$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
403 reviews
great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive)... See full review

  • Princess Agata
  • Jul 20, 2014
Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and... See full review

  • Cornel
  • Jun 11, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (403)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
330 out of 403
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barodrod
Da8ie, FL
Jul 21, 2014

Fun Summer Vacation

This was overall an almost perfect experience. We enjoyed all of our excursions. The amenities were overall very good. However, the gym was way too small and the equipment limited for the size of the hotel. Also, the rooms were a bit musty but I believe that's because the AC shuts down when you're out of the room. It is activated by inserting your room key in a slot by the entry door. Hint - leave one of your keys in the slot when you leave the room (although the hotel doesn't recommend that).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

As soon as you arrive at your hotel make sure to make dinner reservations for each night of your stay so that you can sample some of the restaurants on the property rather than eating at the buffet every night. Best one was the French restaurant - Don Pablo

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Princess Agata
NV
Jul 20, 2014

great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive) really good and lots of variety to choose from, no matter if you eat just veggie or pure meat-you will not be hungry!!! Rooms are clean.Lots of activities to choose from-but you can just be as lazy as you want . It is good to have cash and lots of change, Cashier will only change 20 at a time. I left tip for room clean up for fridge refill, for breakfast etc and at the bar.. These people work very hard all day long so it was something I could do for them. The only thing that is kind of weak is not too many speak english, but if you know spanish than no problem at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emp9
ill
Jul 9, 2014

Dont go to punta cana at least here if american

Starting our trip D.R airport coming in is a joke , they took husband pass port didn't tell why whole airport cleared our before giving it back no reason given, Lost our luggage , no one helped at getting it back I had to do it & follow up Not to many spoke English to use on check in wasn't friendly no idea what to do Room was very nice house keeping was great . Beach was very nice, I did get a feeling esp after talking to others that americans are not liked there They have 2 japennies rest was told wrong location over & over by several staff, the staff at that rest. said it wasn't there but no help to locate where it was at because they didnt' speek English The pool closed early, resturants are not open all the time, Did have good room service I would not go back here. Leaving was much better driver picked up & did help at air port it was much smoother leaving

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cornel
Boca Raton, Florida
Jun 11, 2014

Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and welcoming. First welcome everyone takes your bags, helps you out all the time. You get a nice welcome with a cool coconut drink. We even were able to get to the buffet before we got our room. Food: Nothing better than what they had available. Fresh fruits and salads, amazing meats (some of the pork was a bit hard), sweets, well sweets were just to die for, truly amazing. Be sure to book all your restaurants on the first day, as soon as you check in. I must say, you cant get to any restaurant at any time, they get booked very fast. Don, Mediterranean and Italian, really good and tasty foods, and IM VERY PICKY at foods, specially healthy foods. (both me and my fiancé) The hotel room? Super clean, amazing bathroom, awesome bed, beautiful balcony. The beach? YOU CANT GET CLOSER AND CLEANER AND BETTER than this. Majority of the chairs have nice umbrellas (which you do have to get the chairs VERY early in the morning, like 6-7AM. The beach, super super clean. We went running every morning at 6AM. WARNING: The sun is up at around 5:30AM, so for those late sleepers, watch out (me and my soon to be wife are very early wakeys, so it was a blessing for us). We are gym wackos too, so we tried their gym. While is NOT like an LA Fitness or anything like that, it does the job, if you want to get a nice quick workout while on vacation (the gym has one side for mostly guys, weight and bench press, while the other side more for ladies, bikes, spinning and running equipment). Now as for their activities. Their non-motorized equipment: You must take a class/training before you get to the activity, which is free. So, its free but not 100% free, as you have to pay for the training/class prior to using the equipment. $45 is not much, but still. Snuba package: We recommend to ANYONE that loves water. THERE IS NO BETTER PACKAGE. Please careful, ONLY book any activity package from front lobby, never from the beach or pool folks. Nightlife is awesome, lots of dancing, lots of fun and activities, like music festive, shows, etc. Upon leaving, check out is super fast and easy, nothing to worry about. There was no better stay than this hotel. We actually decided to do our wedding at this place, if they give a good price :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Only purchase the activity packages from front lobby, never from the beach or pool area. Book your restaurants as soon as you get there, first thing.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.J
Wellington, Florida
Jun 7, 2014

