$213 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 19, 2015

Iberostar Dominicana All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Dominicana All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Dominicana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VanessaTraveller
Montreal, QC, Canada
Apr 8, 2012

Great resort

We're a 30 yr old couple. This resort was great, especially with the recent renovations. It was very nice, and it had the best beach compared to the more expensive Iberostars next to us. The other beaches had a lot of rock and seaweed in the water. The food was good (but not amazing), and the staff are super friendly. We did have to break out a lot of our mediocre Spanish because apart from the front desk and animation team, most of the staff didn't speak much English. It was fun though - we didn't mind at all. The resort was also the perfect size, because I really hate it when it's too big and all the restos, rooms, pools, and beaches are really far apart. We also went to the casino a couple times and had fun there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Iberostar Dominicana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave M in Chicago
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 15, 2014

Beautiful place for Honeymoon

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The beach is perfect and very clean. The chairs do fill up before 8:00 so that was annoying. It says do not save chairs, but everyone does, so get out early. The food was good but it was pretty much the same every night. Best was the Chinese restaurant. The bed was nice, but the TV was filled with static all the time, so that was annoying, but didn't watch much so didn't bother me. We had a room right by the pool, but couldn't hear any of the noise which was very nice. I had an issue with the safe which was taken care of but it took 2 trips to the front desk, and 3 phone calls and three hours. The one complaint I had was that many of the bartenders were crabby. I asked a couple of times about a couple different drinks and they passed me the menu and moved on to the next customer. This irritated me because I was trying to get an answer not the menu I had already seen plenty of times. I also was bumped in line many times and that was after I had tiped them plenty of times. Very annoyed about that. But since that is my only complaint that means I had a great time. The people in the restaurants were extremely nice and very friendly. The people who helped with the excusions (Pedro) was top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go on at least one excursion. Leave the hotel at least once. The entire country is beautiful and not just the beach.

Review of Iberostar Dominicana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Foreign1
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Feb 10, 2012

Great vacation

I had an excellent experience at this hotel. The staff was very friendly, the rooms very comfortable and big. The food is not great, just in " A la Carte" Restaurants. I would improve the shows at night a little bit, but in general I had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Videos made at excursions from Filmaciones Vista Alegre are expensive and not worthy, don't buy them.

Review of Iberostar Dominicana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melissa A
Business
Binghamton, NY, USA
Apr 7, 2012

Lovely vacation spot

The hotel had beautiful, immaculate grounds, gorgeous beach with lots of chaise chairs and sun or shaded areas, good and plentiful food and drinks, helpful and friendly staff. The pool area was lovely, again with lots of chaise chairs and sun or shaded areas. My sister and I were traveling together and were pleased that the clientele varied widely - some honeymooners, some families, quite a few older (50s-60s) couples/groups. I would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Dominicana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
humblecouple
Business
Queens, NY
Dec 16, 2012

5-nights getaway

We're a couple in our 50-s. We really like to stay in Iberostars resorts - they have nice, well maintained properties, decent dining options and very friendly service. This resort provided everything we expected - clean and not very crowded beach, attentive personnel and very good gourmet dinners at their Mexican, French and Seafood restaurants - reservations were not too hard to get. Overall it was a good though short getaway - we enjoyed it a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mexican restaurant is well worth to visit. In Maritimo Seafood restaurant by the beach after placing your order look for Jamon Cerrano (cured meat) at the appetizer table - the one we had was terrific.

Review of Iberostar Dominicana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Party parents
Business
Colorado USA
Jan 30, 2013

Couples retreat

We thought the service to be excellent and we very pleased due to the volume of guests they had to accommodate. The food was good not amazing. The staff was extremely friendly and loved the entertainment. The landscape was beautiful and the cleanliness was impeccable. We had a wonderful time and would recommend this to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Dominicana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo Chica On Vacation
Business
Cleveland, OH
Mar 15, 2013

First time to Punta Cana... loved it!!

