$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BKAS
Business
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2013

OK

This was your typical Caribbean resort. Wished the staff were more knowledgeable about the hotel itself. Great pool and beach area. Food is solid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BDandBD
Business
Idaho
Jun 19, 2013

Great place to stay. Very helpful staff, Clean. A++

Had a first floor room after. It was a little cooler too. Noticed a weird smell. (building 62) but other than that it was a wonderful stay. Maid service was friendly and nice. Bar service was awesome too. Food is fantastic, although we didn't enjoy the "American theme" buffet. Had dinner at Don Pablo, Japanese, and Italian. All were extremely wonderful meals. We enjoyed every minute of our trip. The best advice is to bring lots of $1 bills with you for tips. Don't change your USA currency to Peso at airport, or at all. It's not necessary. The "Caribbean Festival" excursion is awesome and fun!! We highly recommend!! Dolphin Explorer was "ok" and service on that excursion could improve! Workers on the Dolphin Explorer were rude when we gave them tip money. They laughed and apparently we didn't give enough. I was offended by them. Also, it costs you $70 to buy pictures of the Dolphin giving you a kiss. You can't buy one set if you are in a group of "two swimmers", so we never bought the photos. Too expensive. They won't let you take any pictures on your own. If traveling without children, it is SO WORTH staying at Ambar for Adults only!! We would venture in to Esmeralda and hear the kids screaming etc and it was just nice to be able to leave and go back to the Adults only area. It was worth the extra money. (we have children, but we were on vacation for ourselves this time :-) Overall, had a wonderful trip. Thanks Bahia Principe Ambar!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Found some nice shops with decent prices off beach near Riu. Most places take USA currency.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gidget84
Business
Roswell, GA
Jun 12, 2013

Amazing.. going back again this year

We went in 2012 in summer. This was my first trip out of country. We loved it. When we arrived at the airport we were a little taken back by the people who INSIST on taking your luggage to the shuttle check in. This was very uncomfortable. When we arrived at Ambar, we were greeted warmly and out room was not ready yet so we went to eat and grab a drink. A light meal and 2 drinks later (they dont cheat you on alcohol at all!) we were ready to check in. Our bags were already in our room so we went to the pool. Everything was great!! Everyday, they refilled our drinks in our room. I recommend the pillow menu.. lavender for sure :) The room service at night it ok. We stayed 3 nights the first time.. and we refused to be cheated like that again. We are going to for a full week this year :) CANT WAIT. Dont worry about money either... no one to tip :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT GO INTO "THE PIT" for souvenirs at the main resort.. they are like piranhas. Stop at regular shops or even better.. the airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KT Beach bum
Business
United States
Jun 2, 2013

Just Average

Our 7 day trip at the Gran Bahia Principe was average but we were able to relax and enjoy the scenery of the beautiful coastline. The beaches in Punta Cana were pristine; however, the resort itself was lacking. Food options, despite having many places to go, were lacking and we found ourselves gravitating to the same 3-4 food items during the trip. The Don Pablo, Takara (Japanese) and Bella Italian restaurants were very good; Portofino, Mediterranean and the buffets were all average or worse. We found that the resort did not really conform to schedule as when certain places (particularly, snack bars) said they were open the staff advised they weren't. This also applied to schedules on the activity list as they may just decide not to have a given activity. With a few rare exceptions, the staff seemed disinterested and not overly willing to help. The resort also allows people (I'm unsure if they're employees of the resort or not) to constantly bother tourists while relaxing on the beach and even in the resort pool. This got particularly annoying as our trip went on. The grounds of the resort are well kept and taken care of while the rooms, while clean, were clearly beginning to show their age with a funky smell, mirrors that were deteriorating and shower doors that didn't really function. The resort is expansive as it's almost a mile from the front entrance to the beach which makes for a good jogging course. The resort also offers shuttles but we did not use them. Although you are intermingled with other Gran Bahia resorts, the staff made it clear we were only to visit the Ambar sections for dining and the beach. Normally this wouldn't be a big deal but we enjoyed exploring the resort and thought it would would make sense that we would be able to grab a snack while on the other side of the resort. The reservation system is interesting as I never encountered a restaurant at more than 50% occupancy yet reservations were required for non-buffets. Reservations are also required for sports activities and, even if the facility is empty, you will be turned away if you don't have a reservation to use sporting equipment. VIP, the tour operator, has some issues. They had our reservation wrong for the excursion we went on (Buggies - was ok for the price) and they forgot to pick us up at our scheduled time to go back to the airport. Thankfully, another van (and guests willing to share their transfer) was willing to take us to the airport! This saved us the cab fare! In summary, if you get a really good deal and enjoy beautiful beaches with the occasional annoyance: book it. Otherwise, there might be better options out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich C G
Business
New Jersey
May 30, 2013

