$525 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Feb 16, 2010

Okay deal for an all-inclusive hotel.

The hotel was beautiful and if you are looking for an all-inclusive vacation, this is a nice place to go. But the food was terrible, and I personally would rather pay more for better food. Also, the staff doesn't know English very well. Amenities are nice - there are a lot of activities and things to do. The hotel has gorgeous pools and is right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Even though the hotel has 5 restaurants and lots of food offered at their buffet, the food was bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 19, 2011

The Pros and Cons

Pros: - very nice property. well kept and well situated - staff was very nice, always said hello. However, they were not very knowledgeable (see below) - plenty of beach and pool lounge chairs - For a hotel, pretty good entertainment shows in evenings Cons: - food was not very good. Some decent items in the buffet but a la carte restaurants were not at all good except for the Japanese restaurant. My husband got very ill from the food he ate at the Italian restaurant - Also, when we called the restaurants to make reservations, they said most were not available (we called the first day we checked in). We eventually got the reservations later. When we did go to the restaurants, half of the seats were empty (this happend in all four restaurants) - staff is nice but not well trained. As an example, Concierge didn't know if there was a movie channel in the room; didn't know where the spinning classes were held. Some of the barely spoke English. We also asked for a wake up call but they never called

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Even if they tell you there are no reservations available at the restaurants, try showing up anyway as they were half empty. I think many people don't show up. But please be warned, the food is mediocre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Calvin L.
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

It was okay.

This hotel was recommended by a co-worker, we heard that the hotel was gorgeous and the staff's services were excellent. At our arrival, we experienced the beauty of the hotel, however, the service wasn't up to par. The bell boy was nice but the Butler that was suppose to help us get settled was not only late but didn't show up until something bad happened. Within our stay, one of the legs on our bed broke, the mini fridge stopped working, and the wifi was just unacceptable. The room service was terrible, the food took over an hr to get to the room after we ordered. Most of the requests that was placed were either not done on time or not done at all. Their 'a la carte' restaurants were terrible, the servers didn't even understand English, and even in request, they wouldn't take our orders for food. AVOID THE ITALIAN RESTUARANT!!! We spoke with upper management about their poor services and they attempted to fix the problem by placing us on the 'higher priority' list. Apparently that was suppose to give us 'better service'. No doubt, it was a little better but still wasn't great. Maybe the hotel was having a bad week, but I don't think we will come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the hotel offers free transportation to a shopping mall not too far away, and it is a great place to purchase souvenirs that aren't over priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David ping pong champ
Business
North little rock, AR
Feb 25, 2014

Iberostar grand bavaro-Punta Cana

Hotel was clean and beautiful. Restaurant dinner experiences not top rate but adequate. Dinner was very slow but food was good and staff was always very friendly and helpful. Beach / ocean is nice there, clean beach and clear water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Call and make dinner reservations or have your butler do it as soon as you check in. Pay 10$ per person "tourist fee" on line before you go. Everyone entering the country at the Punta Cana airport has to pay. Helps avoid one long line at the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reviewer555
Business
Texas
Apr 19, 2014

Perfect Adult Getaway

Beautiful hotel, amazing & friendly staff, fun entertainment provided, and most importantly, great food. Cocktails & mix drinks were below average. Cheap wine was always served at dinner. They displayed the good wine but they were an extra charge. A bit deceiving. Overall, great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 24, 2010

Wonderful Winter Getaway

I wish we could've had better weather while we were there but that's one thing you have no control over. Luckily the hotel provided us with board games, dance lessons, spanish classes, 3 pool tables, and much more. There is no shuttle to the hotel..you have to take a taxi which is $38 for 2 people. Food was great..make sure that you make dinner reservations in advance because they fill up quick. Our favorite non buffets were Surf & Turf and the Japanese. You usually will wait about 15 minutes to be seated too so stop at the bar first and get a drink! Drinks are premium like they say and were not watered down at all. The staff is amazing. Maid staff is wonderful. They clean your room not once but twice a day! Overall it was an excellent vacation but I think a week there is plenty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Not much selection as far as souvenirs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi Traveling
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Excellent Resort in Paradise

We stayed at the resort for one week beginning January 14-21, 2012. Overall, we had a wonderful trip, would recommend to others and plan to return. THE PROS The resort itself is located on a beautiful beach with plenty of lounge chairs and shade if you want it. You are able to walk for miles in either direction along the sand. The pool area is also great with plenty of loungers and daybeds to relax in. The food and drinks were great. The grilled seafood options were by far the best bets. The fried food options were pretty lousy. While we thought the steak and chicken were mediocre, other visitors seemed very impressed, so to each his/her own. THE CONS Our biggest con was that despite requesting a king size bed, our first night we were given a room with two queens. First of all, the beds were not queens, they might have been full size - but in any event, were not large enough to share with another adult. That was a disappointing note to start our trip on. But, the very next day we were given a room with a king size bed and a much better view of the pool area and ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

I was dubious, but the live shows put on at the resort were worth taking in. We saw the Rock Show and it was very enjoyable. We caught some other live music on a couple other nights and heard about (but did not see) the circus show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couples weekend away
Business
NC
Feb 22, 2012

Good vacation

Overall, a good stay. The food is terrific, the drinks are good, the service is good, and the people are nice. The beach is very nice and the pool is great - lots of lounges and chairs. We were disappointed with the dinner reservation system - you can only make them once you arrive, so we did that and all restaurants (except for buffet, which is solid) were booked for next few nights until 10pm. The rooms were clean though small. Generally, a nice place with good service and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't worry about reservation time - just show up and they will generaly get you in to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mifesto
Business
NJ
Mar 30, 2012

almost perfect resort

grand bavaro resort was excellent. only negative being considering how much we paid, the food was very good but not awesome. its minor complaint only as food was still high quality and was overshadowed by the other amazing qualities of the resort. slightly lower price and i would have given it all five stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

buffets ok but the in-resort restaurants are MUCH higher quality. reservation is required and they fill FAST so be aggressive in getting your reservation in ASAP.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poland's
Business
Bar Harbor, ME
May 13, 2012

Annual Vacation Getaway

Overall this resort was wonderful. The Staff was exceptional!! Couple of minor thoughts, the restaurants need a better booking system instead of through your butler upon arrival. We were denied access to one of our bookings which became somewhat embarrassing so spoiled the whole dinner experience.If you love seafood your all set, limited menu for us non seafood people. Last couple of nights we did the buffet to avoid the butler/restaurant hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top