$342 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda-Macao, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
301 reviews
Great vacation spot!

This was my first all inclusive vacation with my girlfriend and we had a wonderful time. The... See full review

  • minieod
  • Dec 10, 2014
good stay

If you like the beach and food, great place. Check list: 1. Make your speciality restaurant... See full review

  • lifeisgood123
  • Nov 20, 2014
A private adult paradise on Dominican Republic beachfront
Unwind at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world in a tranquil setting at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. On the stunning eastern Dominican Republic shore, this hotel is a romantic couples retreat with prime oceanfront exposure. Punta Blanca Golf Club is landscaped around a protected mangrove ecosystem. The sand comes up to the pool where a swim-up bar and palm tree islands pop from clear fresh water. Enjoy the ease of all-inclusive meals and drinks.
Highlights
  • Exclusive adult-only heated lagoon pool with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service
  • Meals and drinks from 8 restaurants, 10 bars, a nightclub and 24/7 room service included in room rate
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons included
  • On-site scuba dive center and day spa
Rooms
20 colonial style buildings house 528 rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar Adults Only – All Inclusive. Romantic beach accommodations have four post canopy beds, flat-screen TVs, robes, sofa sleepers, furnished outdoor terraces, jet tubs and massaging showers. Pillow menus, butler service, in-room safes and high-speed Internet access (fees apply) can be requested. Mini-bars have daily supply of chilled water, adult beverages and coffee.
Features
Gran Bahia Principe Ambar guests enjoy complimentary access to 6 restaurants, 10 bars, 4 pools and nighttime entertainment at two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels.
Dining
Four all-inclusive bars and four all-inclusive restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Ambar offer an all-day buffet and gourmet Italian fare. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Cigar menu available (fees apply). Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply). Guests at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive will enjoy unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.
Recreation
A large section of beachfront with bar service is exclusive to guests. Room rates include 1 hour of windsurfing, kayaking, catamaran sailing and bike rentals. Scuba pool lessons, volleyball, miniature golf, Pilates and fitness center access are also included. Activities like beachfront massages, an 18-hole golf course, speedboats trips and deep sea fishing tours are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Business center with laptop rentals, mailing and faxing (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Medical services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
Canopy beds can be either two full-size or one king-size.The bathroom is fully-equipped with hydromassage tub and separate shower, bathrobe, slippers, VIP. amenities, magnifying mirror and hair dryer. Guests will also find towels for the pool and beach, direct-dial telephone (outgoing calls with charge), satellite plasma TV, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee maker, mini-bar with mini bottles that are replenished daily, alarm clock, iron and ironing board and safe. Enjoy Unlimited number of dinners on specialty restaurants.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Las Brisas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Don Pablo
Gourmet a la carte Restaurant.
Portofino
Italian Specialty Restaurant.
Palmira
Buffet Restaurant.
El Olivo
Mediterranean Restaurant,
Night Snack
After hours snack bar open: 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stoodin1
Toronto
Dec 25, 2012

Excellent vacation

I and my wife visited this hotel between Dec 16 till 24, 2012. Overall the experience was very good. There were some disappointing moments, but based on our 15 years experience going to different Caribbean Islands it will be always the case. Here is my story: I booked the vacation more than a month prior to departure and almost immediately sent email to the Hotel asking for the corner room on the 3rd floor. I also sent a reminder email about my request a day prior to arrival. We also booked a transportation to Hotel and back to the Airport. When we arrived to the Punta Cana airport nobody was waiting for us with the sign, as we were expected. We found a VIP company booth and asked them about our ride. We didn't note smile or happiness on their faces, but they found our record and after almost half on hour wait at their booth their representative took us to the parking lot were we spent another 20 min under the sun waiting for the car to take us to the Hotel. The ride was quick, 30 min or so. At the hotel we've been told to wait until 3 pm to get our room. When I approach the reception desk around 3 pm the room was NOT ready and they asked us to wait another hour. By this time we were 3-4 hours in their lobby. Finally around 4 pm they gave us a key. The room was NOT the corner one, but was on the third floor, the cleaning lady was still working there and we waited another 15 min until she finished her work. The room was nice, King bad, close to pool and all amenities, as we requested. It would be nice to have a corner room, since we requested well ahead of our arrival, but that was fine. All area in the hotel nice looking, clean, there are always people maintaining and cleaning. Many restaurants around. You can always find food there. A lot of variety, but for people who like delicious food go to Mexico. That said the food was tasty enough. Beach area was good. You can always find the spot, maybe not at the place you want to (have to come around 8am to pick up your favorite place). We had a leaking roof in our room where all our clothes in the closet got vet, but the stuff handled appropriately, moving us to another room and offered a coupon to the Hotel shops. We would like to thank Idelin, who is the Customer Manger who helped us to forget the bad experience and continue to enjoy our vacation. We came back home happy and relaxed. This hotel certainly worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nacera g.
Business
N/A
Dec 21, 2014

