IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bavaro, Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
104 reviews
Awesome family trip!!!!

The location is great,The rooms were clean and had everything you needed But for the cost they were... See full review

  • RAJDEEP S.
  • Jul 30, 2015
awsome experience

I went to punta Cana with my family and some friends. The staff at the Ifa was very attentive and... See full review

  • Janais
  • Jul 28, 2015
After snagging a prime beachfront property on the coconut coast in 1998 and building a reputation for a festive all-round good time, the IFA Villa Bavaro Resort & Spa has established itself as a Punta Cana go-to resort. This Dominican Republic resort offers a quality day spa experience, and the event staff is ready to lead dance, language and yoga classes and keep guests entertained with a tried-and-true cabaret. IFA Villa Bavaro Resort & Spa has proven it can be everything to everyone in an all-inclusive tropical beach vacation.
Dining
Choose from two buffets, a beach grill, pizzeria and pleasing family fare at Mexican, Asian and Caribbean restaurants. Premium course meals are available for an extra charge. 
Rooms
Sleep up to four in 652 cheerful white and guava-colored rooms. All rooms are connected to the beach by sand footpaths and include refrigerators, coffee-makers, flat-screen TVs and in-room safes (fees apply). Choose from a three-story ocean view building or 1-story garden bungalow with quiet reading terraces. All IFA Villa Bavaro Resort & Spa guest rooms have ceiling fans and air conditioning.
Property features
Recreation
Grab a lounge chair and enjoy the vibrant lake pool setting where towel service, fountains, a swim-up bar, Caribbean dance lessons, scuba lessons and a children's pool keep everyone entertained. Enjoy the beach with windsurfing, a beach bar and beach chairs. Tennis, volleyball and aerobics are also included. Additional activities (fees apply) include horseback riding, reef diving, deep sea fishing, golfing and a casino. Indulge in an open-air cabana sunset beach massage or chakra balancing.
Highlights
  • Meals and drinks at 7 restaurants and 8 bars, room service, evening shows and nightclub included in room rate
  • Three swimming pools and white sand beach
  • Scuba pool lessons, snorkeling and more included with room rate
  • Family-friendly outdoor playground and kids club
  • Jacuzzi, saunas, steam room and staffed fitness center available to all guests
Nearby attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (6.5 mi/10.4 km)
  • Macao Beach (14.8 mi/23.8 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Higuey (30.7 mi/49.4 km)
Business
  • Lobby computer with Internet (fees apply)
  • Faxing (fees apply)
  • Currency exchange available (fees apply)
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • 24/7 medical services (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • La Romana Airport (56.4 mi/90.7 km)
  • Las Americas Santo Domingo Airport (120 mi/193 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Policies
  • IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa does not accept Spring Break youth groups at the property during the travel period of 01 FEB 2013 until 31 MARCH 2013.
  • IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa does not accept any room reservations for guests under 22 years of age (Individual or Group Reservations). Indication of age is an indispensable requirement for a confirmation of the booking.
  • For families traveling together, adolescents over 14 years old and less than 22 years old have to be accompanied by a parent in the same room.
  • Rooms booked with guests under 22 years of age will be denied at the Check-In and guests will be responsible for finding their own alternative accommodation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Rooms
This wonderful 4 star complex counts with 652 rooms located in buildings and bungalows. All ours rooms are totally renovated, fully equipped, maximum occupancy is 4 persons per room. We offer connecting rooms.
Superior
390 rooms located in buildings (1-3 floors) with pool, garden, or partial ocean view located next to the beach at the Ocean section or near the recreational activities at Village section. Modern equipped with mini fridge, coffee machine, hairdryer, cable plasma television, air conditioning, telephone, safety box (extra charge), and French balcony.
Standard
262 bungalows located in the Villas section, with garden or pool view and a relaxing atmosphere within a lush garden. Fully equipped with mini fridge, hairdryer, cable plasma television, air conditioning, telephone, safety box (extra charge) and terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Hotel Map

18.6697 -68.4061
Area served
Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
PUJ, Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
In the top location directly on the original Bavaro Beach. Shopping Mall 5 minutes, golfcourse and casino nearby.

Dining

Restaurants
7 restaurants: 2 buffet El Colibri, Las Velas, 1 pizza-snack at the pool area Pikalo and 4 a la Carte: Caribe Gourmet, Jalisco Mexican, Bambu Asian and Bella Serata Italian.
Bars
8 bars: Brand new Chill Out Bar " Azucar", Margarita pool bar, Theater Bar (during the show), Pikalo snack bar, El Mojato swim-up bar, Caf Dominicano lounge bar, Las Velas Beach Bar and High Beach jacuzzi bar. Disco Fantasy bar until 4:00am.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for up to 180 people. Wedding coordinator,ceremonies on the beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Laurel, MD
Jun 24, 2010

"The getaway"

Enjoyed the pool and beach... Time alone that was needed...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Washington
Jul 12, 2011

MJ

Hotel was good. I like the all the entertainment. Good collection of restaurants although variety of food is somewhat limited. Lots of alcohol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserve early for dinners

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
Dec 23, 2010

Sun and Sand

The resort was beautiful. The beach was incredible. My two complaints that would prevent me from returning were: 1) The food wasnt great. Pizza bar was good and the a la carte restaurants were pretty good, but buffet was not good at all 2) There was no hot water and the shower pressure was terrible. Also no rooms with bathtubs. Going a week on the beach covered in suntan lotion, salt water, cholorine, and sand and not being able to shower it off was not fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IFA
Couples
New Jersey
Dec 21, 2010

IFA Villas Bavaro

The workers in all the food areas were extremely nice and courteous. The wifi was down for the first 6 nights we were there forcing us to spend a lot of money on internet service. I needed to finish writing a paper and instead of paying $10 for an entire day, I was forced to spend $3 for every 30 minutes. In addition, the first room we got was not as advertised. We were given two twin/full size beds instead of a queen bed. The food was not that good either, although I must reiterate that the servers were awesome. The restaurants that required reservations were not impressive whatsoever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The excursions were all very fun, except for deep sea fishing.

