$216 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
401 reviews
Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and... See full review

  • Cornel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Pleasant experience

Everything looked great. Whether it was food, room service, pools, beach, music, activities or... See full review

  • Chandler and Family
  • Jun 8, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (401)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
401 out of 401
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 5, 2010

Great Hotel, bad food

This is our honeymoon place and the experience is good. Since my wife is pregnant, we didn't do a lot of activities. We just stay at the hotel and relax. The hotel in general is beautiful. Our room is very clean. The staffs are extra friendly and great service. The pool is big and not crowed. The only disappointment from this hotel is the food. The food is bad period. Overall, this is a very nice place to relax if food quality isn't your main concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Apr 24, 2010

Yearly trip

Great time away with friends!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Dont miss the shows!

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Feb 27, 2011

A Dream Come True

Amazing Grounds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of american dollars, there are no ATM that dispense US dollars

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, va
Jan 2, 2010

Some good and some bad

We spent most of our time at the beach or at the pool, both of which were very nice. We also found the service to be very helpful and friendly and only ran in to a few language barriers. We were very glad we chose the adults only part of the resort as we did not deal with any children at the beach, pool, or restaurants which made things very relaxing. We did have two complaints though. The room walls were paper this and you heard every noise in the surounding rooms including housekeeping outside the rooms every morning. Second the food was a let down. The buffet food for lunch and breakfast had no diversity from one day to the next and the a la carte restaurants food was pretty bland or poorly spiced to the point of not enjoyable. Talking with others at the resort the feeling was pretty consistent on the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

You must make a la carte reservations well ahead of time unless you want to eat at 930 every night. Make them before you even start your trip.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Couple Vacation
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Great experience at Ambar, would recommend

Once you get past the confusion that seems to accompany everyone's check in, its nothing but fun! The hotel is large and nice, the beach is beautiful and Ambar's is never too crowded. The liquor is better at Ambar and so is the food. I really enjoyed the calm at the hotel. Some hints: Make dinner reservations immediately You can go early to the dinner reservations There is a food dead zone between 11 and 12 Drink an irish coffee, they are amazing Don Pablo was our favorite meal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kensington, MD
Mar 21, 2010

Really Liked This Resort- Would Go Back!

I would give it 4.5 stars. Really liked the Ambar and the Gran Bahia Principe Complex as a whole). I'll try to focus on the key things that were unclear to us before we went and may help folks decide. First, the GBP really acts as one resort with three sections-- the Bavaro, Punta Cana, and Ambar. The Ambar is designed to be the nicest of the three, is the most expensive (although still reasonable), and is the closest to the beach. The Ambar guests are also older, although there is a range. We are in our 30s and felt like we were on the lower end. I would picture the average Ambar guest as 50-60 with kids out of the house. The PC/Bavaro had more folks in the 20s, 30s, 40s. Good split of American, Canadians, Europeans at all three. The rooms were great-- large bedroom with an annex with a sofa, desk and table. Nice bathrooms-- separate toilet stall, large rainmaker shower, and jetted tub. All Ambar rooms are within about 200 feet of the pool and beach (for PC and Bavaro, some can walk, but others will have to use the hotel tram). There is a FREE minibar in your room with Pepsi products, water, chips, beer, and liqueors (refreshed daily).Each resort has at least one main pool. The Ambar's is adjacent to the beach, so lots of folks go back and forth. Very large pool with a swim-up bar. PC and Bavaro have the same exact pool, but not near the beach. BUT... they also share a fourth pool that is on the beach and is slightly larger than the Ambar's.The Ambar beach was the best we have ever seen. Smooth sand, clear water, nice swimming area with no rocks or algae (other resorts were almost unswimmable). There were plenty of chairs and about 40 tiki huts that shade 2 people. The PC/Bavaro beach is adjacent, but separated so it is like two different beaches. Competition for chairs at the pool/beach was not really an issue during our stay, however the huts are gone by mid-morning, especially those near the water. Great beach though and you can walk for miles in each direction past the other resorts.The food. Some will be in heaven, some will be a bit disappointed. If you are a foodie or are used to authentic ethnic cuisine, you will probably not love it, but it will be fine. The buffets do get old pretty quickly, as they do not change much from day to day. The Don Pablo was clearly their best of the 3 restaurants. The house wine (free!) was not good. Overall, food was "OK". Service was great everywhere on the resort. Language will be an issue for some-- few resort staff are fluent in English. But everyone is helpful and tries their best. Some people tipped a lot, some not at all. Usually, it was $1 bills being thrown around here and there to a bartender, server, bellman, etc. Other things of note: - The tram system works really well- The gyms were pretty dingy, but had the basic equipment.- You will get a la carte dinner assignments when you get there (one at each of the three restaurants). If you want to try to change times, go to Guest Services. We had to switch nights to get an earlier time at one.- Day tours are all done through your travel agent ([...]), not the hotel. There is a tour office and a rep for Coco onsite. Most tours were $80-$100 US/person. Also, prepay and use Coco to get you to and from the airport- much easier.- All water at the hotel is safe to drink, and all of our tours used only bottled water at the stops.- Bring double the sunscreen you think you will need. You don't want to see the resort prices for it.- There are not really any towns to walk or taxi to. It is basically the resort and the tours. The shopping area is the Pueblo Principe (on the GBP resort)--overpriced, but picked up a few things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the Funny Monster Tour. It gives you a very comprehensive tour of the region-- lots of fun stops to chop up the ride and a fantastic lunch.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Meriden, CT
May 12, 2010