below my expectations

Our first stay at this hotel ,Resort was huge ,Stuff very friendly ? food was ok almost same every Day jus a bit disappointed about transportation back and forth we almost lost our flight Coming home ? gym was very small just you need to get up early to work out and same for pool early to save chair otherwise u won't be able to enjoy the sun and ocean ..I'm not sure Coming back but definitely I will go again to Punta cana at dreams was my first trip and love it ???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Honeymooners
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Nice Trip

Large complex as their are four resorts. Pool and beach area is very clean with a lot of room to layout and enjoy the sun. The buffet in the main area was fantastic for each meal. We recommend going to the Brazilian steakhouse for the ala-carte dinner. Only blemish is the service was average. We felt as though we were a burden to request drinks or food on a few occasions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashraf R.
Business
New York
Dec 16, 2014

Heaven on earh

I have not experienced such luxurious service before. The staff was outstanding, I feel their policy is "if it's legal, we will make it happen".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Julian W.
Business
Waynesboro
Dec 16, 2014

Not a good trip

My wife and I have visited Punta Cana over 10 times staying at various resorts. This trip was the worse one by far. We upgraded to the Ambar section in hopes of experiencing the upgraded treatment we usually get from other resorts. When we arrived there was a line at the check in desk and we had to wait. We upgrade to avoid this. We were advised to reserve dinner at the restaurants via the customer service section which entailed another long wait in line. We decided to eat at the main buffet the first night. We were in the lobby bar (very small) for a few before dinner drinks. I noticed a crowd gathering at the buffet entrance prior to the time it opened. Once the doors were open the crowd rushed in which seemed strange. Once inside the buffet I learned why. The buffet is very small and the serving line area the smallest of any I have seen in Punta Cana. It was almost a fight to get to the food. To bypass this scene at our next meal we decided to go an hour into the service. We were greeted with less people but no food. Almost all the servicing trays were empty and I waited over 15 minutes for them to be re filled which did not happen. I then realized why everyone rushed the door and fought for food the time the doors open. The staff seemed to be trying to rush you to finish your meal and leave as soon as possible. Other than the staff at the buffet the other employees tried to make our stay a pleasant one. The web site and a publication furnished us upon our arrival indicated there was a casino located at the Ambar. This information turned out to be false. There was a Casino located about a mile away that served all of the motels located in the compound (around 4 or 5 resorts) and was not large enough to accomplish this task. To sum things up I did not feel special at this resort despite paying for an upgrade. That was the bad, now for some good. The Brazilian restaurant experience was fun and I suggest you eat there at least once. We were there for my birthday and the staff prepared me a cake which was a nice treat. The housekeeper assigned to our room was great and did her best for us. The wait staff on the beach were very good although overworked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
minieod
Business
Cambridge, MA
Dec 10, 2014

Great vacation spot!

This was my first all inclusive vacation with my girlfriend and we had a wonderful time. The amenities were great, the room was good (could have been better, but how often was I in there? 8 or so hours a night to sleep). Food was great, the a la cartes were very good. I highly recommend Don Pablo, Rodizio, any of the hibachi / teppanyaki places, and Los Corales. The excursions available were so much fun. We went on the Adventure Buggy's and had a blast, and got soaked and muddy (bring old clothes, or do a bathtub wash like we did for our clothes and shoes - oops). It was 4 hours long. Our friends that we met at the resort did the Extreme Buggy and it was a day long trip (815am - 5pm) and had horseback riding and lunch included. $60 vs $160, though The beach and pool were both very nice, they were usually quiet and peaceful, until 1pm or so and more and more drinks were served. Bring a thermos or bubba keg for drinks, it is much more handy than the small plastic cups they give out (and they will fill the thermos all the way with whatever you want). Bring plastic clips for beach towels to stay on the chairs, if you want, we didn't - they tuck in well to the sides. But they can probably be found on amazon.com for cheap. I did not use the room safe, just in case, and brought a masterlock travel safe which worked great for passports, phones, and cash. There are a bunch of shops about a 15-20 minute walk down the beach (past the Iberostar hotel) - do your shopping and haggling there! Do not buy anything at the Bahia shops, they are expensive and can't haggle. I loved this place, and while I might not go back to THIS particular resort in the future, I would definitely stay at another Bahia resort, especially adults only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lifeisgood123
Business
san jose, california
Nov 20, 2014

