IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
110 reviews
Highly Recommended

The staff was very friendly. The food was excellent. The beach was fantastic. See full review

  • Patrick YYZ
  • Jun 19, 2014
very pleasant family getaway

My experience at the hotel was wonderful, I would definitely return and recommend it to anyone who... See full review

  • Francisco L
  • Nov 4, 2013
Carribbean paradise with pools, swim-up bar, dance lessons
After snagging a prime beachfront property on the coconut coast in 1998 and building a reputation for a festive all-round good time, the IFA Villa Bavaro Resort & Spa has established itself as a Punta Cana go-to resort. This Dominican Republic resort offers a quality day spa experience, and the event staff is ready to lead dance, language and yoga classes and keep guests entertained with a tried-and-true cabaret. IFA Villa Bavaro Resort & Spa has proven it can be everything to everyone in an all-inclusive tropical beach vacation.
Highlights
  • Meals and drinks at 7 restaurants and 8 bars, room service, evening shows and nightclub included in room rate
  • Three swimming pools and white sand beach
  • Scuba pool lessons, snorkeling and more included with room rate
  • Family-friendly outdoor playground and kids club
  • Jacuzzi, saunas, steam room and staffed fitness center available to all guests
Rooms
Sleep up to four in 652 cheerful white and guava-colored rooms. All rooms are connected to the beach by sand footpaths and include refrigerators, coffee-makers, flat-screen TVs and in-room safes (fees apply). Choose from a three-story ocean view building or 1-story garden bungalow with quiet reading terraces. All IFA Villa Bavaro Resort & Spa guest rooms have ceiling fans and air conditioning.
Features
Recreation
Grab a lounge chair and enjoy the vibrant lake pool setting where towel service, fountains, a swim-up bar, Caribbean dance lessons, scuba lessons and a children's pool keep everyone entertained. Enjoy the beach with windsurfing, a beach bar and beach chairs. Tennis, volleyball and aerobics are also included. Additional activities (fees apply) include horseback riding, reef diving, deep sea fishing, golfing and a casino. Indulge in an open-air cabana sunset beach massage or chakra balancing.
Dining
Choose from two buffets, a beach grill, pizzeria and pleasing family fare at Mexican, Asian and Caribbean restaurants. Premium course meals are available for an extra charge. 
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • La Romana Airport (56.4 mi/90.7 km)
  • Las Americas Santo Domingo Airport (120 mi/193 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (6.5 mi/10.4 km)
  • Macao Beach (14.8 mi/23.8 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Higuey (30.7 mi/49.4 km)
Business
  • Lobby computer with Internet (fees apply)
  • Faxing (fees apply)
  • Currency exchange available (fees apply)
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • 24/7 medical services (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa does not accept Spring Break youth groups at the property during the travel period of 01 FEB 2013 until 31 MARCH 2013.
  • IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa does not accept any room reservations for guests under 22 years of age (Individual or Group Reservations). Indication of age is an indispensable requirement for a confirmation of the booking.
  • For families traveling together, adolescents over 14 years old and less than 22 years old have to be accompanied by a parent in the same room.
  • Rooms booked with guests under 22 years of age will be denied at the Check-In and guests will be responsible for finding their own alternative accommodation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Rooms
This wonderful 4 star complex counts with 652 rooms located in buildings and bungalows. All ours rooms are totally renovated, fully equipped, maximum occupancy is 4 persons per room. We offer connecting rooms.
Superior
390 rooms located in buildings (1-3 floors) with pool, garden, or partial ocean view located next to the beach at the Ocean section or near the recreational activities at Village section. Modern equipped with mini fridge, coffee machine, hairdryer, cable plasma television, air conditioning, telephone, safety box (extra charge), and French balcony.
Standard
262 bungalows located in the Villas section, with garden or pool view and a relaxing atmosphere within a lush garden. Fully equipped with mini fridge, hairdryer, cable plasma television, air conditioning, telephone, safety box (extra charge) and terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.6697 -68.4061
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
PUJ, Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
In the top location directly on the original Bavaro Beach. Shopping Mall 5 minutes, golfcourse and casino nearby.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for up to 180 people. Wedding coordinator,ceremonies on the beach.