I had a wonderful four-night stay at the Iberostar Dominicana... I totally wish I could have stayed another day or two! This was my first time taking a trip to the Caribbean, and I chose to go alone. I stayed on the resort the whole time and it was very safe and secure! There is a security gate at the entrance to the driveway leading the resorts, so people can't just wander in off the streets.The staff were super friendly, everyone greeting me with a smile and 'Hola' or 'Buenos dias.' I know some basic phrases in Spanish, and did not find any difficulties with the language difference. Mario and Duany in the buffet restaurant are absolutely great, very attentive with their service. I also had a classic Swedish massage done in the spa (by Marisol?)... she was absolutely AMAZING, worked out this major kinks in my shoulders. It was $95USD for 80 minutes, and she's totally worth every penny. My room was clean and my fridge was restocked every day (I went through a lot of bottled water since it's not safe to drink the tap water). My room was located in a corner on the second floor, and was a short walk to everywhere (the restaurants and the beach!). The only down-side was that my room faced the entertainment area, so it got a little noisy at night during the shows. Other than that, it was very quiet. My recommendations: **Definitely pack some extra cash (singles and fives) to tip all the workers... they all work really hard for their tips and appreciate anything you leave. I definitely noticed that I got 'slightly' better service at mealtimes when it was super busy since the servers knew I tipped well. The maid that cleaned my room also stocked my fridge every day even though the placard in the room explains that restocking occurs every other day. And the bartenders are much more 'generous' with the liquor in your drinks when they know you tip! A couple dollars here and there really goes a long way :) **Stay away from foods that are uncooked, such as seafood salads and such. I got a touch of food poisoning from something I ate for dinner one night, and spent the next day super nauseous and vomited a few times. Other than that, I thought the food was fantastic! A decent variety to keep me interested for my short stay. Unfortunately, I did not get a chance to try any of the a-la-carte restaurants since my one dinner reservation was the day of my vomiting/sickness. **I'm glad I did my research before going... people were right about having to go out to the beach early in the morning to reserve a good beach chair! I'd say that all the chairs/umbrellas close to the water and close to the beach bar are all reserved with towels/books etc by 8am. I love watching the sun rise, so I was up and on the beach by 6am every day anyway... **I wish I had arranged transportation to/from the airport, since it may have been cheaper. I ended up taking taxis both ways (since it's about half an hour drive from the airport)... it cost $38USD each way. It's perfectly safe to take a taxi, even alone, since at the airport all the taxis are clearly marked/registered. When leaving for the airport, leave at least 3 hours early! It takes a little bit of time to get through all the security... I hope this helps anyone thinking about taking a trip to Punta Cana! It's an awesome time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Dominicana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark and Nancy
Business
Putnam Valley, NY
Mar 29, 2013

Winter get away

The Dominicana was excellent! the staff was friendly as could be. The food was good. The room was fine for us. and the value with air and transportation was well worth it. They really showed us a good time. My wife and I were pleasently surprised. I think this place would be great for Families or couples. You can't beat the value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Dominicana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJS DLS
Business
Michigan
Apr 30, 2013

Spring Vacation

We have stayed there before, with a better outcome. We were disapointted with the food this year, very few veggies, mostly beans and rice. They did not have the same amount of choices as before for main dishes either. Our room was nice and they did bring us a nice arangement of tropical flowers right after we checked in. The shows at night seen to be getting worse not better, most were dumb. We were not happy with the casino either machines broke down and the manager had too much to handle by himself. I think they may have been fixed also did not see very many winners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Dominicana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
muhtarbey
Business
New Jersey
May 2, 2013

Great Vacation

Very clean resort, big beach nicest resort stop on the stretch of Punta Cana. Palapas are provided but better "reserve" by 9am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iberostar Dominicana All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YUppers
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 21, 2013

Great for a getaway

Went here last week for a friends wedding and had an amazing time relaxing and drinking in the sun. Beautiful beaches and great pools. Lots of activities. The booze was a plenty but wasn't any "name-brand" I have heard of so I was a little disappointed at the quality. Stayed in a bungalow and the room was a decent size. Plus they replenished the water in the fridge daily and the soda and beer every-other; which was awesome. One thing I would DEFINITELY recommend is to book any reservations at the restaurants the first day you arrive. They fill up fast! We thought we could wait until the day of, but ended up having to eat at the buffet every night. Food was still really good. And there is a buffet open or food by the pool 24/7 so that was nice. Bring some US dollars so you can tip the bartenders and they will make sure you are served promptly and will deliver drinks to you anywhere so you don't have to get out of the pool or leave your cabana or volleyball game on the beach. There isn't anywhere to go outside of the resort but activities like snorkel and parasailing available right there on the beach if you want - definitely haggle your price though!! Same with the shops around the resort. NEVER pay full price! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top