$400 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2014 Check-out: Sep 14, 2014

Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
182 reviews
Amazing honeymoon in the Dominican

The hotel was beautiful and clean. It cost $40 for a taxi from the airport and about 25 minutes... See full review

  • Summer80
  • Aug 17, 2014
Iberostar Grand

It doesn't get much better from start to finish. Great rooms people and the views are amazing. Not... See full review

  • Abuckeye
  • Aug 3, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 24-hour butler service
The extraordinary white sands and turquoise water at Playa Bavaro pair perfectly with top-of-the-line luxury and service at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive resort, in Punta Cana. Guest rooms are spacious suites with deluxe details such as a hydro-massage tub and LCD television. Dine at six on-site restaurants, or join in tennis, yoga, spinning class or swimming. Additional activities (fees apply) include catamaran sailing, scuba and golf. Around-the-clock butler service adds the final touch. The resort is for adults only.
Highlights
  • Enjoy the worry-free luxury of an all-inclusive resort, covering guest fees from tennis and yoga to daily dining
  • Explore the ocean with the on-site CDC Padi Gold Palm Resort diving center, with everything from kayaking to scuba lessons
  • Lounge on one of the most beautiful beaches in Punta Cana -- Playa Bavaro -- which fronts the resort
Location
Iberostar Grand Bavaro is on the stunning white sands of Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Iberostar Grand Bavaro offers 260 standard suites, 13 oceanfront grand suites and a presidential suite, each decorated with luxury and comfort in mind. All include a pool or ocean view, plus European-style bed linen, a marble bathroom, hydro-massage tub, minibar, LCD television with interactive digital cable service, DVD player and radio/alarm clock with MP3 connection.
Dining
The all-inclusive dining at Iberostar Grand Bavaro allows guests to visit any of the six on-property restaurants and cafes. From Italian cuisine at La Tentazione and Japanese at Hashira to the wide variety of dishes at Bella Vista Buffet Restaurant, Iberostar satisfies every craving.
Recreation
Iberostar Grand Bavaro offers all-inclusive and additional-fees activities ranging from a full-service spa to tennis courts, golfing, swimming, yoga, tai chi, live evening entertainment and water sports.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.7 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (55.5 mi/89.4 km)
  • Santo Domingo (123 mi/199 km)

Hotel Map

18.715 -68.4524
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving distance 35 minutes.
Area description
This hotel is located right at the most beautiful white-sand beach of Bavaro. Only 35 minutes away from Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Junior Suite
The Junior Suite room offers one king bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Mini Refrigerator and Butler Service.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Gourmet - Menu style Restaurant
Dinner hours: 6:30 - 10:00 pm. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.
Japanese - Menu style Restaurant
Dinner hours: 6:30 - 10:00 pm. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.
Steak House - Menu style Restaurant
Dinner hours: 6:30 - 10:00 pm. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.
Italian - Menu style Restaurant
Dinner hours: 6:30 - 10:00 pm. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.
International buffet Restaurant
Breakfast served 7:00 - 10:00 am; Lunch served 1:00 - 3:00 pm; Dinner served 6:30 - 10:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Funny Girl 12
The Jersey Shore
Sep 10, 2012

Six days in paradise!

Excellent experience at the Iberostar Grand in Punta Cana. We were at the resort for 6 days, during the first week of September, and had great weather, great food and a wonderful beach to explore. I would highly recommend the Grand as the property is beautiful as are amenities. We explored a few other hotels, but none were as nice as the Grand. Everything was first class, including the food and the adult beverages, and we were treated like royalty from the minute we arrived. After this experience, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else and plan to return on another trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are vendors on the beach, near the hotel. They sell souvenirs, etc. They'll come down on price if you haggle with them.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dedham, Ma
Feb 7, 2010

Iberostar grand hotel, Bavaro

This all-inclusive was just that including all name brand drinks, 24 hour availablity, and all the little extras that made it a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SS Travelers
New York, NY
Aug 1, 2014

Customer Service at its Worst!

