$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
400 reviews
Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and... See full review

  • Cornel
  • Jun 11, 2014
Pleasant experience

Everything looked great. Whether it was food, room service, pools, beach, music, activities or... See full review

  • Chandler and Family
  • Jun 8, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7283 -68.4631
Area served
Provincia La Altagracia.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
The hotel is located right on a white sand beach of 700m front. A Caribbean style hotel with touches of colonial decoration surrounded by tropical vegetation and is right next to the new golf club Punta Blanca and near Palma Real-Cocotal Golf Club, Punta Cana Golf Club and 90 minutes drive to Casa de Campo Golf Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
400 out of 400
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L. Martin
La Verne, CA
Jun 29, 2014

Excellent getaway

Beatuful grounds, clean and very large rooms. Excellent dinners although it is ridiculously impossible to make reservations same day because they are booked. Below avg. breakfast and lunch buffet - although the selections were plentiful and the presentation beautiful, the food was dry and below our expectations. Ambar was one of 5 hotel properties that were co-joined and shared some facilities. As a result, it felt like we are in a small town rather than a remote resort. All in all- excellent experience, but all 4 of us on the trip preferred our last 2 all-inclusive high-end resorts in Cancun and Ixtapa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
frusterated traveler
denver Colorado
Jun 16, 2014

AWFUL experience

Okay so i will just start out by saying..... we booked the luxury ambar hotel because they advertised the location as an adults only resort. But what they dont mention is the hotel is for people 60+. The pool bar closes at 6 and the pool at 7. The lobby is VERY mellow. Upon arrival we were impressed with the initial treatment. We were greeted with drinks and the staff was kind. The second day we had 200$ stollen from our room. We went down to guest services. They had the security guard come up to our room. they asked permission to do an investigation, ofcourse we insisted. But instead of looking into what maid stole our money, they investigated US! They went through our entire room, only to tell us " their investigation was inconclusive" ( because they didnt find the money in our room) Guest services was horrendous. They were extremely rude and non-apologetic. Eventually they offered a massage with a value of 120$. The massage was okay,I was suppose to receive an hour massage plus exfoliation, they cut my massage short by 15 min. They advertise the resort as "all-inclusive". Yes the drinks and food are included. But activities they offer are not. There are "shows" that are free, however the "show" consists of a host and a few dancers on the stage and then they ask for crowd participation to have the guests do activities for everyone else to watch. The other shows they offer, are $35. On the site, they say you get an hour a day of the water sports/ activities. However if you dont have experience with these sports you have to pay $45 for a lesson. For example, my boyfriend wanted to try and wind surf. They would not let him unless he first took the lesson which cost money, even though we had other family memebers who could of taught him, he was denied. Room service has less than 10 items on the menu. One of our family members called for room service on 3 different nights, they only actually received their meals 1 time. We asked for them to bring us bottled water ( because you cant drink the tap) and were told "it is not apart of their services" and they never brought it. I could go on and on about how awful the resort is--- yes it was very beautiful. But not worth the money. As a side note, there is a HUGE language barrier ( I do speak a little spanish) but most of the staff didnt know alot of english, which may be the reason for alot of mishaps. I will say the other resorts that we went to seemed alot more lively and the staff was kind. Emanuel was one of the only staff members that was extremley helpful and kind, he was AWESOME. They say "free WIFI" although you do receive an hour free a day, you have to be in the lobby to get the service, and it is hotter in the lobby than outside All and all, i would say save your money, dont book here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msbeasley74
chicago, il
Jun 13, 2014

I would go back

The hotel staff were really nice and made you feel welcome. The grounds is beautiful and the food taste good. My main problem was the buffet was the exact same food everyday for breakfast and lunch if the hotel would switch up the food it would be a huge and major improvement. I had a problem with my bathroom ceiling leaking water called service 3 times to fix and they never did. I stayed at the same hotel chain in Jamaica and the Punta Cana location was a step up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you go go to Don Pablo and stay away from the BBQ buffet restaurant.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cornel
Boca Raton, Florida
Jun 11, 2014

Best Vacation EVER (Engagement Vacation)

