$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
294 reviews
Great All Around

My Wife and I went for our honeymoon and had a great time. Ambar is the way to go for adults,... See full review

  • Rossko
  • Jul 28, 2014
great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive)... See full review

  • Princess Agata
  • Jul 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (294)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karitak Army Wife
Business
Joplin, MO
Jul 7, 2009

I can't wait to go back!!

My husband and I went on this trip to celebrate our 10th anniversary, and he's already planning our trip back. We had a absolutely wonderful time. The grounds were immaculate, the service was superb, the beach was gorgeous, the food was excellent, the rooms were huge and spotless, and the water was crystal clear. It was so relaxing and fun! We met so many people from all over - Scotland, Canada, Hungary, and other states. The only excursion we went on was a visit to the cigar factory - if you like cigars ask your agent about it. It's very informative and it was free. My husband bought a box while we were there. The only complaint we had was that men have to wear long pants in the evening if they want to eat. We thought the resort could have offered one place where shorts could be worn. So take long pants, they can be jeans but I recommend something lightweight - it's to hot for jeans. If you don't have long pants expect to pay high for linen pants or order room service every night. That being said, we had a wonderful time and are looking forward to going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

For souveniours avoid the hotel shops as they are pricey. About 2 miles down the beach are some local shops that you can negoiate with for much better prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
iamthedj
Business
Burlington, VT
Jun 17, 2009

Beautiful resort!

The hotel room was beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful when we had questions. We endjoyed the variety of foods that was offered. My favorite spot was the beach! Although it could have had more chairs. We went on two excursions--the Fun Fun Cave was wonderful and exciting! The other was to Saona island--although the ocean and island were beautiful, I didn't think this excursion was worht the cost. It was a long trip by bus, boat to just sit on another beach and have some drinks. Since it was listed as a national park I thought there would be paths and such to walk around in the jungle/woods--but only the beach. the only problem with the hotel--it was listed as adult only--but they did not seem to stop people with children from coming to the beach and food areas. I wasn't too happy when some kids got bored and started fighting on the beack--throwing sand. I would love to go back again and would stay at the same place. I've recommended it to family and co-workers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Florida
Aug 10, 2009

Excellent Facility

My only real negative was that I found myself having to get pushy in order to get simple things...I expected more from a 5 star resort. For example, we tried requesting a pillow (a normal extra pillow) at midnight. We were immediately told 'no' b/c the person in charge of the pillows was gone for the day. I had to get on the phone and get upset that in a 500 plus room (at half capacity), five star facility they couldnt find one extra pillow. The pillow was in our room within 5 minutes. But why did we even have to become aggravated just for that simple request? Other than things like that the facility is top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Female (25-30)
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 10, 2009

Best Vacation Ever !!!

This was a vacation of a lifetime. Great friendly staff, great location and overall excellent service. I will definetally stay there again. I am already planning my next trip back. The hotel is amazing. Great rooms and very clean. The staff is wonderfull and very helpfull. We had the time of our lives. We loved every minute of the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definetelly go on the Saona Island excursion. The most beautiful island. White sand, turquoise water and beautiful palm trees. You can take pictures with starfish and drink out of a coconut. Loved it!!! Also, the dolphin island is awesome. Swim and take pictures with dolphins, sharks and stingrays. Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL.
Aug 10, 2009

Great Vacation

Hotel and staff were wonderful. The food was excellent. Room service was great!! Very clean property with exquisite grounds. We can hardly wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pay for your round trip transfers from the airport to the hotel in advance, it is much easier and cheaper than what they want to charge you at the airport for this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canton, MI
Aug 10, 2009

Awesome Honeymoon Vacation

We had a friend that mentioned this resort as a great resort. So we went along with his recommendation. We were overwelmed on how beautiful this resort was. We were looking for somewhere to go to relax and just be by ourselves and the Ambar location since it was adults only was definitely the place to do this. Whether it was laying by the beach or the pool they were both equally enjoyable. At night, the shows were extremely entertaining as well as all of the shops on the resort. No need to leave the resort unless you want to do any of the tours. We personally just enjoyed the resort and never left for any tours. The food was great everynight whether it was the buffet or the several different types of restaurants. Overall this was an excellent resort and would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure to make your dinner reservations before arrival if possible or the first day you arrive. They provide you with reservations for the 3 resturants in the Ambar area upon arrival but after that you are on you own. When in doubt, the buffet is excellent. Every night a different choice of food...ie oriental, carribean, american, french and mexican.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Virginia
Aug 10, 2009