This was my 3rd visit to Iberostar and I decided to upgrade to the Grand Bavaro. My daughter and boyfriend stayed next door at the Bavaro. When booking the Grand Bavaro I was assured that we ALL could be together on both sides of the hotel resort. I made reservations for dinner via email in advance. On our first night there, after being seated we were asked to LEAVE the restaurant even though it was not crowded. I understand that there is a difference in price in the two resorts and was very willing to pay an upgrade for dinner but was not allowed. I could buy a bottle of wine not included in the all-inclusive price but there is no allowance to pay for guests staying next door. What makes this even worse is that my future son-in-law was proposing at the table and was interruped so rudely and thrown out. So he proposed on the beach later and when they came to find us to share their excitement and news, they were asked to leave the Grand Bavaro again! Really??? Should have a sign posted that says "Orange bracelets unwelcome at Grand Bavaro". I usually give all 5 stars and I am not hard to please but such poor customer service is inexcusable. We are crossing the Iberostar Grand Bavaro off our list for destination wedding. I should have paid more attention to earlier reviews. "Butler service" actually means a poorly stocked mini refridgerator and slow room service. Every day we needed to ask for beer and wine to be delivered. Again, nothing fancy. Just what I would have expected for the price we paid. We wound up not having any dinners at the Grand Bavaro or even sitting on the beach since we did want to spend some time with family. I wasted my money with my upgrade. The Bavaro rooms were actually more roomy and overall the resort, meals and entertainment are not as fancy as the Grand. Never again, Iberostar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati
Oct 14, 2012

Iberostarve

Gorgeous Resort, great help,lousy manager and you have to be lucky to get into the restaurants that are mostly empty. The Wifi was as about like the food, your very lucky if you get ti. Evidently they save money by keeping people out of their restaurants. Sad, it was really pretty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sambagirl
Richmond, VA
Feb 15, 2011

Iberostar Grand Hotel - Bavaro

We stayed at the Iberostar Grand Hotel in Bavaro from 1/22/10 to 1/29/10. We had done all our research and had seen that the hotel was new and highly rated by previous guests. So much was right: the beach was gorgeous (minus the "noise pollution" - more later), the weather was incredible, and the hotel itself was in pretty good condition (an 8 out of 10). But the customer service was all polished veneer with no depth or delivery. There were two or three exceptions and I will highlight them first for praise and our fond wishes for success: [...](bartender, server extraordinaire - he saved the week for us by being the only man on staff who could make a mixed rum drink WELL and his smiles were genuine and such a nice change from others who worked there), [...]#2 (server and generally great attitude), [...](cook at Japanese restaurant - great attitude, great food!). As to the rest: 1) our so-called "butler", saw him at check-in, then never saw him again; 2) "Animation Team" was part of the "noise pollution" by lacking all tact - would comb the beaches at all hours of the day soliciting participants for games and shooting and volleyball (even when games were already in session) and at one point even woke us from naps (when we were face up, glasses off and eyes closed!) by shouting "VOOOOOOLLLEYBALL!!!!" or "SHOOOOOOTIIINNNG!" within feet of guests. It was disruptive the first day and downright obnoxious by day 7. When you say "no" they sometimes try to prod you into it. When you are already participating in a group activity, they would try to join in and then had horrible sportsmanship (i.e. a worker spiked a volleyball into the face of female guest and then celebrated winning the point openly and was oblivious to the embarrassment his own behavior caused the other guests); we had to speak to management to call them off so we guests could play games without their joining in; 3) add to the noise caused by Animation Team workers, the 4-5 helicopter flyovers each day (by the same tour company) the 20+ motor boats, catamarans, etc. being driven like bats out of hell as close as possible to the rope line that sectioned off "safe swimming areas" and the beach with radios blaring - the noise was nearly constant 4) Cleaning staff: when our politely worded note (in Spanish, no less) requesting additional water in our room was ignored, we asked the turn-down maid for more; she - with a straight face - told us that it wasn't her job and we needed to call the front desk or our butler. When we asked her to call the butler for us she refused, saying again, it wasn't her job. She took our previously offered tip with a smile though. 5) Food: was generally poor, and made worse by slow service, everywhere. It was also very frustrating to make "reservations" (not by choice but by necessity) the MOMENT we arrived in our room for the next 7 nights and to be told there was only ONE night in which the reputedly best restaurant (Gourmet) was available. Really? It was half full the night we ate there. 6) General Manager: was "busy" when we asked to meet with him on Thursday to discuss our complaints, we were told to come back Friday; we came back Friday and he was "on holiday" until Sunday (a day after our departure); completely unacceptable. His attitude about customer service clearly leads to a trickle down effect. 7) Check-in: our room wasn't ready at 3:30pm when we arrived (a half hour after check-in). We were made to wait an HOUR with no accommodations and no upgrades and no explanations. It was a very poor first impression - although, in retrospect - entirely consistent with their service mentality. 8) Room: We paid for an "Oceanview" room... ha! There was an ocean out there... somewhere in a northeasterly direction, but not visible from our room. When we mentioned it to the "butler" on checkin, he made a call to see if a "suite" was available, after laughing with whomever he called from our room phone for a bit he smilingly t...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't try the restaurants at the neighboring Iberostar resorts. Our one venture to the neighboring property was horrible (food was horrible, Maitre D' had a horrible attitude and was outright hostile after we asked to be moved away from a boisterous table of 5 kids to 4 adults even though tables all around us never filled up). We heard from other guests that they had similar experiences. Additionally - be prepared to be sick at least part of the time. Water out of the faucet is not potable, which means food prep is done in non-potable water. Most people we spoke with were fine until day 5 or 6 and then diarrhea and/or stomach cramps started.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
threebeads
New York, NY
Mar 29, 2013

