IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
105 reviews
very pleasant family getaway

My experience at the hotel was wonderful, I would definitely return and recommend it to anyone who... See full review

  • Francisco L
  • Nov 4, 2013
Excellent

Service was excellent. Food was excellent. Highly recommended! See full review

  • Patrick YYZ
  • Nov 26, 2013
Carribbean paradise with pools, swim-up bar, dance lessons
After snagging a prime beachfront property on the coconut coast in 1998 and building a reputation for a festive all-round good time, the IFA Villa Bavaro Resort & Spa has established itself as a Punta Cana go-to resort. This Dominican Republic resort offers a quality day spa experience, and the event staff is ready to lead dance, language and yoga classes and keep guests entertained with a tried-and-true cabaret. IFA Villa Bavaro Resort & Spa has proven it can be everything to everyone in an all-inclusive tropical beach vacation.
Highlights
  • Meals and drinks at 7 restaurants and 8 bars, room service, evening shows and nightclub included in room rate
  • Three swimming pools and white sand beach
  • Scuba pool lessons, snorkeling and more included with room rate
  • Family-friendly outdoor playground and kids club
  • Jacuzzi, saunas, steam room and staffed fitness center available to all guests
Rooms
Sleep up to four in 652 cheerful white and guava-colored rooms. All rooms are connected to the beach by sand footpaths and include refrigerators, coffee-makers, flat-screen TVs and in-room safes (fees apply). Choose from a three-story ocean view building or 1-story garden bungalow with quiet reading terraces. All IFA Villa Bavaro Resort & Spa guest rooms have ceiling fans and air conditioning.
Features
Recreation
Grab a lounge chair and enjoy the vibrant lake pool setting where towel service, fountains, a swim-up bar, Caribbean dance lessons, scuba lessons and a children's pool keep everyone entertained. Enjoy the beach with windsurfing, a beach bar and beach chairs. Tennis, volleyball and aerobics are also included. Additional activities (fees apply) include horseback riding, reef diving, deep sea fishing, golfing and a casino. Indulge in an open-air cabana sunset beach massage or chakra balancing.
Dining
Choose from two buffets, a beach grill, pizzeria and pleasing family fare at Mexican, Asian and Caribbean restaurants. Premium course meals are available for an extra charge. 
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • La Romana Airport (56.4 mi/90.7 km)
  • Las Americas Santo Domingo Airport (120 mi/193 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (6.5 mi/10.4 km)
  • Macao Beach (14.8 mi/23.8 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Higuey (30.7 mi/49.4 km)
Business
  • Lobby computer with Internet (fees apply)
  • Faxing (fees apply)
  • Currency exchange available (fees apply)
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • 24/7 medical services (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa does not accept Spring Break youth groups at the property during the travel period of 01 FEB 2013 until 31 MARCH 2013.
  • IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa does not accept any room reservations for guests under 22 years of age (Individual or Group Reservations). Indication of age is an indispensable requirement for a confirmation of the booking.
  • For families traveling together, adolescents over 14 years old and less than 22 years old have to be accompanied by a parent in the same room.
  • Rooms booked with guests under 22 years of age will be denied at the Check-In and guests will be responsible for finding their own alternative accommodation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Rooms
This wonderful 4 star complex counts with 652 rooms located in buildings and bungalows. All ours rooms are totally renovated, fully equipped, maximum occupancy is 4 persons per room. We offer connecting rooms.
Superior
390 rooms located in buildings (1-3 floors) with pool, garden, or partial ocean view located next to the beach at the Ocean section or near the recreational activities at Village section. Modern equipped with mini fridge, coffee machine, hairdryer, cable plasma television, air conditioning, telephone, safety box (extra charge), and French balcony.
Standard
262 bungalows located in the Villas section, with garden or pool view and a relaxing atmosphere within a lush garden. Fully equipped with mini fridge, hairdryer, cable plasma television, air conditioning, telephone, safety box (extra charge) and terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.6697 -68.4061
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
PUJ, Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
In the top location directly on the original Bavaro Beach. Shopping Mall 5 minutes, golfcourse and casino nearby.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for up to 180 people. Wedding coordinator,ceremonies on the beach.

