$240 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
346 out of 346
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
outotowner
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 26, 2014

Multiple problems with the Room, Staff, and Food Poisoning

I went with my girlfriend to the Ambar for 4 nights/5 days. As a whole, the beach is lovely, and the resort itself is very pretty, but due to the problems in the title, I couldn't recommend this place to someone. Pros: -Location is great, only 30 minutes from Punta Cana Airport. -Mostly Quiet (if you're in a room near the main lobby there will be noise from the band that plays until about 11-12). -Rooms are comfortable and large enough, and jet tubs are standard. -Multiple bars, including many options in terms of both location and drink choice. Cons: -Staff are unreliable. In dealing with my room card which failed twice in 2 days, the staff was unapologetic, lied about no manager being present, and I had to ask to switch rooms to avoid a problem with the door. That said, the manager I was finally able to talk to (after scheduling an appointment, further loosing time on my vacation), did attempt to help. -Food options are limited. Unless you sign up/pay for a VIP service, restaurants are only available for dinner and by reservation. For breakfast and lunch, there are two buffets. However, their hours of operation leave a lot to be desired. -Food safety appears spotty. On multiple occasions, we witnessed food (fish as an exemplar) being left out for well over an hour, non-refrigerated, ants and flies on food regularly, and rotten cheese being re-plated. The end result was my girlfriend getting sick as a result of the food (confirmed by the pharmacist there and back in the US). This was also echoed by upwards of 10 people at the resort at the same time. -Lack of information upon arriving at the resort. Everything we did had to be learnt the hard way. There's no guide to how things work, and you must either trip up, or spend extensive time with guest services. There was no warning on the bathroom to no drink the water (which we knew due to the taxi driver casually mentioning it). Summary: If you want a resort to go for an all inclusive-non-thinking vacation, this is only in the margins. It was frustrating, and despite a manager who listened and tried, the overall experience due to systemic, structural, and behavioral practices of the resort was not relaxing or enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

All restaurants require reservations. These must be made by 3pm. Since you'll see the buffet every breakfast and lunch, be sure to make these early. Also remember that room service, which is included may be a 'safer' option, from a food safety point of view, but is highly limited.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessica Kosbau
Business
Fairfax, Virginia
Aug 20, 2014

Fantastic Staff!

We had the best time at Ambar. The hard working staff and the entire resort was amazing. What a great group of hard workers. Thank you so much for the experience. Loved it! Jessica Kosabu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frankAug 12
Business
punta cana, domincan republic
Aug 19, 2014

Enjoyable vacation experience

A very enjoyable vacation experience. Vegetables I stayed away from a well as the water. Only bottled water. Got stomach problems even after avoiding much of those foods and drinks which may of been questionable. The staff was extremely polite. The only negative thing we experienced was the sales pitch to get to by a timeshare like package as well as the doctor. This female doctor was too interested in texting and made us seem like we were being a bother to her when we asked if she could give us something for our stomach issues which we got at the resort. Medical coverage was not covered in the all inclusive nor did she except our insurance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Stay away from the water, use only bottled water for drinking. The smoothie type drinks I would also stay away from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elbac
Business
gaitherburg
Aug 17, 2014

fantastic for families

I never had a wonderful Experience. I be delighted the hotel service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ollie Man
Business
Knoxville Tennessee
Aug 13, 2014

Well maintained and comfortable resort.

All is well in Punta Cana at the Ambar resort. The highlight of our trip by far were the restaurants. Don Pablo is truly a great experience with excellent service and the food is five star. Only issues that we had were the mini-bar. It seems it's a little difficult to get refills. We would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take some $1 USD for moderate tips for the waiters and for your housekeeping staff. They appreciate it greatly and work very hard...and it brings you and your party dividends. Although service is excellent, the appreciation is shown in many different ways.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time allinclusive
Business
Northern VA
Jul 31, 2014

Great service, good food

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel Jul 2014. It was our first time for all inclusive. The food choices were great: 2 nights we were there, they served lobster at the buffet. Tues was seafood. So many choices and the food presentation was really impressive. Don Pablo was just OK. Buffet was better than El Olivio and Portofino (entree ordered, buffet choices for appetizer and desert - not at Don Pablo though). The beach was disappointed (so much sea weed not at this hotel but everywhere). Overall, I would stay at this hotel chain again, but I would not come back to Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rossko
Business
St. Louis
Jul 28, 2014

Great All Around

My Wife and I went for our honeymoon and had a great time. Ambar is the way to go for adults, beverages were top shelf and all inclusive. (Puts the Mexican all inclusive stays to shame) "Snack Bar" was a full out buffet with steak on some days for lunch. I was expecting a minimal offering and was amazed. Make reservations early at the "a la carte" restaurants. Don Pablo was probably the best, but all had great selections. (Steak/Lobster etc..). Don't forget long pants/nicer shirt for these restaurants. All in all, great trip- we weren't really sure what to expect going in, but were pleasantly surprised. Service/Food/Scenery all exceeded the price we paid to get there. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barodrod
Business
Da8ie, FL
Jul 21, 2014

Fun Summer Vacation

This was overall an almost perfect experience. We enjoyed all of our excursions. The amenities were overall very good. However, the gym was way too small and the equipment limited for the size of the hotel. Also, the rooms were a bit musty but I believe that's because the AC shuts down when you're out of the room. It is activated by inserting your room key in a slot by the entry door. Hint - leave one of your keys in the slot when you leave the room (although the hotel doesn't recommend that).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

As soon as you arrive at your hotel make sure to make dinner reservations for each night of your stay so that you can sample some of the restaurants on the property rather than eating at the buffet every night. Best one was the French restaurant - Don Pablo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Princess Agata
Business
NV
Jul 20, 2014

great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive) really good and lots of variety to choose from, no matter if you eat just veggie or pure meat-you will not be hungry!!! Rooms are clean.Lots of activities to choose from-but you can just be as lazy as you want . It is good to have cash and lots of change, Cashier will only change 20 at a time. I left tip for room clean up for fridge refill, for breakfast etc and at the bar.. These people work very hard all day long so it was something I could do for them. The only thing that is kind of weak is not too many speak english, but if you know spanish than no problem at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mfletcher1962
Business
mahwah,nj
Jul 14, 2014

awesome

we just arrived home to N.J. from the Dominican republic Punta cana luxury Bahia Principe Ambar and were satisfied with every aspect that the resort had to offer, the food was great the staff was professional and we had a very relaxing time, it was well worth the money we spent it is definitely on our do again list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top