Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
400 reviews
Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and... See full review

  • Cornel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Pleasant experience

Everything looked great. Whether it was food, room service, pools, beach, music, activities or... See full review

  • Chandler and Family
  • Jun 8, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
400 out of 400
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
only wanted to go home
Philly, PA
Mar 10, 2013

not good

was not adult only it is a complex of several hotel if you have early flight in you do not get into rm till 3 could get dinner reservations times of dinners did not fit 24/7 all entertainment was at main lobby(again not adult only) staff was friendly but would give you wrong drinks due to not speaking ENG.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Early twenties couple
Ontario
Mar 9, 2013

Great place to drink and relax

The staff here are great and the service was unmatched around the pool. Make sure to claim a poolside chair around 8 am if you want a spot with the shade. If you get a room on the ground floor, definitely ask for one on the second or third floor. The ground floor can get pretty noisy - especially at night when the partiers are stumbling home. The dinner buffet was better than any of the a la carte restaurant alternatives, except for the Don Pablo (French?) restaurant. Make sure to book a reservation there - or as many as you can!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa and Ron
Southwick MA
Mar 6, 2013

Fantastic Vacation

We had a fantastic vacation and we are looking forward to returning again next year! Everything about this resort is phenomenal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants at the Ambar are incredible! Favorites were Don Pablo and the italian restaurant!

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather8008
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Feb 28, 2013

Beautiful resort, but large

This resort was beautiful and clean. Not much to do in the area. Resort itself was large, almost too large. Staff was slow and unfriendly. Meals were average for an all-inclusive. Multiple power-outages. We booked a safari excursion, which I would recommend. Heard other talking about a great experience on the island excursion. I'm glad we went, but would not return (not because of the resort, but because of the lack of activities in the resort AND in the area).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourguild
Rutland il
Feb 20, 2013

Relaxing vacation

The room was very nice and clean.The food and drinks were top shelf. The beach was beautiful but was annoyed by people saving chairs all day to use them an hour in the afternoon .the staff was friendly but hard to communicate with.If you plan to eat at the ala carte restaurants make reservations as soon as possible.They fill up fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like cigars most of the agency's have agreement with the factory's . They take you there for free have nice gift shops and good cigars.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms.Pilot
Gwinn, Michigan
Feb 12, 2013

Disappointed

we were told they were overbooked when we arrived. We were transferred to Bahia Esmeralda for two days and then transferred back to Bahia Ambar (losing precious vacation hours). Please email address that I can sent detailed information to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
josepina
new york
Feb 4, 2013

good vacation

lots of fun beautiful place good food nice staff very frendly will go back for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shermandanger
Orem, UT
Feb 4, 2013

Great Resort for the Price

We went here for our honeymoon and we had a great time. The beach is pristine, the pool areas are great, the room was great. The ONLY downside to staying here is the food quality. The restaurants are not the greatest, and neither is the room service. The only restaurant we really really liked was the Garden Grill, so make sure to get reservations here as soon as you get here. Other than that it's a great resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to book the restaurants far in advance because they book up quickly.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B3aut1ful
New York, NY
Jan 30, 2013

Great resort for adults!!

This was my first trip to DR and my boyfriend's first time in Punta Cana specifically. This resort is the sole adults-only one of the 4 resorts on the Gran Bahia "campus" (I say that because Gran Bahia's real estate is so large). While staying at Ambar allows you access to the other 3 resorts, we found the best quality and value was at Ambar itself - in the food, drinks, etc. They never said they didn't have anything, including top-shelf liquor! The service was the same all around but having a quiet, clean pool (with a swim-up bar) just for adults was lovely. There was also a private section on the beach only for Ambar residents. The specialty restaurants are nothing special in our opinion; Palmyra (Ambar's buffet) was much better and most nights we went there afterwards. Room service was included in the flat price which was amazing, plus every room has a balcony so you can sit out there and relax in private. If you're looking for a place with nightlife, Congas is the only onsite club and was great on some nights, so-so on others. The one thing that was difficult for the first few days was navigating the trolley system. On the flip side, we really appreciated how safe the resort was (including everything in the room). For the most part staff was nice - Hector at Palmyra and Don Pablo was particularly amazing. While we were very generous with tips, a few dollars here and there for help and good service go a long way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fish boy
Tyler, TX, USA
Jan 29, 2013

Hassle Factor Was Too High

The good.... Price was good enough, location nice enough, and grounds, beach, and pool area were quite nice. Since we were there only three nights, we did not get a chance to eat at any of the restaurants but ate at the buffet, which was quite good. The bad.... First night they did not have us a room in the adult only "Ambar" section. So next day, had to check out of the first room, take luggage to Ambar, then wait till afternoon to check in to another Ambar room. Was told we would get a resort voucher for our troubles. Turns out the voucher was supposed to be tied to a timeshare sales pitch, but I got loud and irate enough they decided to give me the voucher anyway. Second nite my wife used the jacuzzi tub, and it emitted a burning electrical smell. They knocked on the door at 1 am and I could not tell if the knock was on our door or someone else so I dismissed it, then they simply opened the door. Said that the bottom floor folks had complained about the smell. Although I am glad they took the initiative to check it out, it was quite unpleasant for the door to open at that time of morning when you are in bed asleep. The next day, over an hour and half was "wasted" simply trying to find the "tour operator" so that I could get the shuttle arrangements back to the airport. I am reasonably well traveled, and don't consider myself to be nitpicky. But this trip simply had a little too much hassle factor for my liking. Three nights was not quite enough time to justify the trip. By the time we got things reasonably figured out, it was time to leave. I will try to make any similar trips in the future a minimum of four nights if I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top