$240 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
341 out of 341
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luc1
montreal
Dec 13, 2012

After 5 times it's still a great hotel

We have been going to this hotel for the last 5 years and still love it very much, the service, the people, the food, everything is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

As soon as you arrive at the hotel, reserve your restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rossko
Business
St. Louis
Jul 28, 2014

Great All Around

My Wife and I went for our honeymoon and had a great time. Ambar is the way to go for adults, beverages were top shelf and all inclusive. (Puts the Mexican all inclusive stays to shame) "Snack Bar" was a full out buffet with steak on some days for lunch. I was expecting a minimal offering and was amazed. Make reservations early at the "a la carte" restaurants. Don Pablo was probably the best, but all had great selections. (Steak/Lobster etc..). Don't forget long pants/nicer shirt for these restaurants. All in all, great trip- we weren't really sure what to expect going in, but were pleasantly surprised. Service/Food/Scenery all exceeded the price we paid to get there. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barodrod
Business
Da8ie, FL
Jul 21, 2014

Fun Summer Vacation

This was overall an almost perfect experience. We enjoyed all of our excursions. The amenities were overall very good. However, the gym was way too small and the equipment limited for the size of the hotel. Also, the rooms were a bit musty but I believe that's because the AC shuts down when you're out of the room. It is activated by inserting your room key in a slot by the entry door. Hint - leave one of your keys in the slot when you leave the room (although the hotel doesn't recommend that).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

As soon as you arrive at your hotel make sure to make dinner reservations for each night of your stay so that you can sample some of the restaurants on the property rather than eating at the buffet every night. Best one was the French restaurant - Don Pablo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Princess Agata
Business
NV
Jul 20, 2014

great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive) really good and lots of variety to choose from, no matter if you eat just veggie or pure meat-you will not be hungry!!! Rooms are clean.Lots of activities to choose from-but you can just be as lazy as you want . It is good to have cash and lots of change, Cashier will only change 20 at a time. I left tip for room clean up for fridge refill, for breakfast etc and at the bar.. These people work very hard all day long so it was something I could do for them. The only thing that is kind of weak is not too many speak english, but if you know spanish than no problem at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mfletcher1962
Business
mahwah,nj
Jul 14, 2014

awesome

we just arrived home to N.J. from the Dominican republic Punta cana luxury Bahia Principe Ambar and were satisfied with every aspect that the resort had to offer, the food was great the staff was professional and we had a very relaxing time, it was well worth the money we spent it is definitely on our do again list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emp9
Business
ill
Jul 9, 2014

Dont go to punta cana at least here if american

Starting our trip D.R airport coming in is a joke , they took husband pass port didn't tell why whole airport cleared our before giving it back no reason given, Lost our luggage , no one helped at getting it back I had to do it & follow up Not to many spoke English to use on check in wasn't friendly no idea what to do Room was very nice house keeping was great . Beach was very nice, I did get a feeling esp after talking to others that americans are not liked there They have 2 japennies rest was told wrong location over & over by several staff, the staff at that rest. said it wasn't there but no help to locate where it was at because they didnt' speek English The pool closed early, resturants are not open all the time, Did have good room service I would not go back here. Leaving was much better driver picked up & did help at air port it was much smoother leaving

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L. Martin
Business
La Verne, CA
Jun 29, 2014

Excellent getaway

Beatuful grounds, clean and very large rooms. Excellent dinners although it is ridiculously impossible to make reservations same day because they are booked. Below avg. breakfast and lunch buffet - although the selections were plentiful and the presentation beautiful, the food was dry and below our expectations. Ambar was one of 5 hotel properties that were co-joined and shared some facilities. As a result, it felt like we are in a small town rather than a remote resort. All in all- excellent experience, but all 4 of us on the trip preferred our last 2 all-inclusive high-end resorts in Cancun and Ixtapa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El mio
Business
San juan, Puerto Rico
Jun 28, 2014

Exelent trip

One of the best trip of my life. The hotel is incredible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
frusterated traveler
Business
denver Colorado
Jun 16, 2014