Needs a Better Chef

The food was so disappointing for a 5-star hotel. True, there was plenty of it, especially excellent seafood, but the specialty restaurants fell very short. I don't think any of the staff has ever been to an Italian Restaurant because what they served resembled dog food on my plate. I had ordered Oso Bucco. Rissoto came out as a very runny sour cream sauce loaded with muchrooms and hardly any rice???? Ravioli were thick and covered in a heavy cheese sause without tomatoe sauce. There were some clumps of mashed tomatoe on the side, but certainly not gravy! At Surf & Turf we ordered Strip Steak and were served two fatty rib eyes. The Japanese was fair - nice vegetable and shrimp Tempura, but on the Buffet night in the general restaurant. They had an Oriental Evening where I was able to get this nice Tempura, but they neglected to serve any soy or other Oriental sauce to go with it! The staff is very friendly, overly so that they verge on interupting you too frequently to ask how everything is. I am sure their intent for your comfort is genuine, but holding the hand out is a bit too obvious. I made these and a few other complaints known to the Manager who kindly compted us massages and a private taxi ride to the air port. She was sincerely apologetic and promised to work on solutions right away. The setting is beautiful and I think I might give it another chance based on her sincerity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you like seafood, stay with the fish, especially shell fish. Also Spa services are excellent and reasonablly priced.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Feb 16, 2010

Okay deal for an all-inclusive hotel.

The hotel was beautiful and if you are looking for an all-inclusive vacation, this is a nice place to go. But the food was terrible, and I personally would rather pay more for better food. Also, the staff doesn't know English very well. Amenities are nice - there are a lot of activities and things to do. The hotel has gorgeous pools and is right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Even though the hotel has 5 restaurants and lots of food offered at their buffet, the food was bad.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris Beach Lover
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Jun 8, 2012

Just OK

We booked through here and paid for an upgrade to an Ocean view King room. Upon arrival, we were given a 2 double bed room. No big deal, they said call the next day and they would arrange for a king. We went to the front desk the next morning and they said call at 1pm and the room should be available by 4pm and to have your bags packed so someone could transfer our luggage to the new room. We packed up and waited. I called at 1pm and was given another "sorry we still don't have any kings". It's extremely disappointing that after paying for an upgrade that we were not given what we paid for. The manager (Freddy) during our departure apologized but did not offer any type of refund or compensation. Overall the stay was OK. The beach was clean but quite busy with other surrounding hotels able to access your beach. Service and drinks were good. The "Star Friends" activity people were somewhat annoying and constantly bothering us while we tried to relax on the beach. They attempt to round up people to join various activities including dancing, games, water aerobics, etc. Not something we were looking for on a relaxing vacation. We did not utilize the pool - something I never understood why people do this when going to a beach destination. As such I cannot review that aspect. I will mention that the food was very good. We mainly ate at the buffet and had great service. Quality was excellent. The overall facility was above average. There are better all hotels that are all inclusive in DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Call ahead of time and ensure that you have a King bed available if that is what you requested. Insist on it.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jun 6, 2011

