$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
296 reviews
Great vacation spot!

This was my first all inclusive vacation with my girlfriend and we had a wonderful time. The... See full review

  • minieod
  • Dec 10, 2014
good stay

If you like the beach and food, great place. Check list: 1. Make your speciality restaurant... See full review

  • lifeisgood123
  • Nov 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00
Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (296)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms.Pilot
Gwinn, Michigan
Feb 12, 2013

Disappointed

we were told they were overbooked when we arrived. We were transferred to Bahia Esmeralda for two days and then transferred back to Bahia Ambar (losing precious vacation hours). Please email address that I can sent detailed information to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
minieod
Business
Cambridge, MA
Dec 10, 2014

Great vacation spot!

This was my first all inclusive vacation with my girlfriend and we had a wonderful time. The amenities were great, the room was good (could have been better, but how often was I in there? 8 or so hours a night to sleep). Food was great, the a la cartes were very good. I highly recommend Don Pablo, Rodizio, any of the hibachi / teppanyaki places, and Los Corales. The excursions available were so much fun. We went on the Adventure Buggy's and had a blast, and got soaked and muddy (bring old clothes, or do a bathtub wash like we did for our clothes and shoes - oops). It was 4 hours long. Our friends that we met at the resort did the Extreme Buggy and it was a day long trip (815am - 5pm) and had horseback riding and lunch included. $60 vs $160, though The beach and pool were both very nice, they were usually quiet and peaceful, until 1pm or so and more and more drinks were served. Bring a thermos or bubba keg for drinks, it is much more handy than the small plastic cups they give out (and they will fill the thermos all the way with whatever you want). Bring plastic clips for beach towels to stay on the chairs, if you want, we didn't - they tuck in well to the sides. But they can probably be found on amazon.com for cheap. I did not use the room safe, just in case, and brought a masterlock travel safe which worked great for passports, phones, and cash. There are a bunch of shops about a 15-20 minute walk down the beach (past the Iberostar hotel) - do your shopping and haggling there! Do not buy anything at the Bahia shops, they are expensive and can't haggle. I loved this place, and while I might not go back to THIS particular resort in the future, I would definitely stay at another Bahia resort, especially adults only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lifeisgood123
Business
san jose, california
Nov 20, 2014

good stay

If you like the beach and food, great place. Check list: 1. Make your speciality restaurant reservations online before you get there or asap when you arrive at guest services. 2. If you stay at Ambar or Esmeralda you have access to Bavaro, turquoise, and Punta cana resort food (all in the same location). Opposite not true. Food at Ambar/Esmeralda is better. 3. No fins are provided for snorkling, there is a charge 4. Masks/Snorkles, Kayaks and surf boards are free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You have to book your specialty restaurants as soon as you arrive or even better before you arrive online. Even if you book online, you need to check on your reservations as soon as you get there or call ahead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JT Lipman
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Nov 18, 2014

Great Vacation

We have enjoyed vacationing at Ambar for 22 days in the past 6 months. The location, beach and resort is the best of the 5 Punta Cana resorts we have vacationed at since our first visit to the island in 1998. Life is slow on this island and thus very relaxing. The concierge staff of Albania and Jose are great and very helpful in each of our visits. We arrived about noon and by the time we finished lunch our room was ready. The entire staff is helpful and friendly without asking. The beach is clean and beautiful. The restaurants are great and they have added a new Brazilian restaurant while moving one to, shall we term it, Ambar 2. Ambar 2 opened during our 2 weeks and looks great. If you prefer the beach vs. the pool, stick with Ambar 1. Our villa was a few feet from the pool and beach. We thank all of the Ambar staff for a great vacation on our stay from Nov. 3rd till the 15th, 2014.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make your restaurant reservation asap. Not because of limits in reservations, but it simply gives you more time to relax and enjoy your vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trippme
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
Nov 14, 2014

Good but now GREAT

I expected a but more being a 4/5 star resort. It was nice and we enjoyed our time there but it wasn't all that I expected. The hotel staff didn't seem to care that we were there. They were pleasant/polite but ignored us. The resort staff on the other hand were very nice and helpful. The all inclusive was convenient but the food got boring because it was so similar from day to day. There is no doubt that they try hard on the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make your reservations for the restaurants immediately upon arriving so you can get times you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cje70
Business
Georgia
Oct 27, 2014

Awesome vacation

This is a great place to stay. Some of the reviews that others post are very nit picky. We found the beach was great, the pool was great, the room was great (hard bed, but nice room). You do have to get down to the beach early if you want a front row seat and by early I mean 5ish. The waiters on the beach were soo friendly and great personality especially Lino and Vladmir. They helped to make the beach enjoyable! The food was nothing to write home about however there was something for everyone on the buffet. I would for sure go back to Bahia resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not drink the water and make sure you bring Imodium AD with you

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmmB
Business
Long Island, NY
Oct 6, 2014

Nice Place to Vacation!

