$342 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
298 reviews
Great vacation spot!

This was my first all inclusive vacation with my girlfriend and we had a wonderful time. The... See full review

  • minieod
  • Dec 10, 2014
good stay

If you like the beach and food, great place. Check list: 1. Make your speciality restaurant... See full review

  • lifeisgood123
  • Nov 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.
El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (298)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jwal
Business
Mt. Zion, IL
Mar 24, 2011

Awesome vacation!!

This was by far the best hotel we've been to...from the grounds, the staff (especially our butler Wesley). He went out of his way to help us with any of our needs. He even found us at the pool one day because I forgot to order a pillow from the menu. I was amazed to read and even hear, people that we met there that didn't take advantage of this wonderful service (ask for a butler when you check in). Our room was spotless and no issues. The buffets were fair to good. We only went to the El Olivio (pretty good) and the Sante Fe (amazing!). We did tip the staff, but only after good service (we didn't tip our maid until after she cleaned our room the first day). We also loved the swim up bar staff, especially [...] (I know I spelled it wrong!). They sure don't skimp on the alcohol! Also liked the Pueblo Principe area as well. Overall, this resort in unreal, and if we could go back tomorrow, we would!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Most of the shops/vendors around the Pueblo Principe will negotiate their prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 19, 2011

No Spring Breakers! Great!

Wonderful hotel. I love the adulats only part. We are in our early thirties, but already have NO need for a bunch of nineteen year olds to vomit in our pool or scream in our ears. I like that the Ambar is prety good at segregrating the resport areas to maintain sanity. Yeah, there were some eccentricities here and there—you are on an island nation as far displaced from reality as possible-- appreciate the resort for what it is, you will have a great time. The food was unique—lunch generally was the worst of all meals (if you want a better lunch, avoid the pool/beach side cafes as much as possible—they are convenient, though!) but breakfast and dinners were exceptional. No problems, no complaints. Oh, avoid room service. Gross. Trust me. Tip. Tip your maids and bartenders, esp. The waiters are hard. You will be "waited" on by at least four different folks. They are all nice, and we always left something, but we found it much more accommodating in the long run to tip our bartender (pool bartenders are very good to have in your good graces) generously. Some reviews we found complained about the drinks. I found this a little strange. If you order a drink a specific way, they will make it JUST that way. So yeah, if you just order a pina colada, you will receive white run and the freeze mix. If you order a fresh pina colada with spiced rum, you will get just that. Some people complain about everything.The rooms are nice, but if you are spending a lot of time in your room, you are missing the point of the resort. I see a lot of complaints about leaky plumbing. If my shower happened to leak, I wouldn't even bother dealing with it. Our phone was on the fritz, but again, who cares. We used the room to sleep and clean up for dinner. That was about it.Never, ever, ever, ever use Cocotours. They are horrible, will waste your precious vacation time trying to sell you outings you do not want, do not speak English or Spanish very well. [*] worst ever. Three words: hire a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

I know I already said this, but it needs said again. DO NOT USE COCTOURS. They are horrible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 16, 2011

[...]

Beautiful beach and pool.Could use better eve entertainment.Be prepared to be in a gated fortress. we loved the adults only section.Few rowdy drunks..many non Americans[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations early for alacarte dining or you'll be at the buffet grazing all day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom In Maine
Business
York Beach, Maine
Mar 15, 2011

A Very Nice Punta Cana Vacation

Overall the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar is a very nice play to vacation. The Ambar is part of a mega complex that forms the Gran Bahia Pricipe properties in Punta Cana. Considering that we were down in the Dominican at the start of the Spring Break season, staying at an adult only property had many advantages over some of the other properties within this group.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not book with Coco tours for your transportation to and from the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PSYCLST
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 7, 2011

Very Relaxed at the Ambar

It was a wonderful vacation. Beautiful beach, attentive staff and very good food for an all-inclusive. The best ala carte restaurants were El Olivo and Don Pablo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Consider a taxi instead of the vans that are a part of this package. $76 round-trip versus $56, but you save a lot of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuvSunAmy
Business
Champaign, IL
Mar 7, 2011

Fabulous!

Fabulous resort. When the Ambar says adults only, they mean it. There were NO children around and any person that tried to enter our resort but was not staying at the Ambar was escorted off. Service was great. Especially from our maid, butler and the waitress at the pool. Pool drinks are ok at best. Lobby bar drinks are GREAT! Buffet is typical buffet...some good, some bad. We had dinner at Santa Fe, it was some of the best food we ate on the resort. Shopping galore within the Gran Bahia complex. Rooms were clean every day. We used the pool service every night. We had to request wash cloths, but they were delivered immediately. Great resort. We definitely will be returning!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner at the Jellyfish is a must. It is a short cab ride away. AWESOME SEAFOOD!!!!!! AWESOME VIEW!!!! Check out their website.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 27, 2011

A Dream Come True

Amazing Grounds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of american dollars, there are no ATM that dispense US dollars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 13, 2011

Pretty Good

Just returned from a week at the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar. Overall we had a great time. The hotel grounds are great, pool (and swim up bar) are awesome, and the beach is very nice. The food I would say was adequate - I'm not a real picky eater, but I would say that I've had better food at some other all inclusives that I've stayed at, but by no means went hungry. The staff was very friendly and worked extremely hard to make your stay enjoyable. The ambar is one resort that is inside a much larger complex - the pool can only be used by the ambar guests so finding a coupl chairs was never a problem, but it led to the beach being a tad crowded - we're more pool people so that wasn't a big deal to us. Don't let the minor negatives that I pointed out scare you away - you'll have a great time here - I think that this place is priced pretty well for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Two activities that we did that I would recomend. There is a small beach shopping area about a 45 minute walk down the beach - there you can find excursions etc much cheaper than booking through the resort. We went parasailing for $60 where the resort was charging $90 for the same experience. The other thing we did was booked the Bebe Catamaran Cruise through an outfit called Mike's Marina (google Mike's Marina Punta Cana). They picked up at the hotel and took us out on a smaller catamaran (our group had 13, I think it would hold up to 20. They took us to a snorkeling spot where we were spent about 45 minutes in the water, got back in the boat where they busted out some rum and cervezas. We then went to a sand bar where we got out for about and hour, and a few more drinks and hung out - we had a really fun group and our guides were a lot of fun also. They also had some light snacks for the ride back - I would highly recomend this over one of the larger booze cruises that holds 100 plus people. We got pick up about 1pm and were back to the resort by 6:15 or so - well worth the $75/person - a little more when you tip the guides/driver, but still well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
buckanddoe
Business
Kingston Ontario canada
Jan 30, 2011

Fantastic vacation

Our trip was fantastic. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, USA
Jan 26, 2011

Gran bahia Principe Ambar

I went to the pool, beach, wonderful restaurant that we made reservations, to the theater and the night club. We had a wonderful time, No complains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Spanish restaurant or El espanol was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top