$381 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2015 Check-out: Mar 10, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
317 reviews
Fun Trip

We travelled with another family couple and found the resort to be amazing . We stayed in the Ambar... See full review

  • Tiffany Dawn
  • Feb 20, 2015
Relaxing vacation

This was our second trip to Bahia principe amber this resort is more that we expected that why we... See full review

  • Harveyg79
  • Feb 18, 2015
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.
El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (317)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
317 out of 317
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
warsaw, poland
Aug 10, 2011

great!

all, was great. the best beach, delicious food, very good location, friendly staff, and nice drinks:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Living Life Like It's Golden
Business
Montgomery, AL
Aug 9, 2011

Great Relaxing Getaway

The hotel itself was great. Greeted with friendly faces and a welcome cocktail on arrival. Very prompt in getting us checked in and to our room with no problem. The bellboys were terrific, front desk staff very helpful, and guest service was as helpful as could be with reservations for dinner. Don't expect to eat at one of the a la carte restaurants your first night there because they don't book after 3 pm and check in isn't officially until 3 anyway. Restaurants fill up fast, not that it matters because food was the biggest complaint! It was AWEFUL! Breakfast in the buffet was ok, but the only a la carte that was decent was don pablo so try to get in there if possible. The snack bar food is well below standards and we actually got sick (bad stomach aches and DIARRHEA) the second day there even though we were very particular in what we ate. So happy to have found the gift shop with snacks we could actually eat (pringles, candy, and powerade)! The pool was nice and so was the beach. Neither were overly crowded and we were able to find seats and umbrellas pretty much every time we wanted one. Beach was nice. Coral washed up to shore quite a bit, but the water was very clean and clear other than that! Overall very nice experience. If you want to do an excursion do SNUBA (Scuba diving with tank on top of the water). It rained when we were in the middle of the ocean about to do it, but it seemed like it was gonna be fun! Camillo at the tour operations desk was very helpful! Had an issue with internet in the lobby one day but they were prompt in getting it fixed. Drinks were good, kinda too sweet at times. The ride from the airport was kind of long because we had to drop off a lot of people along the way. We passed practically every resort on our way so maybe pick one a little closer because it was about an hour to from the airport. Room very nice and spacious and clean. Brought new towels twice a day. Refilled minibar and fridge daily without us asking. Very relaxing overall. We won't be returning to the DR simply because the food seemed to be the main complaint from others staying at some of the other nicer resorts as well. We visited Jamaica last year and would pick that location over DR any day because food was good and they had the same nice service and pretty beaches! If food isn't that big of a deal this hotel is GREAT for relaxing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book reservations for a la carte restaurants as soon as you get checked in because they fill up fast. Pick Don Pablo especially! Don't skip breakfast because the other meals are absolutely TERRIBLE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 2, 2011

Great hotel, only one problem

The adult only hotel is connected to other Gran Bahia Principe hotels, which makes the hotel complex a huge one with a lot of restaurants, bars, and shops. I could understand why some travelers' review mentioned about the kids, as the hotels are all connected, the kids from other hotels could go on the beach or swimming pool. However, during my stay, I did not see any kids on the adult only swimming pool and I've only seen a few kids on the beach during my whole stay in the hotel. All the kids seem to be very well behaved. When it comes to the night entertainment, it's in the theater shared by all Gran Bahia Principe hotels, thus there were a lot of kids. Overall speaking, I enjoy my stay there, it's surprisingly clean both in the room and around the complex. However, we were a bit disappointed on the beach as there were a lot of seaweeds, though we've seen people keep cleaning the seaweeds during the day. The service was great and the attitude of the staff were great, whether or not we gave them tips. We actually did not give much tips for the whole trip (usually just for the guys who helped us to carry our luggages) but we still received great service. The only one thing I would mention is that my friend got food poisoning for the food we ordered through room service. I've seen previous review about food poisoning but never thought that will happen to us. We are certain about the room service as we've dined in the restaurant for a few days and we did not have any problem about the food at all until we orderd the room service. My friend got diarrhia within an hour after we ate the food, threw up the next day and had a fever. I was lucky enough as I didn't eat much of the food and I have a very tough stomach. My friend recovered the next day with the dosage of over-the-counter medicine I brought along. Our stay would be awesome without this incident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
butler,pa
Jul 31, 2011

