Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
243 reviews
Amazing All Inclusive Getaway

I have to say that we were there for 1 week and it was glorious visit. Staff was exceptionally warm... See full review

  • JJSmith
  • Jun 15, 2014
Great Place To Stay

One of the best beach vacations so far. Everyone was very friendly and wanted to make sure your... See full review

  • Texas MC
  • Jun 1, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 24-hour butler service
The extraordinary white sands and turquoise water at Playa Bavaro pair perfectly with top-of-the-line luxury and service at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive resort, in Punta Cana. Guest rooms are spacious suites with deluxe details such as a hydro-massage tub and LCD television. Dine at six on-site restaurants, or join in tennis, yoga, spinning class or swimming. Additional activities (fees apply) include catamaran sailing, scuba and golf. Around-the-clock butler service adds the final touch. The resort is for adults only.
Highlights
  • Enjoy the worry-free luxury of an all-inclusive resort, covering guest fees from tennis and yoga to daily dining
  • Explore the ocean with the on-site CDC Padi Gold Palm Resort diving center, with everything from kayaking to scuba lessons
  • Lounge on one of the most beautiful beaches in Punta Cana -- Playa Bavaro -- which fronts the resort
Location
Iberostar Grand Bavaro is on the stunning white sands of Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Iberostar Grand Bavaro offers 260 standard suites, 13 oceanfront grand suites and a presidential suite, each decorated with luxury and comfort in mind. All include a pool or ocean view, plus European-style bed linen, a marble bathroom, hydro-massage tub, minibar, LCD television with interactive digital cable service, DVD player and radio/alarm clock with MP3 connection.
Dining
The all-inclusive dining at Iberostar Grand Bavaro allows guests to visit any of the six on-property restaurants and cafes. From Italian cuisine at La Tentazione and Japanese at Hashira to the wide variety of dishes at Bella Vista Buffet Restaurant, Iberostar satisfies every craving.
Recreation
Iberostar Grand Bavaro offers all-inclusive and additional-fees activities ranging from a full-service spa to tennis courts, golfing, swimming, yoga, tai chi, live evening entertainment and water sports.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.7 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (55.5 mi/89.4 km)
  • Santo Domingo (123 mi/199 km)

Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Junior Suite
The Junior Suite room offers one king bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Mini Refrigerator and Butler Service.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.715 -68.4524
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving distance 35 minutes.
Area description
This hotel is located right at the most beautiful white-sand beach of Bavaro. Only 35 minutes away from Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).

Dining

Gourmet - Menu style Restaurant
Dinner hours: 6:30 - 10:00 pm. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.
Japanese - Menu style Restaurant
Dinner hours: 6:30 - 10:00 pm. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.
Steak House - Menu style Restaurant
Dinner hours: 6:30 - 10:00 pm. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.
Italian - Menu style Restaurant
Dinner hours: 6:30 - 10:00 pm. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.
International buffet Restaurant
Breakfast served 7:00 - 10:00 am; Lunch served 1:00 - 3:00 pm; Dinner served 6:30 - 10:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (243)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jun 6, 2011

Everything great but the food

We had the all-inclusive package and enjoyed the trip overall, with the exception of the food. Staff was very friendly and attentive, we took advantage of the shows and entertainment they offered (plus the 2 free rounds of golf included with our stay), which led to a good experience. THe food, however, was subpar. The breakfast / lunch buffet and snack bar were swarming with flies, and although that is to be expected to some degree in a tropical environment, it seemed as if no attempts were made to reduce or eliminate how many there were. The a la carte restaurants were all right next to each other and the buffet, and you can tell all the food was prepared in the same kitchen as the buffet, so nothing really "gourmet" about them. If food is a big factor in your decision, I would recommend staying elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Though they're only little bit better, make your reservations for the a la carte restaurants early.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wendy N
Suwanee, GA
Oct 1, 2013

