$388 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
308 reviews
Awesome sister getaway

We had an amazing time. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and kind. Definetely check out... See full review

  • Amara D.
  • Jan 17, 2015
Great Vacation: Avoid VIP Travel for Short Stays

Hotel was great! Book reservations for a la carte well in advance. Don Pablo and Bella Italia were... See full review

  • Christopher B.
  • Jan 14, 2015
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.
El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (308)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
308 out of 308
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VACATIONS ARE GREAT
Business
HOLLY, MI
Dec 20, 2012

December in Punta Cana

Hotel was excellent beach was remarkable. Could have had more pool activities besides aerobic in the morning and zumba in the afternoon every day. Lobby privilege club sales people pushy every day even though we sat and spoke with them the first day and said no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ Dancing Queen
Business
New Jersey
Dec 18, 2012

the best vacation

Elegant and sophisticated place with excellent staff making all your worries go away upon the arrival. Good food and comfortable rooms. Nightlife could be enhanced by having better variety of music and quality music equipment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RWAX
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 17, 2012

Beautiful Place

We had a great time here. The staff was really great. The buffet's were top knotch as well. The restaurants were OK but not the "Experience" we expected. (5 stars on the Buffet and 3.5 stars on the restaurants). Beaches were very nice and maintained as well as the pools. We were in the Kid-Free zone so it was also peaceful. The only real negative things about the whole resort were the pushy time share salesment that were relentless in the lobby area and the vendors in the plaza that would'nt let you casually look over their wares, but instead were very pushy toward things I wasn't interested in. The bartenders make excellent drinks that are on their list. Make sure they know what you want if you order a chocolate martini, for instance. YOu may get gin,vermouth and chocholate. Overal it was a good time onceI set the realtors straight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the gift shops every day. The prices seem to change daily depending on who is working. I bought some shirts that were quoted on day at 35 dollars but 10 dollars on my last day. I eventually bought them for 8

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Suze2012
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Dec 13, 2012

Good from Far, far from good.

I don't know if my expectations for a 4 star resort is high or this place just really is average. I don't if I am the correct demo but I just felt that this was an average hotel nothing special. I typically stay in Westin's or W. I didn't feel that the staff was too helpful to make us happy. We checked in and after 24 complained that we didn't like our room as it was completely dark since it faced the jungle and got no day light. It was hard to get any type of restaurants and when we did get a reservation the place was half empty. We didnt even know till our 4th day in that there is butler service to make sure you are happy. Butler service we still never saw it. The food was not good, once again I dont know if my standard is high and this just didn't meet it but I felt that it as poor quality maybe because the resort if 5 in one and there are so many people that is just poor. I would almost preferred to eat 100% dominican because then it would have been amazing! But every thing was just a weird take on something. We did love Muphi at the lobby bar he was definitely dedicated to making quality drinks and making us laugh!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luc1
Business
montreal
Dec 13, 2012

After 5 times it's still a great hotel

We have been going to this hotel for the last 5 years and still love it very much, the service, the people, the food, everything is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

As soon as you arrive at the hotel, reserve your restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe 123
Business
Grand Bahia Principe Ambar
Dec 8, 2012

Excellent vacation

Pool was awesome, buffets were fantastic. Restaurants were not as expected. Food and choices way better at the buffets. We had a great room and housekeeping staff superb. Most of the staff wer very helpful and accomodating. Little bit of a language barrier but able to communicate just the same. Would highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I wouldn't bother with reservations for the restaurants buffets have everything you need and more. Tip your servers, housekeeping and everyone else who helps you. They work very hard and deserve to be appreciated.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L Mike
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 3, 2012

An average vacation

The hotel is very big and when filled to capacity, a lot of 'good' becomes 'average' at best. There is not personnel to provide an adequate serverice: some days the room would not get cleaned until 6:00 PM, you could wait for the long time to get service in the main buffet and in the resturants. The pool would be so crouded it looked like the pool on cruis ship. The stuff is very friendly and tries it's best. Grounds are well maintained. Food in the buffet is average. In specialty restarants food in not good and takes really 'forever' to eat there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
30th bday vacation
Business
New York, NY
Dec 3, 2012

Great bday vacation!

