$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy American
Business
Portland, OR, USA
May 30, 2013

Mama & Papa Back Again

This was trip # 6 for us staying at Ambar. We love the working staff. The rooms are clean and the food is served and prepared by genuine hard working, caring, loving, Dominicans. I hope they don't change anything because it is not needing improvement. Ambar is wonderful. The repeat customers are fun loving just like the working staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet food is the best food served by the most wonderful people in the world.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R0cketman
Family
New York
Mar 17, 2014

Family de-icing trip

Hotel staff was great. Beach was fantastic. You have to make dinner reservations upon arrival or face long lines later and very few choices on where you want to dine. Dr. Fish trip on boat spa was the best and well worth it. Pool bar a must and overall worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Boat Spa

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
muhun1
Couples
Toronto, Canada
Mar 7, 2014

Amazing vacation

My wife and I had a great time at the resort. Great amenities, staff was very friendly and the food was excellent. The Ambar side of the resort has a much older crowd, but since we had access to the other adjoining resorts, we were able to experience fun and quite times based on our moods. The beach is one of the best I have seen. I highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The a la carte restaurants are pretty good at the Ambar. See if you can make the reservations before you arrive to get the best times because they get booked fast

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SoAdo
Couples
New York, NY
Mar 6, 2014

Couples Getaway

Hotel average age was 70+ Food was an 8 on scale 1-10 Room was okay, kept clean and mini fridge re-stocked daily. When we ran the air conditioner it leaked and made dripping noises throughout the night which kept waking us up. Also the room had a very musty odor prob from the leaking A/C. Beach was beautiful. They clean the seaweed off it every morning, endless miles of walking! Simply perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
only wanted to go home
Couples
Philly, PA
Feb 19, 2014

not happy

was not a true adult only paid extra for adult only

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gbd1
Couples
washington, dc
Feb 18, 2014

Couple in their 20s enjoyed it

We had a pretty solid routine of beach, lunch, beach (drinks), pool/bar, shower, dinner reservations (make them in advance, don pablo far and away the best place), and then take the trolly to the live show, sports bar (w/ kareoke), and club area. Rinse, wash, repeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nmack1
Houston, TX
Jan 27, 2014

Incredible staff make for an unforgettable vacation!

The staff are remarkably attentive. At mealtime, your glass will never even be half empty because they will refill it after even a few sips. It's incredible. Everywhere you look there are staff members looking after the grounds, making drinks, entertaining guests. They make the resort what it is. Tip: bring your own drink container - highly recommended an insulated mug. They'll fill it with whatever drink you want. Grounds are beautiful, not a scratch in sight. Beach and pool extraordinary. We stayed at Ambar - the adults only section. NOTE, we are both 25 years old and we were the youngest by (on average) 30/35 years. We didn't mind because the older folks tended to be quiet and keep to themselves, which is what we wanted. If you're looking for a party atmosphere - you will NOT find it here. As an LGBT couple, we got a few stares from fellow guests, but that's to be expected just about anywhere. Nothing invasive. Only downside - the beds are hard as rocks. Seriously uncomfortable. Fortunately, a day on the beach drinking, a good run, a tennis match, or pool time tires you out so much that you pass out anyway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shansie Pansie
Friends
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jan 21, 2014

Super adult only vaca

The staff were so nice and the pool was beautiful. Each night had a special experience, I will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Skar
Friends
Bellingham, Washington
Jan 11, 2014

Fantastic Adult All Inclusive

I went to the Bahia Principe Ambar with a group of 8 25-30 somethings. We were mixed in couples and singles. There was something for everyone! Tons of night life, great amenities. I have been to many all inclusives and this was my favorite! The restaurants were good (the hibachi was delicious!). The staff are super helpful and tips go a really long way. The beach us pristine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want souvenirs and Dominican art or goodies, take a walk all the way down the beach to the southeast and you will find a cool makeshift shopping area. Be ready to negotiate! You will get much better prices and a fun experience.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MissyW
Couples
Scottsdale
Jan 8, 2014

Great experience

Great amenities, welcoming staff. Beach most enjoyable. Could use some variety in on-site activities. Would definitely consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mcmeowmac
Couples
Kentucky
Dec 24, 2013

beautiful location, average comfort

The location is wonderful. Beach views from the Rooms would have been better. The grounds are fabulous. Shopping is a joke. It's very obvious that tourists are taken advantage of. What is a $2 bracelet on eBay, everyone will try and sell for $300...No joke. Sickening. You can get them to $5. I say don't shop. The food is average. I expected better. The presentation of it is wonderful. Looks better than it is. The room are pretty. The beds are not good at all. Firm and painful to the point of soreness. The pillows bite too...badly. I over paid for what was a great massage. It being a poverished country, $95 was way too much. $50 would be fair. A beach massage would have been nice. Drinks a plenty but inconsistent concoctions. They are absolutely watering down alcohol. There is only one beer available, and had we have known that, we'd of gone elsewhere. It's a clean place. Maids all over. Refreshing. I appreciated that. Make nachos from the cafe. Queso with salsa and chili and jalapenos combined. They will save you...lol. The beach is comfortable and wonderful. Great little shack bar. All you need. That's it! I'd go back to the island but would aim for a higher reviewed place. All in all...not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in the hotel is way too high. Shopping out is possible to bargain with. $200-300 will be the joke off an asking price. $5 is what you should pay. Good luck with that. Avoid shopping unless you have money to burn.

Back to menu Return to top