$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
287 reviews
Great All Around

My Wife and I went for our honeymoon and had a great time. Ambar is the way to go for adults,... See full review

  • Rossko
  • Jul 28, 2014
great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive)... See full review

  • Princess Agata
  • Jul 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (287)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shermandanger
Orem, UT
Feb 4, 2013

Great Resort for the Price

We went here for our honeymoon and we had a great time. The beach is pristine, the pool areas are great, the room was great. The ONLY downside to staying here is the food quality. The restaurants are not the greatest, and neither is the room service. The only restaurant we really really liked was the Garden Grill, so make sure to get reservations here as soon as you get here. Other than that it's a great resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to book the restaurants far in advance because they book up quickly.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beachgirl60
Oshawa, ON
Jan 22, 2013

Amazing Week

This resort was amazing from the moment we walked in! Great friendly staff at the desk to greet us and answer any questions we had. We loved the pool and the beach, both very clean and welcoming. Buffet off the lobby was amazing! Great selection of foods available and wonderful staff to satifisy our tastes. We booked each night at a al a carte restaurant, no limits on bookings, and enjoyed every meal at them. Again, stafff attentive, food hot and very tasty, and staff always smiling! Our rooms were cleaned every day, beds made, and turned down at night, bar fridge fully stocked at all times and plenty of towels each day for showers etc. Beach towels were provided and no hassles exchaning them every day. Drinks were amazing and always made fresh for us! If I had to really find anything to complain about, it was the nightly entertainment in the lobby: same music every night we were there. Not the same type of music, but the SAME MUSIC! Obviously a CD someone burned, and played every single night. The songs were from 30 years ago, so good rock and roll, but please, not every night. Would have been nice to hear something different! The shows at night were good for the most part. We only watched a few but they were good. The staff, no matter that their role at the resort, were absolutely amazing at all times. We were very pleased with this resort and would not hesitate to go back. Loved the adults only part of it too, very relaxing for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ELAAELLAELLA
Queens, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2013

Was Super!

Really nice , clean - super friendly helpful staff! will return again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flav0urr
New York, New York
Jan 18, 2013

Amazing resort

I have an all-inclusive -- buffet was definitely better than their specialty restaurants! The resort was just HUGE. Even had trams/little bus stops on every corner for people to travel around. Everyone was super friendly -- I would definitely recommend this resort to everyone i know!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All the attractions are in the hotel. I'm sad that I didn't get to see the well-reviewed Michael Jackson show that was only on Mondays.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juanito M
Pittsburgh PA
Dec 30, 2012

Relax to the max

Perfect relaxation, great food and ourstanding service. Never made it to the various restauirant because the buffet was awesome. Beach and pool area were beautiful. Property is very well kept and clean. Public bathrooms at restaurant and beach were always spotless. Would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stoodin1
Toronto
Dec 25, 2012

Excellent vacation

I and my wife visited this hotel between Dec 16 till 24, 2012. Overall the experience was very good. There were some disappointing moments, but based on our 15 years experience going to different Caribbean Islands it will be always the case. Here is my story: I booked the vacation more than a month prior to departure and almost immediately sent email to the Hotel asking for the corner room on the 3rd floor. I also sent a reminder email about my request a day prior to arrival. We also booked a transportation to Hotel and back to the Airport. When we arrived to the Punta Cana airport nobody was waiting for us with the sign, as we were expected. We found a VIP company booth and asked them about our ride. We didn't note smile or happiness on their faces, but they found our record and after almost half on hour wait at their booth their representative took us to the parking lot were we spent another 20 min under the sun waiting for the car to take us to the Hotel. The ride was quick, 30 min or so. At the hotel we've been told to wait until 3 pm to get our room. When I approach the reception desk around 3 pm the room was NOT ready and they asked us to wait another hour. By this time we were 3-4 hours in their lobby. Finally around 4 pm they gave us a key. The room was NOT the corner one, but was on the third floor, the cleaning lady was still working there and we waited another 15 min until she finished her work. The room was nice, King bad, close to pool and all amenities, as we requested. It would be nice to have a corner room, since we requested well ahead of our arrival, but that was fine. All area in the hotel nice looking, clean, there are always people maintaining and cleaning. Many restaurants around. You can always find food there. A lot of variety, but for people who like delicious food go to Mexico. That said the food was tasty enough. Beach area was good. You can always find the spot, maybe not at the place you want to (have to come around 8am to pick up your favorite place). We had a leaking roof in our room where all our clothes in the closet got vet, but the stuff handled appropriately, moving us to another room and offered a coupon to the Hotel shops. We would like to thank Idelin, who is the Customer Manger who helped us to forget the bad experience and continue to enjoy our vacation. We came back home happy and relaxed. This hotel certainly worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luc1
montreal
Dec 13, 2012

