$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luc1
Couples
montreal
Dec 13, 2012

After 5 times it's still a great hotel

We have been going to this hotel for the last 5 years and still love it very much, the service, the people, the food, everything is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

As soon as you arrive at the hotel, reserve your restaurants

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maverickak47
Couples
New York
Nov 26, 2014

Good stay

Overall great stay for a relaxing vacation. Only minus - not what you expect from an adult only resort, just a lot of elderly people. Poor top shelf liquor selection. Great amenities, nice beach, staff and food. Overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make sure to go on tours. Recommend Samana Island and Saona Island. Zip lines are nice as well.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Fun 45
Couples
Washington, DC
Nov 24, 2014

Big Fun 45

My only complaint about the hotel is that the room service was terrible that took forever to come if they came at all and they should tell you that the 24 hour room service is very limited in what you can order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: In Hotel

make sure you change to local currency and the locals aren't too big on negotiating

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lifeisgood123
Couples
san jose, california
Nov 20, 2014

good stay

If you like the beach and food, great place. Check list: 1. Make your speciality restaurant reservations online before you get there or asap when you arrive at guest services. 2. If you stay at Ambar or Esmeralda you have access to Bavaro, turquoise, and Punta cana resort food (all in the same location). Opposite not true. Food at Ambar/Esmeralda is better. 3. No fins are provided for snorkling, there is a charge 4. Masks/Snorkles, Kayaks and surf boards are free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

You have to book your specialty restaurants as soon as you arrive or even better before you arrive online. Even if you book online, you need to check on your reservations as soon as you get there or call ahead.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JT Lipman
Couples
Harrisburg, PA
Nov 18, 2014

Great Vacation

We have enjoyed vacationing at Ambar for 22 days in the past 6 months. The location, beach and resort is the best of the 5 Punta Cana resorts we have vacationed at since our first visit to the island in 1998. Life is slow on this island and thus very relaxing. The concierge staff of Albania and Jose are great and very helpful in each of our visits. We arrived about noon and by the time we finished lunch our room was ready. The entire staff is helpful and friendly without asking. The beach is clean and beautiful. The restaurants are great and they have added a new Brazilian restaurant while moving one to, shall we term it, Ambar 2. Ambar 2 opened during our 2 weeks and looks great. If you prefer the beach vs. the pool, stick with Ambar 1. Our villa was a few feet from the pool and beach. We thank all of the Ambar staff for a great vacation on our stay from Nov. 3rd till the 15th, 2014.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make your restaurant reservation asap. Not because of limits in reservations, but it simply gives you more time to relax and enjoy your vacation.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trippme
Couples
Laguna Beach, CA
Nov 14, 2014

Good but now GREAT

I expected a but more being a 4/5 star resort. It was nice and we enjoyed our time there but it wasn't all that I expected. The hotel staff didn't seem to care that we were there. They were pleasant/polite but ignored us. The resort staff on the other hand were very nice and helpful. The all inclusive was convenient but the food got boring because it was so similar from day to day. There is no doubt that they try hard on the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make your reservations for the restaurants immediately upon arriving so you can get times you want.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cje70
Couples
Georgia
Oct 27, 2014

Awesome vacation

This is a great place to stay. Some of the reviews that others post are very nit picky. We found the beach was great, the pool was great, the room was great (hard bed, but nice room). You do have to get down to the beach early if you want a front row seat and by early I mean 5ish. The waiters on the beach were soo friendly and great personality especially Lino and Vladmir. They helped to make the beach enjoyable! The food was nothing to write home about however there was something for everyone on the buffet. I would for sure go back to Bahia resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not drink the water and make sure you bring Imodium AD with you

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tadpole57
Couples
fort mill, sc
Oct 10, 2014

fabulous once again!

this was our third year at the Ambar and we loved our ten day stay. the staff is very attentive, grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the food is delicious.we are already planning next year's return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

book your a la cartes asap

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmmB
Couples
Long Island, NY
Oct 6, 2014

Nice Place to Vacation!

My boyfriend and I booked this place online -- looked at a couple of reviews, did a few price comparisons, but ultimately booked blindly. We were very pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and what was included in the total costs. Positives: Right on beach (varies greatly according to what part of the complex you book because this place is quite large, but there are free hotel shuttles that leave every 5 min and take only a few min to get to beach side) All inclusive - pretty impressive drink selection Food decent - no gourmet cooking but I felt well fed and was reasonably happy with quality Friendly and helpful staff Multiple pools Air conditioning in room TV channels with multiple languages, many channels in English Negatives: Like all beachy places the room had a slightly musty smell Food times similar to cruise ship where you have to get your meal within certain windows or else have to eat at the snack bar where selection much less We stayed in Ambar which is "Adults Only", however all the nightly entertainment took place at the "main lobby" which required using hotel shuttle, but it was only a few minutes away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Priv
Friends
Alexandria, VA
Sep 25, 2014

Dream Vacation

We were treated like royalty by the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The food was amazing the variety of food was insane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mam623
Single
New york
Sep 15, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Definatey a 5 start hotel . Had a few quirks but nothing serious. 100% focus on customer service. Grounds were impecable , beach beautifull but lots of seaweed. Food and drinks average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Not alot of shops in the Hotel Ambar but go up to the Hotel Punta Cana and Bavaro in the complex ( take the shuttel ) and there many shopping options !

Back to menu Return to top