Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
403 reviews
great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive)... See full review

  • Princess Agata
  • Jul 20, 2014
Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and... See full review

  • Cornel
  • Jun 11, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (403)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shermandanger
Orem, UT
Feb 4, 2013

Great Resort for the Price

We went here for our honeymoon and we had a great time. The beach is pristine, the pool areas are great, the room was great. The ONLY downside to staying here is the food quality. The restaurants are not the greatest, and neither is the room service. The only restaurant we really really liked was the Garden Grill, so make sure to get reservations here as soon as you get here. Other than that it's a great resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to book the restaurants far in advance because they book up quickly.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B3aut1ful
New York, NY
Jan 30, 2013

Great resort for adults!!

This was my first trip to DR and my boyfriend's first time in Punta Cana specifically. This resort is the sole adults-only one of the 4 resorts on the Gran Bahia "campus" (I say that because Gran Bahia's real estate is so large). While staying at Ambar allows you access to the other 3 resorts, we found the best quality and value was at Ambar itself - in the food, drinks, etc. They never said they didn't have anything, including top-shelf liquor! The service was the same all around but having a quiet, clean pool (with a swim-up bar) just for adults was lovely. There was also a private section on the beach only for Ambar residents. The specialty restaurants are nothing special in our opinion; Palmyra (Ambar's buffet) was much better and most nights we went there afterwards. Room service was included in the flat price which was amazing, plus every room has a balcony so you can sit out there and relax in private. If you're looking for a place with nightlife, Congas is the only onsite club and was great on some nights, so-so on others. The one thing that was difficult for the first few days was navigating the trolley system. On the flip side, we really appreciated how safe the resort was (including everything in the room). For the most part staff was nice - Hector at Palmyra and Don Pablo was particularly amazing. While we were very generous with tips, a few dollars here and there for help and good service go a long way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fish boy
Tyler, TX, USA
Jan 29, 2013

Hassle Factor Was Too High

The good.... Price was good enough, location nice enough, and grounds, beach, and pool area were quite nice. Since we were there only three nights, we did not get a chance to eat at any of the restaurants but ate at the buffet, which was quite good. The bad.... First night they did not have us a room in the adult only "Ambar" section. So next day, had to check out of the first room, take luggage to Ambar, then wait till afternoon to check in to another Ambar room. Was told we would get a resort voucher for our troubles. Turns out the voucher was supposed to be tied to a timeshare sales pitch, but I got loud and irate enough they decided to give me the voucher anyway. Second nite my wife used the jacuzzi tub, and it emitted a burning electrical smell. They knocked on the door at 1 am and I could not tell if the knock was on our door or someone else so I dismissed it, then they simply opened the door. Said that the bottom floor folks had complained about the smell. Although I am glad they took the initiative to check it out, it was quite unpleasant for the door to open at that time of morning when you are in bed asleep. The next day, over an hour and half was "wasted" simply trying to find the "tour operator" so that I could get the shuttle arrangements back to the airport. I am reasonably well traveled, and don't consider myself to be nitpicky. But this trip simply had a little too much hassle factor for my liking. Three nights was not quite enough time to justify the trip. By the time we got things reasonably figured out, it was time to leave. I will try to make any similar trips in the future a minimum of four nights if I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Needed to Release Stress
NJ all the way
Jan 27, 2013

Overbooked nightmare

I was looking forward to this vacation until we arrived and were notified that there was no room available for us at the property. We were promised $200 compensation $100 each night that we had to stay at the sister property. This compensation was nowhere near the hassle of this inconvenience. It felt like the staff is so used to doing this that they weren't sympathetic to the inconvenience. We did get a gorgeous room right by the pool at the sister hotel but we paid to be at the adults only and were surrounded by screaming children at the pool. We weren't able to get a dinner reservation for the first night we were there and were forced to eat at one of the buffets where the food was just plain gross. We had to check out of the other property at 12 and couldn't get into our room at our property until 1 so for an hour we didn't even had to room and had to leave our bags unattended in a luggage room leaving me with an uneasy feeling all day. When we tried to get our $200 compensation, we were greeted with a $200 voucher to the hotel shops. This is where I finally lost my temper and my boyfriend and I raised heck ending up in the Hotel general managers office. Although he didn't seem genuinely sympathetic, he did go above and beyond to get us the $200 cash and included a free hotel transfer upon our demand. I have to say he was the only one who actually righted the wrong and I commend him for that. I just don't think overbooking hotels is ever okay for anyone who works hard for their money and needs a stress free vacation. I also did not like how every single staff member or person on the street is so pushy in looking for tips and any way they can get your money. I would definitely not return to punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations before you even arrive via email to the hotel so you don't get screwed with 9:00 reservations.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beachgirl60
Oshawa, ON
Jan 22, 2013