Class act all-inclusive

Extraordinary personal. Very clean. Great food. These people get it when it comes to service. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Absolutely fabulous food and beverages

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa Happy Traveler
Aurora, IL
May 19, 2014

Fantastic Resort

We would definitely stay at this resort again. I can't say anything negative about the staff; from the front desk employees to housekeeping, everyone we came into contact with was friendly and accommodating. We had an issue with our room the first night, but they were quick to resolve the problem and get us into the correct room by the next night. The property was gorgeous, very well landscaped and great for pictures. The pool and beach huts/chairs were perfect. The themed dinner restaurants were good, but you could never go wrong with the buffet. We went for our honeymoon, and it was perfect being at the adult-only resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations for the themed dinner restaurants the first day you arrive - they fill up fast!

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DougWendy
Leesburg, Virginia
Apr 29, 2014

Excellent Resort

My wife and I recently stayed at the Bahia Principe Ambar for 6 nights in April 2014 and had a wonderful time. The food and drink were plentiful and the resort was immaculate--better than the photos online. It was especially peaceful staying at an Adults Only resort...best decision we made. It is very difficult to say anything negative about the hotel or the staff. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a getaway in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

While the buffet is more than adequate...take advantage of the various restaurants onsite. Make reservations at Guest Services as soon as you arrive.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ECLD
Chicago
Apr 29, 2014

Romantic, Peaceful Break Away in Paradise

My boyfriend and I got engaged while we were here. It was a perfect spot to do it. The hotel we stayed in was adults only and this really helped to maintain a tranquil and peaceful environment. The resort is very large and there are facilities to suit any tastes. The staff cannot do enough for you. No detail is left undone, and the value for money is incredible. There are a number of restaurants to choose from, pools and bars. We were there for a week and barely scratched the surface of what was on offer. The staff could not be more helpful, although communication was at time, tricky. The location is so well looked after; the gardens are beautifully manicured, the beach is spotless and the weather, fantastic. You really couldn't ask for a better vacation. We shall be going back there next year, hopefully to get married this time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prebook your a la carte restaurants via email prior to your trip, so that you have reservations already set up for your stay. You might find them already booked up otherwise.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Little Lamb
Providence, RI
Apr 24, 2014

Relaxing couples retreat

Despite being part of a 5 resort mega complex, Ambar was clearly the most exclusive, private, and most luxurious of the bunch. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, and the amenities were first rate, including the pool and beautiful beach area. Despite the fact that it was one of the more affordable all inclusives we came across, the room was enormous, as well as beautiful and extremely well kept. Restaurants Portofino and Don Pablo's were top notch, and I'd highly recommend making dinner reservations there as often as possible. One thing to note: while it was enjoyable to visit the other resorts in the Bahia Principe complex, the food there ranged from ok to downright terrible. Aside from the buffet in the Bavaro complex, I'd advise staying within Ambar for meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you're looking for excursions, or even just a shuttle to and from the airport, VIP tours did a wonderful job for us. They are often set up inside the Ambar lobby and offer very affordable rates.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dogtor Mike
Chattanooga, TN
Apr 17, 2014

A week in paradise

I've been to the dominican twice now, and every time I go somewhere else, I can't help but think of how much further my money would go in the Dominican. For what one would spend in a week on any beach in the US, one can cover flights, hotel, and all the food and drink you can stand in the Dominican. If you're looking to go out and explore the country, these types of resorts are not what you're looking for. However, if you want to sit in the lap of luxury for a week and never have to carry a wallet, you can't do any better. We stayed at the Ambar portion of the hotel (the resort is several hotels over many acres), which gave us access to the entire resort, but then we could always retreat to the adult-only area which was considerably less crowded. The bars are better (top shelf is included), everything is more quiet, and you can still venture over to all the night life whenever you'd like! My only complaint would be that local vendors are VERY pushy, and lay on the guilt if you don't buy. Just learn to say no if you're not looking for what they have. Also, when they give you an asking price, you can usually get the item for 1/10th of what they're asking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Prices for excursions are often negotiable! Definitely check out the snorkeling on the reef if you get a chance. Accepting the free excursions = 1 hour presentation trying to get you to join a $10k vacation club.

Back to menu Return to top