After 5 times it's still a great hotel

We have been going to this hotel for the last 5 years and still love it very much, the service, the people, the food, everything is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

As soon as you arrive at the hotel, reserve your restaurants

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe 123
Grand Bahia Principe Ambar
Dec 8, 2012

Excellent vacation

Pool was awesome, buffets were fantastic. Restaurants were not as expected. Food and choices way better at the buffets. We had a great room and housekeeping staff superb. Most of the staff wer very helpful and accomodating. Little bit of a language barrier but able to communicate just the same. Would highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

I wouldn't bother with reservations for the restaurants buffets have everything you need and more. Tip your servers, housekeeping and everyone else who helps you. They work very hard and deserve to be appreciated.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BO LAP
MICHIGAN
Oct 10, 2012

overall

FIRST OFF THE GRAN BAHIA AMBAR IS ONLY 25 MINUTES FROM THE AIRPORT. WHEN YOU ARRIVE THE HOTEL STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY AND GREETS YOU WITH A REFRESHING BEVERAGE. YOU SHOULD MAKE YOUR DINNER RESERVATIONS AFTER YOU CHECK IN, THE RESERVATIONS FILL UP PRETTY QUICK. YOU GO TO THE GUEST SERVICE AND YOU CAN LOOK AT THE MENUS FOR EACH RESTURAUNT. BY THE WAY THE BUFFET IS VERY NICE AND IF THEY OFFER THE GALA BUFFET THAT IS THE BEST WHICH IS ON THURSDAYS,, ALL YOU CAN EAT LOBSTER YUM...THE ROOMS A NICE WITH A LARGE SHOWER AND JACUZZI TUBS. IF YOU STAY AT AMBAR FOOD IS AVAILABLE VERY CLOSE AT ALL TIMES, NOT THE CASE FOR SOME OF THE OTHER HOTELS ON THE RESORT. YOU HAVE BUFFET IN THE MORNING AND THERE ARE TWO SNACK BARS NEAR THE POOL AND THE OCEAN, BUT THEY ARE MUCH MORE THAN SNACK BARS YOU CAN GET FISH, CHICKEN, FAJITAS STEAK, BURGERS AND MUCH MORE. THE POOL AT THE AMBAR IS VERY CHILL, SO IF YOU JUST WANT TO RELAX THIS IS THE POOL FOR YOU. YOU HAVE ACCESS TO ALL OF THE POOLS ON THE RESORT WHICH ARE WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE. SOME ARE MORE FOR PARTYING AND SOME FOR KIDS YOU HAVE SO MANY OPTIONS. THE BEACH AREA IS UNBELIEVABLE THERE IS MORE SEATING AND SHADED AREAS THAN YOU COULD EVER NEED. ANOTHER TIP FOR THE POOL , BRING YOUR OWN MUG FOR DRINKS THEY WILL FILL ANY SIZE FOR YOU. THE CUPS THEY GIVE YOU ARENT TOO SMALL BUT YOU WILL MAKE MANY LESS TRIPS TO THE BAR. THE RESORT OFFERS MANY SHOPS BUT THEY ARE KIND OF EXPENSIVE, SO BE SURE TO BRING ALL OF YOU OWN LOTIONS AND OTHER NECESSITIES. THE HOTEL OFFERS SMALL SHUTTLE CARTS FROM HOTEL TO HOTEL SO THAT IS GREAT. THE SHUTTLES COME EVERY THREE TO FIVE MINUTES. THERE IS A CASINO BUT IT ISNT ANYTHING SPECIAL BUT YOU CAN STILL HAVE SOME FUN. THE SPORTS BAR IS COOL I THINK THEY HAVE FOUR FLAT SCREENS. THE MAIN LOBBY BAR IS THE BEST THEY OFFER PREMIUM DRINKS,, THEY ARE GREAT.. ONE LAST THING DONT WORRY ABOUT THE WEATHER I WAS SO NERVOUS BECAUSE THE WEATHER CHANNEL SHOWED RAIN EVERY DAY. WE DIDNT SEE ONE DROP OF RAIN,,, I CANT WAIT TO RETURN..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy American
Portland, OR, USA
Oct 2, 2012

adults only paradise

This is my wife and my 5th trip to Ambar and it was the best so far. If we could go more often we would it is just the best vacation spot for us. The Ambar part of Grand Bahia is very well taken care of from the grounds, building maintenance, staff, buffet, and the pool. We are looking again on line to find a great price to go back real soon. Use the butler for everything including a room change. We love the staff and miss that place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the buffet has everything on the planet. Just ask the chef.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search