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Stamford, CT, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Pros and cons

PROS: - Villa was clean, had a/c, ceiling fans, hot water - Resort grounds were amazing and beautiful - lots of pools, pathways, flowers, birds - bathrooms also throughout resort and on beach - Beach was BEAUTIFUL - lots of nice chairs to lay out on - Weather was great (we went in August - it was hot but not horrible) - Overall very clean, safe resort with a variety of activities CONS: - "Inclusive" activities were not really ones we were interested in (i.e. beach volleyball, Spanish lessons, etc) but we were given free access to snorkels/masks, beach kayaks, and paddle boats. - A LOT of extra fees - extra $ for snorkeling trip, parasailing, windsurfing, etc - Buffet food was less than fabulous. There are 3 restaurants that are pretty nice, but you have to make a reservation in person at 8am. - Staff was mostly friendly, but did not always speak English, especially in restaurants and bars. Male staff was also a little crazy with the cat calling - couldn't make it through one meal without having a waiter harassing us - Punta Cana area is VERY expensive (compared to prior trips to Puerto Plata and Santo Domingo) - $28 for a 10 minute taxi ride! We bartered with vendors on the beach but still they are VERY expensive and are used to a lot of tourists who will just pay whatever the price is. Bartering is possible but not very successful - ATM machine was broken for 3 days so we had no access to cash All in all.... wish we knew exactly what wasn't "included" and exactly how expensive those things would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the buffet and wake up early to make a reservation at one of the restaurants.

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacationing Caribbean
Family
Philadelphia
Jul 18, 2010

Vacay with family

Our family and I enjoyed our stay at IFA for seven days with a few minor drawbacks. The security staff were unfriendly and rude at times.Showers there were always luke warm.The food and wait staff were good at times but there were many restaurants to choose from. Those minor inconveniences did not stop us from enjoying our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the seaquarium was amazing.

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ksheks
Couples
Seattle, WA
May 5, 2011

Good Hotel for First Timera

This was a beautiful hotel, but I wouldn't go back. It was a good hotel for first timers. The pools were beautiful as well as the beach. The pizza place was GREAT and so were the crepes. All other food is HORRIBLE! The drinks weren't good either. The staff is pretty rude, especially ANA who works at the pizza place. Booze isn't surved until 10 am. The rooms are nice, but make sure you upgrade so you are closer to the beach. The beds are hard as a rock, but you don't notice after a few days. There is no beach or ocean view so dont book here if you are wanting that. The shows were good, especially Michael Jackson. I would say overall this is an average hotel, but I won't be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see [...] at the bar hut on the beach. He is cheaper than any of the people selling you stuff at the hotel. They purchase everything from him, but charge $20 more to make money for themselves so go to him directly and you will save lots!

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pete R
Friends
NJ
Aug 29, 2011

resort was ok, definitely not 4 stars

we stayed at IFA for 5 days first night we stayed in the regular rooms then upgraded, the upgraded rooms were just the same as the other rooms but closer to the beach, The liqour was house liqour. You can only have so much of it. Staff was friendly. The pool there was the best thing they had. it was with a bar, and it was fun because we had like 18 people. the places that needed reservations for the food for example the chinese and mexican restaurants were not all u can eat. the food was better then the cafe but not that much better, it was not so great to begin with. disco is nice there and bars are good,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

buy the pass for club imagine with all u can drink

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
xfrostyx
Couples
Chicago
Dec 4, 2009

base camp

My wife and I went to get some r and r, and visit her family. The for most part the staff is great. They will do whatever it takes to make sure you are happy and if you take the time to talk to them they are very friendly. The room was OK but you can tell some updating is needed. The beds were a bit small. The bathroom didn't have wash cloths, the soap, shampoo, and conditioner was provided by a dispenser mounted on the shower wall and we had to acquire a bar or two for the sink for washing our hands. The room was cleaned daily but the coffee in the room was not restocked. The grounds were manicured and extremely clean and considering the size of the place, I give them high marks for that. The pools are not for swimming, more for cooling off and chilling out. The beach was great. They have a eating area near the beach that serves lunch, it saves you from having the return to the center of the resort just to grab a bite. The food was just OK. I think it lacked variety. Not that there weren't different types of food available, just that they did not commit to any food theme. My wife is Dominican and I know what foods they eat. I feel they were trying to provide a little something for everyone but by the third time we ate there we knew where everything was and knew it would not change much. For entertainment there is a Disco, need I say more, I was not impressed. Overall, I would say that this place is average. I don't think that we would return for our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

although we did not book any activities, we were told about some and they do sound promising but I would bet that you would get the same offer no matter where you stayed

Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
mondovi, wi
Mar 18, 2011

ifa villas bavaro

The hotel was clean, food was average. I would have to say that the service was slow. The hotel was somewhat spread out a little too far for us. Overall a good deal. We went zip lining and that I would do again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top