$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 25, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
292 reviews
Great All Around

My Wife and I went for our honeymoon and had a great time. Ambar is the way to go for adults,... See full review

  • Rossko
  • Jul 28, 2014
great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive)... See full review

  • Princess Agata
  • Jul 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (292)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx N.Y.
Aug 22, 2010

Fantastic vacation

The hotel was in a beautiful location. The suite was big and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 21, 2010

Nice hotel, Terrible service

Check-in at this hotel required us to pay an additional $140 daily for 4th person in our stay although the 1st three were charged only $80.00. Staff said it was due to internet booking on the first three and that the hotel was required to charge the "rack rate" on the 4th who made the trip last minute. Staff seemed unconcerned and it took nearly an hour and I had to speak with two managers to settle the issue. Charges were not reduced on the 4th in our party but the accommodations were upgraded. Staff rarely smiled and overall were unpleasant. The general manager seemed unconcerned when informed of my plan to post comments on this website. Food was overall good, service poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Aug 18, 2010

This place sucks!!!!!!!!!!!

I'll give you guys a quick rundown so your not bored with my story -50% of the staff were A-HOLES if you didn't speak spanish -The reservations for dinner were a nightmare!!! -LIttle to none on authentic Dominican food -The buffets sucked really bad, overall the food wasn't good -Cheap liquor, stick to the beer Good parts to the Hotel -Awesome pool -Close walk to the beach -Beautiful resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Classic 50s
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 16, 2010

Great Experience

We celebrated my parents 50th wedding anniversary (total of 7 in the family) by taking them to the Ambar. I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews, but please read on as I will relate our experience.1. Check-in: smooth. We arrived at 4PM and were greeted with a cold guava drink; and immediate attention by [...]. Not once did we have to go to the front desk for information or check-in. We sat at the lobby bar and [...] came to us with all our room keys, hotel package information and restaurant reservation confirmations. I brought a bag full of decorations for my parent's room and when I told him I wanted to go to my parent's room first to decorate, he immediately offered to decorate the room himself. My family and I enjoyed a drink in the lobby and he came back 15 minutes later, announced our rooms were ready. My parent's room was decorated beautifully!2. Rooms: very clean. In fact the entire resort is impeccably clean and the staff is constantly cleaning the common areas, and tending to the landscaping. We reserved 3 rooms for our party; my room was a bit musty, however, none of the other rooms were musty. DR is a very humid, hot country. The hotel has a system to conserve energy, i.e., as you leave your room, you take out a card which turns off electricity (air and lights). After the first day, our room was not musty (we never took the card out).3. Food: some of the reviews we read said that the food was not great or it was OK considering it was all inclusive. We found the food to be very good. We didn't like everything, but we tried many restaurants and we always found something to enjoy. El Meson was our favorite. Funny, no one in our family liked Don Pablo.4. Information/organization: upon check-in, everyone is given a packet with their room keys, a map of the resort AND information regarding activities, restaurants, show times, etc. People who did not know what to do or where to go probably didn't open their packet.5. Beach/Pool: two very different things. The beach is big and beautiful. It is also accessible to all. I didn't see much exclusivity in the Ambar beach. however, the water was cool, clear and beautiful (we know a little something about beaches living in Miami). The Ambar pool is large, there are always chairs available (at any time of the day - even in late morning and early afternoon). The water is warm, but there are plenty of cold drinks available at the swim up bar. The pool is cleaned daily and we never experienced anything slimy.6. Staff: all staff spoke Spanish, and enough English and French in order to make the guests feel welcomed and accommodated. The pool attendants spoke Creole, some staff in the restaurants spoke German. Reviewers who complained about staff not speaking their language might have been expecting a full length conversation in Klingon. EVERY employee said hello with a smile as you passed them (ground crew, cleaning staff, restaurant staff, managers, and drivers). Staff could not have been more helpful and friendly! Please know, that DR is a tropical island and the people run on island time, so you won't get your "mama juana" in 8 seconds (by the way, you have to try this drink-if for no other reason than to say you did-make sure it is ice cold). Leave your watch at home...remember, you ARE on vacation.7. Other vacationers: mostly Canadians, French, Brits, Russians and Spaniards. We met a few Americans (mostly mid-westerners). Lots of honeymooners and anniversary types. Very nice, classy people.We spent 1 week at the Principe Ambar and had a great experience. Hope the negative reviews don't dissuade you from your vacation here. It's better than just "good for the money"; it's a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Read your guest package given at the beginning of your stay. All activities and schedules are there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
viktoo
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 15, 2010

Relaxing, Tan, Stuffed!