I really recommend the Luxury BP Ambar hotel! We spent 9 days in November in this adults only resort and we really enjoyed it! It was my bday vacation. Great food, esp in the buffet! Gala buffet w/ lobster was the best. There was a variety of a la carte restaurants but we loved the buffet for its variety and quality. Very good drinks w/ top shelf alcohol! The service was good, people were nice. The beach was nice and clean, so were the pools. We also played tennis and mini golf. We're def going back. The rooms were big, clean w/ nice Jacuzzi and shower in the all marble bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Explorer2012
Business
philly
Nov 19, 2012

Nice but not Luxurious

This was a girls 5 day get away. Our arrival to the hotel starts with ground transportation taking us to the. Bahia Punta Cana a sister hotel of the Ambar then a tram picked us up and transported us the Ambar. The rooms are very nice and adequate space for one or two people. The staff try to be very helpful but the lack of English speaking personnel began to work my very last nerve. We had to call for wash cloth everyday we were there. Although we had towels and bath accessories they never left wash cloths until we called the front desk for them. I was told to make rese rvation for restaurants early so I decided to make. them from home before my trip. I call guest services. and was told. that I could make reservation 7days in advance. I call and made them by phone. Once there the y told me I was not on the list and would not be seated. After requesting the manager and threatening never to return they found room for us. After all the fuss about the place(Don Pablo) the food was just ok. Speaking of food. Hated it. All of it. Everything was bland. All the food was the same. No shows here you have to go to the punta cana or bavario hotels for everything. Okay resort but not the Luxury I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If your like good food find a restaurant in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shumes
Business
Park City, Utah
Nov 8, 2012

Loved it, we would definitely go again

The resort itself was beautiful and well maintained. Getting around was extremely easy. Golf carts and staff were always available and ready to get you where you needed to go. The adult only division of Ambar was well worth the money. Children were not permitted in any portion of the property as promised and we loved that the most to be honest. It was nice to be able to relax at either the beach or pool and not have noise. Needless to say it was a peaceful experience. At three o'clock everyday of course we would get ourselves to the pool for Bingo Bongo and the afternoon's entertainment. The two gentlemen that run the music and games are great. Funny and friendly, we really enjoyed ourselves. Enerolisa, our server at pool side was very attentive and after the first day we didn't even have to tell her anything. She knew when to bring new drinks and of course what we drank. Loved her. We golfed at Punta Blanca. Great course, it's deceivingly challenging. The caddies pick you up and drop you off after your round, and are very helpful I might add. You get water and soda included with the cost of the round. Also there's a sandwich at the turn and lunch after you're done. We booked a three day package and since we were staying at the Principe Ambar they discounted from $190 to $145 a round. Not bad with everything you get. They cleaned and stored our clubs for us. Greeted us with cold wet towels and even cleaned our golf shoes after every round. We could get used to that treatment. This was our first time ever going to an all inclusive, adult only resort and we would most definitely go again. My favorite restaurant was Mikado ( I think it was was the name, hibachi grill style ). It was within the Principe properties but at a different hotel. We also really enjoyed our meals at Don Pablo. If I had to give a negative it would be that the food could be more flavorful. The fruit was fresh and delicious, but I found the entrees to be a bit bland. A little more seasoning would have been nice. The buffet breakfast and lunch out by the pool and beach was enjoyable. There were many options. The gazpacho soup was really delicious. On the down side, some of the meat was a bit chewy and the pasta was overcooked but otherwise I really can't say to much on the negative. I also might add that I kind of knew what to expect of the food at the buffet, because I had read a bunch of reviews prior to booking our trip. We loved it..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top