and comfortable rooms. Nightlife could be enhanced by having better variety of music and quality music equipment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VACATIONS ARE GREAT
Business
HOLLY, MI
Dec 20, 2012

December in Punta Cana

Hotel was excellent beach was remarkable. Could have had more pool activities besides aerobic in the morning and zumba in the afternoon every day. Lobby privilege club sales people pushy every day even though we sat and spoke with them the first day and said no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Sandy Sandra
Business
Washington State
Jan 3, 2013

Great Honeymoon

Hotel staff is amazing and very attentive at all times, the overall cleanliness of the premises are immaculate including garden and common areas. We stayed in the Ambar which is adults only- definately worth it. Not as luxurious as Esmeralda but having the benefit of using all other Bahia Principe hotels unlike the other guests which cannot use the Ambar was as an advantage. The beach is turquoise and the sand white and clean. Only drawback is the food is not that great, it barely has seasoning for my and husband's taste. Also hotel vendors will do anything to sell you anything overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sophia1
Business
New York, NY
Jan 19, 2013

Perfect place for R&R

Nicely located hotel that is isolated from the rest of the Grand Bahia Principle's enormous complex. Fresh, well-prepared food, genial staff. Outdated gym with only 1 working treadmill offset by vast grounds, expansive sandy beach and ample pool. No live music in hotel lobby at night a minus. Overall a pleasant, relaxing beach vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AR travelers
Business
Bella Vista AR
Jan 21, 2013

Winter trip

The hotel and grounds were beautiful. The food was good and the beach nice. Just a couple of pointers. Communication is difficult if you don't speak Spanish. So if you are ok with figuring things out on your own with minimal help then you will be fine. The pools are not heated and there is not really a hot tub. The ocean temp is cool but after you get in the first time it's much easier after that, Over all we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B3aut1ful
Business
New York, NY
Jan 30, 2013

Great resort for adults!!

This was my first trip to DR and my boyfriend's first time in Punta Cana specifically. This resort is the sole adults-only one of the 4 resorts on the Gran Bahia "campus" (I say that because Gran Bahia's real estate is so large). While staying at Ambar allows you access to the other 3 resorts, we found the best quality and value was at Ambar itself - in the food, drinks, etc. They never said they didn't have anything, including top-shelf liquor! The service was the same all around but having a quiet, clean pool (with a swim-up bar) just for adults was lovely. There was also a private section on the beach only for Ambar residents. The specialty restaurants are nothing special in our opinion; Palmyra (Ambar's buffet) was much better and most nights we went there afterwards. Room service was included in the flat price which was amazing, plus every room has a balcony so you can sit out there and relax in private. If you're looking for a place with nightlife, Congas is the only onsite club and was great on some nights, so-so on others. The one thing that was difficult for the first few days was navigating the trolley system. On the flip side, we really appreciated how safe the resort was (including everything in the room). For the most part staff was nice - Hector at Palmyra and Don Pablo was particularly amazing. While we were very generous with tips, a few dollars here and there for help and good service go a long way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourguild
Business
Rutland il
Feb 20, 2013

Relaxing vacation

The room was very nice and clean.The food and drinks were top shelf. The beach was beautiful but was annoyed by people saving chairs all day to use them an hour in the afternoon .the staff was friendly but hard to communicate with.If you plan to eat at the ala carte restaurants make reservations as soon as possible.They fill up fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like cigars most of the agency's have agreement with the factory's . They take you there for free have nice gift shops and good cigars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather8008
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Feb 28, 2013

Beautiful resort, but large

This resort was beautiful and clean. Not much to do in the area. Resort itself was large, almost too large. Staff was slow and unfriendly. Meals were average for an all-inclusive. Multiple power-outages. We booked a safari excursion, which I would recommend. Heard other talking about a great experience on the island excursion. I'm glad we went, but would not return (not because of the resort, but because of the lack of activities in the resort AND in the area).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Early twenties couple
Business
Ontario
Mar 9, 2013

Great place to drink and relax

The staff here are great and the service was unmatched around the pool. Make sure to claim a poolside chair around 8 am if you want a spot with the shade. If you get a room on the ground floor, definitely ask for one on the second or third floor. The ground floor can get pretty noisy - especially at night when the partiers are stumbling home. The dinner buffet was better than any of the a la carte restaurant alternatives, except for the Don Pablo (French?) restaurant. Make sure to book a reservation there - or as many as you can!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top