$240 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
346 out of 346
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ELAAELLAELLA
Queens, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2013

Was Super!

Really nice , clean - super friendly helpful staff! will return again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DougWendy
Business
Leesburg, Virginia
Apr 29, 2014

Excellent Resort

My wife and I recently stayed at the Bahia Principe Ambar for 6 nights in April 2014 and had a wonderful time. The food and drink were plentiful and the resort was immaculate--better than the photos online. It was especially peaceful staying at an Adults Only resort...best decision we made. It is very difficult to say anything negative about the hotel or the staff. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a getaway in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

While the buffet is more than adequate...take advantage of the various restaurants onsite. Make reservations at Guest Services as soon as you arrive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Little Lamb
Business
Providence, RI
Apr 24, 2014

Relaxing couples retreat

Despite being part of a 5 resort mega complex, Ambar was clearly the most exclusive, private, and most luxurious of the bunch. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, and the amenities were first rate, including the pool and beautiful beach area. Despite the fact that it was one of the more affordable all inclusives we came across, the room was enormous, as well as beautiful and extremely well kept. Restaurants Portofino and Don Pablo's were top notch, and I'd highly recommend making dinner reservations there as often as possible. One thing to note: while it was enjoyable to visit the other resorts in the Bahia Principe complex, the food there ranged from ok to downright terrible. Aside from the buffet in the Bavaro complex, I'd advise staying within Ambar for meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you're looking for excursions, or even just a shuttle to and from the airport, VIP tours did a wonderful job for us. They are often set up inside the Ambar lobby and offer very affordable rates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dogtor Mike
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Apr 17, 2014

A week in paradise

I've been to the dominican twice now, and every time I go somewhere else, I can't help but think of how much further my money would go in the Dominican. For what one would spend in a week on any beach in the US, one can cover flights, hotel, and all the food and drink you can stand in the Dominican. If you're looking to go out and explore the country, these types of resorts are not what you're looking for. However, if you want to sit in the lap of luxury for a week and never have to carry a wallet, you can't do any better. We stayed at the Ambar portion of the hotel (the resort is several hotels over many acres), which gave us access to the entire resort, but then we could always retreat to the adult-only area which was considerably less crowded. The bars are better (top shelf is included), everything is more quiet, and you can still venture over to all the night life whenever you'd like! My only complaint would be that local vendors are VERY pushy, and lay on the guilt if you don't buy. Just learn to say no if you're not looking for what they have. Also, when they give you an asking price, you can usually get the item for 1/10th of what they're asking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Prices for excursions are often negotiable! Definitely check out the snorkeling on the reef if you get a chance. Accepting the free excursions = 1 hour presentation trying to get you to join a $10k vacation club.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
enjoying retirement Don
Business
Rhode Island
Apr 17, 2014

Excellent relaxing getaway

This place was beautiful. The food was good. The pool and beach was so relaxing. The beach went for miles. The help was very friendly. We could use the whole resort and restaurants while the others not in the adult section could use our facilities and restaurants. A lot of the help could not speak English, but it really did not create a problem, because they were so friendly. I would come back here again. The entertainment is good. Must see the Michael Jackson show. Never left the resort. Too nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regulator33
Business
Colorado
Apr 12, 2014

Vacation - No kids

We had a great time. Everything was great. We expected the food to be a bit better, but it was still pretty good. Everything else was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MGAG
Business
Lexington, SC
Apr 12, 2014

Noisy Area

We enjoyed our room, it was clean. The workers want to clean it every morning starting as early as 8 am which is not relaxing for a vacation. The night life is very noisy and people could be heard loudly up until near 4 am every morning. This was the adults only section, but the adults were quite loud and rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
overly underwhelmed
Business
Aberdeen, SD
Mar 28, 2014

wonderful location and great beach

This resort was so nice! The beach was perfect, the sand was soft and the drinks cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Singing Nonna
Business
Knoxville, Tennessee
Mar 20, 2014

Winter Get-Away

This was the perfect place to relax and soak up the sun, whether by the pool or by the sea. There were just enough activities around the pool for some amusement instead of the constant loud music and crazy activities we've seen at other resorts. If we wanted more entertainment, it was just a short shuttle ride to the main complex. Otherwise, we were more than happy to hang out in the tranquility of the gardens, beach, pool, and lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R0cketman
Business
New York
Mar 17, 2014

Family de-icing trip

Hotel staff was great. Beach was fantastic. You have to make dinner reservations upon arrival or face long lines later and very few choices on where you want to dine. Dr. Fish trip on boat spa was the best and well worth it. Pool bar a must and overall worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Boat Spa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
muhun1
Business
Toronto, Canada
Mar 7, 2014

Amazing vacation

My wife and I had a great time at the resort. Great amenities, staff was very friendly and the food was excellent. The Ambar side of the resort has a much older crowd, but since we had access to the other adjoining resorts, we were able to experience fun and quite times based on our moods. The beach is one of the best I have seen. I highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The a la carte restaurants are pretty good at the Ambar. See if you can make the reservations before you arrive to get the best times because they get booked fast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top