our honeymoon

this was our honeymoon...it was great. We enjoyed everything they had to offer...the beach, food, drinks, pool bar. The entire resort was very clean, even the gym...although it did not offer a lot. In a resort this size, I feel they should offer more at the gym. We didn't go on any excursions because we just wanted to relax and not have to be anywhere at any specific time. We had our pics done by a professional photographer offered at Ambar...they were absolutely amazing!! We stayed at Ambar, but went to Bavaro to eat everyday and hang out in their lobby every evening. The food variety and the nightly entertainment was much, much better...which I found odd because the Ambar was adult only, where as the Bavaro allowed children. One would think that the entertainment would be better for the adults only hotel. The Ambar buffet was not very impressive at all...the Bavaro, on the other hand, was great. Our room was nice, but our phone was broke, we had to request wash cloths everyday, and the shower leaked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, USA
Jul 6, 2011

awesome

The beach is huge - probably 75 yards from the ocean to the hotel pool. Lots of cabanas and chairs to lay out in. Drinks were good - they were using Normandy liquors for almost everything. The ocean is calm and cool. There are kayaks and little sailboats to take out for free. When we were there, the beach had a lot of seaweed that kept getting washed up every night, but they did their best to clean it up on a daily basis, they just couldn't keep up with how much there was - it didn't interfere with our swimming in the ocean. The resort is a lot bigger than I had imagined. There's an outdoor theater that sits 3000 people... so there is quite a bit to do. We did the ziplines - beautiful and in the mountains. We recommend it. We also did the dolphin explorer where you swim with a sea lion/sting rays/sharks/dolphins if you pay extra. Then they take you out snorkeling, we didn't see a lot of fish, but the coral was cool. Then they take you to a 'natural pool' (just a bay that is chest deep) where a bunch of other boats hang out and party for an hour. It was a decent excursion for the money. We recommend this one too. Lots of places to eat. If you are staying in the Ambar you get unlimited restaurant reservations. The english isn't the greatest, but we didn't have any problems. There are people from all over when we were there - Europe, Australia, South America.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Use your unlimited dinner reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2011

June Trip

Hotel (actually we should call it more of a small town) emphasizes quantity over quality. The food is almost inedible. The rooms are fine, but so far off from the beach (even our room, which was the closest to the beach of any others at the resort) that it does not even feel like you are staying at an ocean-front resort. If you feel like being surrounded by 7000 other drunken people instead of enjoying a relaxing Caribbean vacation then this place is for you...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Catch your own fish and cook them over a fire on the beach so you don't have to choke down the food here...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nikemikey
Business
Mount Pleasant Pennsylvania
Jul 5, 2011

Not what i planned for...

Went for a honeymoon trip on the adults section and wasn't too pleased when we arrived. First off they dropped us off in a neutral lobby that we didnt know about, we were lost because no one gave us any direction. After a few min passed, someone took our bags and said get on this little bus. We arrived at OUR lobby which was pretty nice. Once we made it to our room they had 2 double beds...which they then had to change rooms for us. The new rooms card reader didnt work %100 of the time so when we shut the door we had to slam it to make it latch. ALL of the restaurants required reservations...which EVERYTHING was BOOKED.. and the only 2 we were able to reserve was the BBQ and the Santa Fe. The BBQ turned out to be a crazy *darn* buffet near the beach at which TONS of little kids were swarming around and people straight off the beach were walking up...The Santa Fe was Mexican and we get our seats to find out that yet again ANOTHER buffet..So we help ourselves and sit back down and someone woman approches us and asked if we recieved Menu's. Then when we said NO she gave us this horrible look like we were idiots...So I tried to order some chicken thing from the menu and God forbid if she could understand me or speak any English, she just kept saying "No finished" and i just kept waving her to leave. When the food came out some busboy dropped it off and placed shrimp infront of me, a burito infront of my wife and some chicken covered in brown stuff inbewteen us. We also were told that the Don Pablo was the best place, so when we tried to see about reservation they told us that was the only place that requred men to wear long pants...which of course i didnt bring any because its over 100 degrees there every day. (Don Pablo is a French restaurant there not mexican like back home) The next day they had the "Flea Market" vendors arrive so we kindly asked the concierge what area it was located.. He then got on his cell phone and we waited about 10 min for him to bring up someone on a golf cart to take us personally to his "friend" vendor. Which the vendor wouldnt give us any prices until the end. We picked out a few items that were just colored rocks, cheap gifts to take home for friends and family, and he pulled us aside in one of the bus shuttle drop off areas to total the prices. Shows us a calculator and it says 220...i said whats that mean and he said $220! I told him he was out of his mind, he handed me the calculator and told me to give him a fair price....i said maybe $22 and he whipped out a lighter and started to burn the jewlery to prove that it was real...i told him i didnt care, i wasnt paying that much money for rocks! My wife an I were very uncomfortable and got up and walked away Last thing was they gave me some welcome paper to see someone in guest services the day after we arrived. I asked the front desk and they said meet him in our lobby and he can help us plan out activities. We waited for 20 min that morning and he never showed...turns out we had to meet that guy in his office in the Neutral lobby. We met with him and didnt want to use him to plan anything, and also told us to report to him 24 hours before checkout...which we missed because we were enjoying our vacation. Find out later that he HAD to call to make sure a shuttle would be there to pick us up on our day to checkout. So my advice would be NOT to go through CoCo tours for a ride. I would just skip this Gran Bahia all together unless you want to spend a great deal of money for a vacation you can take your kids on because thats all you see if you leave your small section of the adults only area. PS: bring your own shampoo and conditioner because they give you terrible watered down stuff and you have to buy conditioner in the gift shop. Oh and the room service we ordered once never showed up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Jun 27, 2011

