$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikeChicago
Business
Chicago
Feb 16, 2012

Punta cana 2012

We recently traveled to Punta Cana and stayed at the Principe Ambar. We were pleasantly shocked on how beautiful and huge the resort was. The buffets were exquisite. You get the true representation of ethnic Dominican Cuisine. For those that come to Dominican Republic and are not open to try anything else other then hotdogs and pizza, you are in luck. You can take your flip flops, cut off faded denim shorts and camel cigarettes and walk on over to the 2 beach buffets that will make you feel right at home…like you never left your home town. The hotel rooms were rather large and the canopy beds had beautiful see through white linen drapes on hanging. The bathroom was beautiful. Marble everywhere. The bathroom was restocked with shampoos, soaps, etc every single morning. They would also surprise us every single day with decorative fresh flowers on the sink and bed. I left them a tip every day because I appreciate their kindness and hard work. The landscaping was incredible..maybe even perfect for lack of a better word. They had a diverse selection of alcoholic drinks and beverages….whatever drink you could imagine-they had. I reiterate to all, if you want to be treated like royalty with a smile….this is the place to be. Enjoy your vacation to this beautiful country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RaeB
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Wonderful Experience

It's a beautiful place! Food was good, staff was exceptionally friendly, and all in all a good value for the dollar. Because it is such a large resort, be prepared to travel on trams and walk a bit more than a small boutique hotel. The only downfall is the amount of guests...it was crowded!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hit every seafood restaurant you can, book them all....

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben Hur
Business
Montreal, Canada
Jan 26, 2012

Good value for the money

Experience was overall very good except that they sent us to their worst possible room outside the Ambar section in front of a bus stop for the first night. We had to argue in order to get a good room beginning with the second night and we did. You need to avoid a room on the main street because there's quite a bit of traffic (buses, delivery trucks, etc.). If you have a room inside the Ambar section (the garden side), it is as close to paradise as you will get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jjett
Business
Missouri
Jan 26, 2012

Mixed Feelings

Upon check in Ambar did not have room available for 1st night reservation. Sent us to sister hotel. Then we had to switch again the next day. Not convenient at all. Beach was extremely crowded. Had to get up early to reserve chair at beach (or pool). Grounds beautiful, rooms clean, food good, and friendly staff. Remaining vacation enjoyable. In future I may pick other resort simply for the overbooking error.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alfizzo
Business
Lincoln, RI, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Excellent Experience

The Ambar section was the Adults Only with Great Food and relaxing atmosphere. The bar tender in the Ambar Lobby Murfi made some good cocktails and treated us very well. The food was EXCELLENT and would apease the fussiest of eaters. The resort was spotless and well maintained. We had a great time and would go again. PS - The little stores have good prices on local products. You dont need to leave resort to find good deals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make Reservations to restaurants at guest services right away. Lunch in Ambar lobby is way better than at the beach.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Great Place for Adults Only!

The Gran Bahia is a huge property, but we stayed at the Ambar, which is the adults only part of the community. It was wonderful, felt like we were in a gated community and exclusive restaurants that you can enjoy without listening to other people's children. The amenities were awesome, including free wi-fi from the lobby, where you can sit and have cocktails, and catch up on news from home..on your own device. We would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do make a point of having dinner at the properties signature restaurant the Don Pablo. Food and service were excellent, just like a 5 star restaurant should be!

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RicardoJQ
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Jast "good"

We fill out a formal complain letter at front desk, The jakuzzi never work on our room, Restaurant (El Olivo) food was served on bad condition, Restaurant ( El Pescador ) didn't have Rose wine, Hotel Bahia Pricipe Ambar didn't have lemon for two days on any restaurant or bar. Not a very good experience for the Price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheVsInWI
Business
Madison, WI
Jan 8, 2012

5-Stars All Around!!

We went on this trip as a belated honeymoon. The trip was MAGNIFICENT! Everything was very clean, the staff was super friendly, and the views were wonderful. Fantastic value. Definitely stay at Ambar if you want an adults only experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try Don Pablo. The filet is fantastic, the lobster left something to be desire. Also, make sure you make dinner reservations when you arrive to make sure you get all of the restaurants you want.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hoosier Fanatic
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jan 3, 2012

Resort is Huge!

The resort itself was beautiful. The grounds, pool areas, restaurants, etc. were all very clean and well prepared. There aren't any rooms with ocean views and the resort is huge! The biggest I have ever stayed in. There are 5 resorts all together. The beach was nice, a lot of palm trees and shade with little umbrellas canopies all over. The most disappointing aspect of the resort was the food. It was at best just average. Some dinner restaurants were better than others, but they just didn't impress me or my girlfriend. The best restaurant by far was the Japanese. The service at the bars was excellent, but the service at the restaurants was not as good. Often times our waiter forgot our drinks and we had to ask for them several times. Also, our appetizer's never made it to us on one occasion. If you are a picky eater, I would suggesting finding a resort known for its quality menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tim SNi
Business
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Dec 22, 2011

Punta Cana trip

At first my trip was a disaster, but after some help and a little luck. The trip turned out great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top