$455 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poland's
Couples
Bar Harbor, ME
May 13, 2012

Annual Vacation Getaway

Overall this resort was wonderful. The Staff was exceptional!! Couple of minor thoughts, the restaurants need a better booking system instead of through your butler upon arrival. We were denied access to one of our bookings which became somewhat embarrassing so spoiled the whole dinner experience.If you love seafood your all set, limited menu for us non seafood people. Last couple of nights we did the buffet to avoid the butler/restaurant hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boilermaker777
Couples
Greenville, SC
Aug 15, 2012

Great Second Honeymoon!

We really enjoyed ourselves! The location was great. The staff was awesome and friendly. The hotel was exactly what we were looking for. Very upscale and oppulent is the best way to put it. They understand service at the Grand. No one was crazy or loud like some of the other hotels we visited. I enjoyed the food, but my wife I would say was satisfied. We did a lot of relaxing and recharging, but also enjoyed some of the planned activities. Just the right balance. This will not be our last trip to DR-Punta Cana and definitely not the last trip to the Iberostar Grand!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Be sure to go to the conceriege your first day and see what they have to offer. We really enjoyed the nightly shows, but only seen 4 out of the 7 because we didn't know what to expect.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ssimpsonst
Couples
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 26, 2012

Wonderful trip

Great hotel and wonderful experience. The staff is amazing, especially the star friends. The only negative was reservations at the restaurants. We arrived on a Saturday and not a single reservation was available until following Thursday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make all reservations before you arrive otherwise you will be eating buffet for dinner every night.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherron
Couples
Hamilton, VA
Jan 21, 2013

Wonderful experience!

Everything at the Grand Bavaro is of high quality. The staff is always available and happy to provide whatever service you need/want without being overbearing. The entire property is spotless and well maintained. The food was the best we have experienced in the D.R. The Surf and Turf had outstanding filet mignon and tuna steak. One thing that really stood out was the room on the beach. If you take a walk down the beach it is very apparent that the density is far less than at the other hotels. If you are not bringing children I highly recommend the Grand Bavaro over the other Bavaro hotels in Punta Cana. Our only slight disappointment was the size of the room. It is not a suite but more of a hotel room with a separate bathroom. It is, however, very comfortable and extremely clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt03
Friends
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 23, 2013

Wonderful Trip

This resort really is perfect in so many ways. Here is a quick rundown of some things to consider: - The size and layout of this hotel is perfect. No matter where your room is located, you are only a short walk from the beach, pool.various bars, the spa and restaurants. The building is shaped like a "U", so there are no "outposts" where you have to walk endlessly to get from A to B. - The beach is wonderful with plenty of Palapas (umbrellas) for shade. The chairs are upgrades from the standard resort beach chair and the drink service on the beach is a huge plus. Also, I noticed how the other resorts had people piled on top of each other because of their large size...not this one...due to the smaller size of the resort, we all had our space on the beach. - The rooms are a bit smaller than other resorts offering Jr. Suites but their comfort makes up for their size. I've been to so many all-inclusives' and the bed hardness was always an issue. Not here! the beds and pillows and sheets were so comfortable! Also, the way the room is designed, there is a small foyer with another door that you go through before going into the bedroom. That way, you have two doors that provide extra noise protection from the outdoors (it can get loud with tile floors, maids working early in the morning and drunk guests). Lastly, there is a huge window in the bathroom the fills the room with natural light! It was awesome. - The resort has great top shelf drinks so no need to worry about not finding the right concoction - The food was plentiful and the presentation was impressive but I was a bit disappointed with lunch and dinner. They had huge lobsters and wonderful meats but they just need to work on cooking them better. Take for instance the lobster, I was amazed they had huge lobster tails just sitting there to be thrown on the grill for lunch. The only problem was, many of them were frozen so after they were thrown on the grill, these wonderful lobsters turned all mushy. The food preparation is one thing they can work on because they already have great quality meats and seafood to work with. It sounds trite, but, lets face it, the food is a big determining factor when picking a resort and the resorts in Mexico are superior in this department. - Lastly, the staff were so wonderful! I've never been to a resort with such friendly and attentive staff. I just cant believe the level of service this place provides. Also, because it is a smaller resort, they really get to know you and your preferences very quickly...that makes for an even more memorable trip. What a place! With the exception of some food issues, it was perfect and I recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many beach shops claiming to sell quality cigars, even Cubans, to the right of the hotel. Be weary! Most are fakes. Some aren't even made with tobacco but rather with banana leaves.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RAB7
Couples
Roselle, IL
May 9, 2013

Excellent hotel but food could be better

The title says it all. Excellent hotel with great amenities, a fantastic beach, nice pool, fabulous rooms, and wonderful evening entertainment, BUT the food was subpar. We ended up eating at the Iberostar Bavaro next door where the food was MUCH better. With that being said, we would still return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat next door at the Iberostar Bavaro where the dining options are much better.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newlywedZz
Couples
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Oct 18, 2013

Honeymoon

It was a great get away. We felt very relaxed while there. The food and service was great and we also left the hotel a few times for excursions. The company we went though we felt safe traveling with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations right away at all the restaurants for all nights.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rentalryan
Couples
Charlotte, North Carolina
Nov 2, 2013

Great vacation

Very enjoyable trip to Grand Bavaro. The property is incredible and the staff is amazingly helpful. It really doesn't get much better than what this resort offers. Plenty of food, drinks, rest and relaxation. Highly recommend and would certainly stay at this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The staff highly suggests reservations all year round. We were at about 80% occupancy and found that getting to know the girls at the front of each restaurant allowed us access on nights we were told there were no reservations available or only late dining times available.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation Dave
Friends
PA
Nov 26, 2013

Relaxing getaway

Room was clean and stocked with beverages and the bathroom was also nice. Personal butler service was great although our friends did not have a great experience with their butler who never showed up. So that seems like it could be hit or miss. The pool area and activities were great as well as the pool bar and beach. Service was excellent although some of the bartenders are rude and miserable as well as some of the cooking staff in the buffet. The restaurants were good except for the Italian restaurant which was awful. The service there was slow and the food was terrible. The dinner buffet also was below average. The breakfast buffet was below average as they don't have much of the big ticket items available, such as eggs, bacon, potatoes. The portions they set out are tony and you have to wait while the cook at the station turns their back to you and gives you an attitude for asking questions. The lunch buffet area is really nice and he food there was good along with excellent service. Overall the wait staff is excellent and very friendly. Just the bartenders and cooks are miserable. Juan and Carlos are the best waiters! They bring you a smile and cold drinks to the beach! Tommy, Ricardo and Boom Boom along with Margerita keep you entertained and busy with activities. They are not pushy though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 27, 2011

Great Vacation

Great adults-only all inclusive. This is the best out of the four Iberostar hotels that share the beach, you can golf cart to any others of the four you'd like to visit, with various restaurants and a casino. Loved going from beach to pool (with swim-up bar!). The service was always perfect and all of the staff were very warm and friendly. While the liquor was all top-shelf, the only thing keeping this from a five-star review is that the restaurant food was good but not great, but we've never been at an all-inclusive where we were totally happy with the food, so it was to be expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations for the restaurants a week before arriving, they have small capacity and are always fully reserved.

Back to menu Return to top