$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, USA
Jan 26, 2011

Gran bahia Principe Ambar

I went to the pool, beach, wonderful restaurant that we made reservations, to the theater and the night club. We had a wonderful time, No complains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Spanish restaurant or El espanol was very good.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 9, 2011

Beautiful Resort: Food not up to par

Beautiful, well kept, clean amenities. Nice, fun, laid back experience in the adult resort. Lots of int'l travelers from Europe, Russia, N & S America. Helps to speak a little Spanish; Staff English fluency varies from ok to none. Hotel operators were unintelligible. Food quantity, quality and presentation are great, but prep is weak. Steaks and seafood were often overcooked, under spiced, and vegetables were overcooked to inedible state. No attempt to offer "local" DR island cuisine, sauces, flavors. This is the only major weakness of this resort. The back 500'of the beach is "adult only", but 100' of sand to the waters edge is open across all the resorts, so expect to see lots of kids and families in the gulf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Get to the pool before 8:30 if you hope to hold a lounge chair under an umbrella. After that the sunny spots remain only 'til ~9. You can park your towels after 8AM to "hold" your spot. If you come before 8AM you need to sit in chairs, or security will pull your towels. Pool opens at 8AM, Swim up bar at 10AM.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elle_ny
Business
ny,ny
Jan 7, 2011

Even better the second time around!

My fiance and I vacationed at the GBP Ambar over Christmas and New Year's, and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was so accommodating and the beach was as beautiful as we remembered from the first time around. We especially appreciated the security around the pool area, who made sure that loungers weren't just left for hours unclaimed/unused. They made sure that those who wanted loungers by the pool had to stay in them until 8am in order to claim them for the day (prevents people from waking up crazy early to claim spots without using them all morning). We stayed at the GBP Ambar in May and enjoyed it that time around as well. The resort is much better when it is high season, as all the restaurants and facilities are open. The food is good at the resort, but I wouldn't say to stay at this resort if you are a foodie because the a la carte restos leave a lot to be desired (except for the Japanese ones, which are ok). We usually stuck with the buffet most nights, which was ok... there are a lot of potato and other starchy options but the meat was disappointing (even if it was always there). I think this resort should invest in sending their chefs to restaurants in the US that do dishes well so they can learn how to use the ingredients so that they shine. I know that sounds harsh, but it was disappointing to see all the potential of the ingredients wasted on bad cooking. Also, I think it would be better if the resort tried to do basic food better than do stuff like seafood mousse and foie gras badly. Just a thought. I went to the resort mostly because of the service, the rooms, and the beach. People who enjoy top shelf liquor and good food should look elsewhere. Cheers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Active grandma
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Dec 25, 2010

Very relaxing

Our first trip to Dominican Republic. We were lucky with the weather - no rains, warm, pleasant, not hot, not humid, excellent sandy beaches you can walk along for miles...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good buffet restaurants - clean, with variety of food, extremely friendly staff. A fancy a-la-carte restaurant "Don Pablo" was absolutely no good! - menu was not interesting, staff was slow and forgetful.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Suestew
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Dec 17, 2010

Ambar Fails to Deliver

We stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar, all adults section of this hotel. The grounds are beautiful & the beach is lovely. The Michael Jackson show was entertaining & the trams ran consistently to all parts of the resort. That being said, the rest of the resort needs some serious attention. The staff, as a whole, made us feel like we were bothering them when we asked for things. The exceptions to that were the pool bartenders & the maids. The more "prestigious" the restaurant, the snootier the staff got. The biggest disappointment was the food, especially at Don Pablo's "gourmet" restaurant. We ate here at 9:30 PM on Weds. There was an a la carte menu and a tasting menu. We were denied ordering the tasting menu unless the whole table wanted it. They also attempted to charge for the house wine at this restaurant only. We were required to get reservations for everything but the buffets. There was no ability to just walk in and wait for an open table. NONE of the restaurants were full when we ate at them. Changing our assigned reservations was difficult and we were forced to eat later than we preferred (after 8:30) every night. The replenishing of the mini bar was inconsistent at best. Sometimes we got things (beer, chips, sodas) and sometimes we didn't. The "butler" service was basically non-existent. Never did meet ours...in fact we weren't even told about the service upon checkin. Our friends who we travelled with knew about it because of reading reviews online. The miniature golf course was fun. There was definitely the "towel" game at the pool and the chairs closet to the water at the beach. The alcoholic drinks at the pool were weak and "rot gut" type liquor (Normandy brand to be exact). Really sweet and syrupy. The lobby bar had name brands but only some were included. Jack Danials, Finlandia, etc. had an extra charge. There was free wi-fi in the lobby but it was next to impossible to connect because it was so slow. Breakfast buffets were exactly the same every morning...no variety at all. The best lunch buffet was at the main pool in the Bavaro section as the hamburgers were made on the spot. Every place else the food sat in chafing dishes and got cold quickly. Women can go topless at the beach only. This was our 4th all inclusive vacation in as many years - 1 in Cancun, 1 in Playa del Carmen, 1 in La Romana, Dominican Republic, and this one in Punta Cana. It would rank last in my opinion. The Sunscape Casa Del Mar in La Romana (I think it is now a Dreams) and the Valentin Imperial Maya in Playa would be our favorites (4 1/2 stars). The other resort we've been to is the Royal Caribe in Cancun. I'd give that a 3 star. The drive to the airport is about 30 minutes. I won't return to this resort and wouldn't recommend it when there are so many others that provide better service and food (ie. Excellence, Paradisus, Majestic...just to name a few). Hope this review helps you make a choice about where to go in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Upon checkin ask who your butler is and contact them immediately. They should be able to help with restaurant reservations, spa appointments, pillow menu selections, etc. You only receive 3 reservations for a 7 night vacation on checkin so if you want to eat at some of the other a la carte restaurants you have to make reservations as soon as you arrive for the best selection.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calabasas, CA
Dec 14, 2010

10 nights at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar

My wife and I loved it all. The food and restorants were very acomedating with good food. The looby, pool and beach was very well orgnized and clean. The room and service was on time and friendly. I would go back and recomend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you reserve each night for dining when you arive. Pick a diffrent restorant each night. Even it all they have open is a late reservation. We had few very late reservation and they took us in early...

