$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stoodin1
Toronto
Dec 25, 2012

Excellent vacation

I and my wife visited this hotel between Dec 16 till 24, 2012. Overall the experience was very good. There were some disappointing moments, but based on our 15 years experience going to different Caribbean Islands it will be always the case. Here is my story: I booked the vacation more than a month prior to departure and almost immediately sent email to the Hotel asking for the corner room on the 3rd floor. I also sent a reminder email about my request a day prior to arrival. We also booked a transportation to Hotel and back to the Airport. When we arrived to the Punta Cana airport nobody was waiting for us with the sign, as we were expected. We found a VIP company booth and asked them about our ride. We didn't note smile or happiness on their faces, but they found our record and after almost half on hour wait at their booth their representative took us to the parking lot were we spent another 20 min under the sun waiting for the car to take us to the Hotel. The ride was quick, 30 min or so. At the hotel we've been told to wait until 3 pm to get our room. When I approach the reception desk around 3 pm the room was NOT ready and they asked us to wait another hour. By this time we were 3-4 hours in their lobby. Finally around 4 pm they gave us a key. The room was NOT the corner one, but was on the third floor, the cleaning lady was still working there and we waited another 15 min until she finished her work. The room was nice, King bad, close to pool and all amenities, as we requested. It would be nice to have a corner room, since we requested well ahead of our arrival, but that was fine. All area in the hotel nice looking, clean, there are always people maintaining and cleaning. Many restaurants around. You can always find food there. A lot of variety, but for people who like delicious food go to Mexico. That said the food was tasty enough. Beach area was good. You can always find the spot, maybe not at the place you want to (have to come around 8am to pick up your favorite place). We had a leaking roof in our room where all our clothes in the closet got vet, but the stuff handled appropriately, moving us to another room and offered a coupon to the Hotel shops. We would like to thank Idelin, who is the Customer Manger who helped us to forget the bad experience and continue to enjoy our vacation. We came back home happy and relaxed. This hotel certainly worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iosif P.
Business
N/A
Feb 17, 2015

vacation for two.

Nice and clean resort, near far from an airport. Good size of rooms. Fresh food, outstanding dinners in buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JY
Business
lawrenceville
Feb 13, 2015

Wonderful honeymoon experience

We had a great time during our stay at Bahia Principe (the adults only). The dining experience was great as long as you booked your reservations the first or second day you arrive. The drink specialty called "Bahia Principe" was one of our favorites on top of bloody marys. Another must try is called "Manajuana" but pronounced like "mama-wanna", its DR special kind of drink. The walk to the beach is short which I loved and transportation is everywhere since the resort is very large and consists of 4 other resorts under the same company. The adults only is totally worth the money because you receive exclusive rights to all other resorts whereas others don't get the same. No kids running around during our stay within in our area which we really enjoyed since we were on our honeymoon. It is helpful if you are fluent or know some spanish because although they speak english, you get more attention if you spoke or knew a little spanish. Overall it was a good trip and we would definitely come back to Bahia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joel
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

GREAT Trip

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Bed was good. Amenities as resort were great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Email a week before trip if you ask for reservations for the sit down reservations.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rakesh K.
Business
north dartmouth
Feb 4, 2015

Excellent

Overall excellent experience ! Definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steve
Business
Fredericksburg
Feb 4, 2015

Service needs help….

We booked our stay at this hotel to stay somewhere more affordable while vacationing to Punta Cana for our friends wedding at Hard Rock. We are very easy to please and not a lot of things bother us, but we were immediately shocked at how unfriendly and unwelcoming some of the staff were. We were made to feel like a huge inconvenience when we arrived and asked how to make dinner reservations. Eye rolls and blunt language are not what you expect when your supposed to be in "paradise". One night, I stopped to ask the resort manager a question and he threw his hands up at me yelling, "No english, no english!!". I understand that this is a Spanish speaking country but he did not even give me a chance to get a few words in before cutting me off and walking away. There were manyy times when we felt ignored, mistreated, and disrespected but nothing tops our lunch experience one day. We accidentally entered the restaurant fifteen minutes before they were supposed to open (honest mistake, who wears a watch on vacation?!), a male staff member physically put his hands on my fiancé and I and pushed us out of the restaurant yelling at us that it was not open yet. We should have immediately went to the front desk and reported it but to be honest we were SHOCKED and ANGRY. Never have we ever received such poor treatment. In addition to the poor treatment from staff, the beach was FULL of seaweed. We could not go into the water without being surrounded. We understand that the resort cannot control the ocean, but it was still disappointing. Reserved beach chairs are also a huge issue, unless you put your towel out the night before, you are not getting a front row seat. It was frustrating to get on the beach at 830 in the morning and have to sit three rows back, while the people with reserved spots up front don't come to the beach until noon… Needless to say, this is the first vacation where we actually considered buying a flight home early. Luckily, our stay was divided between this resort and the Hard Rock. Hard Rock is triple the price, but if we ever came back to D.R we would absolutely pay it just to be treated better by staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jigar P
Business
WATERFORD
Jan 26, 2015

Relaxing Honeymoon :-)

This was my first all inclusive vacation with my wife and we had a wonderful time. The amenities were great, Beach, pool and new room at Ambar (Don Pablo collection) was good, food was excellent, luxurious service with outstanding staff. Ambar is the way to go for adults, beverages were top shelf and all inclusive.We enjoyed all of our excursions.The resort itself was beautiful and well maintained. Getting around was extremely easy. Golf carts and staff were always available and ready to get you where you needed to go I really recommend the Luxury BP Ambar hotel!..Loved it..:-)..we will coming back next year. xoxox

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry M.
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

wonderful vacation

The resort was beautiful and clean good food and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amara D.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Awesome sister getaway

We had an amazing time. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and kind. Definetely check out the rodizio grill best restaurant at the hotel we loved everything about this hotel not one complaint

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher B.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Great Vacation: Avoid VIP Travel for Short Stays

Hotel was great! Book reservations for a la carte well in advance. Don Pablo and Bella Italia were very good. Also, be sure to tip the maids daily (not much, $2-5 or they might forget to restock your mini-bar). Bars at the beach serve weaker drinks and less potent liqour than those in the main lobby. Everyone's extremely friendly for the most part, and a few dollars in tips gona long way to get faster service. Beach dance party was lots of fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Skip the VIP travel services transportation package. I was very irritated as I was only at the resort for three nights, and they made me and my girlfriend sit for a half hour presentation the morning of my second day. I only went because I didn't want to jeopardize my return taxi, but they made me feel like I was being held hostage for "5 Dominican minutes". Glad he had a funny joke for wasting my time. If you do not plan on booking an excursion through them I would recommend asserting yourself in the beginning (just give them your voucher and say "what time do I need to be in the lobby"). They also make you leave 3 hours before your flight to reduce liability on their end, and we wasted time waiting for them to fill the bus. Next time I'll pay the extra $50 and get a cab both ways (along with your liberty), especially if you want to make every day count.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aruba Beach Bum
Business
Verona
Dec 31, 2014

Beautiful Landscape with deluxe buffet dinners

Very nice hotel with friendly staff. The buffet dinners were excellent with free wine & cocktails daily. The only complaints we have are the following: No hot tubs in the main pool area. No beach towels given at the pool. Must bring towels from room only. No hotel operated bus to/from airport. The ground is very well maintained with beautiful flowers. The staff is well trained with with smiling faces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you wish to dine in any of the select restaurants, the reservations must be made 2-3 days ahead or you will not be able to get in.

Back to menu Return to top