$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
400 reviews
Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and... See full review

  • Cornel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Pleasant experience

Everything looked great. Whether it was food, room service, pools, beach, music, activities or... See full review

  • Chandler and Family
  • Jun 8, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
400 out of 400
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuvSunAmy
Champaign, IL
Mar 7, 2011

Fabulous!

Fabulous resort. When the Ambar says adults only, they mean it. There were NO children around and any person that tried to enter our resort but was not staying at the Ambar was escorted off. Service was great. Especially from our maid, butler and the waitress at the pool. Pool drinks are ok at best. Lobby bar drinks are GREAT! Buffet is typical buffet...some good, some bad. We had dinner at Santa Fe, it was some of the best food we ate on the resort. Shopping galore within the Gran Bahia complex. Rooms were clean every day. We used the pool service every night. We had to request wash cloths, but they were delivered immediately. Great resort. We definitely will be returning!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner at the Jellyfish is a must. It is a short cab ride away. AWESOME SEAFOOD!!!!!! AWESOME VIEW!!!! Check out their website.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PSYCLST
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 7, 2011

Very Relaxed at the Ambar

It was a wonderful vacation. Beautiful beach, attentive staff and very good food for an all-inclusive. The best ala carte restaurants were El Olivo and Don Pablo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Consider a taxi instead of the vans that are a part of this package. $76 round-trip versus $56, but you save a lot of time.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Feb 27, 2011

A Dream Come True

Amazing Grounds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of american dollars, there are no ATM that dispense US dollars

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Feb 27, 2011

A Dream Come True

Amazing Grounds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of american dollars, there are no ATM that dispense US dollars

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Feb 13, 2011

Pretty Good

Just returned from a week at the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar. Overall we had a great time. The hotel grounds are great, pool (and swim up bar) are awesome, and the beach is very nice. The food I would say was adequate - I'm not a real picky eater, but I would say that I've had better food at some other all inclusives that I've stayed at, but by no means went hungry. The staff was very friendly and worked extremely hard to make your stay enjoyable. The ambar is one resort that is inside a much larger complex - the pool can only be used by the ambar guests so finding a coupl chairs was never a problem, but it led to the beach being a tad crowded - we're more pool people so that wasn't a big deal to us. Don't let the minor negatives that I pointed out scare you away - you'll have a great time here - I think that this place is priced pretty well for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Two activities that we did that I would recomend. There is a small beach shopping area about a 45 minute walk down the beach - there you can find excursions etc much cheaper than booking through the resort. We went parasailing for $60 where the resort was charging $90 for the same experience. The other thing we did was booked the Bebe Catamaran Cruise through an outfit called Mike's Marina (google Mike's Marina Punta Cana). They picked up at the hotel and took us out on a smaller catamaran (our group had 13, I think it would hold up to 20. They took us to a snorkeling spot where we were spent about 45 minutes in the water, got back in the boat where they busted out some rum and cervezas. We then went to a sand bar where we got out for about and hour, and a few more drinks and hung out - we had a really fun group and our guides were a lot of fun also. They also had some light snacks for the ride back - I would highly recomend this over one of the larger booze cruises that holds 100 plus people. We got pick up about 1pm and were back to the resort by 6:15 or so - well worth the $75/person - a little more when you tip the guides/driver, but still well worth it.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Feb 13, 2011

Pretty Good

Just returned from a week at the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar. Overall we had a great time. The hotel grounds are great, pool (and swim up bar) are awesome, and the beach is very nice. The food I would say was adequate - I'm not a real picky eater, but I would say that I've had better food at some other all inclusives that I've stayed at, but by no means went hungry. The staff was very friendly and worked extremely hard to make your stay enjoyable. The ambar is one resort that is inside a much larger complex - the pool can only be used by the ambar guests so finding a coupl chairs was never a problem, but it led to the beach being a tad crowded - we're more pool people so that wasn't a big deal to us. Don't let the minor negatives that I pointed out scare you away - you'll have a great time here - I think that this place is priced pretty well for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Two activities that we did that I would recomend. There is a small beach shopping area about a 45 minute walk down the beach - there you can find excursions etc much cheaper than booking through the resort. We went parasailing for $60 where the resort was charging $90 for the same experience. The other thing we did was booked the Bebe Catamaran Cruise through an outfit called Mike's Marina (google Mike's Marina Punta Cana). They picked up at the hotel and took us out on a smaller catamaran (our group had 13, I think it would hold up to 20. They took us to a snorkeling spot where we were spent about 45 minutes in the water, got back in the boat where they busted out some rum and cervezas. We then went to a sand bar where we got out for about and hour, and a few more drinks and hung out - we had a really fun group and our guides were a lot of fun also. They also had some light snacks for the ride back - I would highly recomend this over one of the larger booze cruises that holds 100 plus people. We got pick up about 1pm and were back to the resort by 6:15 or so - well worth the $75/person - a little more when you tip the guides/driver, but still well worth it.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
buckanddoe
Kingston Ontario canada
Jan 30, 2011

Fantastic vacation

Our trip was fantastic. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan, USA
Jan 26, 2011

Gran bahia Principe Ambar

I went to the pool, beach, wonderful restaurant that we made reservations, to the theater and the night club. We had a wonderful time, No complains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Spanish restaurant or El espanol was very good.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan, USA
Jan 26, 2011

Gran bahia Principe Ambar

I went to the pool, beach, wonderful restaurant that we made reservations, to the theater and the night club. We had a wonderful time, No complains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Spanish restaurant or El espanol was very good.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 9, 2011

Beautiful Resort: Food not up to par

Beautiful, well kept, clean amenities. Nice, fun, laid back experience in the adult resort. Lots of int'l travelers from Europe, Russia, N & S America. Helps to speak a little Spanish; Staff English fluency varies from ok to none. Hotel operators were unintelligible. Food quantity, quality and presentation are great, but prep is weak. Steaks and seafood were often overcooked, under spiced, and vegetables were overcooked to inedible state. No attempt to offer "local" DR island cuisine, sauces, flavors. This is the only major weakness of this resort. The back 500'of the beach is "adult only", but 100' of sand to the waters edge is open across all the resorts, so expect to see lots of kids and families in the gulf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Get to the pool before 8:30 if you hope to hold a lounge chair under an umbrella. After that the sunny spots remain only 'til ~9. You can park your towels after 8AM to "hold" your spot. If you come before 8AM you need to sit in chairs, or security will pull your towels. Pool opens at 8AM, Swim up bar at 10AM.

Back to menu Return to top