$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BO LAP
MICHIGAN
Oct 10, 2012

overall

FIRST OFF THE GRAN BAHIA AMBAR IS ONLY 25 MINUTES FROM THE AIRPORT. WHEN YOU ARRIVE THE HOTEL STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY AND GREETS YOU WITH A REFRESHING BEVERAGE. YOU SHOULD MAKE YOUR DINNER RESERVATIONS AFTER YOU CHECK IN, THE RESERVATIONS FILL UP PRETTY QUICK. YOU GO TO THE GUEST SERVICE AND YOU CAN LOOK AT THE MENUS FOR EACH RESTURAUNT. BY THE WAY THE BUFFET IS VERY NICE AND IF THEY OFFER THE GALA BUFFET THAT IS THE BEST WHICH IS ON THURSDAYS,, ALL YOU CAN EAT LOBSTER YUM...THE ROOMS A NICE WITH A LARGE SHOWER AND JACUZZI TUBS. IF YOU STAY AT AMBAR FOOD IS AVAILABLE VERY CLOSE AT ALL TIMES, NOT THE CASE FOR SOME OF THE OTHER HOTELS ON THE RESORT. YOU HAVE BUFFET IN THE MORNING AND THERE ARE TWO SNACK BARS NEAR THE POOL AND THE OCEAN, BUT THEY ARE MUCH MORE THAN SNACK BARS YOU CAN GET FISH, CHICKEN, FAJITAS STEAK, BURGERS AND MUCH MORE. THE POOL AT THE AMBAR IS VERY CHILL, SO IF YOU JUST WANT TO RELAX THIS IS THE POOL FOR YOU. YOU HAVE ACCESS TO ALL OF THE POOLS ON THE RESORT WHICH ARE WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE. SOME ARE MORE FOR PARTYING AND SOME FOR KIDS YOU HAVE SO MANY OPTIONS. THE BEACH AREA IS UNBELIEVABLE THERE IS MORE SEATING AND SHADED AREAS THAN YOU COULD EVER NEED. ANOTHER TIP FOR THE POOL , BRING YOUR OWN MUG FOR DRINKS THEY WILL FILL ANY SIZE FOR YOU. THE CUPS THEY GIVE YOU ARENT TOO SMALL BUT YOU WILL MAKE MANY LESS TRIPS TO THE BAR. THE RESORT OFFERS MANY SHOPS BUT THEY ARE KIND OF EXPENSIVE, SO BE SURE TO BRING ALL OF YOU OWN LOTIONS AND OTHER NECESSITIES. THE HOTEL OFFERS SMALL SHUTTLE CARTS FROM HOTEL TO HOTEL SO THAT IS GREAT. THE SHUTTLES COME EVERY THREE TO FIVE MINUTES. THERE IS A CASINO BUT IT ISNT ANYTHING SPECIAL BUT YOU CAN STILL HAVE SOME FUN. THE SPORTS BAR IS COOL I THINK THEY HAVE FOUR FLAT SCREENS. THE MAIN LOBBY BAR IS THE BEST THEY OFFER PREMIUM DRINKS,, THEY ARE GREAT.. ONE LAST THING DONT WORRY ABOUT THE WEATHER I WAS SO NERVOUS BECAUSE THE WEATHER CHANNEL SHOWED RAIN EVERY DAY. WE DIDNT SEE ONE DROP OF RAIN,,, I CANT WAIT TO RETURN..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dogtor Mike
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Apr 17, 2014

A week in paradise

I've been to the dominican twice now, and every time I go somewhere else, I can't help but think of how much further my money would go in the Dominican. For what one would spend in a week on any beach in the US, one can cover flights, hotel, and all the food and drink you can stand in the Dominican. If you're looking to go out and explore the country, these types of resorts are not what you're looking for. However, if you want to sit in the lap of luxury for a week and never have to carry a wallet, you can't do any better. We stayed at the Ambar portion of the hotel (the resort is several hotels over many acres), which gave us access to the entire resort, but then we could always retreat to the adult-only area which was considerably less crowded. The bars are better (top shelf is included), everything is more quiet, and you can still venture over to all the night life whenever you'd like! My only complaint would be that local vendors are VERY pushy, and lay on the guilt if you don't buy. Just learn to say no if you're not looking for what they have. Also, when they give you an asking price, you can usually get the item for 1/10th of what they're asking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Prices for excursions are often negotiable! Definitely check out the snorkeling on the reef if you get a chance. Accepting the free excursions = 1 hour presentation trying to get you to join a $10k vacation club.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
enjoying retirement Don
Business
Rhode Island
Apr 17, 2014

Excellent relaxing getaway

This place was beautiful. The food was good. The pool and beach was so relaxing. The beach went for miles. The help was very friendly. We could use the whole resort and restaurants while the others not in the adult section could use our facilities and restaurants. A lot of the help could not speak English, but it really did not create a problem, because they were so friendly. I would come back here again. The entertainment is good. Must see the Michael Jackson show. Never left the resort. Too nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regulator33
Business
Colorado
Apr 12, 2014

Vacation - No kids

We had a great time. Everything was great. We expected the food to be a bit better, but it was still pretty good. Everything else was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MGAG
Business
Lexington, SC
Apr 12, 2014

Noisy Area

We enjoyed our room, it was clean. The workers want to clean it every morning starting as early as 8 am which is not relaxing for a vacation. The night life is very noisy and people could be heard loudly up until near 4 am every morning. This was the adults only section, but the adults were quite loud and rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
overly underwhelmed
Business
Aberdeen, SD
Mar 28, 2014

wonderful location and great beach

This resort was so nice! The beach was perfect, the sand was soft and the drinks cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Singing Nonna
Business
Knoxville, Tennessee
Mar 20, 2014

Winter Get-Away

This was the perfect place to relax and soak up the sun, whether by the pool or by the sea. There were just enough activities around the pool for some amusement instead of the constant loud music and crazy activities we've seen at other resorts. If we wanted more entertainment, it was just a short shuttle ride to the main complex. Otherwise, we were more than happy to hang out in the tranquility of the gardens, beach, pool, and lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R0cketman
Business
New York
Mar 17, 2014

Family de-icing trip

Hotel staff was great. Beach was fantastic. You have to make dinner reservations upon arrival or face long lines later and very few choices on where you want to dine. Dr. Fish trip on boat spa was the best and well worth it. Pool bar a must and overall worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Boat Spa

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
muhun1
Business
Toronto, Canada
Mar 7, 2014

Amazing vacation

My wife and I had a great time at the resort. Great amenities, staff was very friendly and the food was excellent. The Ambar side of the resort has a much older crowd, but since we had access to the other adjoining resorts, we were able to experience fun and quite times based on our moods. The beach is one of the best I have seen. I highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The a la carte restaurants are pretty good at the Ambar. See if you can make the reservations before you arrive to get the best times because they get booked fast

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SoAdo
Business
New York, NY
Mar 6, 2014

Couples Getaway

Hotel average age was 70+ Food was an 8 on scale 1-10 Room was okay, kept clean and mini fridge re-stocked daily. When we ran the air conditioner it leaked and made dripping noises throughout the night which kept waking us up. Also the room had a very musty odor prob from the leaking A/C. Beach was beautiful. They clean the seaweed off it every morning, endless miles of walking! Simply perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
only wanted to go home
Business
Philly, PA
Feb 19, 2014

not happy

was not a true adult only paid extra for adult only

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top