good stay

If you like the beach and food, great place. Check list: 1. Make your speciality restaurant reservations online before you get there or asap when you arrive at guest services. 2. If you stay at Ambar or Esmeralda you have access to Bavaro, turquoise, and Punta cana resort food (all in the same location). Opposite not true. Food at Ambar/Esmeralda is better. 3. No fins are provided for snorkling, there is a charge 4. Masks/Snorkles, Kayaks and surf boards are free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You have to book your specialty restaurants as soon as you arrive or even better before you arrive online. Even if you book online, you need to check on your reservations as soon as you get there or call ahead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JT Lipman
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Nov 18, 2014

Great Vacation

We have enjoyed vacationing at Ambar for 22 days in the past 6 months. The location, beach and resort is the best of the 5 Punta Cana resorts we have vacationed at since our first visit to the island in 1998. Life is slow on this island and thus very relaxing. The concierge staff of Albania and Jose are great and very helpful in each of our visits. We arrived about noon and by the time we finished lunch our room was ready. The entire staff is helpful and friendly without asking. The beach is clean and beautiful. The restaurants are great and they have added a new Brazilian restaurant while moving one to, shall we term it, Ambar 2. Ambar 2 opened during our 2 weeks and looks great. If you prefer the beach vs. the pool, stick with Ambar 1. Our villa was a few feet from the pool and beach. We thank all of the Ambar staff for a great vacation on our stay from Nov. 3rd till the 15th, 2014.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make your restaurant reservation asap. Not because of limits in reservations, but it simply gives you more time to relax and enjoy your vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trippme
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
Nov 14, 2014

Good but now GREAT

I expected a but more being a 4/5 star resort. It was nice and we enjoyed our time there but it wasn't all that I expected. The hotel staff didn't seem to care that we were there. They were pleasant/polite but ignored us. The resort staff on the other hand were very nice and helpful. The all inclusive was convenient but the food got boring because it was so similar from day to day. There is no doubt that they try hard on the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make your reservations for the restaurants immediately upon arriving so you can get times you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cje70
Business
Georgia
Oct 27, 2014

Awesome vacation

This is a great place to stay. Some of the reviews that others post are very nit picky. We found the beach was great, the pool was great, the room was great (hard bed, but nice room). You do have to get down to the beach early if you want a front row seat and by early I mean 5ish. The waiters on the beach were soo friendly and great personality especially Lino and Vladmir. They helped to make the beach enjoyable! The food was nothing to write home about however there was something for everyone on the buffet. I would for sure go back to Bahia resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not drink the water and make sure you bring Imodium AD with you

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection -Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmmB
Business
Long Island, NY
Oct 6, 2014

Nice Place to Vacation!

My boyfriend and I booked this place online -- looked at a couple of reviews, did a few price comparisons, but ultimately booked blindly. We were very pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and what was included in the total costs. Positives: Right on beach (varies greatly according to what part of the complex you book because this place is quite large, but there are free hotel shuttles that leave every 5 min and take only a few min to get to beach side) All inclusive - pretty impressive drink selection Food decent - no gourmet cooking but I felt well fed and was reasonably happy with quality Friendly and helpful staff Multiple pools Air conditioning in room TV channels with multiple languages, many channels in English Negatives: Like all beachy places the room had a slightly musty smell Food times similar to cruise ship where you have to get your meal within certain windows or else have to eat at the snack bar where selection much less We stayed in Ambar which is "Adults Only", however all the nightly entertainment took place at the "main lobby" which required using hotel shuttle, but it was only a few minutes away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top