Amazing Week

This resort was amazing from the moment we walked in! Great friendly staff at the desk to greet us and answer any questions we had. We loved the pool and the beach, both very clean and welcoming. Buffet off the lobby was amazing! Great selection of foods available and wonderful staff to satifisy our tastes. We booked each night at a al a carte restaurant, no limits on bookings, and enjoyed every meal at them. Again, stafff attentive, food hot and very tasty, and staff always smiling! Our rooms were cleaned every day, beds made, and turned down at night, bar fridge fully stocked at all times and plenty of towels each day for showers etc. Beach towels were provided and no hassles exchaning them every day. Drinks were amazing and always made fresh for us! If I had to really find anything to complain about, it was the nightly entertainment in the lobby: same music every night we were there. Not the same type of music, but the SAME MUSIC! Obviously a CD someone burned, and played every single night. The songs were from 30 years ago, so good rock and roll, but please, not every night. Would have been nice to hear something different! The shows at night were good for the most part. We only watched a few but they were good. The staff, no matter that their role at the resort, were absolutely amazing at all times. We were very pleased with this resort and would not hesitate to go back. Loved the adults only part of it too, very relaxing for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AR travelers
Bella Vista AR
Jan 21, 2013

Winter trip

The hotel and grounds were beautiful. The food was good and the beach nice. Just a couple of pointers. Communication is difficult if you don't speak Spanish. So if you are ok with figuring things out on your own with minimal help then you will be fine. The pools are not heated and there is not really a hot tub. The ocean temp is cool but after you get in the first time it's much easier after that, Over all we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ELAAELLAELLA
Queens, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2013

Was Super!

Really nice , clean - super friendly helpful staff! will return again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sophia1
New York, NY
Jan 19, 2013

Perfect place for R&R

Nicely located hotel that is isolated from the rest of the Grand Bahia Principle's enormous complex. Fresh, well-prepared food, genial staff. Outdated gym with only 1 working treadmill offset by vast grounds, expansive sandy beach and ample pool. No live music in hotel lobby at night a minus. Overall a pleasant, relaxing beach vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flav0urr
New York, New York
Jan 18, 2013

Amazing resort

I have an all-inclusive -- buffet was definitely better than their specialty restaurants! The resort was just HUGE. Even had trams/little bus stops on every corner for people to travel around. Everyone was super friendly -- I would definitely recommend this resort to everyone i know!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All the attractions are in the hotel. I'm sad that I didn't get to see the well-reviewed Michael Jackson show that was only on Mondays.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AE413
Arlington, VA
Jan 11, 2013

Not 5 Star Service, Food, or Amenities

Check in was a mess, they require a printed out voucher, which I have never needed to check in to any 4 or 5 star resort, as if we would fly for 6 hours to the Caribbean and not have reservations. We even had our passports for ID and that was not sufficient. The rooms are dated and the bedding is not comfortable. Our airconditioner broke in the middle of the night every night of our first 3 nights and they sent someone to fix it, which only worked after waiting over an hour the first 2 nights. The 3rd night it was not fixable, so we layed there hot and awake from 3AM on. The customer service when addressing our issues was terrible and we were offered no compensation, were told we had to go through the booking company. The food was AWFUL, completely awful. You will have a better dinner at a fast food place. There is not free wi-fi in the rooms, you have to pay for it. The beach, however, is gorgeous. I would recomend staying elsewhere to visit it. The resort is also just too big. Everyone we ran into was lost, even on their 3rd or 4th day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top