$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dianamarie810
Couples
New York, NY
Aug 14, 2011

Punta Cana Aug 2011

The rooms are nice, but you have to upgrade to their superior suites for $8/person/day. The "villas" are way too far away. There are 3 a la carte restaurants, but in order to get a reservation, you have to be in line at reception no later than 8am. That was a dealbreaker for me, I don't like having to wake up early on what's supposed to be a vacation. The beach is gorgeous. The food...just OK. The best is the la caribe restaurant. For the price, I've stayed in better resorts in Mexico, but Punta Cana is a bit more expensive. Oh, and DO NOT forget sunscreen!!! The shopes at the hotel charge $18-$26 per bottle!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ash from md
Couples
Maryland
Jul 28, 2011

1st Vacation

It was overall a ok... vacation for my first time. There is really no oceanview rooms, they consider the oceanview to be the view of the pool. The pool opens early in the morning and all three pools close at 7pm everynight. All rooms need your room card in order to activate the electricity and air conditioning in the room. And only one key is given per guest. Otherwise, they do keep the rooms and grounds clean. They are friendly individuals but this is not a place I would recommend, if you do not know Spanish. Few members of the staff speak English. There is a ATM at the hotel but the money comes out in pesos(not U.S. Dollars). The three restuarants(which are free)- you have to make reservations early the same morning like 8am. Restuarants open in the evening. The pizzeria(free)opens at 12noon everyday. There is also a (free) buffet that is open for breakfast from 8-10,lunch from 12-3 and dinner 6-10...I believe those were the times. If you are expecting a five star hotel... I would not recommend this one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York
Jul 14, 2011

Family

We enjoyed their clean swimming pools, and the great variety of foods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Washington
Jul 12, 2011

MJ

Hotel was good. I like the all the entertainment. Good collection of restaurants although variety of food is somewhat limited. Lots of alcohol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserve early for dinners

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Jul 12, 2011

The ok, the bad, and the hospital trip.

The hotel was pretty on the outside to say the least. We arrived on an evening flight so didn't get to see very much the first night. After upgrading our room ( $8 per day/per person) we went to the buffet, the first trip was not horrible. There were a few things that you could eat and be semi happy with. None of us we're hungry that night though. We found that anytime you asked for a refill they made us seem as if we were a burden to them. We went to the beach the first night realizing that our upgrade to a beach room was still like a half a mile from the beach. The beach was covered in sea weed. We found a bar on the beach ( not included) where they actually made us feel welcomed. No one at the front desk explained that you needed to put your key in the electric box in order for the room to have electricity. It is a nice energy saving tool, but makes for a very hot room to return to. We were suppose to have two rooms, each with a King bed. Neither of our rooms had king beds. We called and they said they had none available. The man told me we could come back tomorrow after four and he could give us one king room but not two. By our third day at the resort it was very clear that we wouldn't be able to eat at the resort if we wanted food. They offered free transportation to a local mall. Luckily the mall had a pizza hut. We ate there twice. Another mall did not offer free transportation but they had a Hard Rock Cafe that we ate at one day, and a Tony Roma's that we ate at another day. It got to the point where we ate one meal a day. The mall with Pizza Hut had a grocrie store inside. We picked up snacks from there as well. None of the bars at the resort make the drinks very strong unless you tip them before hand, the taste of the liquor selection is very poor. The bars also have bad service. We went several times and were the only ones in the bar and it would take the waitress over ten minutes to finally come serve us. The al a carte resturants are hard to get it to. Of our seven night we got reservations only one time. For the most part they offered the same things that were in the buffet. Not worth sitting in the heat for. No where is air conditioned. The resort is very pretty. The pools are nice, the room we stayed in was nice. The other couple we traveled with had a room that smelled of mold and very poor water pressure. The worst part of the resort and the over all vacation was the difference they show native Spanish speaking tourist and Americans. Americans are by far the moronity here. We did ride the dolphins, the deep sea fishing and the buggys. The deep sea fishing was a waste of $$$. The guys never even got to touch a fishing poll. It was mainly a four hour boat ride. Watch the ice you drink and over all cleanliness of things your consume. The last day of our trip was horrible for my boyfriend, and he ended up in the hospital for 9+ hours the day after re returned. Overall the resort wouldn't be bad if you speak Spanish and are use to poor dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would highly recommend Pizza Hut.