No non smoking rooms

We had requested a non smoking room. The room they had available for us had an extremely strong smell of smoke. We requested to be moved to a new room and after some attitude from the front desk clerk we were moved to a new room which was a smoking room also. We walked by all the rooms in the hotel and spoke with several guests and found there are no non smoking rooms in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't wait to book ala carte restaurants. They fill up fast.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler atl
usa
Jul 19, 2013

PERFECT ADULT GET AWAT

My wife and I checked in and immediately were greeted with a clean cool face cloth, as if to wipe away the stale air of the airplane, and a cold fruity drink. The staff was excellent!!! polite, accommodative, attentive to our needs. Its as if we were the only ones staying at the resort. After a day making our rounds the staff greeted up by name. The grounds are perfectly manicured and beautiful. If you're looking for peace and quiet throughout then this adults only resort is the place for you. Being that Grand Bahia is a large place with several different hotels within it, the Don Pablo Ambar sits right off the beach while others may be quite far away where you'd have to grab the tram or about a 10-20 minute walk. The food was excellent with a nice variety of cuisine. The pool is large and water is very comfortable. We will return to the Gran Bahia Don Pablo Ambar in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Active grandma
Milwaukee, WI
Dec 25, 2010

Very relaxing

Our first trip to Dominican Republic. We were lucky with the weather - no rains, warm, pleasant, not hot, not humid, excellent sandy beaches you can walk along for miles...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good buffet restaurants - clean, with variety of food, extremely friendly staff. A fancy a-la-carte restaurant "Don Pablo" was absolutely no good! - menu was not interesting, staff was slow and forgetful.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich C G
New Jersey
May 30, 2013

Excellent stay a Bahia Principe Ambar

Stayed at the May 19th through May 25th, let me preface, I’m very easy going and “go with the flow”, however I do like the resort to be nice. Check In: No issues, arrived at 3:00 same as check-in. Requested block 67 corner room via email, didn’t get a corner but did get upper floor in building 67. Near the pool. Room: Very spacious and clean. Bathrooms have a large shower and garden jetted tub. We always had a Do not disturb until we went to pool/beach and our room Was always cleaned when we returned. Housekeeping did an outstanding job Grounds: Absolutely beautiful Food: Breakfast and lunch very good, buffets have much to offer and a large variety. Dinner , was good to very good. Staff: for the most part very good, but every now and then you would get a person that is just doing their job. Not a big issue. Would I go back, yes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Email room request and ala cart dinner request 7 days prior to your arrival

Back to menu Return to top