$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
287 reviews
Great All Around

My Wife and I went for our honeymoon and had a great time. Ambar is the way to go for adults,... See full review

  • Rossko
  • Jul 28, 2014
great place

I love the hotel , swimming pool , beach, staff. It was like paradise , food ( all inclusive)... See full review

  • Princess Agata
  • Jul 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (287)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bud Brown
Sioux Falls, SD
Apr 13, 2010

All around great resort!!!

Of all of the all-inclusive resorts I have been to, Cancun, Riveria Mia, Jamaica, this Gran Bahia in the Dominican Republic is by far the best. Many pools, bars and pleanty of beach areas to choose from. The staff are so friendly, they treat you like family. The only short coming wasn't too bad, the Karoke music selection was a little dated. Update that, and it would be compeletely purfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To get to everything was a short walk or a short tram ride away. You can sit and relax all you want, or go, go, go. It is all your choice at this excellent resort.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
muhun1
Toronto, Canada
Mar 7, 2014

Amazing vacation

My wife and I had a great time at the resort. Great amenities, staff was very friendly and the food was excellent. The Ambar side of the resort has a much older crowd, but since we had access to the other adjoining resorts, we were able to experience fun and quite times based on our moods. The beach is one of the best I have seen. I highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The a la carte restaurants are pretty good at the Ambar. See if you can make the reservations before you arrive to get the best times because they get booked fast

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Windsor, Ontario
Jul 10, 2010

Beautiful Hotel and Beach Vacation

We had a relaxing get away...just want we wanted and why we chose this hotel. The grounds were immaculate and the staff worked very hard to make sure we well looked after. The beach was beautiful. We liked the fact that we could take part in any of the activities at the other hotels in the resort, and then retreat to the VERY quiet atmosphere of the Adults Only part of the Ambar. We are considering returning in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

The hotel makes three reservations for you at the A La Carte restaurants upon arrival. Make all your dinner reservations with the guest services right away. We were dissapointed that we had to eat at the buffet our last night because we did not make a reservation the day before.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Jun 4, 2010

ABSOLUTELY STUNNING!!

When we booked the Ambar hotel I thought that it was one of the various hotels that they had in Punta Cana. But the way it is set up is that all the different hotels are in one complex but they are sectioned off. The great thing is that we stood in the Adults Only section, which was more luxurious. We had access to all the grounds of the other sections as well as exclusivity to the grounds that are specific to Ambar. Our room was fantastic. The biggest downside that your view options were garden or pool view - there is no view of the beach for any of the hotel rooms. This did not bother us too much as we mainly were down at the beach anyway. We only stayed in the room to change or sleep. The buffet was good, but after 2 days it gets tiring. However the specialty restaurants were fantastic + it came with the "all inclusive" package. The Ambar section had it's own pool, so that was as there were no kids playing around while you were trying to relax. Plus you were able to have the pool bar right in the pool, so when taking a dip you can have your drink. I had the beachside massage, which oddly enough was cheaper then if you had it in the spa, and that was great! When we were on the beach, we found there to be plenty of chairs to lie on. But when we wanted to go party, we could easly go to the other section of the hotel which was more of the party crowd. So the fact that we had many options were great. Another small annoyance was that if you wanted to go to the casino you could either walk about 1 mile to get to the main entrance or take those trolly carts, which came every 5-10 minutes. Since Ambar was one of the hotels that was closest to the beach that meant you were farthest from the main enterence of the complex, which is where the casino was. The casino is tiny, but we still manage to have a great time. To my surprise too at the main enterence there are a ton of tiny shops that you stroll into and do a little shopping. There were times that we needed to obtain information on how to get to a certain restaurant, or ask how to change money or get change, and it was difficult to obtain this information from some of the staff, as their English was not very good. So if you speak Spanish you will probably get better information than we did. Also, another tip is to bring lots of singles with you. You will find yourself tipping here and there. If you run out of singles there is a cashier by the front desk that will gladly change it for you, but only $10 at time and only when she is there. We ran out of USD and we needed more cash to continue tipping, so we took money out of the ATM which were in RD, which did suck a bit. So just bring enough USD with you to feel comfortable based on your length of stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

To make reservations at the a la cart restaurants you will need to go to guest services. You cannot make the reservations over the phone because they give your this receipt that you need to hand to the host/hostess of the retaurant in order to be seated. That is the reason that you cannot book this over the phone. It took us 2 days to figure it out. Also, try to plan out the restaurants you would like to eat at and book it all at once, so you do not need to continually go back to guest services as they do tend to get backed up.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Skar
Bellingham, Washington
Jan 11, 2014

Fantastic Adult All Inclusive

I went to the Bahia Principe Ambar with a group of 8 25-30 somethings. We were mixed in couples and singles. There was something for everyone! Tons of night life, great amenities. I have been to many all inclusives and this was my favorite! The restaurants were good (the hibachi was delicious!). The staff are super helpful and tips go a really long way. The beach us pristine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want souvenirs and Dominican art or goodies, take a walk all the way down the beach to the southeast and you will find a cool makeshift shopping area. Be ready to negotiate! You will get much better prices and a fun experience.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beachgirl31
Maryland
Aug 27, 2012

Wonderful Anniversary trip!

