$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob M.
Business
North Andover
Dec 30, 2014

Very nice despite a few "bugs"

Beautiful property/grounds/rooms. Staff very friendly, willing to please. Wonderful sand beach. My kids kept referring to the place as "paradise". Nice number of varied activities day and night. As for the negatives, despite the abundance of choices at the buffets, much of the food was "eh" although there was always enough to satisfy. Several guests including myself had to go back a couple of times to get a working "room key" because the magnetic stripe on the card stopped working. Getting wifi in the lobby was often much easier said than done. Shouldn't have to call four days out of 5 to get a plumber to fix the toilet. Overall, it was a very nice place and excellent value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take the half day zipline adventure tour up in the mountain. It's great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Honeymooners
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Nice Trip

Large complex as their are four resorts. Pool and beach area is very clean with a lot of room to layout and enjoy the sun. The buffet in the main area was fantastic for each meal. We recommend going to the Brazilian steakhouse for the ala-carte dinner. Only blemish is the service was average. We felt as though we were a burden to request drinks or food on a few occasions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashraf R.
Business
New York
Dec 29, 2014

Heaven on earh

I have not experienced such luxurious service before. The staff was outstanding, I feel their policy is "if it's legal, we will make it happen".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Julian W.
Business
Waynesboro
Dec 29, 2014

Not a good trip

My wife and I have visited Punta Cana over 10 times staying at various resorts. This trip was the worse one by far. We upgraded to the Ambar section in hopes of experiencing the upgraded treatment we usually get from other resorts. When we arrived there was a line at the check in desk and we had to wait. We upgrade to avoid this. We were advised to reserve dinner at the restaurants via the customer service section which entailed another long wait in line. We decided to eat at the main buffet the first night. We were in the lobby bar (very small) for a few before dinner drinks. I noticed a crowd gathering at the buffet entrance prior to the time it opened. Once the doors were open the crowd rushed in which seemed strange. Once inside the buffet I learned why. The buffet is very small and the serving line area the smallest of any I have seen in Punta Cana. It was almost a fight to get to the food. To bypass this scene at our next meal we decided to go an hour into the service. We were greeted with less people but no food. Almost all the servicing trays were empty and I waited over 15 minutes for them to be re filled which did not happen. I then realized why everyone rushed the door and fought for food the time the doors open. The staff seemed to be trying to rush you to finish your meal and leave as soon as possible. Other than the staff at the buffet the other employees tried to make our stay a pleasant one. The web site and a publication furnished us upon our arrival indicated there was a casino located at the Ambar. This information turned out to be false. There was a Casino located about a mile away that served all of the motels located in the compound (around 4 or 5 resorts) and was not large enough to accomplish this task. To sum things up I did not feel special at this resort despite paying for an upgrade. That was the bad, now for some good. The Brazilian restaurant experience was fun and I suggest you eat there at least once. We were there for my birthday and the staff prepared me a cake which was a nice treat. The housekeeper assigned to our room was great and did her best for us. The wait staff on the beach were very good although overworked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Save your money and don't book the Ambar because you will still be treated like cattle despite the upgrade.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nacera g.
Business
N/A
Dec 21, 2014

below my expectations

Our first stay at this hotel ,Resort was huge ,Stuff very friendly ? food was ok almost same every Day jus a bit disappointed about transportation back and forth we almost lost our flight Coming home ? gym was very small just you need to get up early to work out and same for pool early to save chair otherwise u won't be able to enjoy the sun and ocean ..I'm not sure Coming back but definitely I will go again to Punta cana at dreams was my first trip and love it ???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Honeymooners
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Nice Trip

Large complex as their are four resorts. Pool and beach area is very clean with a lot of room to layout and enjoy the sun. The buffet in the main area was fantastic for each meal. We recommend going to the Brazilian steakhouse for the ala-carte dinner. Only blemish is the service was average. We felt as though we were a burden to request drinks or food on a few occasions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashraf R.
Business
New York
Dec 16, 2014