Quiet adult get away

Good for relaxing get away for couples --- entertainment was located at other campuses of the large resort - adults only section smaller without noise and hullabaloo. Food was good for all inclusive - more continental fare -- if you want better then pay for it in Paris and then complain. Note --- local transportation arranged by Orbitz requested call backs and visits which were annoying --- adults on relatively short trip don't want to have to chase down the transport people to confirm leave times, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

There are shops in the main hotel area --- so you do not have to leave the resort compound. Some vendor aggression. Many hotel visitors say they enjoy walking 45 minutes down beach to local shopping area -- but vendors are aggressive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Jun 4, 2010

ABSOLUTELY STUNNING!!

When we booked the Ambar hotel I thought that it was one of the various hotels that they had in Punta Cana. But the way it is set up is that all the different hotels are in one complex but they are sectioned off. The great thing is that we stood in the Adults Only section, which was more luxurious. We had access to all the grounds of the other sections as well as exclusivity to the grounds that are specific to Ambar. Our room was fantastic. The biggest downside that your view options were garden or pool view - there is no view of the beach for any of the hotel rooms. This did not bother us too much as we mainly were down at the beach anyway. We only stayed in the room to change or sleep. The buffet was good, but after 2 days it gets tiring. However the specialty restaurants were fantastic + it came with the "all inclusive" package. The Ambar section had it's own pool, so that was as there were no kids playing around while you were trying to relax. Plus you were able to have the pool bar right in the pool, so when taking a dip you can have your drink. I had the beachside massage, which oddly enough was cheaper then if you had it in the spa, and that was great! When we were on the beach, we found there to be plenty of chairs to lie on. But when we wanted to go party, we could easly go to the other section of the hotel which was more of the party crowd. So the fact that we had many options were great. Another small annoyance was that if you wanted to go to the casino you could either walk about 1 mile to get to the main entrance or take those trolly carts, which came every 5-10 minutes. Since Ambar was one of the hotels that was closest to the beach that meant you were farthest from the main enterence of the complex, which is where the casino was. The casino is tiny, but we still manage to have a great time. To my surprise too at the main enterence there are a ton of tiny shops that you stroll into and do a little shopping. There were times that we needed to obtain information on how to get to a certain restaurant, or ask how to change money or get change, and it was difficult to obtain this information from some of the staff, as their English was not very good. So if you speak Spanish you will probably get better information than we did. Also, another tip is to bring lots of singles with you. You will find yourself tipping here and there. If you run out of singles there is a cashier by the front desk that will gladly change it for you, but only $10 at time and only when she is there. We ran out of USD and we needed more cash to continue tipping, so we took money out of the ATM which were in RD, which did suck a bit. So just bring enough USD with you to feel comfortable based on your length of stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

To make reservations at the a la cart restaurants you will need to go to guest services. You cannot make the reservations over the phone because they give your this receipt that you need to hand to the host/hostess of the retaurant in order to be seated. That is the reason that you cannot book this over the phone. It took us 2 days to figure it out. Also, try to plan out the restaurants you would like to eat at and book it all at once, so you do not need to continually go back to guest services as they do tend to get backed up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dorothy from the WIZ
Business
New York, NY
Jul 20, 2010

Excellent Location - Best in Punta Cana

It was like being in Paradise (a dream you do not want to awake from). I did not want to leave. The property was beautiful. We went to the beach, the night time entertainment, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jul 19, 2010

Outstanding to say the least!

From the time we arrived at the airport till the time we left we had the most fantastic time. We really wanted a restful vacation and to be close to the beach and not have the noise of kids around. Ambar far exceeded our expectations.Very very romantic. The service was impeccable from beginning to end. The room was spotless and in fact we were given a room with two double beds and we wanted a king. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite without even a delay or having to pay anymore. Food was great! Honestly, I do not have one negative thing to say. The good thing about staying at Ambar is that you can choose to use the other Bahia Principe resorts on site if want. We preferred the quiet of Ambar. The pictures on the website are exactly what the resort looks like. [...] Happy holidays who ever chooses this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top