This was our first trip to the DR. We stayed for 6 days. It was a perfect trip. The hotel was very nice. The rooms were very clean, bathrooms were great, bed was a little hard but not too bad, food was okay nothing spectacular (pretty much what you would expect for an AI). The pool and beach were fantastic! We traveled without our kids so the adults only section was perfect for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michele mother of 3
Woodbridge, NJ
Nov 23, 2009

Incredible Vacation!

We went down without our 4 children for a 4 day break. It was the best vacation we've ever had with or without the kids. The staff was wonderful, the drinks were great, the couples massage was unbelievable. The weather couldn't have been better. We met alot of nice people there on vacation as well, most of them repeaters! That says alot. We'd definately go back and bring the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

I would set up your dinners at the different restaurants when you first get there. Easier and less to think about later.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe's Happy Wife
Queens, NY
Jul 10, 2012

Excellent, peaceful experience!

We just got back from our first (excellent) trip to Punta Cana. Thrilled to say that our stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Ambar (Adults Only hotel) was - bar none - the best place ever. Our intention was to go for some deeply needed R&R. This place was perfect. As an adults-only, it was very quiet. The Ambar part of the complex of hotels is all about the quiet and the peacefulness. If you're looking for a more party atmosphere, this isn't for you. And if you're traveling with little ones, try the Bavaro or other family-friendly places. I was sad to be spending my first July 4th out of America, but then my husband and I encountered a buffet with a huge American flag cake and tons of decor and food exclusively for the holiday!! It made my day! No offense to anyone who has ever reviewed this place negatively, but our experience was flawless. You encounter an amazing, happy staff (usually caught singing while they worked!) who work hard to make sure your vacation is the best. You arrive and they welcome you with a beverage and a cold towel in the lobby. We felt like royalty! Not only was our room spotless and visually stunning, but everyone from the concierge, to the room service folks, to the housekeeping staff made your needs their priority. The grounds are beautifully kept as well as the pool and common areas. On the beach, you just need to watch for pushy hair braiders - get them done at the Bahia Spa, it's cheaper! Speaking of...we got massages at the spa and it was great! The spa services are not included and are charged to your room, so you don't need to carry a lot of cash, just lots of singles for extra tipping to great people. We thought the food was fantastic and so diverse. The reservation-only restaurants were OK. We ate at Santa Fe and Portofino. Santa Fe was better! However, the buffet places, like the Palmyers at Ambar or Los Corrales by the pool, were excellent! You never felt iffy about the foods and everything was quickly replenished.Good to note: Bring some nicer clothes for the reservation places - Men can't even get into Don Pablo with sleeveless shirts, flip flops or shorts! Also, if you want to go dancing, people seemed to go all out. My only complaints - and I use the term lightly - is that all the buildings are identical and you can get lost - especially at night - trying to find your room. However, the tram service is pretty reliable and fun, so if you can, use that to get around. Also, when you go shopping at the village at Bavaro, be wary of the extremely pushy open-air vendors. They nearly tackle you for business and their stuff is cheaply made and overpriced. My expensive ring and earring set fell apart before we left the island! Patronize the nice air-conditioned stores. They're less expensive and not at all pushy. Also, to everyone who suggested bringing our own insulated cups to DR - GREAT IDEA! We used ours all the time. The places are most happy to fill your cups and you don't have to keep returning for refills on their tiny plastic ones. We will definitely consider going back to this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the reservation places, such as Don Pablo, have a dress code. Gentlemen, please bring nice shirts and long pants, or you can't get in!

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Virginia
Aug 10, 2009

Quiet adult get away

Good for relaxing get away for couples --- entertainment was located at other campuses of the large resort - adults only section smaller without noise and hullabaloo. Food was good for all inclusive - more continental fare -- if you want better then pay for it in Paris and then complain. Note --- local transportation arranged by Orbitz requested call backs and visits which were annoying --- adults on relatively short trip don't want to have to chase down the transport people to confirm leave times, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: In Hotel

There are shops in the main hotel area --- so you do not have to leave the resort compound. Some vendor aggression. Many hotel visitors say they enjoy walking 45 minutes down beach to local shopping area -- but vendors are aggressive.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LaLa22
New York, NY
Jun 29, 2010

They thought of everything.

The Ambar section of the resort was incredible. The layout was really manageable and it was nice and quiet during the off season. It rained a little bit (June in the tropics), and the resort even provided a large umbrella in every room for guests. We made reservations for dinner in advance, as suggested by other reviews, and got a la carte reservations for every night that we were there. The food at the a la carte restaurants was top notch. The staff were SO kind and eager to go out of their way to make our entire stay perfect. A butler even came to our door with a "pillow menu" and gave us complementary aromatherapy scented pillows for our last night. The entire vacation was like a fantasy. And the architecture and grounds are beautiful too. The only issues I saw were that other guests who did not make reservations in advance for the a la carte restaurants had to do a few nights at the buffet, but even the food and service there were wonderful. Also, I could see that it might get crowded during the popular tourist season, but this wasn't really an issue for us as it was off-season. And the price could not be beat! I can't believe they could even afford to run the resort for that little per person, and certainly not with the superior level of quality that they did! We would ABSOLUTELY stay here again, and would reccommend it to anyone. We were so impressed with the value and luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a la carte dinner reservations when you book your stay- don't wait until you arrive. These higher-end restaurants book quickly. But we had reservations in advance and every meal was great. Especially recommend the Don Pablo Restaurant. Fantastic, rivaled many upscale NYC restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search