Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
185 reviews
Great holiday

I recommend this hotel for everyone: yes, it's expensive, but you will be treated like a king, and... See full review

  • Lukasz1234
  • Sep 17, 2014
10th year Anniversary

Best in Punta Cana!!! 5+ Star Best Beach that I have ever stayed on. Will be booking again soon!! See full review

  • The Peter clan
  • Sep 10, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beachfront resort with 24-hour butler service
The extraordinary white sands and turquoise water at Playa Bavaro pair perfectly with top-of-the-line luxury and service at Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive resort, in Punta Cana. Guest rooms are spacious suites with deluxe details such as a hydro-massage tub and LCD television. Dine at six on-site restaurants, or join in tennis, yoga, spinning class or swimming. Additional activities (fees apply) include catamaran sailing, scuba and golf. Around-the-clock butler service adds the final touch. The resort is for adults only.
Highlights
  • Enjoy the worry-free luxury of an all-inclusive resort, covering guest fees from tennis and yoga to daily dining
  • Explore the ocean with the on-site CDC Padi Gold Palm Resort diving center, with everything from kayaking to scuba lessons
  • Lounge on one of the most beautiful beaches in Punta Cana -- Playa Bavaro -- which fronts the resort
Location
Iberostar Grand Bavaro is on the stunning white sands of Playa Bavaro, in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Iberostar Grand Bavaro offers 260 standard suites, 13 oceanfront grand suites and a presidential suite, each decorated with luxury and comfort in mind. All include a pool or ocean view, plus European-style bed linen, a marble bathroom, hydro-massage tub, minibar, LCD television with interactive digital cable service, DVD player and radio/alarm clock with MP3 connection.
Dining
The all-inclusive dining at Iberostar Grand Bavaro allows guests to visit any of the six on-property restaurants and cafes. From Italian cuisine at La Tentazione and Japanese at Hashira to the wide variety of dishes at Bella Vista Buffet Restaurant, Iberostar satisfies every craving.
Recreation
Iberostar Grand Bavaro offers all-inclusive and additional-fees activities ranging from a full-service spa to tennis courts, golfing, swimming, yoga, tai chi, live evening entertainment and water sports.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.7 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (46.2 mi/74.4 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (55.5 mi/89.4 km)
  • Santo Domingo (123 mi/199 km)

Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Junior Suite
The Junior Suite room offers one king bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Jacuzzi / Whirlpool / Spa bath, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Mini Refrigerator and Butler Service.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.715 -68.4524
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) - Estimate driving distance 35 minutes.
Area description
This hotel is located right at the most beautiful white-sand beach of Bavaro. Only 35 minutes away from Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).

Dining

Gourmet - Menu style Restaurant
Dinner hours: 6:30 - 10:00 pm. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.
Japanese - Menu style Restaurant
Dinner hours: 6:30 - 10:00 pm. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.
Steak House - Menu style Restaurant
Dinner hours: 6:30 - 10:00 pm. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.
Italian - Menu style Restaurant
Dinner hours: 6:30 - 10:00 pm. Dress Code: Long trousers for men shirts with sleeves and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.
International buffet Restaurant
Breakfast served 7:00 - 10:00 am; Lunch served 1:00 - 3:00 pm; Dinner served 6:30 - 10:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wendy N
Suwanee, GA
Oct 1, 2013

It's okay

My husband I went the the Iberostar Grand in the Dominican Republic for our 10th anniversary. We had stayed at Grand Rose Hall previously in Jamaica. Our experience is Jamaica was absolutely the best so I was expecting the same attention to detail and service at the Grand Bavaro. We went on Sept 19th 2013 through the 22nd. I had planned to surprise my husband with the Romantic dinner on the beach, I had it planned down to every detail- until it rained. I was assured I wouldn't be charged the $300 for the dinner. I was- we are going on two weeks and my money has yet to be returned. The mini bar was never stocked the way we asked. We had to ask for things several times. Not a complete disappointment, but I really felt let down. Breakfast and lunch were good, dinners were average. We will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 19, 2011