Honeymoon

Layed by the pool and on the beach the pool was very nice with a swim up bar. The food wasnt the best. But overall it was very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelPro198
Business
Tequesta, Florida
Jun 27, 2011

Gran Bahia Ambar - Two Thumbs Down

We arrived in the near 100 degree heat & humidity of the day to discover that the air conditioning system throughout the entire resort complex was broken and would not be repaired for atleast 24 hours! While our suite was beautifully appointed including a ceiling fan to allow for atleast some air movement, we couldn't even leave the door to our patio open for added ventilation as the screen was torn away and it would have been impossible to keep the insects out! There were no other rooms to move us to, nor were there any replacement screens available. Not such a great first impression! We were unable to sleep in the heat that first night and at sunrise, ended up going down by the pool and beach in-search of some relief from the oppressive weather, only to find that most of the lounge chairs had already been reserved by fellow guests...the "towel game" was in full-force inspite of their posted policy to the contrary. It wasn't until near sunset on our second day that the air conditioning was restored to the guest rooms. It had yet to be fully restored to the public areas and restaurants when we departed some 7 days later! The food throughout the resort was mediocre in all the buffets and their a la carte restaurants with the exception of their Don Pablo and El Olivo restaurants, where both service and food quality were above-average! There is literally nothing to do at the Ambar after sunset. If you want to see the nightly show in the outdoor theater or go to the casino or disco you need to either take the resort tram system or walk 10-12 minutes to the Bavaro property. The beachfront that this resort complex has is among the worst we've ever seen or experienced in our previous 5 trips to other resorts in the Punta Cana area! It is narrow to begin with and when you crowd it with hundreds and hundreds of chaise lounges and guests, it is almost impassable! Now add mounds and mounds of seaweed that continuously washes ashore and the conditions are deplorable inspite of resort's best-efforts to maintain the area. The grounds are indeed beautiful and the building architecture picturesque. The staff is constantly cleaning the public areas. Reminiscent of being on a cruise, management is quite cautious about norovirus prevention, and at the entrance to every restaurant, hand-sanitizer is dispensed by the hostess to every guest who enters. We applaude this practice and suggest that other resorts follow-suit! Would we ever return to this resort complex? Simply put, no. While we enjoyed being away and on vacation, there are far-superior resort destinations in the region. And at far-less cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a straw market on the beach just an easy 4 kilometer walk south of the resort where every imaginable item can be bargained for. If you wait to buy your souveniers at the duty-free shops at the airport, you will pay twice the price if not more!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gud luck charm
Business
Chicago
Jun 26, 2011

Ummmm, over all pleased!

Gran Bahia Ambar is a very beautiful resort. The rooms are nice and cozy, the staff was very friendly and the guests were also very nice. We stayed at the Ambar Adult Only part of the Gran Bahia property resorts and it was quit relaxing. The pools and beach were not crowded, the eating areas were not booked and it was very peaceful and layer back. However, the only problem I did have was the fact that if u did not keep the a/c on your room became very damp and moist. The floors and walls would be very slippery and a little hard to walk on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ambar was very non existence when it came to nightlife. Around 10:00 to 11:00 it's like it was a ghost town. Don't get me wrong we could also sit out by the lobby and have drinks and socialize with other guest but the was no entertainment going on from the resort. If u wanted a lil of that u had to venture off to one of the other resort buildings to get that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top