$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
403 reviews
great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive)... See full review

  • Princess Agata
  • Jul 20, 2014
Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and... See full review

  • Cornel
  • Jun 11, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (403)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmizer
Houston, tx
May 21, 2011

Great time and great hotel

One of the best all inclusives we've ever stayed in. Food was good. Olivio wasn't really mediterranean fare. The beach was fabulous. Always able to get a chair. No service at the beach. Pool was very nice. Staff was vey friendly. Rooms were comfortable. Service was good. Check in and out was easy. Tram service was prompt. Some of a language barrier if you did not speak Spanish

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations for dinner early

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
odriskel
dallas, TX
Jul 3, 2010

GREAT

q

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Dec 11, 2010

Not a bad thing to say

Overall, the value of this hotel can not be beat. We spent less per day on accommodations, dining, cocktails, and entertainment than we usually do going out for dinner and drinks in Chicago. We were celebrating an anniversary, and upon arrival, found our room decorated with ribbons. There was also a nice surprise from our butler on our last night but I won't disclose what it was; don't want to ruin the surprise!The Gran Bahia Prinicpe resort (including all other hotels) is HUGE. There are shuttles provided to get you from point a to b quickly. The run often so you never have to wait long and run from I believe 6 am to 3 am. Ambar is smaller and you can walk anywhere you need to go.The staff are hardworking and friendly. They are willing to help you in any way possible. Tips are included as part of the all-inclusive package, but we tipped our butler for special requests, housekeeping ($3-4/day), bartenders, and servers at dinner ($3-4) each day. The beach is very large and accommodates the other Bahia Principe Resorts on property. That said, there were sometimes children near us on the beach. We didn't mind too much, but if you want complete adults only, the Ambar pool is the place to be. There are two bars and a restaurant pool side. We spent the majority of our time on the beach, but noticed the lounge chairs at the pool filled up quickly. Get there early to get a spot (before 9 am). The Bavaro resort on property is where the nighttime entertainment is. We saw the Michael Jackson show, which was entertaining. Don't expect Broadway performances, but the nightly events at the theater are fun! There's also a casino, sports/karaoke bar, and a "disco" (night club open from 12-2 am). We had a blast at all places!We were there for 6 days/5 nights but didn't even come close to doing everything we thought we'd be able to do. There are daily activities in all the resorts throughout the day, for example dance lessons and yoga on the beach. With all there is to do on property, we mostly took advantage of the water and relaxing on the beach. There are several tour operators on property. We met with Luis from Coco Tours; through [...] we booked airport to hotel transportation and they have several island tours available. We opted for the ziplining tour which was a first for both of us and amazing! For paying with cash over credit card, we got a $10 discount per person. The trek up the mountains was an hour and a half (we were told it was 45 min) but it wasn't too bad because we got to see the island so it was like a bonus tour.I read negative reviews prior to our trip about the food, but didn't let that phase me. You can't expect to be eating at James Beard award winning restaurants in the DR, but the food is good and everyone, even the pickiest of eaters (my boyfriend included), should be able to find something they like. We ate at the buffet for breakfast each day. There are so many options; you're sure to find something you like. There's a "Diet Corner" at the buffet which offers health choices (egg whites, grilled veggies, fresh fruit) which I appreciated. The best restaurant we ate at was Japanese restaurant Maiko at Bavaro. We sat around the Habachi grill and the food was the best we had all week. The grilled lobster at Don Pablo (Ambar) was my second favorite. Ladies, bring your own shampoo/conditioner/body wash/lotion. They provide shampoo, bath gel, and lotion but they are all very watery and didn't really do the trick. There's a blow dryer, but if you have hard-to-manage hair, I recommend bringing your own. They also provide cotton balls, q-tips, nail files, a comb, mini toothbrush/paste (still bring your own), shower cap, and flat loofah. The mini bar in room comes stocked daily with water, club soda, tonic, 7-up, Pepsi, Pepsi light, Orange pop, bag of chips, and flights of vodka, rum, and whiskey. We only drink diet soda so requested that we receive only Pepsi Light; the fulfilled that request immediately and kept it up all...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Email your restaurant reservations to the hotel a week in advance to ensure you get the restaurants you want in the time slots you want. We got to eat at all the restaurants we selected and at preferable times. Others we met who made their reservations upon arrival did not.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michele mother of 3
Woodbridge, NJ
Nov 23, 2009

Incredible Vacation!

We went down without our 4 children for a 4 day break. It was the best vacation we've ever had with or without the kids. The staff was wonderful, the drinks were great, the couples massage was unbelievable. The weather couldn't have been better. We met alot of nice people there on vacation as well, most of them repeaters! That says alot. We'd definately go back and bring the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

I would set up your dinners at the different restaurants when you first get there. Easier and less to think about later.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ninamelie
Chandler, AZ
May 26, 2011

Great AI!

Great hotel! Grounds are beautiful, service is exceptional. We did not have any issues with staff not speaking English. We were able to communicate all of our needs. Food was delicious. Hotel grounds are beautiful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only negative would be that the room was very dark due to hotel using energy efficient bulbs. It might sound silly, but we brought some 100W bulbs with us after reading previous guests reviews. It made a big difference. This hotel has one of the best beaches in Punta Cana since huts are placed close to the water front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Calabasas, CA
Dec 14, 2010

10 nights at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar

My wife and I loved it all. The food and restorants were very acomedating with good food. The looby, pool and beach was very well orgnized and clean. The room and service was on time and friendly. I would go back and recomend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you reserve each night for dining when you arive. Pick a diffrent restorant each night. Even it all they have open is a late reservation. We had few very late reservation and they took us in early...

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lulu g
montreal
Nov 28, 2010

The best quality for your money

This is our 4th time at this location.....we travel quite a bit and honestly this is by far one of our top 5 hotels/destination. The food is great, the service is irreprochable, the cleanliness is unbelievable, the friendliness of the employees is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your restaurants the minute you check in because they are so great they go very fast

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 8, 2010

Great Escape

This place is awesome, I would definitely go back. You can travel between all the resorts and enjoy all the food and entertainment. The staff is very friendly and the service is great. There is a language barrier with some of the staff but remember you are in another country, try to pick up a few words in spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Food was excelent!

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
prpete
south jersey
Sep 15, 2012

one great resort

Have been to a lot of the islands & by far this one of the best. The people are the most friendliness we have met .The hotel went out of their way too make sure you were confortable & if anything was wrong they would correct it quickly. THe beach was kept clean all day & service on the beach was excellent. We will be going back soon,Thanku ,Gran Bahia Principe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

dine at Don Pablo , make reservation as soon as you check in.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal (Laval), Canada
Nov 28, 2010

Wow! Great hotel. Highly recommended.

Great trip from start to finish. The entire place is clean and a real sight for the eyes. Even the beach is cleaned every morning, which is not the case for the other hotels. The food is excellent and can even be compared to what can be found on cruise ships. The staff is friendly and does everything to make your trip one to remember. The only negative comment I have is about the quality of the house wine. If you can, bring your own since you can do so in all of the hotel restaurants and buffets. Very highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The house wine is not really good so bring your own for those special dining moments. You can pick up your wine at the duty free shops in your departure airport.

Back to menu Return to top