The Pros and Cons

Pros: - very nice property. well kept and well situated - staff was very nice, always said hello. However, they were not very knowledgeable (see below) - plenty of beach and pool lounge chairs - For a hotel, pretty good entertainment shows in evenings Cons: - food was not very good. Some decent items in the buffet but a la carte restaurants were not at all good except for the Japanese restaurant. My husband got very ill from the food he ate at the Italian restaurant - Also, when we called the restaurants to make reservations, they said most were not available (we called the first day we checked in). We eventually got the reservations later. When we did go to the restaurants, half of the seats were empty (this happend in all four restaurants) - staff is nice but not well trained. As an example, Concierge didn't know if there was a movie channel in the room; didn't know where the spinning classes were held. Some of the barely spoke English. We also asked for a wake up call but they never called

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Even if they tell you there are no reservations available at the restaurants, try showing up anyway as they were half empty. I think many people don't show up. But please be warned, the food is mediocre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mifesto
NJ
Mar 30, 2012

almost perfect resort

grand bavaro resort was excellent. only negative being considering how much we paid, the food was very good but not awesome. its minor complaint only as food was still high quality and was overshadowed by the other amazing qualities of the resort. slightly lower price and i would have given it all five stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

buffets ok but the in-resort restaurants are MUCH higher quality. reservation is required and they fill FAST so be aggressive in getting your reservation in ASAP.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jan 24, 2010

Wonderful Winter Getaway

I wish we could've had better weather while we were there but that's one thing you have no control over. Luckily the hotel provided us with board games, dance lessons, spanish classes, 3 pool tables, and much more. There is no shuttle to the hotel..you have to take a taxi which is $38 for 2 people. Food was great..make sure that you make dinner reservations in advance because they fill up quick. Our favorite non buffets were Surf & Turf and the Japanese. You usually will wait about 15 minutes to be seated too so stop at the bar first and get a drink! Drinks are premium like they say and were not watered down at all. The staff is amazing. Maid staff is wonderful. They clean your room not once but twice a day! Overall it was an excellent vacation but I think a week there is plenty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Not much selection as far as souvenirs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt03
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 23, 2013

Wonderful Trip

This resort really is perfect in so many ways. Here is a quick rundown of some things to consider: - The size and layout of this hotel is perfect. No matter where your room is located, you are only a short walk from the beach, pool.various bars, the spa and restaurants. The building is shaped like a "U", so there are no "outposts" where you have to walk endlessly to get from A to B. - The beach is wonderful with plenty of Palapas (umbrellas) for shade. The chairs are upgrades from the standard resort beach chair and the drink service on the beach is a huge plus. Also, I noticed how the other resorts had people piled on top of each other because of their large size...not this one...due to the smaller size of the resort, we all had our space on the beach. - The rooms are a bit smaller than other resorts offering Jr. Suites but their comfort makes up for their size. I've been to so many all-inclusives' and the bed hardness was always an issue. Not here! the beds and pillows and sheets were so comfortable! Also, the way the room is designed, there is a small foyer with another door that you go through before going into the bedroom. That way, you have two doors that provide extra noise protection from the outdoors (it can get loud with tile floors, maids working early in the morning and drunk guests). Lastly, there is a huge window in the bathroom the fills the room with natural light! It was awesome. - The resort has great top shelf drinks so no need to worry about not finding the right concoction - The food was plentiful and the presentation was impressive but I was a bit disappointed with lunch and dinner. They had huge lobsters and wonderful meats but they just need to work on cooking them better. Take for instance the lobster, I was amazed they had huge lobster tails just sitting there to be thrown on the grill for lunch. The only problem was, many of them were frozen so after they were thrown on the grill, these wonderful lobsters turned all mushy. The food preparation is one thing they can work on because they already have great quality meats and seafood to work with. It sounds trite, but, lets face it, the food is a big determining factor when picking a resort and the resorts in Mexico are superior in this department. - Lastly, the staff were so wonderful! I've never been to a resort with such friendly and attentive staff. I just cant believe the level of service this place provides. Also, because it is a smaller resort, they really get to know you and your preferences very quickly...that makes for an even more memorable trip. What a place! With the exception of some food issues, it was perfect and I recommend it to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many beach shops claiming to sell quality cigars, even Cubans, to the right of the hotel. Be weary! Most are fakes. Some aren't even made with tobacco but rather with banana leaves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMK
New Jersey
Mar 14, 2010

