$240 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
346 out of 346
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juanito M
Pittsburgh PA
Dec 30, 2012

Relax to the max

Perfect relaxation, great food and ourstanding service. Never made it to the various restauirant because the buffet was awesome. Beach and pool area were beautiful. Property is very well kept and clean. Public bathrooms at restaurant and beach were always spotless. Would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emp9
Business
ill
Jul 9, 2014

Dont go to punta cana at least here if american

Starting our trip D.R airport coming in is a joke , they took husband pass port didn't tell why whole airport cleared our before giving it back no reason given, Lost our luggage , no one helped at getting it back I had to do it & follow up Not to many spoke English to use on check in wasn't friendly no idea what to do Room was very nice house keeping was great . Beach was very nice, I did get a feeling esp after talking to others that americans are not liked there They have 2 japennies rest was told wrong location over & over by several staff, the staff at that rest. said it wasn't there but no help to locate where it was at because they didnt' speek English The pool closed early, resturants are not open all the time, Did have good room service I would not go back here. Leaving was much better driver picked up & did help at air port it was much smoother leaving

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L. Martin
Business
La Verne, CA
Jun 29, 2014

Excellent getaway

Beatuful grounds, clean and very large rooms. Excellent dinners although it is ridiculously impossible to make reservations same day because they are booked. Below avg. breakfast and lunch buffet - although the selections were plentiful and the presentation beautiful, the food was dry and below our expectations. Ambar was one of 5 hotel properties that were co-joined and shared some facilities. As a result, it felt like we are in a small town rather than a remote resort. All in all- excellent experience, but all 4 of us on the trip preferred our last 2 all-inclusive high-end resorts in Cancun and Ixtapa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El mio
Business
San juan, Puerto Rico
Jun 28, 2014

Exelent trip

One of the best trip of my life. The hotel is incredible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
frusterated traveler
Business
denver Colorado
Jun 16, 2014

AWFUL experience

Okay so i will just start out by saying..... we booked the luxury ambar hotel because they advertised the location as an adults only resort. But what they dont mention is the hotel is for people 60+. The pool bar closes at 6 and the pool at 7. The lobby is VERY mellow. Upon arrival we were impressed with the initial treatment. We were greeted with drinks and the staff was kind. The second day we had 200$ stollen from our room. We went down to guest services. They had the security guard come up to our room. they asked permission to do an investigation, ofcourse we insisted. But instead of looking into what maid stole our money, they investigated US! They went through our entire room, only to tell us " their investigation was inconclusive" ( because they didnt find the money in our room) Guest services was horrendous. They were extremely rude and non-apologetic. Eventually they offered a massage with a value of 120$. The massage was okay,I was suppose to receive an hour massage plus exfoliation, they cut my massage short by 15 min. They advertise the resort as "all-inclusive". Yes the drinks and food are included. But activities they offer are not. There are "shows" that are free, however the "show" consists of a host and a few dancers on the stage and then they ask for crowd participation to have the guests do activities for everyone else to watch. The other shows they offer, are $35. On the site, they say you get an hour a day of the water sports/ activities. However if you dont have experience with these sports you have to pay $45 for a lesson. For example, my boyfriend wanted to try and wind surf. They would not let him unless he first took the lesson which cost money, even though we had other family memebers who could of taught him, he was denied. Room service has less than 10 items on the menu. One of our family members called for room service on 3 different nights, they only actually received their meals 1 time. We asked for them to bring us bottled water ( because you cant drink the tap) and were told "it is not apart of their services" and they never brought it. I could go on and on about how awful the resort is--- yes it was very beautiful. But not worth the money. As a side note, there is a HUGE language barrier ( I do speak a little spanish) but most of the staff didnt know alot of english, which may be the reason for alot of mishaps. I will say the other resorts that we went to seemed alot more lively and the staff was kind. Emanuel was one of the only staff members that was extremley helpful and kind, he was AWESOME. They say "free WIFI" although you do receive an hour free a day, you have to be in the lobby to get the service, and it is hotter in the lobby than outside All and all, i would say save your money, dont book here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msbeasley74
Business
chicago, il
Jun 13, 2014

I would go back

The hotel staff were really nice and made you feel welcome. The grounds is beautiful and the food taste good. My main problem was the buffet was the exact same food everyday for breakfast and lunch if the hotel would switch up the food it would be a huge and major improvement. I had a problem with my bathroom ceiling leaking water called service 3 times to fix and they never did. I stayed at the same hotel chain in Jamaica and the Punta Cana location was a step up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you go go to Don Pablo and stay away from the BBQ buffet restaurant.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cornel
Business
Boca Raton, Florida
Jun 11, 2014

Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and welcoming. First welcome everyone takes your bags, helps you out all the time. You get a nice welcome with a cool coconut drink. We even were able to get to the buffet before we got our room. Food: Nothing better than what they had available. Fresh fruits and salads, amazing meats (some of the pork was a bit hard), sweets, well sweets were just to die for, truly amazing. Be sure to book all your restaurants on the first day, as soon as you check in. I must say, you cant get to any restaurant at any time, they get booked very fast. Don, Mediterranean and Italian, really good and tasty foods, and IM VERY PICKY at foods, specially healthy foods. (both me and my fiancé) The hotel room? Super clean, amazing bathroom, awesome bed, beautiful balcony. The beach? YOU CANT GET CLOSER AND CLEANER AND BETTER than this. Majority of the chairs have nice umbrellas (which you do have to get the chairs VERY early in the morning, like 6-7AM. The beach, super super clean. We went running every morning at 6AM. WARNING: The sun is up at around 5:30AM, so for those late sleepers, watch out (me and my soon to be wife are very early wakeys, so it was a blessing for us). We are gym wackos too, so we tried their gym. While is NOT like an LA Fitness or anything like that, it does the job, if you want to get a nice quick workout while on vacation (the gym has one side for mostly guys, weight and bench press, while the other side more for ladies, bikes, spinning and running equipment). Now as for their activities. Their non-motorized equipment: You must take a class/training before you get to the activity, which is free. So, its free but not 100% free, as you have to pay for the training/class prior to using the equipment. $45 is not much, but still. Snuba package: We recommend to ANYONE that loves water. THERE IS NO BETTER PACKAGE. Please careful, ONLY book any activity package from front lobby, never from the beach or pool folks. Nightlife is awesome, lots of dancing, lots of fun and activities, like music festive, shows, etc. Upon leaving, check out is super fast and easy, nothing to worry about. There was no better stay than this hotel. We actually decided to do our wedding at this place, if they give a good price :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Only purchase the activity packages from front lobby, never from the beach or pool area. Book your restaurants as soon as you get there, first thing.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chandler and Family
Business
Virginia
Jun 8, 2014

Pleasant experience

Everything looked great. Whether it was food, room service, pools, beach, music, activities or train experience and check-in/check-out experience. All the employees but especially female employees went out of way to please. They were so kind, helpful which made this trip as PLEASANT EXPERIENCE. One point I wish to make that if some outside tour or site-seeing of one day etc would be included in ALL INCLUSIVE, would be more better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So much to chose and of excellent quality.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.J
Business
Wellington, Florida
Jun 7, 2014

Class act all-inclusive

Extraordinary personal. Very clean. Great food. These people get it when it comes to service. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Absolutely fabulous food and beverages

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa Happy Traveler
Business
Aurora, IL
May 19, 2014

Fantastic Resort

We would definitely stay at this resort again. I can't say anything negative about the staff; from the front desk employees to housekeeping, everyone we came into contact with was friendly and accommodating. We had an issue with our room the first night, but they were quick to resolve the problem and get us into the correct room by the next night. The property was gorgeous, very well landscaped and great for pictures. The pool and beach huts/chairs were perfect. The themed dinner restaurants were good, but you could never go wrong with the buffet. We went for our honeymoon, and it was perfect being at the adult-only resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations for the themed dinner restaurants the first day you arrive - they fill up fast!

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ECLD
Business
Chicago
Apr 29, 2014

Romantic, Peaceful Break Away in Paradise

My boyfriend and I got engaged while we were here. It was a perfect spot to do it. The hotel we stayed in was adults only and this really helped to maintain a tranquil and peaceful environment. The resort is very large and there are facilities to suit any tastes. The staff cannot do enough for you. No detail is left undone, and the value for money is incredible. There are a number of restaurants to choose from, pools and bars. We were there for a week and barely scratched the surface of what was on offer. The staff could not be more helpful, although communication was at time, tricky. The location is so well looked after; the gardens are beautifully manicured, the beach is spotless and the weather, fantastic. You really couldn't ask for a better vacation. We shall be going back there next year, hopefully to get married this time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prebook your a la carte restaurants via email prior to your trip, so that you have reservations already set up for your stay. You might find them already booked up otherwise.

Back to menu Return to top