$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
402 reviews
great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive)... See full review

  • Princess Agata
  • Jul 20, 2014
Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and... See full review

  • Cornel
  • Jun 11, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (402)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michele mother of 3
Woodbridge, NJ
Nov 23, 2009

Incredible Vacation!

We went down without our 4 children for a 4 day break. It was the best vacation we've ever had with or without the kids. The staff was wonderful, the drinks were great, the couples massage was unbelievable. The weather couldn't have been better. We met alot of nice people there on vacation as well, most of them repeaters! That says alot. We'd definately go back and bring the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

I would set up your dinners at the different restaurants when you first get there. Easier and less to think about later.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lacrosse, WI
Dec 23, 2009

Beautiful Resort, first class service

We arrived about 6pm on a Friday evening. We were met at the airport by a bellboy and quickly were taken to where we needed to go. The ride to the resort was a bit scary, as we didn't actually observe traffic laws, but nevertheless, we arrived to a gorgeous resort where we were greeted by smiling, friendly people. Our bags were taken care of for us, we were given a cocktail and told to have a seat while they worked to get us checked in. We were given a map of the resort and wrist bands and then the bell boy took us to our room. The room was spotless, decorated beautifully with fresh flowers. We went down to dinner, where we were greeted by many smiling faces and brought to our table where we were waited on hand and foot during our entire meal. We never had a bad meal while we were there, not even at the buffet. We always found a beach or a pool chair. We had the vacation of a lifetime. The only thing that I could think to complain about was the fact that we were only ever brought 1 washcloth when they would clean our rooms. It was a bit odd since there were 2 of us, but we made do. We had a 5 star experience. There were people around us that we noticed complaining, and funny thing about that was, the majority of the complainers were Americans-go figure. The people that worked on the resort were such hardworking individuals, day in and day out, the same people, all day long. They were so interested in serving us and making our stay enjoyable. They always had time to give us a smile and greet us. Tipping went a long way down there. These people appreciate even a dollar or two. We stayed on the resort the entire week and didn't do any of the excursions. We were there to relax. There was always stuff to do. Pool areobics, dance lessons, beach sports, shows in the evening...we took in several. The most amazing was the Michael Jackson show, put on by their proffessional theater team. They lip-syched the music and danced. They were amazing! In fact, we sat through both shows that were put on that evening. We were very sad to leave and absolutely will be making a trip back there. This trip was especially memorable for us, because we became engaged. Special memories from a truely beautiful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take in the evening shows. They were a great way to end the night, and the entertainment staff was fabulous!

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe's Happy Wife
Queens, NY
Jul 10, 2012

Excellent, peaceful experience!

We just got back from our first (excellent) trip to Punta Cana. Thrilled to say that our stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar (Adults Only hotel) was - bar none - the best place ever. Our intention was to go for some deeply needed R&R. This place was perfect. As an adults-only, it was very quiet. The Ambar part of the complex of hotels is all about the quiet and the peacefulness. If you're looking for a more party atmosphere, this isn't for you. And if you're traveling with little ones, try the Bavaro or other family-friendly places. I was sad to be spending my first July 4th out of America, but then my husband and I encountered a buffet with a huge American flag cake and tons of decor and food exclusively for the holiday!! It made my day! No offense to anyone who has ever reviewed this place negatively, but our experience was flawless. You encounter an amazing, happy staff (usually caught singing while they worked!) who work hard to make sure your vacation is the best. You arrive and they welcome you with a beverage and a cold towel in the lobby. We felt like royalty! Not only was our room spotless and visually stunning, but everyone from the concierge, to the room service folks, to the housekeeping staff made your needs their priority. The grounds are beautifully kept as well as the pool and common areas. On the beach, you just need to watch for pushy hair braiders - get them done at the Bahia Spa, it's cheaper! Speaking of...we got massages at the spa and it was great! The spa services are not included and are charged to your room, so you don't need to carry a lot of cash, just lots of singles for extra tipping to great people. We thought the food was fantastic and so diverse. The reservation-only restaurants were OK. We ate at Santa Fe and Portofino. Santa Fe was better! However, the buffet places, like the Palmyers at Ambar or Los Corrales by the pool, were excellent! You never felt iffy about the foods and everything was quickly replenished.Good to note: Bring some nicer clothes for the reservation places - Men can't even get into Don Pablo with sleeveless shirts, flip flops or shorts! Also, if you want to go dancing, people seemed to go all out. My only complaints - and I use the term lightly - is that all the buildings are identical and you can get lost - especially at night - trying to find your room. However, the tram service is pretty reliable and fun, so if you can, use that to get around. Also, when you go shopping at the village at Bavaro, be wary of the extremely pushy open-air vendors. They nearly tackle you for business and their stuff is cheaply made and overpriced. My expensive ring and earring set fell apart before we left the island! Patronize the nice air-conditioned stores. They're less expensive and not at all pushy. Also, to everyone who suggested bringing our own insulated cups to DR - GREAT IDEA! We used ours all the time. The places are most happy to fill your cups and you don't have to keep returning for refills on their tiny plastic ones. We will definitely consider going back to this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the reservation places, such as Don Pablo, have a dress code. Gentlemen, please bring nice shirts and long pants, or you can't get in!

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LaLa22
New York, NY
Jun 29, 2010

They thought of everything.

