$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
324 out of 324
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sophia1
Business
New York, NY
Jan 19, 2013

Perfect place for R&R

Nicely located hotel that is isolated from the rest of the Grand Bahia Principle's enormous complex. Fresh, well-prepared food, genial staff. Outdated gym with only 1 working treadmill offset by vast grounds, expansive sandy beach and ample pool. No live music in hotel lobby at night a minus. Overall a pleasant, relaxing beach vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flav0urr
Business
New York, New York
Jan 18, 2013

Amazing resort

I have an all-inclusive -- buffet was definitely better than their specialty restaurants! The resort was just HUGE. Even had trams/little bus stops on every corner for people to travel around. Everyone was super friendly -- I would definitely recommend this resort to everyone i know!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All the attractions are in the hotel. I'm sad that I didn't get to see the well-reviewed Michael Jackson show that was only on Mondays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AE413
Business
Arlington, VA
Jan 11, 2013

Not 5 Star Service, Food, or Amenities

Check in was a mess, they require a printed out voucher, which I have never needed to check in to any 4 or 5 star resort, as if we would fly for 6 hours to the Caribbean and not have reservations. We even had our passports for ID and that was not sufficient. The rooms are dated and the bedding is not comfortable. Our airconditioner broke in the middle of the night every night of our first 3 nights and they sent someone to fix it, which only worked after waiting over an hour the first 2 nights. The 3rd night it was not fixable, so we layed there hot and awake from 3AM on. The customer service when addressing our issues was terrible and we were offered no compensation, were told we had to go through the booking company. The food was AWFUL, completely awful. You will have a better dinner at a fast food place. There is not free wi-fi in the rooms, you have to pay for it. The beach, however, is gorgeous. I would recomend staying elsewhere to visit it. The resort is also just too big. Everyone we ran into was lost, even on their 3rd or 4th day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Sandy Sandra
Business
Washington State
Jan 3, 2013

Great Honeymoon

Hotel staff is amazing and very attentive at all times, the overall cleanliness of the premises are immaculate including garden and common areas. We stayed in the Ambar which is adults only- definately worth it. Not as luxurious as Esmeralda but having the benefit of using all other Bahia Principe hotels unlike the other guests which cannot use the Ambar was as an advantage. The beach is turquoise and the sand white and clean. Only drawback is the food is not that great, it barely has seasoning for my and husband's taste. Also hotel vendors will do anything to sell you anything overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juanito M
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Dec 30, 2012

Relax to the max

Perfect relaxation, great food and ourstanding service. Never made it to the various restauirant because the buffet was awesome. Beach and pool area were beautiful. Property is very well kept and clean. Public bathrooms at restaurant and beach were always spotless. Would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stoodin1
Business
Toronto
Dec 25, 2012

Excellent vacation

I and my wife visited this hotel between Dec 16 till 24, 2012. Overall the experience was very good. There were some disappointing moments, but based on our 15 years experience going to different Caribbean Islands it will be always the case. Here is my story: I booked the vacation more than a month prior to departure and almost immediately sent email to the Hotel asking for the corner room on the 3rd floor. I also sent a reminder email about my request a day prior to arrival. We also booked a transportation to Hotel and back to the Airport. When we arrived to the Punta Cana airport nobody was waiting for us with the sign, as we were expected. We found a VIP company booth and asked them about our ride. We didn't note smile or happiness on their faces, but they found our record and after almost half on hour wait at their booth their representative took us to the parking lot were we spent another 20 min under the sun waiting for the car to take us to the Hotel. The ride was quick, 30 min or so. At the hotel we've been told to wait until 3 pm to get our room. When I approach the reception desk around 3 pm the room was NOT ready and they asked us to wait another hour. By this time we were 3-4 hours in their lobby. Finally around 4 pm they gave us a key. The room was NOT the corner one, but was on the third floor, the cleaning lady was still working there and we waited another 15 min until she finished her work. The room was nice, King bad, close to pool and all amenities, as we requested. It would be nice to have a corner room, since we requested well ahead of our arrival, but that was fine. All area in the hotel nice looking, clean, there are always people maintaining and cleaning. Many restaurants around. You can always find food there. A lot of variety, but for people who like delicious food go to Mexico. That said the food was tasty enough. Beach area was good. You can always find the spot, maybe not at the place you want to (have to come around 8am to pick up your favorite place). We had a leaking roof in our room where all our clothes in the closet got vet, but the stuff handled appropriately, moving us to another room and offered a coupon to the Hotel shops. We would like to thank Idelin, who is the Customer Manger who helped us to forget the bad experience and continue to enjoy our vacation. We came back home happy and relaxed. This hotel certainly worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VACATIONS ARE GREAT
Business
HOLLY, MI
Dec 20, 2012

December in Punta Cana

Hotel was excellent beach was remarkable. Could have had more pool activities besides aerobic in the morning and zumba in the afternoon every day. Lobby privilege club sales people pushy every day even though we sat and spoke with them the first day and said no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ Dancing Queen
Business
New Jersey
Dec 18, 2012

the best vacation

Elegant and sophisticated place with excellent staff making all your worries go away upon the arrival. Good food and comfortable rooms. Nightlife could be enhanced by having better variety of music and quality music equipment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RWAX
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 17, 2012

Beautiful Place

We had a great time here. The staff was really great. The buffet's were top knotch as well. The restaurants were OK but not the "Experience" we expected. (5 stars on the Buffet and 3.5 stars on the restaurants). Beaches were very nice and maintained as well as the pools. We were in the Kid-Free zone so it was also peaceful. The only real negative things about the whole resort were the pushy time share salesment that were relentless in the lobby area and the vendors in the plaza that would'nt let you casually look over their wares, but instead were very pushy toward things I wasn't interested in. The bartenders make excellent drinks that are on their list. Make sure they know what you want if you order a chocolate martini, for instance. YOu may get gin,vermouth and chocholate. Overal it was a good time onceI set the realtors straight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the gift shops every day. The prices seem to change daily depending on who is working. I bought some shirts that were quoted on day at 35 dollars but 10 dollars on my last day. I eventually bought them for 8

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Suze2012
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Dec 13, 2012

Good from Far, far from good.

I don't know if my expectations for a 4 star resort is high or this place just really is average. I don't if I am the correct demo but I just felt that this was an average hotel nothing special. I typically stay in Westin's or W. I didn't feel that the staff was too helpful to make us happy. We checked in and after 24 complained that we didn't like our room as it was completely dark since it faced the jungle and got no day light. It was hard to get any type of restaurants and when we did get a reservation the place was half empty. We didnt even know till our 4th day in that there is butler service to make sure you are happy. Butler service we still never saw it. The food was not good, once again I dont know if my standard is high and this just didn't meet it but I felt that it as poor quality maybe because the resort if 5 in one and there are so many people that is just poor. I would almost preferred to eat 100% dominican because then it would have been amazing! But every thing was just a weird take on something. We did love Muphi at the lobby bar he was definitely dedicated to making quality drinks and making us laugh!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top