Iberostar Grand

Very nice and quiet. Clean, well kept and excellent service. It was a bit quiet at night. If you are looking for a lively nightlife, this hotel is not good for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherron
Hamilton, VA
Jan 21, 2013

Wonderful experience!

Everything at the Grand Bavaro is of high quality. The staff is always available and happy to provide whatever service you need/want without being overbearing. The entire property is spotless and well maintained. The food was the best we have experienced in the D.R. The Surf and Turf had outstanding filet mignon and tuna steak. One thing that really stood out was the room on the beach. If you take a walk down the beach it is very apparent that the density is far less than at the other hotels. If you are not bringing children I highly recommend the Grand Bavaro over the other Bavaro hotels in Punta Cana. Our only slight disappointment was the size of the room. It is not a suite but more of a hotel room with a separate bathroom. It is, however, very comfortable and extremely clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Feb 7, 2010

Great stay at Iberostar

Stay was wonderful. The first night we were put in a room with double beds (had requested a King ) but the next day we were moved to a room with a King. The room itself was great. Very clean, maid came in regularly, minibar was stocked to our liking and staff was friendly and helpful. Beach is outstanding, never crowded and it felt very private. Water was warm, sand soft, you can walk for miles. On our walks, we saw other resorts along the way--the beaches were crowded with lots of chairs lined up one after the other--our beach was by far the most appealing. Pool was wonderful, with a swim up bar, though the piped in music is a bit annoying. One complaint is the food in the restaurants. Japanese was fair-poor. French restaurant was very mediocre and the restaurant smelled like mold (we could see some water spots on the ceiling that may not have been dealt with properly). Surf and Turf meal meal was great. We didn't eat in the Italian restaurant as we heard it was just ok. If you want to go to the restaurants, you have to make reservations well in advance with the concierge. We had her make our reservations for the week when we arrived--in spite of that, we were told that some of the restaurants had no availability (even though none ever looked full when walking by) Buffet was consistently above average, with very good variety, and we ate there several nights. Only other issue was internet access which was inconsistent --wireless in our room worked sporadically for the first few days and then not at all. Only one of the 3 computers in the downstairs lobby worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relaxation123
New York, NY, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Honeymoon

The hotel is very nice and luxurious. The beach is very nice as well. The food was mediocre at best. Also having to make reservations for dinner was very annoying and they lost some of our reservations. On several nights they only had one restaurant open and you were forced to eat the buffet which was not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iberostar Grand Bavaro Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tycoon
Seatttle, WA
Feb 7, 2011

Fabulous hotel in Punta Cana

I strongly recommend this hotel eventually. This hotel is just 25min away from PUJ airport by bus. Beach is beautiful and not crowded, pool area is very cozy to relax. Room is clean and bed is very comfortable to get sound sleep. My only concern is food issue. Food is "not" fantastic. French and Italian was nice but buffet was just mediocre and Japanese was a nightmare. Sashimi smell fishy, rolls was like you can find in refrigerator at grocery store, Tepanyaki was just a mix of meat(or rice) and soy sauce with NO taste. I have not imagined we could find this kind of Japanese dish in 5 star hotel. This horrible japanese restaurant makes other restaurants more crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations on first day for your whole stay and don't try Japanese.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top