My boyfriend and I booked this place online -- looked at a couple of reviews, did a few price comparisons, but ultimately booked blindly. We were very pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and what was included in the total costs. Positives: Right on beach (varies greatly according to what part of the complex you book because this place is quite large, but there are free hotel shuttles that leave every 5 min and take only a few min to get to beach side) All inclusive - pretty impressive drink selection Food decent - no gourmet cooking but I felt well fed and was reasonably happy with quality Friendly and helpful staff Multiple pools Air conditioning in room TV channels with multiple languages, many channels in English Negatives: Like all beachy places the room had a slightly musty smell Food times similar to cruise ship where you have to get your meal within certain windows or else have to eat at the snack bar where selection much less We stayed in Ambar which is "Adults Only", however all the nightly entertainment took place at the "main lobby" which required using hotel shuttle, but it was only a few minutes away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Priv
Business
Alexandria, VA
Sep 25, 2014

Dream Vacation

We were treated like royalty by the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The food was amazing the variety of food was insane.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mam623
Business
New york
Sep 15, 2014

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Definatey a 5 start hotel . Had a few quirks but nothing serious. 100% focus on customer service. Grounds were impecable , beach beautifull but lots of seaweed. Food and drinks average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Not alot of shops in the Hotel Ambar but go up to the Hotel Punta Cana and Bavaro in the complex ( take the shuttel ) and there many shopping options !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dfelipe
Business
New Jersey
Sep 8, 2014

Bahía Príncipe Ámbar

I felt it lacked a lot of service from several people. The bartenders at the pool were always on top of things. Outside of that, service from "express services" was bad. We had to call 6 times in two days just for pillows. The food was not top notch as you'd expect from a hotel of their caliber. I was disappointed to find that there wasn't enough variety and through the time I was there food became very monotonous. I would advise highly against the so called "Privilege Club" people and their sales pitch. We wasted half a day listening to it. First 100 to buy into it get a "real special prize", only every day it's the first 100 to buy into it. DON'T DO IT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the bibijagua market. If you ask the taxi drivers they'll know. Fish right off the ocean at the restaurant there. Nothing fancy but very authentic. Best food I had all trip long. Also, the shopping there is good and much cheaper than what you'll find in the resorts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabrielamo
Business
Providence, RI
Sep 7, 2014

All was fantastic...until the stomach bug :-(

The staff was very friendly (with the exception of the doctor whose only concern was to make sure we would pay the -very- high fees for her service). The room couldn't be better, the food was varied and plenty of choices. Unfortunately, something "got" my husband. We think it was a food-related illness. We only ate/drank at the hotel and didn't leave the resort, so not a chance it was from outside the resort. The doctor didn't seem to care about finding the source of what was obviously a problem roaming the hotel (we talked with 3 people in our "villa", all sick with the same symptoms: diarrhea, fever, head-ache, nausea). We brought this to the attention of the hotel management, but never got any feedback/response. We travel a lot, so we expect that eventually we will get some bug. That was not the issue, the issue was the lack of feedback/follow up from the hotel. Regardless, we had a lot of fun (we stayed for 8 days the last 2 my husband was sick). Tons to do between all the activities offered. The pool could use a bit more cleaning, specially on the edges, but it wasn't bad (could be excellent with a little more care). Make sure you bring lots of sunscreen! We went at the beginning of August and the sun was out very single day, 8 days in a row. Great music at night, loved the party by the beach (amazing cocktails inside pineapples and coconuts). There is not much to see if you go snorkeling in the beach by hotel, so if that is your thing, you might be better off paying for the tours (heard many people loved the Saona island day trip). Avoid the guys in the lobby trying to sell you a time share type of thing (unless you want this, of course). With limited time in the resort is hard to manage all the possible things to do so we didn't see the need to spend 1-2 hours listening to a selling pitch in unchanged for a couple of T-shirts, although the 10 minute free helicopter ride was tempting (purchasing this helicopter ride is expensive). Had a great time, the stomach issue put a damp in our trip but we didn't let that ruin the previous amazing 6 days in paradise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top