Excellent stay a Bahia Principe Ambar

Stayed at the May 19th through May 25th, let me preface, I’m very easy going and “go with the flow”, however I do like the resort to be nice. Check In: No issues, arrived at 3:00 same as check-in. Requested block 67 corner room via email, didn’t get a corner but did get upper floor in building 67. Near the pool. Room: Very spacious and clean. Bathrooms have a large shower and garden jetted tub. We always had a Do not disturb until we went to pool/beach and our room Was always cleaned when we returned. Housekeeping did an outstanding job Grounds: Absolutely beautiful Food: Breakfast and lunch very good, buffets have much to offer and a large variety. Dinner , was good to very good. Staff: for the most part very good, but every now and then you would get a person that is just doing their job. Not a big issue. Would I go back, yes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Email room request and ala cart dinner request 7 days prior to your arrival

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy American
Business
Portland, OR, USA
May 30, 2013

Mama & Papa Back Again

This was trip # 6 for us staying at Ambar. We love the working staff. The rooms are clean and the food is served and prepared by genuine hard working, caring, loving, Dominicans. I hope they don't change anything because it is not needing improvement. Ambar is wonderful. The repeat customers are fun loving just like the working staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet food is the best food served by the most wonderful people in the world.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Josh Mac
Business
Nash TN
May 29, 2013

2nd honeymoon

this was me and my wife's first time to the Dominican Republic. we usually travel all over the Caribbean and we've never been to a place with such great service and beach location. for the first time I felt like the staff actually cared if we were having a good time or not Beach service was great I actually have no complaints of the hotel. I've never considered going back to the same place twice because I enjoy exploring other hotels but when its just me and the wife we will definitely be back here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

email about 10 days in advance the Hotels restaurants you would like to eat at

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D.N.
Business
Boston, MA
May 28, 2013

Great adults-only getaway

Pros: -grounds are beautiful and immaculately maintained -resort located on great stretch of beach with plenty of beach chairs and straw umbrellas (though you do have to go on earlier side in the morning to stake out a spot) -plenty of dining options (tip: you can make reservations via email before you arrive) -great service at buffet and restaurants -adults-only pool (though go early if you actually want to swim, most vacationers like to stand around in the pool and drink) -spacious rooms and bathrooms, all kept very clean -mini-fridge in room kept stocked -the resort is part of the larger Bahia Principe group of five resorts, so there are other areas, activities, and restaurants to explore (though most of the food options seem pretty much the same) Things to be aware of: -some service folks (e.g. luggage carriers, cart drivers) may expect a tip from you even though this is supposed to be all-inclusive, including tips -lots of smokers (around pool and on beach)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheChuckD
Business
Louisiana
May 14, 2013

Not Perfect, but still good

I did a lot of research prior to picking this resort, so I didn't have many surprises. THE RESORT: Overall, HUGE. The cleanest resort I've ever been too. Someone was constantly cleaning, painting, scrubbing, manicuring, etc. THE ROOM: I asked for 2nd floor, Bldg 64 but got 65 and 3rd floor. No elevators, so you better be in decent shape for the 3rd floor. Other than the location, I had no complaints on the room. Very nice. FOOD: Buffets were good and staff very attentive. Constantly cleaning tables and removing plates and kept glasses full. One of my favorite eating spots on a prior vacation was the beachfront grill and the snack bar didn't quite take the place of this. They didn't let you take plates from the snack bars to the beach area, etc. No place to get a late snack either (other than room service#. POOL/BEACH: Fantastic, beautiful. Had to get up early to get the prime spots, but still both are great. Didn't like that pool closed so early #6pm). OVERALL: I'd highly recommend this resort. Very professional staff. I prefer the friendly approach of resorts I visited in Jamaica to the professional approach that I encountered here, but it was still a fantastic resort and vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for ala cartes a week before your trip for best results.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Studier
Business
Illinois
May 13, 2013

Amazing honeymoon

We had an amazing time on our honeymoon. Monday night Michael Jackson show was awesome, Wednesday night lobster buffet was amazing, staff at the beach running the games were very friendly and hilarious. We will definitely be back to this resort. The only complaint is that we had to come home!! The "adults only" was also very nice. We visited the other pools and they weren't nearly as nice/fun as the adults one at the Ambar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book dinner reservations as soon as you arrive. Don't book for Wednesday because that's when there is lobster in the buffet and its to die for. Don Pablo restaurant was amazing. Wish we would have gone there at least twice. Tip the bartenders and the staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top