$525 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wendy N
Business
Suwanee, GA
Oct 1, 2013

It's okay

My husband I went the the Iberostar Grand in the Dominican Republic for our 10th anniversary. We had stayed at Grand Rose Hall previously in Jamaica. Our experience is Jamaica was absolutely the best so I was expecting the same attention to detail and service at the Grand Bavaro. We went on Sept 19th 2013 through the 22nd. I had planned to surprise my husband with the Romantic dinner on the beach, I had it planned down to every detail- until it rained. I was assured I wouldn't be charged the $300 for the dinner. I was- we are going on two weeks and my money has yet to be returned. The mini bar was never stocked the way we asked. We had to ask for things several times. Not a complete disappointment, but I really felt let down. Breakfast and lunch were good, dinners were average. We will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
POPOS
Business
Miami, FL
Sep 23, 2013

Weekend Getaway

This was our first visit to Punta Cana and to an all-inclusive resort. We had high expectations, and our stay at Iberostar Grand met all of them. We would love to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JROD47
Business
Miami
Sep 9, 2013

Will return, I loved it!

From the moment you check in the staff was incredible. I have been to Punta Cana before and stayed at another Adults only resort and had no where near the attention that the staff here gave us. The food was great. I was surprised at the buffet for lunch that even had lobster and many other good surprises. Jason the concierge made our reservations for us for dinner at the themed restaurants. The buffet does not require reservations but its worth making them especially to the italian and the galeano which has surf and turf...the Japanese restaurant was ok... Rooms were always kept clean they came to our room 3x's a day to make sure all was perfect. I couldn't have asked for a better vacation, maybe the weather could of been a little better but there was a troplical storm passing Puerto Rico so we got alot of rain on Saturday the 7th. Looking forward to my next trip to Grand Bavaro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make the reservations as soon as you check in the room for the specialty restaurants...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BMZ and CAZ
Business
California
Aug 31, 2013

Grand Bavaro Iberostar at Punta Cana 1st time trip

the Grand Bavaro hotel is very nice. It is the top among the 4 ones of Iberostar chain, only for adults all inclusive. There are 4 Iberostar hotels in the same property. "Punta Cana", "Dominicana", "Bavaro" and "Grand Bavaro", this last one is the most Luxury one, and by staying there you have access to the other 3 hotels, meals, pools etc... The sea is very nice, warm, some waves and not deep., the beach is like flour and...nice for long walks. the pool at this hotel is big and you can choose private spots not crowded... the private bed/ lounge cabanas for free by the pool make it very relaxing. lots of entertainment if you wish to participate; yoga classes in the beach in the morning and afternoon, dance classes: salsa, merengue, bachata, aerobics at the pool, bingo, and many other games throughout the day. the food is good, lots of variety, buffet style every day with thematic foods: dominican night, mexican night, sea food night etc.... but you have access for diner to specialty restaurants as well if you do not want buffet...you can pick the specialty restaurants (free) from the other hotels if you stayed at the Grand ( not the other way; so if you stayed in the other 3 hotels you do NOT have access to the Grand) The Grand has 4 specialty restaurants: japanese ( very good, the best) french, surf and turf, and italian..all good! golf is nice, spa too and to move around HUGE property for the 4 hotels, the bellboys can drive you in mini golf carts from hotel to hotel (service more done at the Grand and if you tip better then). at the grand you have your own 'butler' he is very helpful and attentive to all your wishes...you are VERY pampered if you stay here, NOT obtrusive you do not feel push by anything. staff very friendly and if you tip better, but NOT compulsory. Dominicans are always smiling, bilingual, very friendly and helpful... The oNLY drawback is that there are NO big or major towns . this area Punta cana) is still under development. but the hotel has everything! although I love to see the towns and how people live !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

ALWAYS bargain, prices are too high in dollars but if you bargain is OK. Tips are greatly appreciated this is a very POOR country and the Min wage is ridiculous, so TIPS are most than welcome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweet22
Business
New York
Aug 14, 2013

Beautiful!