It's okay

My husband I went the the Iberostar Grand in the Dominican Republic for our 10th anniversary. We had stayed at Grand Rose Hall previously in Jamaica. Our experience is Jamaica was absolutely the best so I was expecting the same attention to detail and service at the Grand Bavaro. We went on Sept 19th 2013 through the 22nd. I had planned to surprise my husband with the Romantic dinner on the beach, I had it planned down to every detail- until it rained. I was assured I wouldn't be charged the $300 for the dinner. I was- we are going on two weeks and my money has yet to be returned. The mini bar was never stocked the way we asked. We had to ask for things several times. Not a complete disappointment, but I really felt let down. Breakfast and lunch were good, dinners were average. We will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 19, 2011

The Pros and Cons

Pros: - very nice property. well kept and well situated - staff was very nice, always said hello. However, they were not very knowledgeable (see below) - plenty of beach and pool lounge chairs - For a hotel, pretty good entertainment shows in evenings Cons: - food was not very good. Some decent items in the buffet but a la carte restaurants were not at all good except for the Japanese restaurant. My husband got very ill from the food he ate at the Italian restaurant - Also, when we called the restaurants to make reservations, they said most were not available (we called the first day we checked in). We eventually got the reservations later. When we did go to the restaurants, half of the seats were empty (this happend in all four restaurants) - staff is nice but not well trained. As an example, Concierge didn't know if there was a movie channel in the room; didn't know where the spinning classes were held. Some of the barely spoke English. We also asked for a wake up call but they never called

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Even if they tell you there are no reservations available at the restaurants, try showing up anyway as they were half empty. I think many people don't show up. But please be warned, the food is mediocre.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
threebeads
New York, NY
Mar 29, 2013

Needs a Better Chef

The food was so disappointing for a 5-star hotel. True, there was plenty of it, especially excellent seafood, but the specialty restaurants fell very short. I don't think any of the staff has ever been to an Italian Restaurant because what they served resembled dog food on my plate. I had ordered Oso Bucco. Rissoto came out as a very runny sour cream sauce loaded with muchrooms and hardly any rice???? Ravioli were thick and covered in a heavy cheese sause without tomatoe sauce. There were some clumps of mashed tomatoe on the side, but certainly not gravy! At Surf & Turf we ordered Strip Steak and were served two fatty rib eyes. The Japanese was fair - nice vegetable and shrimp Tempura, but on the Buffet night in the general restaurant. They had an Oriental Evening where I was able to get this nice Tempura, but they neglected to serve any soy or other Oriental sauce to go with it! The staff is very friendly, overly so that they verge on interupting you too frequently to ask how everything is. I am sure their intent for your comfort is genuine, but holding the hand out is a bit too obvious. I made these and a few other complaints known to the Manager who kindly compted us massages and a private taxi ride to the air port. She was sincerely apologetic and promised to work on solutions right away. The setting is beautiful and I think I might give it another chance based on her sincerity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you like seafood, stay with the fish, especially shell fish. Also Spa services are excellent and reasonablly priced.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oklahoma Gal
Edmond, Oklahoma
Jun 2, 2013

Not a 5 star resort like I expected from other reviews

Let me start by saying I take a summer trip to a different beach every year. I read the reviews from other travelers for IGB & had very high expectations. Positives: This hotel is absolutely stunning! Decor & scenery could not be better. Beautiful beach with tons of chairs & huts for shade if you'd like them. There's a photographer on the premises whom I highly recommend. The photo-shoot is a blast & completely free. Each picture you purchase is only $10 & comes on a CD. Negatives: Food was horrible. There are 4 different a-la-cart restaurants & all of them were just lacking in taste. Very bland, & most of the restaurants had awful service. The service just flat out ruined my mood. Spa: We booked a couples massage & it was the most awkward massage of our lives. The ladies massaged our stomachs, kept the lighting on full blast, & the massage itself just never felt relaxing at all. Overall, I'd say this resort deserves 3 stars & isn't worth the high end price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RREPORT
Westchester County, NY
Jan 2, 2010

Nice but probably will never be back!

