$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cje70
Business
Georgia
Oct 27, 2014

Awesome vacation

This is a great place to stay. Some of the reviews that others post are very nit picky. We found the beach was great, the pool was great, the room was great (hard bed, but nice room). You do have to get down to the beach early if you want a front row seat and by early I mean 5ish. The waiters on the beach were soo friendly and great personality especially Lino and Vladmir. They helped to make the beach enjoyable! The food was nothing to write home about however there was something for everyone on the buffet. I would for sure go back to Bahia resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not drink the water and make sure you bring Imodium AD with you

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tadpole57
Business
fort mill, sc
Oct 10, 2014

fabulous once again!

this was our third year at the Ambar and we loved our ten day stay. the staff is very attentive, grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the food is delicious.we are already planning next year's return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

book your a la cartes asap

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmmB
Business
Long Island, NY
Oct 6, 2014

Nice Place to Vacation!

My boyfriend and I booked this place online -- looked at a couple of reviews, did a few price comparisons, but ultimately booked blindly. We were very pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and what was included in the total costs. Positives: Right on beach (varies greatly according to what part of the complex you book because this place is quite large, but there are free hotel shuttles that leave every 5 min and take only a few min to get to beach side) All inclusive - pretty impressive drink selection Food decent - no gourmet cooking but I felt well fed and was reasonably happy with quality Friendly and helpful staff Multiple pools Air conditioning in room TV channels with multiple languages, many channels in English Negatives: Like all beachy places the room had a slightly musty smell Food times similar to cruise ship where you have to get your meal within certain windows or else have to eat at the snack bar where selection much less We stayed in Ambar which is "Adults Only", however all the nightly entertainment took place at the "main lobby" which required using hotel shuttle, but it was only a few minutes away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Priv
Business
Alexandria, VA
Sep 25, 2014

Dream Vacation

We were treated like royalty by the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The food was amazing the variety of food was insane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mam623
Business
New york
Sep 15, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Definatey a 5 start hotel . Had a few quirks but nothing serious. 100% focus on customer service. Grounds were impecable , beach beautifull but lots of seaweed. Food and drinks average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Not alot of shops in the Hotel Ambar but go up to the Hotel Punta Cana and Bavaro in the complex ( take the shuttel ) and there many shopping options !

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dfelipe
Business
New Jersey
Sep 8, 2014

Bahía Príncipe Ámbar

I felt it lacked a lot of service from several people. The bartenders at the pool were always on top of things. Outside of that, service from "express services" was bad. We had to call 6 times in two days just for pillows. The food was not top notch as you'd expect from a hotel of their caliber. I was disappointed to find that there wasn't enough variety and through the time I was there food became very monotonous. I would advise highly against the so called "Privilege Club" people and their sales pitch. We wasted half a day listening to it. First 100 to buy into it get a "real special prize", only every day it's the first 100 to buy into it. DON'T DO IT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the bibijagua market. If you ask the taxi drivers they'll know. Fish right off the ocean at the restaurant there. Nothing fancy but very authentic. Best food I had all trip long. Also, the shopping there is good and much cheaper than what you'll find in the resorts

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabrielamo
Business
Providence, RI
Sep 7, 2014

All was fantastic...until the stomach bug :-(

The staff was very friendly (with the exception of the doctor whose only concern was to make sure we would pay the -very- high fees for her service). The room couldn't be better, the food was varied and plenty of choices. Unfortunately, something "got" my husband. We think it was a food-related illness. We only ate/drank at the hotel and didn't leave the resort, so not a chance it was from outside the resort. The doctor didn't seem to care about finding the source of what was obviously a problem roaming the hotel (we talked with 3 people in our "villa", all sick with the same symptoms: diarrhea, fever, head-ache, nausea). We brought this to the attention of the hotel management, but never got any feedback/response. We travel a lot, so we expect that eventually we will get some bug. That was not the issue, the issue was the lack of feedback/follow up from the hotel. Regardless, we had a lot of fun (we stayed for 8 days the last 2 my husband was sick). Tons to do between all the activities offered. The pool could use a bit more cleaning, specially on the edges, but it wasn't bad (could be excellent with a little more care). Make sure you bring lots of sunscreen! We went at the beginning of August and the sun was out very single day, 8 days in a row. Great music at night, loved the party by the beach (amazing cocktails inside pineapples and coconuts). There is not much to see if you go snorkeling in the beach by hotel, so if that is your thing, you might be better off paying for the tours (heard many people loved the Saona island day trip). Avoid the guys in the lobby trying to sell you a time share type of thing (unless you want this, of course). With limited time in the resort is hard to manage all the possible things to do so we didn't see the need to spend 1-2 hours listening to a selling pitch in unchanged for a couple of T-shirts, although the 10 minute free helicopter ride was tempting (purchasing this helicopter ride is expensive). Had a great time, the stomach issue put a damp in our trip but we didn't let that ruin the previous amazing 6 days in paradise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graham aka grant
Business
Columbia sc
Aug 30, 2014

Great couples getaway

Very nice quite resort. Nice romantic getaway for couples

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
outotowner
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 26, 2014

Multiple problems with the Room, Staff, and Food Poisoning

I went with my girlfriend to the Ambar for 4 nights/5 days. As a whole, the beach is lovely, and the resort itself is very pretty, but due to the problems in the title, I couldn't recommend this place to someone. Pros: -Location is great, only 30 minutes from Punta Cana Airport. -Mostly Quiet (if you're in a room near the main lobby there will be noise from the band that plays until about 11-12). -Rooms are comfortable and large enough, and jet tubs are standard. -Multiple bars, including many options in terms of both location and drink choice. Cons: -Staff are unreliable. In dealing with my room card which failed twice in 2 days, the staff was unapologetic, lied about no manager being present, and I had to ask to switch rooms to avoid a problem with the door. That said, the manager I was finally able to talk to (after scheduling an appointment, further loosing time on my vacation), did attempt to help. -Food options are limited. Unless you sign up/pay for a VIP service, restaurants are only available for dinner and by reservation. For breakfast and lunch, there are two buffets. However, their hours of operation leave a lot to be desired. -Food safety appears spotty. On multiple occasions, we witnessed food (fish as an exemplar) being left out for well over an hour, non-refrigerated, ants and flies on food regularly, and rotten cheese being re-plated. The end result was my girlfriend getting sick as a result of the food (confirmed by the pharmacist there and back in the US). This was also echoed by upwards of 10 people at the resort at the same time. -Lack of information upon arriving at the resort. Everything we did had to be learnt the hard way. There's no guide to how things work, and you must either trip up, or spend extensive time with guest services. There was no warning on the bathroom to no drink the water (which we knew due to the taxi driver casually mentioning it). Summary: If you want a resort to go for an all inclusive-non-thinking vacation, this is only in the margins. It was frustrating, and despite a manager who listened and tried, the overall experience due to systemic, structural, and behavioral practices of the resort was not relaxing or enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

All restaurants require reservations. These must be made by 3pm. Since you'll see the buffet every breakfast and lunch, be sure to make these early. Also remember that room service, which is included may be a 'safer' option, from a food safety point of view, but is highly limited.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessica Kosbau
Business
Fairfax, Virginia
Aug 20, 2014

Fantastic Staff!

We had the best time at Ambar. The hard working staff and the entire resort was amazing. What a great group of hard workers. Thank you so much for the experience. Loved it! Jessica Kosabu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top