The Ambar section of the resort was incredible. The layout was really manageable and it was nice and quiet during the off season. It rained a little bit (June in the tropics), and the resort even provided a large umbrella in every room for guests. We made reservations for dinner in advance, as suggested by other reviews, and got a la carte reservations for every night that we were there. The food at the a la carte restaurants was top notch. The staff were SO kind and eager to go out of their way to make our entire stay perfect. A butler even came to our door with a "pillow menu" and gave us complementary aromatherapy scented pillows for our last night. The entire vacation was like a fantasy. And the architecture and grounds are beautiful too. The only issues I saw were that other guests who did not make reservations in advance for the a la carte restaurants had to do a few nights at the buffet, but even the food and service there were wonderful. Also, I could see that it might get crowded during the popular tourist season, but this wasn't really an issue for us as it was off-season. And the price could not be beat! I can't believe they could even afford to run the resort for that little per person, and certainly not with the superior level of quality that they did! We would ABSOLUTELY stay here again, and would reccommend it to anyone. We were so impressed with the value and luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a la carte dinner reservations when you book your stay- don't wait until you arrive. These higher-end restaurants book quickly. But we had reservations in advance and every meal was great. Especially recommend the Don Pablo Restaurant. Fantastic, rivaled many upscale NYC restaurants.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Jul 31, 2010

"Unforgettable vacation"

Unbelievable experience, great location, excellent tasting food and selection, first class service, spotless rooms, beautiful clean beaches, perfectly manicured landscape, endless amount of things to see and do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The al la Carte reservations can be changed if you would like to try something other than what was chosen. Talk to the representative at the Guest Survives desk.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ninamelie
Chandler, AZ
May 26, 2011

Great AI!

Great hotel! Grounds are beautiful, service is exceptional. We did not have any issues with staff not speaking English. We were able to communicate all of our needs. Food was delicious. Hotel grounds are beautiful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only negative would be that the room was very dark due to hotel using energy efficient bulbs. It might sound silly, but we brought some 100W bulbs with us after reading previous guests reviews. It made a big difference. This hotel has one of the best beaches in Punta Cana since huts are placed close to the water front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheChuckD
Louisiana
May 14, 2013

Not Perfect, but still good

I did a lot of research prior to picking this resort, so I didn't have many surprises. THE RESORT: Overall, HUGE. The cleanest resort I've ever been too. Someone was constantly cleaning, painting, scrubbing, manicuring, etc. THE ROOM: I asked for 2nd floor, Bldg 64 but got 65 and 3rd floor. No elevators, so you better be in decent shape for the 3rd floor. Other than the location, I had no complaints on the room. Very nice. FOOD: Buffets were good and staff very attentive. Constantly cleaning tables and removing plates and kept glasses full. One of my favorite eating spots on a prior vacation was the beachfront grill and the snack bar didn't quite take the place of this. They didn't let you take plates from the snack bars to the beach area, etc. No place to get a late snack either (other than room service#. POOL/BEACH: Fantastic, beautiful. Had to get up early to get the prime spots, but still both are great. Didn't like that pool closed so early #6pm). OVERALL: I'd highly recommend this resort. Very professional staff. I prefer the friendly approach of resorts I visited in Jamaica to the professional approach that I encountered here, but it was still a fantastic resort and vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for ala cartes a week before your trip for best results.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lacrosse, WI
Dec 23, 2009

Beautiful Resort, first class service

We arrived about 6pm on a Friday evening. We were met at the airport by a bellboy and quickly were taken to where we needed to go. The ride to the resort was a bit scary, as we didn't actually observe traffic laws, but nevertheless, we arrived to a gorgeous resort where we were greeted by smiling, friendly people. Our bags were taken care of for us, we were given a cocktail and told to have a seat while they worked to get us checked in. We were given a map of the resort and wrist bands and then the bell boy took us to our room. The room was spotless, decorated beautifully with fresh flowers. We went down to dinner, where we were greeted by many smiling faces and brought to our table where we were waited on hand and foot during our entire meal. We never had a bad meal while we were there, not even at the buffet. We always found a beach or a pool chair. We had the vacation of a lifetime. The only thing that I could think to complain about was the fact that we were only ever brought 1 washcloth when they would clean our rooms. It was a bit odd since there were 2 of us, but we made do. We had a 5 star experience. There were people around us that we noticed complaining, and funny thing about that was, the majority of the complainers were Americans-go figure. The people that worked on the resort were such hardworking individuals, day in and day out, the same people, all day long. They were so interested in serving us and making our stay enjoyable. They always had time to give us a smile and greet us. Tipping went a long way down there. These people appreciate even a dollar or two. We stayed on the resort the entire week and didn't do any of the excursions. We were there to relax. There was always stuff to do. Pool areobics, dance lessons, beach sports, shows in the evening...we took in several. The most amazing was the Michael Jackson show, put on by their proffessional theater team. They lip-syched the music and danced. They were amazing! In fact, we sat through both shows that were put on that evening. We were very sad to leave and absolutely will be making a trip back there. This trip was especially memorable for us, because we became engaged. Special memories from a truely beautiful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take in the evening shows. They were a great way to end the night, and the entertainment staff was fabulous!

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
josepina
new york
Feb 4, 2013

good vacation

lots of fun beautiful place good food nice staff very frendly will go back for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crit
New Brunswick
Mar 4, 2012

Time for Mom & Dad

This resort is excellent. The service was great. The food was very good. The only thing I did not like was the 'musty' smell in the room. We stayed at the Grand Bahia last year also, but in the Punta Cana section (not Ambar) and the room did not smell like this...it smelled good (fresh). But besides that everything was impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top