A beautiful room, nice people but there's just something about Iberostar Grand Bavaro that probably won't make me go back. The staff was friendly although our request to change our room because of the obstructed view was just brushed under the rug with an "okay later on in the week" or "we are at full capacity" when they CLEARLY were not. The problem was that they had a very limited staff, everyone had 4 different jobs with 4 different uniforms. I saw our butler once we really didn't need him. When I requested some things the 1st day of our trip he politely told me I had to do those things by myself. Thanks but I really don't need him there just to run my bath water. Now onto the all inclusive part. Breakfast and lunch were simply NOT good. Its the same exact thing every day and the food is just not fresh and not appetizing. Dinners at the ala cartes were good at the Japanese and the Surf and Turf. Don't bother going to the other 2, only reason we did was to make our own conclusion... it was a true waste of a meal. The Alcohol is watered down depending on what bartender you got and sometimes you really didn't know what you were getting. The staff doesn't really do anything for you unless you're tipping away. So if you thought your service was all inclusive, think again.... the guy next to you is tipping the cabana boys just to get regular service. I'm not cheap by any extent but why pay for all inclusive when you can just pay for a regular hotel and tip where its deserved. I got a massage which was good but it was hardly a spa treatment. There was no put on a robe and wait for us to come get you. It was get into this bright room with no shades take off your clothes and when you're done get out. Again its the little things. I went from the lobby to the bright room to back out again. The all inclusive sports are waaaaaaaaaay down at the end of the 4th of the Iberostars and very limited. The bulk of the guests are German, So the staff caters to German type things and not dominican things. This hotel needs to be more fun. They need more pool side activities, something. They should be more lively and stop worrying about being so 5 star and upity. Iberostar managers let your staff let their hair down, do some poolside shows, be more interactive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Do yourself a favor and take the long walk through all of the Iberostar hotels, the grounds are beautiful, there are lots more things to do and the guests seem to clearly be having a way better time.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 19, 2011

The Pros and Cons

Pros: - very nice property. well kept and well situated - staff was very nice, always said hello. However, they were not very knowledgeable (see below) - plenty of beach and pool lounge chairs - For a hotel, pretty good entertainment shows in evenings Cons: - food was not very good. Some decent items in the buffet but a la carte restaurants were not at all good except for the Japanese restaurant. My husband got very ill from the food he ate at the Italian restaurant - Also, when we called the restaurants to make reservations, they said most were not available (we called the first day we checked in). We eventually got the reservations later. When we did go to the restaurants, half of the seats were empty (this happend in all four restaurants) - staff is nice but not well trained. As an example, Concierge didn't know if there was a movie channel in the room; didn't know where the spinning classes were held. Some of the barely spoke English. We also asked for a wake up call but they never called

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Even if they tell you there are no reservations available at the restaurants, try showing up anyway as they were half empty. I think many people don't show up. But please be warned, the food is mediocre.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mifesto
NJ
Mar 30, 2012

almost perfect resort

grand bavaro resort was excellent. only negative being considering how much we paid, the food was very good but not awesome. its minor complaint only as food was still high quality and was overshadowed by the other amazing qualities of the resort. slightly lower price and i would have given it all five stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

buffets ok but the in-resort restaurants are MUCH higher quality. reservation is required and they fill FAST so be aggressive in getting your reservation in ASAP.

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jan 24, 2010

Wonderful Winter Getaway

I wish we could've had better weather while we were there but that's one thing you have no control over. Luckily the hotel provided us with board games, dance lessons, spanish classes, 3 pool tables, and much more. There is no shuttle to the hotel..you have to take a taxi which is $38 for 2 people. Food was great..make sure that you make dinner reservations in advance because they fill up quick. Our favorite non buffets were Surf & Turf and the Japanese. You usually will wait about 15 minutes to be seated too so stop at the bar first and get a drink! Drinks are premium like they say and were not watered down at all. The staff is amazing. Maid staff is wonderful. They clean your room not once but twice a day! Overall it was an excellent vacation but I think a week there is plenty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Not much selection as far as souvenirs

Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMK
New Jersey
Mar 14, 2010

Iberostar Grand

Very nice and quiet. Clean, well kept and excellent service. It was a bit quiet at night. If you are looking for a lively nightlife, this hotel is not good for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top