Dining

Restaurants
9 restaurants: 2 buffet El Colibri, Las Velas, 1 pizza-snack at the pool area Pikalo, 1 Creperie and 5 a la Carte: Caribe Gourmet, Jalisco Mexican and Bambu Asian, Pikalo Pizzeria, La Serata Italian.
Bars
7 bars: Margarita pool bar, Theater Bar (during the show), Pikalo snack bar, El Mojato swim-up bar, Caf Dominicano lounge bar, Las Velas Beach Bar and High Beach jacuzzi bar. Disco Fantasy bar until 4:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pHarris
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 2, 2010

Great Value, Beautiful Beach

I vacationed here with my boyfriend in May. We really enjoyed our week long stay in Punta Cana. The hotel was a good deal for the price, but nothing exceptional. The grounds were well kept and the three pools were great! We never had trouble finding seating around one of them. When we first arrived, we had some issues with our room, but the staff was very accommodating and got us a new room quickly - we were pleased with this. Our room itself was fairly small - king bed, small dresser, tv, closet, 1 sink, and a small bathroom. It was a little difficult for both of us to move around between the closet, sink, and bathroom since they were all crammed together, but we managed. Also, we spent very little time in our room - only to sleep - so it was okay. The food was somewhat hit or miss - sometimes we had a fabulous dinner at the buffet or at the restaurant, but sometimes it wasn't so great. There was a decent selection of food though, so you could always find something. The bars were always good - great drink selection and friendly staff! One thing I really enjoyed was the entertainment throughout the day at the pool and beach. There seemed to always be something going on - beach volleyball, aerobics, music, horseshoes, soccer, contests, etc. It was great. Last but not least, the beach was absolutely incredible. It was huge. We never had an issue finding seats or finding seats with shade. It was easy to get paddle boats, kayaks, and snorkeling equipment through the hotel's staff. The water was beautiful and the sand was clean of trash. Our representative at the hotel showed us many excursions, and one day we went on a dune buggy tour which was so much fun. I highly suggest taking advantage of some of the excursions to see different parts of the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage of the excursions that they offer. I went on a dune buggy excursion and had an amazing time touring the island. We went to a beautiful beach with no resorts, a coffee/chocolate plantation, and a natural cave. It was nice seeing a different part of the island!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
mondovi, wi
Mar 18, 2011

ifa villas bavaro

The hotel was clean, food was average. I would have to say that the service was slow. The hotel was somewhat spread out a little too far for us. Overall a good deal. We went zip lining and that I would do again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tiger Monkey
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 15, 2011

Great for the price, Some minor issues

> During our stay we found the food to be very good, especially at the Caribbean restaurant. The buffets always had a great selection. > The room had a very uncomfortable bed and horrible water pressure in the shower. We also had some issues getting new shower towels when we needed them. > The bars and selection of drinks were great. > The entertainment was good, but very similar each night. > The beach was beautiful and there were tons of activities including water aerobics, volleyball, darts, horseshoes, and others. The pools were also very nice but we didn't spend too much time there. > Our villa was VERY FAR from the beach... probably about a 15-20 minute walk. > The staff was mostly very courteous > The hotel is only about 20 minutes from the Punta Cana airport which was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get down to the front desk before 8:00am if you want to get a decent reservation time for any of the 3 restaurants. They fill up very quick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stamford, CT, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Pros and cons

