$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hunter For Travel
Business
Texas
Mar 15, 2013

First Couples' Vacation

The buildings, rooms, food, pool, and structures of the hotel were great. The staff on the other hand constantly had a hard time understanding us and were constantly getting things wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Call the hotel a week before your trip and set up for your dinners. Many of the restaurants did not have any more reservations for the whole week. We even made new friends there and we weren't able to switch from 2 people to 4 people. So if you want to change your reservations, do it as early as possible and at the very latest by 3 o'clock the day of the reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conoco
Business
Kansas City, MO
Apr 10, 2013

Great vacation

The place is beautiful! The staff is very friendly and there to help whenever needed. The food I thought was also good. They offered a variety at the buffets and you could also make reservations at the different restaurants they had. Overall, a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you're looking for something low key this would be the place. The hotel doesn't offer a lot of night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bluenote54
Business
Norwalk, CT
Apr 19, 2013

Beautiful resort, great food

The setting, the grounds, and the upkeep were all outstanding. Food in all of the restaurants was top-notch. We appreciated the adults-only atmosphere of the Ambar. Only complaint is that the size of the resort is overwhelming at first, and the check-in process could have been better at explaining the resort layout and the process for reserving dinners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
winter couple's retreat
Business
New York, New York
Apr 23, 2013

nice couples retreat

we enjoyed are stay at the hotel. Very clean, good food selections, nice staff. We had no issues and would recommend the adults only section for couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich C G
Business
New Jersey
May 30, 2013

Excellent stay a Bahia Principe Ambar

Stayed at the May 19th through May 25th, let me preface, I’m very easy going and “go with the flow”, however I do like the resort to be nice. Check In: No issues, arrived at 3:00 same as check-in. Requested block 67 corner room via email, didn’t get a corner but did get upper floor in building 67. Near the pool. Room: Very spacious and clean. Bathrooms have a large shower and garden jetted tub. We always had a Do not disturb until we went to pool/beach and our room Was always cleaned when we returned. Housekeeping did an outstanding job Grounds: Absolutely beautiful Food: Breakfast and lunch very good, buffets have much to offer and a large variety. Dinner , was good to very good. Staff: for the most part very good, but every now and then you would get a person that is just doing their job. Not a big issue. Would I go back, yes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Email room request and ala cart dinner request 7 days prior to your arrival

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D.N.
Business
Boston, MA
May 28, 2013

Great adults-only getaway

Pros: -grounds are beautiful and immaculately maintained -resort located on great stretch of beach with plenty of beach chairs and straw umbrellas (though you do have to go on earlier side in the morning to stake out a spot) -plenty of dining options (tip: you can make reservations via email before you arrive) -great service at buffet and restaurants -adults-only pool (though go early if you actually want to swim, most vacationers like to stand around in the pool and drink) -spacious rooms and bathrooms, all kept very clean -mini-fridge in room kept stocked -the resort is part of the larger Bahia Principe group of five resorts, so there are other areas, activities, and restaurants to explore (though most of the food options seem pretty much the same) Things to be aware of: -some service folks (e.g. luggage carriers, cart drivers) may expect a tip from you even though this is supposed to be all-inclusive, including tips -lots of smokers (around pool and on beach)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BDandBD
Business
Idaho
Jun 19, 2013

Great place to stay. Very helpful staff, Clean. A++

Had a first floor room after. It was a little cooler too. Noticed a weird smell. (building 62) but other than that it was a wonderful stay. Maid service was friendly and nice. Bar service was awesome too. Food is fantastic, although we didn't enjoy the "American theme" buffet. Had dinner at Don Pablo, Japanese, and Italian. All were extremely wonderful meals. We enjoyed every minute of our trip. The best advice is to bring lots of $1 bills with you for tips. Don't change your USA currency to Peso at airport, or at all. It's not necessary. The "Caribbean Festival" excursion is awesome and fun!! We highly recommend!! Dolphin Explorer was "ok" and service on that excursion could improve! Workers on the Dolphin Explorer were rude when we gave them tip money. They laughed and apparently we didn't give enough. I was offended by them. Also, it costs you $70 to buy pictures of the Dolphin giving you a kiss. You can't buy one set if you are in a group of "two swimmers", so we never bought the photos. Too expensive. They won't let you take any pictures on your own. If traveling without children, it is SO WORTH staying at Ambar for Adults only!! We would venture in to Esmeralda and hear the kids screaming etc and it was just nice to be able to leave and go back to the Adults only area. It was worth the extra money. (we have children, but we were on vacation for ourselves this time :-) Overall, had a wonderful trip. Thanks Bahia Principe Ambar!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Found some nice shops with decent prices off beach near Riu. Most places take USA currency.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nikky75
Business
washington, dc
Jul 1, 2013

Great Experience

I thought this resort was excellent. It was very clean, the staff was always cleaning. The staff was friendly and helpful. The buffet was okay, some things tastes better then others but there was a lot of variety. Great bar service and waiters on the beach. Only drawback is that it wasn't really set up for single people. It is designed more for couples or groups coming for a celebration. It was quiet relaxing experience - not a party scene. I stayed at the Ambar which was the adult only section of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scoon77
Business
WV
Jun 29, 2013

Overall

The overall hotel experience was awesome. The food was mediocre at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your dining reservations early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler atl
Business
usa
Jul 19, 2013

PERFECT ADULT GET AWAT

My wife and I checked in and immediately were greeted with a clean cool face cloth, as if to wipe away the stale air of the airplane, and a cold fruity drink. The staff was excellent!!! polite, accommodative, attentive to our needs. Its as if we were the only ones staying at the resort. After a day making our rounds the staff greeted up by name. The grounds are perfectly manicured and beautiful. If you're looking for peace and quiet throughout then this adults only resort is the place for you. Being that Grand Bahia is a large place with several different hotels within it, the Don Pablo Ambar sits right off the beach while others may be quite far away where you'd have to grab the tram or about a 10-20 minute walk. The food was excellent with a nice variety of cuisine. The pool is large and water is very comfortable. We will return to the Gran Bahia Don Pablo Ambar in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top