Dining

Restaurants
9 restaurants: 2 buffet El Colibri, Las Velas, 1 pizza-snack at the pool area Pikalo, 1 Creperie and 5 a la Carte: Caribe Gourmet, Jalisco Mexican and Bambu Asian, Pikalo Pizzeria, La Serata Italian.
Bars
7 bars: Margarita pool bar, Theater Bar (during the show), Pikalo snack bar, El Mojato swim-up bar, Caf Dominicano lounge bar, Las Velas Beach Bar and High Beach jacuzzi bar. Disco Fantasy bar until 4:00am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Washington
Jul 12, 2011

MJ

Hotel was good. I like the all the entertainment. Good collection of restaurants although variety of food is somewhat limited. Lots of alcohol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserve early for dinners

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
navarro family
florida
Jun 22, 2012

rooms

food was great, the swam up bar Mr roman the bartender decided to cut off the beer at 4pm. he did not want to restock, we complained problem fixed. we had to villa rooms, light was so low we could hardly see in the room. we also had a rooster by our door, did not need the wake up from him in the morning. we turned in both rooms for one in the main building, we received no credit. we had to get on line to make reservation for the restaurants by 8 am. this was not cool a all. then we found out we could call for a reservation.last time there we booked all our reservations the first day. a lot of people were not happy with this reservation deal. i really liked the place, it's my third time there. i don't think i will return there, my wife feels we were cheated on the room change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

get the number and call from your room

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
ash from md
Maryland
Jul 28, 2011

1st Vacation

It was overall a ok... vacation for my first time. There is really no oceanview rooms, they consider the oceanview to be the view of the pool. The pool opens early in the morning and all three pools close at 7pm everynight. All rooms need your room card in order to activate the electricity and air conditioning in the room. And only one key is given per guest. Otherwise, they do keep the rooms and grounds clean. They are friendly individuals but this is not a place I would recommend, if you do not know Spanish. Few members of the staff speak English. There is a ATM at the hotel but the money comes out in pesos(not U.S. Dollars). The three restuarants(which are free)- you have to make reservations early the same morning like 8am. Restuarants open in the evening. The pizzeria(free)opens at 12noon everyday. There is also a (free) buffet that is open for breakfast from 8-10,lunch from 12-3 and dinner 6-10...I believe those were the times. If you are expecting a five star hotel... I would not recommend this one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
rommie
phoenix
Jul 9, 2012

greatest friendly and helpful personnel

The employees at the breakfast and dinner buffet always smiling, ready to help and fast in service. Also I highly recomend starting with the best caribbean,bambu japanese restaurant and el jalisco mexican food where reservations is needed early bfore or by 8am...its worth. service and food are great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great food and service

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Eggers
Virginia
Mar 22, 2014

Great for families on a budget

The grounds are beautiful as well as the water and Beach. If you ate staying in a villa it is a hike to the beach. Shuttles can take you there but sometimes you have to wait a bit. The food was just okay but the pizza and snack shack wrte decent. The Caribbean restaurant and the Mexican we thought were the best if the 4 on the property. Pools were awesome too! Beds were kinda hard and pillows not the best but we were so tired at the end of the day it didn't matter so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get up early to make your dinner reservations then go to the beach and reserve chairs. This worked out well for us since we were a party if six.

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Robo67
Newington, CT
Mar 29, 2010

The good and the bad

3 of us, we spent a week in the resort, doing a bit of everything: sea and sun bath, safari and Saona island trips, pool, night live shows, shopping etc. In my opinion - the info about resort's activities is pretty poor... I mean - it is not provided that "easy american way" like you get a clear, good info about everything around. We only got a little picture-map describing all the places. That's all. So I suggest to take some time asking and writing down - what and when is opened. Because most places like buffets gets closed every few hours and some places - like pizza house - gets opened even after midnight. We ate once at 1 of 3 restaurants where you have to make a reservation on the same day, but before 8:00 AM. Believe me: I am not picky on food. But that was a total disaster! I can understand than a lamb's leg has 30% of pure fat, but the butter served with rolls was just horribly old, had almost orange color and did smell like a fish! Also a dessert was a joke! For example 2 ladies at other table ordered lobsters and they were looking happy, so maybe we were just unlucky ones. But anyways - what happened to us was below any standards I've ever seen. After that - we decided to stay at buffet, where you just go and pick everything you want to eat. And it's fresh! We really enjoyed every night shows. The pool was great. Beach very nice. Close to the beach - Snack bar good for drinks and not bad for food too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
no kids travel is the best!
Miami, FL
Jun 19, 2010

true bargain

I felt very catered to. No worries type of place. Very, very clean. No need to leave hotel. Everything was there. Night club, entertainment, food, drinks.... Front desk staff/customer service were so lost and clueless. Not friendly and very unhelpful when it came to answering questions or orienting someone. Kinda rude. We had to figure out everything on our own. Very odd on several occassions. The waiters and bartenders were very nice and helpful Worth the price because the place is Beautiful! Good food, nice pools, great night club, great restaurants, wonderful nightly shows

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

don't do the Fieston excursion. HORRIBLE! 130 bucks for torture. Horse flies and hunger.

