$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 11, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wei z.
Business
West Chester
May 22, 2015

A wonderful trip in Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar

Very good service and nice peoples in hotel. Food is good. Location is close to airport. We will be back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
copperclarinet
Business
Anoka
May 17, 2015

relaxing

It was nice to be able to sit back and relax by the pool or the beach. Staff was very attentive! Rooms were clean. The control for our jetted tub were broken so we weren't able to use it however we had enough time in the water at the pool or the beach and spent very little time in our room. If you have a room at the back of the resort you will be doing a lot of walking! I would recommend a room between the restaurants and the beach for optimal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bethann V.
Business
N/A
May 10, 2015

Vacation

Such an amazing time... I would highly recommend coming here! Staff was so nice and very helpful. Pool is amazing and the bars... The food was excellent. Deff pick this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CAROLA S.
Business
ARLINGTON
May 6, 2015

Expected better

Made request to be near friends that were meeting us there and a nice view. We were put in separate buildings and had a view of weeds and brush in Ambar II (new section)When complained we were moved to Ambar I (old section)with at least a garden view. When friends showed up about an hour later, they switched them to the new section so they had to move as well. Beaches and water were beautiful. Food in specialty restaurants very good. Buffet and snack bars were just ok. Carlos, Asst. Manager, very helpful and most staff were pleasant. Experienced several staff members that were very rude. The language barrier is an issue, most staff does not speak English even though they say all staff speaks English. Room 62112 was in need of some repairs, toilet seat broken, toilet area door broke (did not close shut), some tile on floor cracked and broken, a/c did not ever get cold. Would I return? No. When checking in I ask Ruth at front desk if my request was even looked at, she stated no they don't usually look at the request because they get so many there was no way they could accommodate them. That was obvious and disappointing. When I reviewed this hotel before booking most reviews were very good. Unfortunately that wasn't our experience. We had stayed at a Gran Bahia in Playa de Carmen/Cancun and was very impressed so I figured this would be the same. Not so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob M.
Business
North Andover
May 4, 2015

Great value despite some issues

Issues included ongoing toilet flush problems and difficulty with internet connection. Otherwise fabulous beautiful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CAROLA S.
Business
ARLINGTON
May 3, 2015

Expected better

Just returned from trip from 4/26-5/2/15, overall the resort was nice, easy to get around, ocean and beaches were beautiful. Speciality restaurants, the food was very good, buffet and snack bars nothing to write home about. Most staff were friendly, some were flat out rude. Most employees can not speak English very well making it difficult to communicate. They need at least one or two employees that speak all languages fluently available for their guests. We later found out we missed out on various things because we could not communicate well with anyone. Special request made when made reservations two months early were completely ignored. Ruth at front desk simply stated they get so many special requests they usually don't even look at most. All I ask for was a nice view and close to friends that we were meeting there. We were booked in a room that had a view of weeds and brush. Friends were booked in the old section (Ambar I) we were booked in new section (Ambar II). We were moved to old section when I complained of the view but put in another building than our friends. Carlos, Asst. Manager, was extremely nice and bent over backwards to assist. Room was clean but paid extra for daily fragrance which should be standard. Rooms were in need of repairs, toilet seat was broken and door to toilet area broke and would not shut. Tile floor broke and busted in places. Air condition never got really cold, had to sleep with only sheets. Bars open at 10 am and closed too early. I hate to be a negative person but people deserve honesty when spending their hard earned money for their vacations. Will we return or recommend? No and I feel bad because I was the one that found this resort and why four friends met us there. When looking at reviews before I booked, most were extremely good. Unfortunately we did not have the same experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
One Happy Momma
Business
N/A
Apr 28, 2015

Best vacation ever!!!

My husband and I celebrated his birthday and our anniversary at the Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection - Adult Only Resort and we had an awesome time. I would be visiting this resort again along with family and friends. The staff, food and weather was great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David S.
Business
N/A
Apr 24, 2015

great beach, accommodations, and food. Poor hotel/complex design and execution.

The beach is the best in the world! Plenty of huts, not so many close to the water. Everything was great while at the resort. What was bad was getting to and from Anbar/Don Pablo . We were dropped off by our tour bus at this other resort that wasn't even ours and told that a shuttle will take us to Don Pablo. We must have waited almost an hour for the shuttle, which ended up being a golf cart with 10 people crowded on it. My wife and I certainly didn't feel welcome but more like a hassle to the staff. Additionally, when we were leaving, the concierge at the resort said he had arranged for our ride to the airport. Once again we were shuttled, then corralled with 30 other travelers at the same location then, waited and waited and waited, but said ride never showed. We were almost late to the airport and missed our flight which required someone paying off a cabbie for us to finally get to the airport on time. Not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JuliB
Business
Blaine
Apr 18, 2015

Girls Getaway

The stay in our room after the third attempt was up to par. We initially got a room with one bed which was changed to another room that had not been completely cleaned and made up along with freshly paint smell. They took care of us immediately after the first two tries at the rooms. Let me say this… the staff there were awesome… they aimed to please especially the men when it's a couple of girls out. :) The excursions were pretty great… depending on what you like you can choose from many variations of excursions. The restaurants were good, the reservation times were not, we kept getting late dinners like after 9 pm… just a little late when there's not much of a night life at the resort. Yes, let me rephrase this… there is a night life if you want to gamble at the casino or dance your night away at the night club, but other than that there is not much else to do but drink at the lobby bar which closed down by 1130 pm. Good think we tipped the bartender really good everyday, he had our drinks ready every time and let us stay until after the closing of the bar. :) Great beach, pool was good, staff was great… I would recommend to try it out… bang for your bucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paula M.
Business
Brooklyn
Apr 15, 2015

I cant wait to return

Ambar is simply amazing. I love the seclusion from the rest of the hotels. Staff is friendly. Room was cleaned twice a day. Even during spring break at 99 capacity the hotel seevice was not affected. I came with 10 people i wish the hotel catered a little more to larger parties but we were able to make it work. Really comtemplating about returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top