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
castro pp
Couples
miami florida
Jul 9, 2011

no good looking rooms are not at the pic

bad trip not good food is bad at the buffet for dinner and the rooms are missing parts all over

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
manhattan, new york
Jul 5, 2011

Sick Vacatiom

There is no way this is a four star hotel. It was a two at best. The food was barely edible, the service was poor and the rooms were disgusting. My three year old and one year old both left with a rash from either the pool or the sheets or towels. I would never trust Orbits reviews ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat anything. Their food was horrible.

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Brooklyn, ny
Jul 5, 2011

IFA BAvaro-dont bother

This hotel is definitely not what I would consider 4 stars. Maybe the new gym, spa amd theater but not really anything else. No irons provided in the room and laundry service is next day (at a ridiculous cost) so everything in uour packed bag needs to be ready to wear. It took two days and 3 request to obtain new towels. Some of the bar service waitresses were rude and the buffet food was uneventful. In order to get reservation at the other restauants you needed to make your reservations no later than 9AM. Would not go back. Entertainment was the only thing I enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MR INTL
Single
SAN DIEGO, CA
Jul 3, 2011

IFA

The one thing that you must keep in mind about this place is that it's the Dominican Republic so that the way that they do things are a little different from what you are used to. The resort itself is nice they have activities for you to do everyday and the night shows are pretty good. For all inclusive you can't beat what you get. The only down side to all of this which is not a big deal to me but might not be for others is for starters you have to pay $3 a day if you want a safe. Secondly you have access to an all you can eat buffet and a pizzaria but the food is not that great but it quiets the stomach rumbling. If you want good food you will have to make a reservation in person early in the morning between 8am and 9:30 am but they are always booked so getup early enough to make the reservation. The staff is hit or miss you might get a rude person or you might get someone that is cool but eventually you will get what you want. And if you have any problems ask for Wilbur. Other than that I had a really good time there but the only bad thing about the DR in general is the entry fee when you come in and the baggage fee. When leaving even if your bag is not over weight there is a fee. But like i said other than that its a cool place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

FOR GIFTS AND THINGS THE HOTEL'S PRICES AT THE ART STORE WAS MORE REASONABLE THAN OUT IN TOWN. IF YOU GO AN ANY TOURS THEY WILL TAKE YOU TO A RIGGED PLACE THAT WILL JACK UP THE PRICES FOR OBVIOUS TOURIST REASONS. THE BEST TOUR I THINK IS WORTH THE MONEY IS THE FIESTON. FOR $130 FOR SINGLE AND $200 FOR A COUPLE ITS A 12 HOUR EXCURSION THAT INCLUDES OPEN BAR, FOOD, AND UNLIMMITTED WATER ACTIVITIES.

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ksheks
Couples
Seattle, WA
May 5, 2011

Good Hotel for First Timera

This was a beautiful hotel, but I wouldn't go back. It was a good hotel for first timers. The pools were beautiful as well as the beach. The pizza place was GREAT and so were the crepes. All other food is HORRIBLE! The drinks weren't good either. The staff is pretty rude, especially ANA who works at the pizza place. Booze isn't surved until 10 am. The rooms are nice, but make sure you upgrade so you are closer to the beach. The beds are hard as a rock, but you don't notice after a few days. There is no beach or ocean view so dont book here if you are wanting that. The shows were good, especially Michael Jackson. I would say overall this is an average hotel, but I won't be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see [...] at the bar hut on the beach. He is cheaper than any of the people selling you stuff at the hotel. They purchase everything from him, but charge $20 more to make money for themselves so go to him directly and you will save lots!

Back to menu Return to top