Everything great but the food

We had the all-inclusive package and enjoyed the trip overall, with the exception of the food. Staff was very friendly and attentive, we took advantage of the shows and entertainment they offered (plus the 2 free rounds of golf included with our stay), which led to a good experience. THe food, however, was subpar. The breakfast / lunch buffet and snack bar were swarming with flies, and although that is to be expected to some degree in a tropical environment, it seemed as if no attempts were made to reduce or eliminate how many there were. The a la carte restaurants were all right next to each other and the buffet, and you can tell all the food was prepared in the same kitchen as the buffet, so nothing really "gourmet" about them. If food is a big factor in your decision, I would recommend staying elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Though they're only little bit better, make your reservations for the a la carte restaurants early.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oklahoma Gal
Edmond, Oklahoma
Jun 2, 2013

Not a 5 star resort like I expected from other reviews

Let me start by saying I take a summer trip to a different beach every year. I read the reviews from other travelers for IGB & had very high expectations. Positives: This hotel is absolutely stunning! Decor & scenery could not be better. Beautiful beach with tons of chairs & huts for shade if you'd like them. There's a photographer on the premises whom I highly recommend. The photo-shoot is a blast & completely free. Each picture you purchase is only $10 & comes on a CD. Negatives: Food was horrible. There are 4 different a-la-cart restaurants & all of them were just lacking in taste. Very bland, & most of the restaurants had awful service. The service just flat out ruined my mood. Spa: We booked a couples massage & it was the most awkward massage of our lives. The ladies massaged our stomachs, kept the lighting on full blast, & the massage itself just never felt relaxing at all. Overall, I'd say this resort deserves 3 stars & isn't worth the high end price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RREPORT
Westchester County, NY
Jan 2, 2010

Nice but probably will never be back!

A beautiful room, nice people but there's just something about Iberostar Grand Bavaro that probably won't make me go back. The staff was friendly although our request to change our room because of the obstructed view was just brushed under the rug with an "okay later on in the week" or "we are at full capacity" when they CLEARLY were not. The problem was that they had a very limited staff, everyone had 4 different jobs with 4 different uniforms. I saw our butler once we really didn't need him. When I requested some things the 1st day of our trip he politely told me I had to do those things by myself. Thanks but I really don't need him there just to run my bath water. Now onto the all inclusive part. Breakfast and lunch were simply NOT good. Its the same exact thing every day and the food is just not fresh and not appetizing. Dinners at the ala cartes were good at the Japanese and the Surf and Turf. Don't bother going to the other 2, only reason we did was to make our own conclusion... it was a true waste of a meal. The Alcohol is watered down depending on what bartender you got and sometimes you really didn't know what you were getting. The staff doesn't really do anything for you unless you're tipping away. So if you thought your service was all inclusive, think again.... the guy next to you is tipping the cabana boys just to get regular service. I'm not cheap by any extent but why pay for all inclusive when you can just pay for a regular hotel and tip where its deserved. I got a massage which was good but it was hardly a spa treatment. There was no put on a robe and wait for us to come get you. It was get into this bright room with no shades take off your clothes and when you're done get out. Again its the little things. I went from the lobby to the bright room to back out again. The all inclusive sports are waaaaaaaaaay down at the end of the 4th of the Iberostars and very limited. The bulk of the guests are German, So the staff caters to German type things and not dominican things. This hotel needs to be more fun. They need more pool side activities, something. They should be more lively and stop worrying about being so 5 star and upity. Iberostar managers let your staff let their hair down, do some poolside shows, be more interactive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Do yourself a favor and take the long walk through all of the Iberostar hotels, the grounds are beautiful, there are lots more things to do and the guests seem to clearly be having a way better time.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search