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 11, 2010

Not a bad thing to say

Overall, the value of this hotel can not be beat. We spent less per day on accommodations, dining, cocktails, and entertainment than we usually do going out for dinner and drinks in Chicago. We were celebrating an anniversary, and upon arrival, found our room decorated with ribbons. There was also a nice surprise from our butler on our last night but I won't disclose what it was; don't want to ruin the surprise!The Gran Bahia Prinicpe resort (including all other hotels) is HUGE. There are shuttles provided to get you from point a to b quickly. The run often so you never have to wait long and run from I believe 6 am to 3 am. Ambar is smaller and you can walk anywhere you need to go.The staff are hardworking and friendly. They are willing to help you in any way possible. Tips are included as part of the all-inclusive package, but we tipped our butler for special requests, housekeeping ($3-4/day), bartenders, and servers at dinner ($3-4) each day. The beach is very large and accommodates the other Bahia Principe Resorts on property. That said, there were sometimes children near us on the beach. We didn't mind too much, but if you want complete adults only, the Ambar pool is the place to be. There are two bars and a restaurant pool side. We spent the majority of our time on the beach, but noticed the lounge chairs at the pool filled up quickly. Get there early to get a spot (before 9 am). The Bavaro resort on property is where the nighttime entertainment is. We saw the Michael Jackson show, which was entertaining. Don't expect Broadway performances, but the nightly events at the theater are fun! There's also a casino, sports/karaoke bar, and a "disco" (night club open from 12-2 am). We had a blast at all places!We were there for 6 days/5 nights but didn't even come close to doing everything we thought we'd be able to do. There are daily activities in all the resorts throughout the day, for example dance lessons and yoga on the beach. With all there is to do on property, we mostly took advantage of the water and relaxing on the beach. There are several tour operators on property. We met with Luis from Coco Tours; through [...] we booked airport to hotel transportation and they have several island tours available. We opted for the ziplining tour which was a first for both of us and amazing! For paying with cash over credit card, we got a $10 discount per person. The trek up the mountains was an hour and a half (we were told it was 45 min) but it wasn't too bad because we got to see the island so it was like a bonus tour.I read negative reviews prior to our trip about the food, but didn't let that phase me. You can't expect to be eating at James Beard award winning restaurants in the DR, but the food is good and everyone, even the pickiest of eaters (my boyfriend included), should be able to find something they like. We ate at the buffet for breakfast each day. There are so many options; you're sure to find something you like. There's a "Diet Corner" at the buffet which offers health choices (egg whites, grilled veggies, fresh fruit) which I appreciated. The best restaurant we ate at was Japanese restaurant Maiko at Bavaro. We sat around the Habachi grill and the food was the best we had all week. The grilled lobster at Don Pablo (Ambar) was my second favorite. Ladies, bring your own shampoo/conditioner/body wash/lotion. They provide shampoo, bath gel, and lotion but they are all very watery and didn't really do the trick. There's a blow dryer, but if you have hard-to-manage hair, I recommend bringing your own. They also provide cotton balls, q-tips, nail files, a comb, mini toothbrush/paste (still bring your own), shower cap, and flat loofah. The mini bar in room comes stocked daily with water, club soda, tonic, 7-up, Pepsi, Pepsi light, Orange pop, bag of chips, and flights of vodka, rum, and whiskey. We only drink diet soda so requested that we receive only Pepsi Light; the fulfilled that request immediately and kept it up all...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Email your restaurant reservations to the hotel a week in advance to ensure you get the restaurants you want in the time slots you want. We got to eat at all the restaurants we selected and at preferable times. Others we met who made their reservations upon arrival did not.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lulu g
Business
montreal
Nov 28, 2010

The best quality for your money

This is our 4th time at this location.....we travel quite a bit and honestly this is by far one of our top 5 hotels/destination. The food is great, the service is irreprochable, the cleanliness is unbelievable, the friendliness of the employees is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your restaurants the minute you check in because they are so great they go very fast

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal (Laval), Canada
Nov 28, 2010

Wow! Great hotel. Highly recommended.

Great trip from start to finish. The entire place is clean and a real sight for the eyes. Even the beach is cleaned every morning, which is not the case for the other hotels. The food is excellent and can even be compared to what can be found on cruise ships. The staff is friendly and does everything to make your trip one to remember. The only negative comment I have is about the quality of the house wine. If you can, bring your own since you can do so in all of the hotel restaurants and buffets. Very highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The house wine is not really good so bring your own for those special dining moments. You can pick up your wine at the duty free shops in your departure airport.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
married couple without kids
Business
phillipsburg,nj
Nov 20, 2010

No kids allowed resort!

Resort perfect for a lazy vacation without leaving the resort. A better selection of food and actual dominican food. Compared to different trips, this was pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Short walk to the main entertainment area. There's constant trolly's to take you everywhere you need to go.

Back to menu Return to top