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
CINDY AND MILTON
CLINTON, MARYLAND
Jul 30, 2010

A NEEDED GETAWAY

OUR EXPERIENCE AT THE IFA VILLAS BRAVO RESORT & SPA WAS A NICE VACATION. WE DID HAVE A FEW PROBLEMS. THE CHECK OUT SERVICE WAS QUICK, HOWEVER, SECURITY CHECKS YOUR ROOM WHEN YOU CHECK OUT. THE MAID SERVICE DID NOT PUT FACE TOWELS IN OUR ROOM THREE TIMES DURING OUR STAY, TWICE WE LOCATED THE LADY IN THE BUILDING AND ASK FOR THEM, ON THE THIRD MISHAP, WE RETURNED TO OUR ROOM VERY LATE FROM AN EXCURSION TO CATALINA ISLAND AND MY HUSBAND WAS SICK. SINCE WE WERE LEAVING IN THE MORNING,WE DID NOT REQUEST FOR THE TOWELS. BIG MISTAKE, THE FRONT DESK AND SECURITY ACCUSED US OF STEALING THEM AND WANTED $40.00 FOR REPLACEMENT. THIS ENRAGED MY HUSBAND TO NO END, MY HUSBAND REFUSED TO PAY FOR THE HOUSEKEEPING MISTAKE, SECURTIY HAD TO SEARCH OUR LUGGAGE. WHEN THEY WERE FINISHED INFORMED US WE COULD LEAVE AND STATED WE SHOULD HAVE CALLED FOR THE MISSING TOWELS. THE RESORT WAS NICE AND CLEAN. I CAN NOT SAY I WILL NEVER VIST THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC/PUNTA CANA AGAIN, BUT WILL NOT RETURN TO IFA VILLA BRAVO RESORT AND SPA. THE RESORT NEEDS TO INPROVE THE BEDDING (MATTRESS)WAS TERRIBLE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

THE GIFT SHOPS DID NOT HAVE TO MANY ITEMS TO SELECT FROM-CHOICES WERE LIMITED.

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
mondovi, wi
Mar 18, 2011

ifa villas bavaro

The hotel was clean, food was average. I would have to say that the service was slow. The hotel was somewhat spread out a little too far for us. Overall a good deal. We went zip lining and that I would do again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Stamford, CT, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Pros and cons

PROS: - Villa was clean, had a/c, ceiling fans, hot water - Resort grounds were amazing and beautiful - lots of pools, pathways, flowers, birds - bathrooms also throughout resort and on beach - Beach was BEAUTIFUL - lots of nice chairs to lay out on - Weather was great (we went in August - it was hot but not horrible) - Overall very clean, safe resort with a variety of activities CONS: - "Inclusive" activities were not really ones we were interested in (i.e. beach volleyball, Spanish lessons, etc) but we were given free access to snorkels/masks, beach kayaks, and paddle boats. - A LOT of extra fees - extra $ for snorkeling trip, parasailing, windsurfing, etc - Buffet food was less than fabulous. There are 3 restaurants that are pretty nice, but you have to make a reservation in person at 8am. - Staff was mostly friendly, but did not always speak English, especially in restaurants and bars. Male staff was also a little crazy with the cat calling - couldn't make it through one meal without having a waiter harassing us - Punta Cana area is VERY expensive (compared to prior trips to Puerto Plata and Santo Domingo) - $28 for a 10 minute taxi ride! We bartered with vendors on the beach but still they are VERY expensive and are used to a lot of tourists who will just pay whatever the price is. Bartering is possible but not very successful - ATM machine was broken for 3 days so we had no access to cash All in all.... wish we knew exactly what wasn't "included" and exactly how expensive those things would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the buffet and wake up early to make a reservation at one of the restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top