$216 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
402 reviews
great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive)... See full review

  • Princess Agata
  • Jul 20, 2014
Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and... See full review

  • Cornel
  • Jun 11, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (402)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben Hur
Montreal, Canada
Jan 26, 2012

Good value for the money

Experience was overall very good except that they sent us to their worst possible room outside the Ambar section in front of a bus stop for the first night. We had to argue in order to get a good room beginning with the second night and we did. You need to avoid a room on the main street because there's quite a bit of traffic (buses, delivery trucks, etc.). If you have a room inside the Ambar section (the garden side), it is as close to paradise as you will get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jjett
Missouri
Jan 26, 2012

Mixed Feelings

Upon check in Ambar did not have room available for 1st night reservation. Sent us to sister hotel. Then we had to switch again the next day. Not convenient at all. Beach was extremely crowded. Had to get up early to reserve chair at beach (or pool). Grounds beautiful, rooms clean, food good, and friendly staff. Remaining vacation enjoyable. In future I may pick other resort simply for the overbooking error.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alfizzo
Lincoln, RI, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Excellent Experience

The Ambar section was the Adults Only with Great Food and relaxing atmosphere. The bar tender in the Ambar Lobby Murfi made some good cocktails and treated us very well. The food was EXCELLENT and would apease the fussiest of eaters. The resort was spotless and well maintained. We had a great time and would go again. PS - The little stores have good prices on local products. You dont need to leave resort to find good deals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make Reservations to restaurants at guest services right away. Lunch in Ambar lobby is way better than at the beach.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Great Place for Adults Only!

The Gran Bahia is a huge property, but we stayed at the Ambar, which is the adults only part of the community. It was wonderful, felt like we were in a gated community and exclusive restaurants that you can enjoy without listening to other people's children. The amenities were awesome, including free wi-fi from the lobby, where you can sit and have cocktails, and catch up on news from home..on your own device. We would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do make a point of having dinner at the properties signature restaurant the Don Pablo. Food and service were excellent, just like a 5 star restaurant should be!

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RicardoJQ
New York, NY, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Jast "good"

We fill out a formal complain letter at front desk, The jakuzzi never work on our room, Restaurant (El Olivo) food was served on bad condition, Restaurant ( El Pescador ) didn't have Rose wine, Hotel Bahia Pricipe Ambar didn't have lemon for two days on any restaurant or bar. Not a very good experience for the Price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheVsInWI
Madison, WI
Jan 8, 2012

5-Stars All Around!!

We went on this trip as a belated honeymoon. The trip was MAGNIFICENT! Everything was very clean, the staff was super friendly, and the views were wonderful. Fantastic value. Definitely stay at Ambar if you want an adults only experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try Don Pablo. The filet is fantastic, the lobster left something to be desire. Also, make sure you make dinner reservations when you arrive to make sure you get all of the restaurants you want.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hoosier Fanatic
Indianapolis, IN
Jan 3, 2012

Resort is Huge!

The resort itself was beautiful. The grounds, pool areas, restaurants, etc. were all very clean and well prepared. There aren't any rooms with ocean views and the resort is huge! The biggest I have ever stayed in. There are 5 resorts all together. The beach was nice, a lot of palm trees and shade with little umbrellas canopies all over. The most disappointing aspect of the resort was the food. It was at best just average. Some dinner restaurants were better than others, but they just didn't impress me or my girlfriend. The best restaurant by far was the Japanese. The service at the bars was excellent, but the service at the restaurants was not as good. Often times our waiter forgot our drinks and we had to ask for them several times. Also, our appetizer's never made it to us on one occasion. If you are a picky eater, I would suggesting finding a resort known for its quality menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tim SNi
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Dec 22, 2011

Punta Cana trip

At first my trip was a disaster, but after some help and a little luck. The trip turned out great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jchicago
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Nice place, a little overpriced

The room was nice, the food was just OK... I expected the restaurants that you needed reservations at to be better... just a small improvement from the buffet at the Ambar. The food at the Ambar was better than the other hotels. We had a leak in ceiling of our bathroom (right over the toilet). We called the front desk at 11am, 2pm, 4pm and went to the desk at 5pm, 8pm and 11pm... finally at 11pm they offer to let us change rooms. Each time we talked to them they said that they would send some one up right away... a maintenance guy showed up one time and said he would be back in 20 minutes... never came back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

any of the tours are about $90pp... we did the zipline and it was very good.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 1, 2011

Great times with blah food

We went here over Thanksgiving and had a great time overall. The staff was very nice (especially Iris with Guest Services), the grounds were awesome, and there was warm sunny weather. We always were able to get chairs on the beach and pool (occasionally you would have to move two together, but not a big deal). The only real downside here is that their dining options range from Old Country Buffet quality to ok. As others have said, Maiko is your best bet for food (although somebody should train the chefs in the standard table tricks of making fire volcanos out of onions, etc....), and Don Pablo is ok. We also liked the stake house. Almost all of the al la cart restaurants also included a buffet option; however all the buffet fare was uninspired. Overall, if you are looking for a good clean resort, a good price, an not to far from the airport, then this hotel will work great. If food is important you should probably spend the extra money to go up a class in resorts or avoid the all inclusives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top