$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
400 reviews
Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and... See full review

  • Cornel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Pleasant experience

Everything looked great. Whether it was food, room service, pools, beach, music, activities or... See full review

  • Chandler and Family
  • Jun 8, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 400
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L. Martin
La Verne, CA
Jun 29, 2014

Excellent getaway

Beatuful grounds, clean and very large rooms. Excellent dinners although it is ridiculously impossible to make reservations same day because they are booked. Below avg. breakfast and lunch buffet - although the selections were plentiful and the presentation beautiful, the food was dry and below our expectations. Ambar was one of 5 hotel properties that were co-joined and shared some facilities. As a result, it felt like we are in a small town rather than a remote resort. All in all- excellent experience, but all 4 of us on the trip preferred our last 2 all-inclusive high-end resorts in Cancun and Ixtapa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
frusterated traveler
denver Colorado
Jun 16, 2014

AWFUL experience

Okay so i will just start out by saying..... we booked the luxury ambar hotel because they advertised the location as an adults only resort. But what they dont mention is the hotel is for people 60+. The pool bar closes at 6 and the pool at 7. The lobby is VERY mellow. Upon arrival we were impressed with the initial treatment. We were greeted with drinks and the staff was kind. The second day we had 200$ stollen from our room. We went down to guest services. They had the security guard come up to our room. they asked permission to do an investigation, ofcourse we insisted. But instead of looking into what maid stole our money, they investigated US! They went through our entire room, only to tell us " their investigation was inconclusive" ( because they didnt find the money in our room) Guest services was horrendous. They were extremely rude and non-apologetic. Eventually they offered a massage with a value of 120$. The massage was okay,I was suppose to receive an hour massage plus exfoliation, they cut my massage short by 15 min. They advertise the resort as "all-inclusive". Yes the drinks and food are included. But activities they offer are not. There are "shows" that are free, however the "show" consists of a host and a few dancers on the stage and then they ask for crowd participation to have the guests do activities for everyone else to watch. The other shows they offer, are $35. On the site, they say you get an hour a day of the water sports/ activities. However if you dont have experience with these sports you have to pay $45 for a lesson. For example, my boyfriend wanted to try and wind surf. They would not let him unless he first took the lesson which cost money, even though we had other family memebers who could of taught him, he was denied. Room service has less than 10 items on the menu. One of our family members called for room service on 3 different nights, they only actually received their meals 1 time. We asked for them to bring us bottled water ( because you cant drink the tap) and were told "it is not apart of their services" and they never brought it. I could go on and on about how awful the resort is--- yes it was very beautiful. But not worth the money. As a side note, there is a HUGE language barrier ( I do speak a little spanish) but most of the staff didnt know alot of english, which may be the reason for alot of mishaps. I will say the other resorts that we went to seemed alot more lively and the staff was kind. Emanuel was one of the only staff members that was extremley helpful and kind, he was AWESOME. They say "free WIFI" although you do receive an hour free a day, you have to be in the lobby to get the service, and it is hotter in the lobby than outside All and all, i would say save your money, dont book here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msbeasley74
chicago, il
Jun 13, 2014

I would go back

The hotel staff were really nice and made you feel welcome. The grounds is beautiful and the food taste good. My main problem was the buffet was the exact same food everyday for breakfast and lunch if the hotel would switch up the food it would be a huge and major improvement. I had a problem with my bathroom ceiling leaking water called service 3 times to fix and they never did. I stayed at the same hotel chain in Jamaica and the Punta Cana location was a step up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you go go to Don Pablo and stay away from the BBQ buffet restaurant.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chandler and Family
Virginia
Jun 8, 2014

Pleasant experience

Everything looked great. Whether it was food, room service, pools, beach, music, activities or train experience and check-in/check-out experience. All the employees but especially female employees went out of way to please. They were so kind, helpful which made this trip as PLEASANT EXPERIENCE. One point I wish to make that if some outside tour or site-seeing of one day etc would be included in ALL INCLUSIVE, would be more better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So much to chose and of excellent quality.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Singing Nonna
Knoxville, Tennessee
Mar 20, 2014

