$250 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
268 reviews
Excellent relaxing getaway

This place was beautiful. The food was good. The pool and beach was so relaxing. The beach went for... See full review

  • enjoying retirement Don
  • Apr 17, 2014
wonderful location and great beach

This resort was so nice! The beach was perfect, the sand was soft and the drinks cold. See full review

  • overly underwhelmed
  • Mar 28, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
268 out of 268
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
calabacita
Ft.Lauderdale
Jul 6, 2013

Fantastic romantic getaway

The staff was very nice, they were very friendly, we were very satisfied, Will like to do it all over again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed The Garden Grill restaurant, staff was very nice and the food was delicious

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
D.N.
Boston, MA
May 28, 2013

Great adults-only getaway

Pros: -grounds are beautiful and immaculately maintained -resort located on great stretch of beach with plenty of beach chairs and straw umbrellas (though you do have to go on earlier side in the morning to stake out a spot) -plenty of dining options (tip: you can make reservations via email before you arrive) -great service at buffet and restaurants -adults-only pool (though go early if you actually want to swim, most vacationers like to stand around in the pool and drink) -spacious rooms and bathrooms, all kept very clean -mini-fridge in room kept stocked -the resort is part of the larger Bahia Principe group of five resorts, so there are other areas, activities, and restaurants to explore (though most of the food options seem pretty much the same) Things to be aware of: -some service folks (e.g. luggage carriers, cart drivers) may expect a tip from you even though this is supposed to be all-inclusive, including tips -lots of smokers (around pool and on beach)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
TheChuckD
Louisiana
May 14, 2013

Not Perfect, but still good

I did a lot of research prior to picking this resort, so I didn't have many surprises. THE RESORT: Overall, HUGE. The cleanest resort I've ever been too. Someone was constantly cleaning, painting, scrubbing, manicuring, etc. THE ROOM: I asked for 2nd floor, Bldg 64 but got 65 and 3rd floor. No elevators, so you better be in decent shape for the 3rd floor. Other than the location, I had no complaints on the room. Very nice. FOOD: Buffets were good and staff very attentive. Constantly cleaning tables and removing plates and kept glasses full. One of my favorite eating spots on a prior vacation was the beachfront grill and the snack bar didn't quite take the place of this. They didn't let you take plates from the snack bars to the beach area, etc. No place to get a late snack either (other than room service#. POOL/BEACH: Fantastic, beautiful. Had to get up early to get the prime spots, but still both are great. Didn't like that pool closed so early #6pm). OVERALL: I'd highly recommend this resort. Very professional staff. I prefer the friendly approach of resorts I visited in Jamaica to the professional approach that I encountered here, but it was still a fantastic resort and vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for ala cartes a week before your trip for best results.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Studier
Illinois
May 13, 2013

Amazing honeymoon

We had an amazing time on our honeymoon. Monday night Michael Jackson show was awesome, Wednesday night lobster buffet was amazing, staff at the beach running the games were very friendly and hilarious. We will definitely be back to this resort. The only complaint is that we had to come home!! The "adults only" was also very nice. We visited the other pools and they weren't nearly as nice/fun as the adults one at the Ambar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book dinner reservations as soon as you arrive. Don't book for Wednesday because that's when there is lobster in the buffet and its to die for. Don Pablo restaurant was amazing. Wish we would have gone there at least twice. Tip the bartenders and the staff.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
island hoppa
Fairfax, VA, USA
May 3, 2013

Just ok not great

It's a nice resort but the only thing making it adult only is an invisible line from posted signs. Multiple resorts on the same property so plenty of options but the lack of wifi outside of the main lobby was a bit annoying. To get connected in the room it was a pay service. Food was best in the buffet as well as the serving staff, Ana was great. Victor at the lobby bar is always smiling and will flip some bottles to keep things lively. The beach was just ok as most days caution flags were out. The view was nice on the beach, no views from the room mostly garden except one building with pool views. The room was ok but a little hard to cool. No elevators so if you don't like steps stick to the 1st or 2nd floor. Also be careful on the bathroom floors they use a polished marble and it's slippery when wet so get a couple extra towels to put down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
llayman
Springfield, MO
May 3, 2013

Perfection

My husband and I spent 5 days at this hotel and loved EVERY minute of it. Our room was excellent, 2nd floor, corner room with a king size bed. The staff at this resort will practically bend over backwards to make you happy. Now the food is not what I would consider a 5* restaurant, but they are preparing food for the masses and I would guess that most buffet restaurants are not considered 5* for most. I would travel back to this resort in a heartbeat, and I'm already wishing we had another vacation in the works so we could travel back! Thanks to the Ambar & the entire Gran Bahia resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
The movie star
California
Apr 30, 2013

Fantastic place

The only bad part was checking in it took 3 hours beds are very hard I was going for my weading anniversity I request a queen bed and I got 2 double beds very hard beds and uncumfortable but everything else very nice trip the food is great the staf is great nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Need to make reservation for gourmet restaurant bring nice clothe

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Creatnutr
DC
Apr 29, 2013

Great resort, friendly staff, and clean...clean...clean

Loved the resort. It had a lovely beach, well maintained landscape, and wonderful staff. I would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the restaurants right when you arrive.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
SkyPieLot
Michigan
Apr 29, 2013

As advertised!

This was our 25th wedding anniversary trip, and our 4th all-inclusive. The prior three were in Mexico-Riviera Maya & the hotel zone. This was the best one overall - and that's comparing it to the Gran Bahia (same chain) Principe Tulum in Mexico, which was really good, don't get me wrong, but this was better. Beach - Top notch. The covered seats filled quickly, but there are so many, and the beach so long (access to Esmeralda as well), that we didn't have a problem. We found that by mid afternoon, some would clear out, paving the way for moving up. Pools - Excellent. Food - As good or better than the others. Tip: we emailed our a la carte restaurant reservations 10 days before arrived. They were waiting for us. Also, most of them open at 6:00 PM. None of them had a long line at 6:00; in fact, we were the 1st ones in twice. Rooms - As other's have mentioned, the corner rooms are a bit bigger. We emailed our request that we get a corner room, and we did. Overall - Great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Colette and Debbie
Ottawa, Ontario
Apr 28, 2013

Amazing Adults only experience

It was my first time to Punta Cana and I had a wonderful time. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. I didn't want for anything. The food was 5 star all the way, and the service was outstanding. I definitely will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Don Pablo French cuisine restaurant was the best of all Al a Carte restaurants.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
winter couple's retreat
New York, New York
Apr 23, 2013

nice couples retreat

we enjoyed are stay at the hotel. Very clean, good food selections, nice staff. We had no issues and would recommend the adults only section for couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top