$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Island loverv
Business
Ny Ny
Dec 23, 2012

nice few days

Staff terrific. Upgraded room disappointing--worst pillows ever. Came home with worst neck ache. Bed mattress hard uncomfortable. Furniture badly scraped and needed painting. Bath soap dish badly stained. Activities amateur. Pre show entertainment below high school level. Audio and microphones too loud and shrill, very unpleasant. Food average. Weather great. Beach and grounds very clean and nicely lanscapped. Tourist population very respectful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sassa
Business
Chicago
Aug 20, 2013

Good Experience but would not go back

Like others who have reviewed this property I will also advise: if you booked the less expensive room, be sure to upgrade for the others are simply not good at all. It was my first expense as soon as I got to the hotel. The upgraded room is much better but not without its downfalls such as the see through bathroom door shower wall..So, if you are going with friends or family, be prepared to become more intimate with each other's sounds and smells. Staff was great..no complaints. The hotel itself is nice, the grounds well kept and very clean. Punta Cana is just far away from everything so do not expect loads to do outside of the resort. Buffet food was average. You will not starve. Avoid the Italian restaurant, eat at the Mexican restaurant only if you have to..but the Caribbean and Japanese restaurants are pretty good but having to queue up before 8AM to secure a reservation is ridiculous...Drinks were watered down.....the pizza place is great. Hotel entertainment is lame though the staff is absolutely terrific, giving 100% all the time..very energetic. What killed me was the constant loud music at the pool area. In summary, a good experience...good for youngsters, families but not the ideal for those who just want to relax. PS: Take the tour to Saona Island...but avoid the trip to Santo Domingo unless you just want a check mark on your map....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robo67
Business
Newington, CT
Mar 29, 2010

The good and the bad

3 of us, we spent a week in the resort, doing a bit of everything: sea and sun bath, safari and Saona island trips, pool, night live shows, shopping etc. In my opinion - the info about resort's activities is pretty poor... I mean - it is not provided that "easy american way" like you get a clear, good info about everything around. We only got a little picture-map describing all the places. That's all. So I suggest to take some time asking and writing down - what and when is opened. Because most places like buffets gets closed every few hours and some places - like pizza house - gets opened even after midnight. We ate once at 1 of 3 restaurants where you have to make a reservation on the same day, but before 8:00 AM. Believe me: I am not picky on food. But that was a total disaster! I can understand than a lamb's leg has 30% of pure fat, but the butter served with rolls was just horribly old, had almost orange color and did smell like a fish! Also a dessert was a joke! For example 2 ladies at other table ordered lobsters and they were looking happy, so maybe we were just unlucky ones. But anyways - what happened to us was below any standards I've ever seen. After that - we decided to stay at buffet, where you just go and pick everything you want to eat. And it's fresh! We really enjoyed every night shows. The pool was great. Beach very nice. Close to the beach - Snack bar good for drinks and not bad for food too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laurel, MD
Jun 24, 2010

"The getaway"

Enjoyed the pool and beach... Time alone that was needed...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Jul 12, 2011

MJ

Hotel was good. I like the all the entertainment. Good collection of restaurants although variety of food is somewhat limited. Lots of alcohol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserve early for dinners

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 23, 2010

Sun and Sand

The resort was beautiful. The beach was incredible. My two complaints that would prevent me from returning were: 1) The food wasnt great. Pizza bar was good and the a la carte restaurants were pretty good, but buffet was not good at all 2) There was no hot water and the shower pressure was terrible. Also no rooms with bathtubs. Going a week on the beach covered in suntan lotion, salt water, cholorine, and sand and not being able to shower it off was not fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IFA
Business
New Jersey
Dec 21, 2010

IFA Villas Bavaro

The workers in all the food areas were extremely nice and courteous. The wifi was down for the first 6 nights we were there forcing us to spend a lot of money on internet service. I needed to finish writing a paper and instead of paying $10 for an entire day, I was forced to spend $3 for every 30 minutes. In addition, the first room we got was not as advertised. We were given two twin/full size beds instead of a queen bed. The food was not that good either, although I must reiterate that the servers were awesome. The restaurants that required reservations were not impressive whatsoever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The excursions were all very fun, except for deep sea fishing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stamford, CT, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Pros and cons

PROS: - Villa was clean, had a/c, ceiling fans, hot water - Resort grounds were amazing and beautiful - lots of pools, pathways, flowers, birds - bathrooms also throughout resort and on beach - Beach was BEAUTIFUL - lots of nice chairs to lay out on - Weather was great (we went in August - it was hot but not horrible) - Overall very clean, safe resort with a variety of activities CONS: - "Inclusive" activities were not really ones we were interested in (i.e. beach volleyball, Spanish lessons, etc) but we were given free access to snorkels/masks, beach kayaks, and paddle boats. - A LOT of extra fees - extra $ for snorkeling trip, parasailing, windsurfing, etc - Buffet food was less than fabulous. There are 3 restaurants that are pretty nice, but you have to make a reservation in person at 8am. - Staff was mostly friendly, but did not always speak English, especially in restaurants and bars. Male staff was also a little crazy with the cat calling - couldn't make it through one meal without having a waiter harassing us - Punta Cana area is VERY expensive (compared to prior trips to Puerto Plata and Santo Domingo) - $28 for a 10 minute taxi ride! We bartered with vendors on the beach but still they are VERY expensive and are used to a lot of tourists who will just pay whatever the price is. Bartering is possible but not very successful - ATM machine was broken for 3 days so we had no access to cash All in all.... wish we knew exactly what wasn't "included" and exactly how expensive those things would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the buffet and wake up early to make a reservation at one of the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacationing Caribbean
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 18, 2010

Vacay with family

Our family and I enjoyed our stay at IFA for seven days with a few minor drawbacks. The security staff were unfriendly and rude at times.Showers there were always luke warm.The food and wait staff were good at times but there were many restaurants to choose from. Those minor inconveniences did not stop us from enjoying our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the seaquarium was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ksheks
Business
Seattle, WA
May 5, 2011

Good Hotel for First Timera

This was a beautiful hotel, but I wouldn't go back. It was a good hotel for first timers. The pools were beautiful as well as the beach. The pizza place was GREAT and so were the crepes. All other food is HORRIBLE! The drinks weren't good either. The staff is pretty rude, especially ANA who works at the pizza place. Booze isn't surved until 10 am. The rooms are nice, but make sure you upgrade so you are closer to the beach. The beds are hard as a rock, but you don't notice after a few days. There is no beach or ocean view so dont book here if you are wanting that. The shows were good, especially Michael Jackson. I would say overall this is an average hotel, but I won't be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see [...] at the bar hut on the beach. He is cheaper than any of the people selling you stuff at the hotel. They purchase everything from him, but charge $20 more to make money for themselves so go to him directly and you will save lots!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top