PROS: - Villa was clean, had a/c, ceiling fans, hot water - Resort grounds were amazing and beautiful - lots of pools, pathways, flowers, birds - bathrooms also throughout resort and on beach - Beach was BEAUTIFUL - lots of nice chairs to lay out on - Weather was great (we went in August - it was hot but not horrible) - Overall very clean, safe resort with a variety of activities CONS: - "Inclusive" activities were not really ones we were interested in (i.e. beach volleyball, Spanish lessons, etc) but we were given free access to snorkels/masks, beach kayaks, and paddle boats. - A LOT of extra fees - extra $ for snorkeling trip, parasailing, windsurfing, etc - Buffet food was less than fabulous. There are 3 restaurants that are pretty nice, but you have to make a reservation in person at 8am. - Staff was mostly friendly, but did not always speak English, especially in restaurants and bars. Male staff was also a little crazy with the cat calling - couldn't make it through one meal without having a waiter harassing us - Punta Cana area is VERY expensive (compared to prior trips to Puerto Plata and Santo Domingo) - $28 for a 10 minute taxi ride! We bartered with vendors on the beach but still they are VERY expensive and are used to a lot of tourists who will just pay whatever the price is. Bartering is possible but not very successful - ATM machine was broken for 3 days so we had no access to cash All in all.... wish we knew exactly what wasn't "included" and exactly how expensive those things would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the buffet and wake up early to make a reservation at one of the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carolina,P.R.
Dec 7, 2010

Okay

The location of the hotel is about 20 min.from the airport.The food was okay.I did an upgrade of room for $8.oo dollar per person,per night; and I'd had to waite about three hour for my room .The room is was bigger and up dated.In the fridge there was only water.they forgot to put shampoo on the room.I'd asked for it,but never came.The night show was okay.No iron in the room.Have to pay for the security box thats in the room if you are going to use it.The beach and the sand are pretty.The garden always perfect.The personal try to do there best.Overall I give 3 star for this hotel.Is a long walk to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't buy nothing in the hotel is expencive.near the hotel by the beach are little stores that you can buy.You have to deal with them,don't take the firt price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lileyjuan
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Mar 2, 2012

Good location

Great staff. Clean rooms but rooms are ugly and no view so be aware to request a room with view. Food no good .Plan to go out and eat something else at least once.I think the worst is price we paid $1.00 per minute to call the airport that is 7 miles away(total 6 minutes $6.00) they are out there to get you money. Front desk management not good at all specially front desk manager unwilling to help you or accommodating you.We requested a better room they want us to pay another $450 dollars. But is the Unwiliness to do anything to help you the most annoying thing. Employees at the Coffeeshop great best staff in the whole resort .Friendly always a smile in their faces we tipped them every day because they were so nice. I guess the most frustrated thing was see the General Manager fired an employee in front of us just because he did not feel he received a good service. Let me tell you my friend (Carlos ) Since you are from Spain. Colorization it was 500 hundred years ago ,now people in America has rights. I hope you do not do this any longer with your employees since they help you to so much.I been managing people for 25 years had never see something like that. Nightly entertainment was really good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Megan12345678
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

College Spring Break Trip

The food wasnt great but everything else was awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pete R
NJ
Aug 29, 2011

resort was ok, definitely not 4 stars

we stayed at IFA for 5 days first night we stayed in the regular rooms then upgraded, the upgraded rooms were just the same as the other rooms but closer to the beach, The liqour was house liqour. You can only have so much of it. Staff was friendly. The pool there was the best thing they had. it was with a bar, and it was fun because we had like 18 people. the places that needed reservations for the food for example the chinese and mexican restaurants were not all u can eat. the food was better then the cafe but not that much better, it was not so great to begin with. disco is nice there and bars are good,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

buy the pass for club imagine with all u can drink

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Island loverv
Ny Ny
Dec 23, 2012

nice few days

Staff terrific. Upgraded room disappointing--worst pillows ever. Came home with worst neck ache. Bed mattress hard uncomfortable. Furniture badly scraped and needed painting. Bath soap dish badly stained. Activities amateur. Pre show entertainment below high school level. Audio and microphones too loud and shrill, very unpleasant. Food average. Weather great. Beach and grounds very clean and nicely lanscapped. Tourist population very respectful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Dec 23, 2010

Sun and Sand

The resort was beautiful. The beach was incredible. My two complaints that would prevent me from returning were: 1) The food wasnt great. Pizza bar was good and the a la carte restaurants were pretty good, but buffet was not good at all 2) There was no hot water and the shower pressure was terrible. Also no rooms with bathtubs. Going a week on the beach covered in suntan lotion, salt water, cholorine, and sand and not being able to shower it off was not fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top