$525 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sheila sister
boston
Feb 24, 2013

It was fabulous. It was our second stay and it will not be our last.

Staff was exceptional. So courteous, always smiling and just lovely people. Hotel is gorgeous and immaculate. Food as good as any gourmet restaurant. Overall...better than a 5 star review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 14, 2010

New Resort with a great staff

This resort is only about 14 months old. It's spotless and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. You need to make dinner reservations as soon as you arrive because the restaurants fill up fast. The food is better than many all-inclusive resorts, but generally just average (although the breakfast buffet is outstanding). I wish they'd get a new executive chef to upgrade the food to match the rest of the experience. Service at the restaurants is better than I've experienced at other Caribbean resorts. Overall: Great resort, great pool and nice beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMK
Business
New Jersey
Mar 14, 2010

Iberostar Grand

Very nice and quiet. Clean, well kept and excellent service. It was a bit quiet at night. If you are looking for a lively nightlife, this hotel is not good for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PuntaCand2011Vacation
Business
Bergen County, NJ
Jun 12, 2011

Iberostar Grand Bavaro Hotel (DR)

Overall the resort was clean and well kept. The staff was polite and accomodating. The food was good and there were different varities offered among the restaurants. We stayed in Punta Cana previously at the Paradisus Palma Real and preferred this hotel compared to the Iberostar Grand Bavaro. Mainly because we ran into issues in two main areas: 1. We requested a King bed that was confirmed on our reservation and when we arrived we were not able to get a King bed until the 2nd night. 2. We also ran into issues booking restauratns. It was nearly impossible to book dinner for a large group at anytime before 9 or 10 PM or to even get a reservation. The restaurants weren't even full, but they would still not offer us a reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WVU girl
Business
West Virginia
Jan 4, 2010

Holiday getaway

The vendors at the end of the beach are really agressive, but you can avoid them. The food was okay at the buffet, but you get tired of eating a buffet everyday for three meals. Be sure to make dinner reservations as soon as you arrive. The Star Friends staff and most of the bartenders were great, but the service in the restaurants and the other admin support could use improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kkhennessee
Business
Chattanooga, TN
May 23, 2011

Perfection with one Exception!

Our stay was absolutely perfect with one exception...the Front Desk! Upon arrival around 3pm, we go to check-in and after a few moments the gentleman gets on the phone, we aren't sure what he is saying because he is speaking spanish, but it was one of those situations where you know something isn't right. Well, he gets off the phone and proceeds to tell us that our room is very nice, it has two queen beds and is very nice. Ok, that is great, but we reserved a room with ONE KING size bed, IT's our HONEYMOON! Others at the desk are faced with the same dilemma and what can we do but take the room. We are told we can change to a King room the next day, to come down to the front desk at 9am to change rooms. Ok, we get down there the next morning and are told 2 come back in a couple hours, we come back, we are told again to come back in a few hours, after coming back once again we are told the room is still not ready and they try to convince us to keep our 2 queen room. We then demand to be changed to the room reserved. We finally get into our room around 5pm on our 2nd day. We literally lost an entire day going back and forth. Completely unnecessary and a terrible 1st impression. The staff around the resort, the concierge, etc... were amazing and totally redeemed the hotel for the check-in mishap. The food was actually pretty good, I'm all about trying new things but for the most part I ended up sticking to foods that I was somewhat familiar with after experiencing the Italian Restaurant. We were not fans. The Japenese Restaurant was awesome, they were not very showy, which I liked, I was there to eat. :) The only other restaurant we made reservations at was the Surf-n-Turf, it was really good! We passed on the French Gourmet restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the buffets. The breakfast buffet is the way to go, we didn't discover it until the last 2 mornings. They have everything you could possibly crave for breakfast minus biscuits and gravy :). My husband played beach volleyball a few times and really enjoyed that. We also took a Zip Line Excursion with Canopy Tours. It was AWESOME. We left our resort at 7:30am and returned by 1pm. We were charged $89/each, which we thought was extremely reasonable. The ride up to the zip line is a little rough, but we thought it was fun, it's all about the adventure. The zip line course had a total of 12 or 14 zips which varied in length, height and speed. They don't "allow" you to take your personal camera, but we regret following that rule. You should totally tuck a slim camera or phone into a pocket that secures well and take advantage of the awesome views from the platforms and snap some photos of whoever you are with zipping through the mountains. So much fun! Most of our time was spent laying out in the sun pool and beach side. There is ample space, chairs for everyone, we never felt cramped. There is never a shortage of drinks with the staff walking around taking your drink order and the swim up bar. We had a very relaxing experience and through in some fun too. We also really enjoyed the shows at the Theater after dinner, we attended a Circo Show, Magic Show and the Domincan show. All were very entertaining. Now, the check out was a disaster also :( They charged us for a local call that I called the front desk prior to making to ensure we would not be charged. We were also asked to pay for spa services at check out that we had already paid cash for. That was straightened out eventually, but still a headache and left a sour last impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