AWFUL experience

Okay so i will just start out by saying..... we booked the luxury ambar hotel because they advertised the location as an adults only resort. But what they dont mention is the hotel is for people 60+. The pool bar closes at 6 and the pool at 7. The lobby is VERY mellow. Upon arrival we were impressed with the initial treatment. We were greeted with drinks and the staff was kind. The second day we had 200$ stollen from our room. We went down to guest services. They had the security guard come up to our room. they asked permission to do an investigation, ofcourse we insisted. But instead of looking into what maid stole our money, they investigated US! They went through our entire room, only to tell us " their investigation was inconclusive" ( because they didnt find the money in our room) Guest services was horrendous. They were extremely rude and non-apologetic. Eventually they offered a massage with a value of 120$. The massage was okay,I was suppose to receive an hour massage plus exfoliation, they cut my massage short by 15 min. They advertise the resort as "all-inclusive". Yes the drinks and food are included. But activities they offer are not. There are "shows" that are free, however the "show" consists of a host and a few dancers on the stage and then they ask for crowd participation to have the guests do activities for everyone else to watch. The other shows they offer, are $35. On the site, they say you get an hour a day of the water sports/ activities. However if you dont have experience with these sports you have to pay $45 for a lesson. For example, my boyfriend wanted to try and wind surf. They would not let him unless he first took the lesson which cost money, even though we had other family memebers who could of taught him, he was denied. Room service has less than 10 items on the menu. One of our family members called for room service on 3 different nights, they only actually received their meals 1 time. We asked for them to bring us bottled water ( because you cant drink the tap) and were told "it is not apart of their services" and they never brought it. I could go on and on about how awful the resort is--- yes it was very beautiful. But not worth the money. As a side note, there is a HUGE language barrier ( I do speak a little spanish) but most of the staff didnt know alot of english, which may be the reason for alot of mishaps. I will say the other resorts that we went to seemed alot more lively and the staff was kind. Emanuel was one of the only staff members that was extremley helpful and kind, he was AWESOME. They say "free WIFI" although you do receive an hour free a day, you have to be in the lobby to get the service, and it is hotter in the lobby than outside All and all, i would say save your money, dont book here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msbeasley74
Business
chicago, il
Jun 13, 2014

I would go back

The hotel staff were really nice and made you feel welcome. The grounds is beautiful and the food taste good. My main problem was the buffet was the exact same food everyday for breakfast and lunch if the hotel would switch up the food it would be a huge and major improvement. I had a problem with my bathroom ceiling leaking water called service 3 times to fix and they never did. I stayed at the same hotel chain in Jamaica and the Punta Cana location was a step up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you go go to Don Pablo and stay away from the BBQ buffet restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cornel
Business
Boca Raton, Florida
Jun 11, 2014

Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and welcoming. First welcome everyone takes your bags, helps you out all the time. You get a nice welcome with a cool coconut drink. We even were able to get to the buffet before we got our room. Food: Nothing better than what they had available. Fresh fruits and salads, amazing meats (some of the pork was a bit hard), sweets, well sweets were just to die for, truly amazing. Be sure to book all your restaurants on the first day, as soon as you check in. I must say, you cant get to any restaurant at any time, they get booked very fast. Don, Mediterranean and Italian, really good and tasty foods, and IM VERY PICKY at foods, specially healthy foods. (both me and my fiancé) The hotel room? Super clean, amazing bathroom, awesome bed, beautiful balcony. The beach? YOU CANT GET CLOSER AND CLEANER AND BETTER than this. Majority of the chairs have nice umbrellas (which you do have to get the chairs VERY early in the morning, like 6-7AM. The beach, super super clean. We went running every morning at 6AM. WARNING: The sun is up at around 5:30AM, so for those late sleepers, watch out (me and my soon to be wife are very early wakeys, so it was a blessing for us). We are gym wackos too, so we tried their gym. While is NOT like an LA Fitness or anything like that, it does the job, if you want to get a nice quick workout while on vacation (the gym has one side for mostly guys, weight and bench press, while the other side more for ladies, bikes, spinning and running equipment). Now as for their activities. Their non-motorized equipment: You must take a class/training before you get to the activity, which is free. So, its free but not 100% free, as you have to pay for the training/class prior to using the equipment. $45 is not much, but still. Snuba package: We recommend to ANYONE that loves water. THERE IS NO BETTER PACKAGE. Please careful, ONLY book any activity package from front lobby, never from the beach or pool folks. Nightlife is awesome, lots of dancing, lots of fun and activities, like music festive, shows, etc. Upon leaving, check out is super fast and easy, nothing to worry about. There was no better stay than this hotel. We actually decided to do our wedding at this place, if they give a good price :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Only purchase the activity packages from front lobby, never from the beach or pool area. Book your restaurants as soon as you get there, first thing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top