I have no complaints. The place is beautiful, clean, the staff is courteous. You just can't ask for anything more. There's no need to get up early to reserve chairs by the pool, which I had in the past in other resorts, there's so many cabanas and chairs. It's not crowded. Love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffett was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris Jay
Business
Jackson, MS
Jun 23, 2013

Outstanding.... The best on the island

The Iberostar Grand Bavaro was everything that we hoped it would be and more. The staff is what makes the experience so special -- they did an incredible job of making us feel comfortable and taking care of everything we needed. I enjoyed how much they enjoyed talking about baseball with me! All of the food was incredible. Although we enjoyed the a la carte restaurants (Japanese was our favorite), the buffet was absolutely amazing and we could have eaten there every night. The ribeye and the lobster was amazing and you can have it every night. The Iberostar Grand Bavaro met every expectation -- we believe it is the most outstanding resort in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have you butler help you make reservations for the a la carte restaurants on the first night of your stay -- they fill up quickly. The Japanese and Surf and Turf can't be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Josie D
Business
New Jersey
Jun 20, 2013

Amazing staff and facility

Chose this hotel since it was rated #1 in the DR and it did not disappoint. From the time we arrived to the moment we departed, the staff was amazingly hospitable. They couldn't do enough for us. The facility was beautiful and very clean and food was very good. Very elegant. Definitely will be back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the restaurants when you arrive. The food is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Balarin
Business
Virginia
Jun 9, 2013

Exceeded expectations for a couple

The facility was amazing, grounds well manicured, incredible food, service, etc! Can't say enough. Be sure to book your dinner reservations as soon as you arrive. Also for a room get the interior left side up at floor 3 or 4 towards the end, we had the best view of everything that way. Brushing up on your Spanish is helpful! We never left the resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book dinner as soon as you get there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oklahoma Gal
Business
Edmond, Oklahoma
Jun 2, 2013

Not a 5 star resort like I expected from other reviews

Let me start by saying I take a summer trip to a different beach every year. I read the reviews from other travelers for IGB & had very high expectations. Positives: This hotel is absolutely stunning! Decor & scenery could not be better. Beautiful beach with tons of chairs & huts for shade if you'd like them. There's a photographer on the premises whom I highly recommend. The photo-shoot is a blast & completely free. Each picture you purchase is only $10 & comes on a CD. Negatives: Food was horrible. There are 4 different a-la-cart restaurants & all of them were just lacking in taste. Very bland, & most of the restaurants had awful service. The service just flat out ruined my mood. Spa: We booked a couples massage & it was the most awkward massage of our lives. The ladies massaged our stomachs, kept the lighting on full blast, & the massage itself just never felt relaxing at all. Overall, I'd say this resort deserves 3 stars & isn't worth the high end price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geza1Denise
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
May 28, 2013

Quite Couples Resort with 5 Star Service

From the moment we arrived, until we departed, the staff provided exceptional service with genuine smiles. It was better than I imagined when booking. The resort was beautiful, the rooms were great, the entire resort was clean, grounds manicured and the beach area was well kept with plenty of thatched huts and beach loungers. The ocean was amazing and the views were spectacular. The pools were great with lots of cabanas and loungers. The food was plentiful with great selections (lots of lobster) and the drinks were top shelf brand; all you had to do was ask. The four restaurants, Italian, French, Surf & Turf and Japanese were wonderful. Although the hotel provided 24/7 room service, we did not utilize it; there was so much food served all day. The nightly shows in the air conditioned Theatre were terrific and entertaining. Our Butler was the best!. He was always visible and inquired daily if there was anything we needed. What a great staff! Their service went above and beyond. There is not one bad thing I can report about this resort. This is an elegant vacation resort for couples who want to be pampered. We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Two excursions we enjoyed were the "Dune Buggy trip to the Blue Hole" and "Splash" which was speed boating/snorkeling/snuba. They were a lot of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top