Heaven on earh

I have not experienced such luxurious service before. The staff was outstanding, I feel their policy is "if it's legal, we will make it happen".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Julian W.
Business
Waynesboro
Dec 16, 2014

Not a good trip

My wife and I have visited Punta Cana over 10 times staying at various resorts. This trip was the worse one by far. We upgraded to the Ambar section in hopes of experiencing the upgraded treatment we usually get from other resorts. When we arrived there was a line at the check in desk and we had to wait. We upgrade to avoid this. We were advised to reserve dinner at the restaurants via the customer service section which entailed another long wait in line. We decided to eat at the main buffet the first night. We were in the lobby bar (very small) for a few before dinner drinks. I noticed a crowd gathering at the buffet entrance prior to the time it opened. Once the doors were open the crowd rushed in which seemed strange. Once inside the buffet I learned why. The buffet is very small and the serving line area the smallest of any I have seen in Punta Cana. It was almost a fight to get to the food. To bypass this scene at our next meal we decided to go an hour into the service. We were greeted with less people but no food. Almost all the servicing trays were empty and I waited over 15 minutes for them to be re filled which did not happen. I then realized why everyone rushed the door and fought for food the time the doors open. The staff seemed to be trying to rush you to finish your meal and leave as soon as possible. Other than the staff at the buffet the other employees tried to make our stay a pleasant one. The web site and a publication furnished us upon our arrival indicated there was a casino located at the Ambar. This information turned out to be false. There was a Casino located about a mile away that served all of the motels located in the compound (around 4 or 5 resorts) and was not large enough to accomplish this task. To sum things up I did not feel special at this resort despite paying for an upgrade. That was the bad, now for some good. The Brazilian restaurant experience was fun and I suggest you eat there at least once. We were there for my birthday and the staff prepared me a cake which was a nice treat. The housekeeper assigned to our room was great and did her best for us. The wait staff on the beach were very good although overworked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
minieod
Business
Cambridge, MA
Dec 10, 2014

Great vacation spot!

This was my first all inclusive vacation with my girlfriend and we had a wonderful time. The amenities were great, the room was good (could have been better, but how often was I in there? 8 or so hours a night to sleep). Food was great, the a la cartes were very good. I highly recommend Don Pablo, Rodizio, any of the hibachi / teppanyaki places, and Los Corales. The excursions available were so much fun. We went on the Adventure Buggy's and had a blast, and got soaked and muddy (bring old clothes, or do a bathtub wash like we did for our clothes and shoes - oops). It was 4 hours long. Our friends that we met at the resort did the Extreme Buggy and it was a day long trip (815am - 5pm) and had horseback riding and lunch included. $60 vs $160, though The beach and pool were both very nice, they were usually quiet and peaceful, until 1pm or so and more and more drinks were served. Bring a thermos or bubba keg for drinks, it is much more handy than the small plastic cups they give out (and they will fill the thermos all the way with whatever you want). Bring plastic clips for beach towels to stay on the chairs, if you want, we didn't - they tuck in well to the sides. But they can probably be found on amazon.com for cheap. I did not use the room safe, just in case, and brought a masterlock travel safe which worked great for passports, phones, and cash. There are a bunch of shops about a 15-20 minute walk down the beach (past the Iberostar hotel) - do your shopping and haggling there! Do not buy anything at the Bahia shops, they are expensive and can't haggle. I loved this place, and while I might not go back to THIS particular resort in the future, I would definitely stay at another Bahia resort, especially adults only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lifeisgood123
Business
san jose, california
Nov 20, 2014

good stay

If you like the beach and food, great place. Check list: 1. Make your speciality restaurant reservations online before you get there or asap when you arrive at guest services. 2. If you stay at Ambar or Esmeralda you have access to Bavaro, turquoise, and Punta cana resort food (all in the same location). Opposite not true. Food at Ambar/Esmeralda is better. 3. No fins are provided for snorkling, there is a charge 4. Masks/Snorkles, Kayaks and surf boards are free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You have to book your specialty restaurants as soon as you arrive or even better before you arrive online. Even if you book online, you need to check on your reservations as soon as you get there or call ahead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top