We came at the right time. The hotel is magnificent, clean, employees are very nice and welcoming. First welcome everyone takes your bags, helps you out all the time. You get a nice welcome with a cool coconut drink. We even were able to get to the buffet before we got our room. Food: Nothing better than what they had available. Fresh fruits and salads, amazing meats (some of the pork was a bit hard), sweets, well sweets were just to die for, truly amazing. Be sure to book all your restaurants on the first day, as soon as you check in. I must say, you cant get to any restaurant at any time, they get booked very fast. Don, Mediterranean and Italian, really good and tasty foods, and IM VERY PICKY at foods, specially healthy foods. (both me and my fiancé) The hotel room? Super clean, amazing bathroom, awesome bed, beautiful balcony. The beach? YOU CANT GET CLOSER AND CLEANER AND BETTER than this. Majority of the chairs have nice umbrellas (which you do have to get the chairs VERY early in the morning, like 6-7AM. The beach, super super clean. We went running every morning at 6AM. WARNING: The sun is up at around 5:30AM, so for those late sleepers, watch out (me and my soon to be wife are very early wakeys, so it was a blessing for us). We are gym wackos too, so we tried their gym. While is NOT like an LA Fitness or anything like that, it does the job, if you want to get a nice quick workout while on vacation (the gym has one side for mostly guys, weight and bench press, while the other side more for ladies, bikes, spinning and running equipment). Now as for their activities. Their non-motorized equipment: You must take a class/training before you get to the activity, which is free. So, its free but not 100% free, as you have to pay for the training/class prior to using the equipment. $45 is not much, but still. Snuba package: We recommend to ANYONE that loves water. THERE IS NO BETTER PACKAGE. Please careful, ONLY book any activity package from front lobby, never from the beach or pool folks. Nightlife is awesome, lots of dancing, lots of fun and activities, like music festive, shows, etc. Upon leaving, check out is super fast and easy, nothing to worry about. There was no better stay than this hotel. We actually decided to do our wedding at this place, if they give a good price :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Only purchase the activity packages from front lobby, never from the beach or pool area. Book your restaurants as soon as you get there, first thing.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chandler and Family
Virginia
Jun 8, 2014

Pleasant experience

Everything looked great. Whether it was food, room service, pools, beach, music, activities or train experience and check-in/check-out experience. All the employees but especially female employees went out of way to please. They were so kind, helpful which made this trip as PLEASANT EXPERIENCE. One point I wish to make that if some outside tour or site-seeing of one day etc would be included in ALL INCLUSIVE, would be more better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So much to chose and of excellent quality.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.J
Wellington, Florida
Jun 7, 2014

Class act all-inclusive

Extraordinary personal. Very clean. Great food. These people get it when it comes to service. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Absolutely fabulous food and beverages

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa Happy Traveler
Aurora, IL
May 19, 2014

Fantastic Resort

We would definitely stay at this resort again. I can't say anything negative about the staff; from the front desk employees to housekeeping, everyone we came into contact with was friendly and accommodating. We had an issue with our room the first night, but they were quick to resolve the problem and get us into the correct room by the next night. The property was gorgeous, very well landscaped and great for pictures. The pool and beach huts/chairs were perfect. The themed dinner restaurants were good, but you could never go wrong with the buffet. We went for our honeymoon, and it was perfect being at the adult-only resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations for the themed dinner restaurants the first day you arrive - they fill up fast!

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DougWendy
Leesburg, Virginia
Apr 29, 2014

Excellent Resort

My wife and I recently stayed at the Bahia Principe Ambar for 6 nights in April 2014 and had a wonderful time. The food and drink were plentiful and the resort was immaculate--better than the photos online. It was especially peaceful staying at an Adults Only resort...best decision we made. It is very difficult to say anything negative about the hotel or the staff. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a getaway in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

While the buffet is more than adequate...take advantage of the various restaurants onsite. Make reservations at Guest Services as soon as you arrive.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ECLD
Chicago
Apr 29, 2014

Romantic, Peaceful Break Away in Paradise

My boyfriend and I got engaged while we were here. It was a perfect spot to do it. The hotel we stayed in was adults only and this really helped to maintain a tranquil and peaceful environment. The resort is very large and there are facilities to suit any tastes. The staff cannot do enough for you. No detail is left undone, and the value for money is incredible. There are a number of restaurants to choose from, pools and bars. We were there for a week and barely scratched the surface of what was on offer. The staff could not be more helpful, although communication was at time, tricky. The location is so well looked after; the gardens are beautifully manicured, the beach is spotless and the weather, fantastic. You really couldn't ask for a better vacation. We shall be going back there next year, hopefully to get married this time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prebook your a la carte restaurants via email prior to your trip, so that you have reservations already set up for your stay. You might find them already booked up otherwise.

Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Little Lamb
Providence, RI
Apr 24, 2014

Relaxing couples retreat

Despite being part of a 5 resort mega complex, Ambar was clearly the most exclusive, private, and most luxurious of the bunch. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, and the amenities were first rate, including the pool and beautiful beach area. Despite the fact that it was one of the more affordable all inclusives we came across, the room was enormous, as well as beautiful and extremely well kept. Restaurants Portofino and Don Pablo's were top notch, and I'd highly recommend making dinner reservations there as often as possible. One thing to note: while it was enjoyable to visit the other resorts in the Bahia Principe complex, the food there ranged from ok to downright terrible. Aside from the buffet in the Bavaro complex, I'd advise staying within Ambar for meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you're looking for excursions, or even just a shuttle to and from the airport, VIP tours did a wonderful job for us. They are often set up inside the Ambar lobby and offer very affordable rates.

Back to menu Return to top