On your first day, go ahead and make all your dinner reservations for any restaurants you want to try. The good times book a day in advance and eating dinner at 10pm is no bueno. ;)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 7, 2010

Great stay at Iberostar

Stay was wonderful. The first night we were put in a room with double beds (had requested a King ) but the next day we were moved to a room with a King. The room itself was great. Very clean, maid came in regularly, minibar was stocked to our liking and staff was friendly and helpful. Beach is outstanding, never crowded and it felt very private. Water was warm, sand soft, you can walk for miles. On our walks, we saw other resorts along the way--the beaches were crowded with lots of chairs lined up one after the other--our beach was by far the most appealing. Pool was wonderful, with a swim up bar, though the piped in music is a bit annoying. One complaint is the food in the restaurants. Japanese was fair-poor. French restaurant was very mediocre and the restaurant smelled like mold (we could see some water spots on the ceiling that may not have been dealt with properly). Surf and Turf meal meal was great. We didn't eat in the Italian restaurant as we heard it was just ok. If you want to go to the restaurants, you have to make reservations well in advance with the concierge. We had her make our reservations for the week when we arrived--in spite of that, we were told that some of the restaurants had no availability (even though none ever looked full when walking by) Buffet was consistently above average, with very good variety, and we ate there several nights. Only other issue was internet access which was inconsistent --wireless in our room worked sporadically for the first few days and then not at all. Only one of the 3 computers in the downstairs lobby worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 27, 2011

Great Vacation

Great adults-only all inclusive. This is the best out of the four Iberostar hotels that share the beach, you can golf cart to any others of the four you'd like to visit, with various restaurants and a casino. Loved going from beach to pool (with swim-up bar!). The service was always perfect and all of the staff were very warm and friendly. While the liquor was all top-shelf, the only thing keeping this from a five-star review is that the restaurant food was good but not great, but we've never been at an all-inclusive where we were totally happy with the food, so it was to be expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations for the restaurants a week before arriving, they have small capacity and are always fully reserved.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony V.
Business
Staurt, Fl
May 10, 2010

Beautiful Resort and Excellent Service

The Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro is a gorgeous resort. The staff provides excellent service. The food quality was very good. The chefs were always asking if they could help you find something to eat and if it wasn't there, they would make it for you. They serve grilled lobster, Kobe beef burgers, and caviar every day at lunch. There is a nice gym (cardio, free weights, and nautilus)overlooking the ocean and a great spa. There is a full schedule of activities (yoga, archery, air guns, volley ball, water games, etc.) if you choose to participate in some activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

They have shows every night. But the place is quiet at night. This is not a big party hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Priss
Business
Wilmington, DE, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Fabulous Couples Getaway

This is the 2nd year in a row we have traveled to the Grand. I have to say the lustre had worn off a bit but it was still a great vacation! Had to wait for our butler for longer than I wanted but I expect a lot! Overall, its a great vacation spot and we are getting married there next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Jan 3, 2010

Very Pretty but questionable service

Thought the food was good for the most part, but the service was hit or miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top