Winter Get-Away

This was the perfect place to relax and soak up the sun, whether by the pool or by the sea. There were just enough activities around the pool for some amusement instead of the constant loud music and crazy activities we've seen at other resorts. If we wanted more entertainment, it was just a short shuttle ride to the main complex. Otherwise, we were more than happy to hang out in the tranquility of the gardens, beach, pool, and lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R0cketman
New York
Mar 17, 2014

Family de-icing trip

Hotel staff was great. Beach was fantastic. You have to make dinner reservations upon arrival or face long lines later and very few choices on where you want to dine. Dr. Fish trip on boat spa was the best and well worth it. Pool bar a must and overall worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Boat Spa

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KT Beach bum
United States
Jun 2, 2013

Just Average

Our 7 day trip at the Gran Bahia Principe was average but we were able to relax and enjoy the scenery of the beautiful coastline. The beaches in Punta Cana were pristine; however, the resort itself was lacking. Food options, despite having many places to go, were lacking and we found ourselves gravitating to the same 3-4 food items during the trip. The Don Pablo, Takara (Japanese) and Bella Italian restaurants were very good; Portofino, Mediterranean and the buffets were all average or worse. We found that the resort did not really conform to schedule as when certain places (particularly, snack bars) said they were open the staff advised they weren't. This also applied to schedules on the activity list as they may just decide not to have a given activity. With a few rare exceptions, the staff seemed disinterested and not overly willing to help. The resort also allows people (I'm unsure if they're employees of the resort or not) to constantly bother tourists while relaxing on the beach and even in the resort pool. This got particularly annoying as our trip went on. The grounds of the resort are well kept and taken care of while the rooms, while clean, were clearly beginning to show their age with a funky smell, mirrors that were deteriorating and shower doors that didn't really function. The resort is expansive as it's almost a mile from the front entrance to the beach which makes for a good jogging course. The resort also offers shuttles but we did not use them. Although you are intermingled with other Gran Bahia resorts, the staff made it clear we were only to visit the Ambar sections for dining and the beach. Normally this wouldn't be a big deal but we enjoyed exploring the resort and thought it would would make sense that we would be able to grab a snack while on the other side of the resort. The reservation system is interesting as I never encountered a restaurant at more than 50% occupancy yet reservations were required for non-buffets. Reservations are also required for sports activities and, even if the facility is empty, you will be turned away if you don't have a reservation to use sporting equipment. VIP, the tour operator, has some issues. They had our reservation wrong for the excursion we went on (Buggies - was ok for the price) and they forgot to pick us up at our scheduled time to go back to the airport. Thankfully, another van (and guests willing to share their transfer) was willing to take us to the airport! This saved us the cab fare! In summary, if you get a really good deal and enjoy beautiful beaches with the occasional annoyance: book it. Otherwise, there might be better options out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
josepina
new york
Feb 4, 2013

good vacation

lots of fun beautiful place good food nice staff very frendly will go back for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ELAAELLAELLA
Queens, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2013

Was Super!

Really nice , clean - super friendly helpful staff! will return again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cynsation
Detroit, MI
Aug 17, 2012

Wonderful Expereience. I would stay at this resort again.

The service at the resort was wonderful, people were very pleasant and accomodating. The grounds were inpeccable. I have stay at plenty of resorts and this is one of the best. By only complaint is the pool area closed much to early, at 6pm and the room service menu was very limited. The shows at trhe resort were good, but the Michael Jackson Show brought tears to my eyes as it was absoultely excellent, It was as though Michael Jackson was still alive and I was there inthe audience. This was an execellent experience, since I will never be able to see him perform alive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Was limited.

Back to menu Return to top