We stayed 6 nights in Aug. This was an amazing experience. My girlfriend and I just loved our time. From the moment you arrive on the hotel grounds you are treated like royalty. The room/bathroom were very spacious and always perfectly made/cleaned each day. The complex which is really a mini, all encompassing town. The pools were gorgeous and the beach the perfect white sand and see to the bottom water. The beauty about the adults only side was you could use all the other 4 hotels amenities but they could not use ours - an adults only pool and beach and restaurant. The food at the buffets and the sit down dinners were all great. And the drinks no matter where you were (hotel lobbies, or pool side) where amazing. Made anything you wanted and nothing was watered down! Great staff, great food, great drinks. From the moment we got there to the time we left, no wallet, no tips, just indulging. Very romantic throughout. Only downsides was that the wireless internet at the hotel was spotty, and while you can get by with english, clearly the primary language for the workers and most of the guests in Spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Each night a different show. If you are able to the Michael Jackson show is awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
metuchen. NJ.USA.
Aug 15, 2010

Perfect Vacation

Every thing was very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, dc
Aug 12, 2010

worst Birthday ever

the worst

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 1, 2010

The Inside Scoop

Upon arrival I was immediately pleased by the overall appearance of the grounds/lobby and the immediate hospitality of the staff(ie, frozen cocktail handed to you while checking in, and a plate of fruit delivered to your room). The grounds were well manicured and beautiful to say the least, and the room was very clean and tastefully decorated with canopy beds, art, beautiful maghogony wood furnishing, nice seating area, beautiful bathroom with rose petals on the sink and tub, and a spectacular view! For the money I must admit the resort was well worth it! Now, on a not so nice note, the hotel staff could use some lessons on quality customer service. I was very dissapointed with the way we were treated in some of the resort's shops. The employees didn't seem to like their jobs or us and IGNORED us while standing at the register waiting to pay for merchandise. Another problem experienced was the inability to get change for Dominican pesos...go figure. It seemed as if they prefered US currency. If I return, I will not convert my USD to Dominican currency because it's a big hassle. Each store vendor had his/her own exchange rate. The value of a peso varied from $.32 to $.42 to a US dollar, depending on which store you were in. Also, make sure you arrange your fine dining itinerary for the duration of your trip as soon as you check-in or you will not get a reservation the day of...I think that's by design. However, the a la carte dining hall will be open for you to visit the buffet in the event you are unable to get a reservation for a fine dining restaurant. Another disadvantage is the staffs inability to speak fluent english, so brush up on your spanish or you will become a little frustrated while the staff becomes EXTREMELY annoyed. Hint: They don't do a good job of masking their emotions. Additionally, I wish there were more activities to do on site. There was music in the lobby at night, but nothing else, and the pool closed very early. So on rainy days we defaulted to massages because there was nothing else to do; no games in the lobby or salsa dancing classes, etc. FYI: A massage on the beach is a little cheaper than the ones in the spa, but just as wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Whatever you do don't leave the resort with resort employees posed as complimentary tour guides. This is a scam. They will take you across town for souvenirs then require you to pay them just as much as a taxi would have charged. We never saw the market or other shopping arenas, only a souvenir shop. We only elected to take them up on their generous offer to show us around the city after being unable to find a tour that didn't involve snorkeling or water. We were interested in a grounds tour of the city that also involved shopping. Additionally, we could barely take any pictures or saw many historic spots because the driver sped past everything without slowing down or narrating. It was a very expensive lesson to learn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jul 31, 2010

"Unforgettable vacation"

Unbelievable experience, great location, excellent tasting food and selection, first class service, spotless rooms, beautiful clean beaches, perfectly manicured landscape, endless amount of things to see and do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The al la Carte reservations can be changed if you would like to try something other than what was chosen. Talk to the representative at the Guest Survives desk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Supamom
Business
Rhode Island
Jul 23, 2010

Worth the $, but not five star

1st time to DR,(weather is perfect in July by the way...we went from July 16th to 20th, 2010) Ambar was very nice and relaxing, pool just right and the beach is very nice, not private of course, but nice. The rooms are good and clean and spacious...request room#60308 (if possible)this is the ONLY room that would be unbelievable for ocean view AND pool view-ideal!! We would return to Ambar if a great price comes up...otherwise we will try another adult only resort the next time. Not what we consider five star at all, but 3-4 would be ok. The bartenders were pretty miserable for the most part-that needs improvement...as does the alcohol they use-especially for what you pay. One beer only: presidente. Food at buffet was actually pretty good (dinner wise)...if you make ala cart reservations (Don Pablo is truly horrible...we actually left after not being able to chew our filet mignon!? yuck!)go to the buffet as well as your ala cart (most people do for the variety)...all in all though, it was relaxing, fun, memorable for sure and worth what we paid. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach vendor to the right on the beach (from Ambar)...always bargain WAY LOW, you will always get a good deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top