$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 11, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy American
Portland, OR, USA
Oct 2, 2012

adults only paradise

This is my wife and my 5th trip to Ambar and it was the best so far. If we could go more often we would it is just the best vacation spot for us. The Ambar part of Grand Bahia is very well taken care of from the grounds, building maintenance, staff, buffet, and the pool. We are looking again on line to find a great price to go back real soon. Use the butler for everything including a room change. We love the staff and miss that place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the buffet has everything on the planet. Just ask the chef.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rakesh K.
Business
north dartmouth
Feb 4, 2015

Excellent

Overall excellent experience ! Definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steve
Business
Fredericksburg
Feb 4, 2015

Service needs help….

We booked our stay at this hotel to stay somewhere more affordable while vacationing to Punta Cana for our friends wedding at Hard Rock. We are very easy to please and not a lot of things bother us, but we were immediately shocked at how unfriendly and unwelcoming some of the staff were. We were made to feel like a huge inconvenience when we arrived and asked how to make dinner reservations. Eye rolls and blunt language are not what you expect when your supposed to be in "paradise". One night, I stopped to ask the resort manager a question and he threw his hands up at me yelling, "No english, no english!!". I understand that this is a Spanish speaking country but he did not even give me a chance to get a few words in before cutting me off and walking away. There were manyy times when we felt ignored, mistreated, and disrespected but nothing tops our lunch experience one day. We accidentally entered the restaurant fifteen minutes before they were supposed to open (honest mistake, who wears a watch on vacation?!), a male staff member physically put his hands on my fiancé and I and pushed us out of the restaurant yelling at us that it was not open yet. We should have immediately went to the front desk and reported it but to be honest we were SHOCKED and ANGRY. Never have we ever received such poor treatment. In addition to the poor treatment from staff, the beach was FULL of seaweed. We could not go into the water without being surrounded. We understand that the resort cannot control the ocean, but it was still disappointing. Reserved beach chairs are also a huge issue, unless you put your towel out the night before, you are not getting a front row seat. It was frustrating to get on the beach at 830 in the morning and have to sit three rows back, while the people with reserved spots up front don't come to the beach until noon… Needless to say, this is the first vacation where we actually considered buying a flight home early. Luckily, our stay was divided between this resort and the Hard Rock. Hard Rock is triple the price, but if we ever came back to D.R we would absolutely pay it just to be treated better by staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jigar P
Business
WATERFORD
Jan 26, 2015

Relaxing Honeymoon :-)

This was my first all inclusive vacation with my wife and we had a wonderful time. The amenities were great, Beach, pool and new room at Ambar (Don Pablo collection) was good, food was excellent, luxurious service with outstanding staff. Ambar is the way to go for adults, beverages were top shelf and all inclusive.We enjoyed all of our excursions.The resort itself was beautiful and well maintained. Getting around was extremely easy. Golf carts and staff were always available and ready to get you where you needed to go I really recommend the Luxury BP Ambar hotel!..Loved it..:-)..we will coming back next year. xoxox

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry M.
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

wonderful vacation

The resort was beautiful and clean good food and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amara D.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Awesome sister getaway

We had an amazing time. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and kind. Definetely check out the rodizio grill best restaurant at the hotel we loved everything about this hotel not one complaint

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher B.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Great Vacation: Avoid VIP Travel for Short Stays

Hotel was great! Book reservations for a la carte well in advance. Don Pablo and Bella Italia were very good. Also, be sure to tip the maids daily (not much, $2-5 or they might forget to restock your mini-bar). Bars at the beach serve weaker drinks and less potent liqour than those in the main lobby. Everyone's extremely friendly for the most part, and a few dollars in tips gona long way to get faster service. Beach dance party was lots of fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Skip the VIP travel services transportation package. I was very irritated as I was only at the resort for three nights, and they made me and my girlfriend sit for a half hour presentation the morning of my second day. I only went because I didn't want to jeopardize my return taxi, but they made me feel like I was being held hostage for "5 Dominican minutes". Glad he had a funny joke for wasting my time. If you do not plan on booking an excursion through them I would recommend asserting yourself in the beginning (just give them your voucher and say "what time do I need to be in the lobby"). They also make you leave 3 hours before your flight to reduce liability on their end, and we wasted time waiting for them to fill the bus. Next time I'll pay the extra $50 and get a cab both ways (along with your liberty), especially if you want to make every day count.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aruba Beach Bum
Business
Verona
Dec 31, 2014

Beautiful Landscape with deluxe buffet dinners

Very nice hotel with friendly staff. The buffet dinners were excellent with free wine & cocktails daily. The only complaints we have are the following: No hot tubs in the main pool area. No beach towels given at the pool. Must bring towels from room only. No hotel operated bus to/from airport. The ground is very well maintained with beautiful flowers. The staff is well trained with with smiling faces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you wish to dine in any of the select restaurants, the reservations must be made 2-3 days ahead or you will not be able to get in.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob M.
Business
North Andover
Dec 30, 2014

Very nice despite a few "bugs"

Beautiful property/grounds/rooms. Staff very friendly, willing to please. Wonderful sand beach. My kids kept referring to the place as "paradise". Nice number of varied activities day and night. As for the negatives, despite the abundance of choices at the buffets, much of the food was "eh" although there was always enough to satisfy. Several guests including myself had to go back a couple of times to get a working "room key" because the magnetic stripe on the card stopped working. Getting wifi in the lobby was often much easier said than done. Shouldn't have to call four days out of 5 to get a plumber to fix the toilet. Overall, it was a very nice place and excellent value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take the half day zipline adventure tour up in the mountain. It's great!

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Honeymooners
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Nice Trip

Large complex as their are four resorts. Pool and beach area is very clean with a lot of room to layout and enjoy the sun. The buffet in the main area was fantastic for each meal. We recommend going to the Brazilian steakhouse for the ala-carte dinner. Only blemish is the service was average. We felt as though we were a burden to request drinks or food on a few occasions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashraf R.
Business
New York
Dec 29, 2014

Heaven on earh

I have not experienced such luxurious service before. The staff was outstanding, I feel their policy is "if it's legal, we will make it happen".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top